COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 5:09 pm

you are correct but preaching to the choir
the folks who risk spreading most aren’t on this forum or listening to any advice

toyolink wrote:There isn't much we can do as ordinary citizens to impact the number of new cases over the next 7 days.
We can however change the infection rate by what we do starting now, by about 31st august.
The public health care systems and facilities by Wednesday may very well turn into our own hell.
Presently there can be no question that administrative systems are starting to crack with reporting time lags being indicative of this fact.
Every citizen can make a big difference and this message must continue to be drilled.
The mistakes of the pass must not define our conversation for the future.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby toyolink » August 22nd, 2020, 5:22 pm

pugboy wrote:you are correct but preaching to the choir
the folks who risk spreading most aren’t on this forum or listening to any advice

toyolink wrote:There isn't much we can do as ordinary citizens to impact the number of new cases over the next 7 days.
We can however change the infection rate by what we do starting now, by about 31st august.
The public health care systems and facilities by Wednesday may very well turn into our own hell.
Presently there can be no question that administrative systems are starting to crack with reporting time lags being indicative of this fact.
Every citizen can make a big difference and this message must continue to be drilled.
The mistakes of the pass must not define our conversation for the future.

Your observation is always on my mind, but whenever I get the chance, I communicate these same views and advice.

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2020, 5:28 pm

saw some youth outside the mall, liming, groups of 5, masks pulled down to talk and laugh amongst themselves.

other mall goers - about 75% wearing mask at chin level, 25% wearing it correctly.

did not go much inside to see more. re-circulated air inside there have me real paranoid. just had to get my stuff and buss it

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 5:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^1200 by next Saturday

Late 920s to early 930s this evening...1200 by wednesday evening into thursday morning. This is providing they keep "playing it safe"

yeah unfortunately that might be the case- the infections which would have occurred due to the 'las lap' beach/bar lime would on average now be showing/symptomatic, then i suppose due to the backlog u won't get test results till next saturday. i hope by then the curve starts to flatten and then go down a bit.

but to go back to clusters as the cmo said go take at least 2 months

it won't go all the way down like last time as we not on full lock down.

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 5:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:saw some youth outside the mall, liming, groups of 5, masks pulled down to talk and laugh amongst themselves.

other mall goers - about 75% wearing mask at chin level, 25% wearing it correctly.

did not go much inside to see more. re-circulated air inside there have me real paranoid. just had to get my stuff and buss it

get N95 masks or at least KN95- more effective in protecting the wearer- the normal cloth mask really protects everyone else FROM the wearer. I saw some where it is only 30% effective for protecting the wearer whereas N95 is 95% effective. the KN95 is the chinese version although it's not 95% effective but better than the cloth mask.

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2020, 6:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:saw some youth outside the mall, liming, groups of 5, masks pulled down to talk and laugh amongst themselves.

get N95 masks or at least KN95- more effective in protecting the wearer- the normal cloth mask really protects everyone else FROM the wearer. I saw some where it is only 30% effective for protecting the wearer whereas N95 is 95% effective. the KN95 is the chinese version although it's not 95% effective but better than the cloth mask.

95% effective means 5% ineffective, or a 1 in 20 chance of failure.

given enough chances, the cumulative risk of failure becomes 100%. i.e., it is guaranteed to fail once the exposure is long enough or frequent enough.

KN95 masks are good and thanks for reminding me I need to buy one. I see the mall have some with graphic designs for $40. But the real and only way of staying safe is staying away from people including giving up doing things that give enjoyment. and that shiet is depressing af.

Postby goalpost » August 22nd, 2020, 6:16 pm

31 more.

Total : 930

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 22nd, 2020, 6:37 pm

118148388_3632892260073889_4647399700996367593_n.jpeg

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 22nd, 2020, 6:51 pm

Productive day today ent Trinis?

Keep it up.

Love how allyuh taking this seriously.

Everything for allyuh Trinis is a keekee kaka...

Smfh

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 6:52 pm

^ batch from Aug. 14th-21st. when dis backlog gonna clear

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 6:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

95% effective means 5% ineffective, or a 1 in 20 chance of failure.

given enough chances, the cumulative risk of failure becomes 100%. i.e., it is guaranteed to fail once the exposure is long enough or frequent enough.

KN95 masks are good and thanks for reminding me I need to buy one. I see the mall have some with graphic designs for $40. But the real and only way of staying safe is staying away from people including giving up doing things that give enjoyment. and that shiet is depressing af.

it really means it block 95% of particles, so 5% still gets in. still another study i saw said u are less likely to get infected and even if u do the viral load is much lower so u are likely to be asymptomatic. i think it was a study done on 2 cruise ships

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2020, 7:01 pm

Late 920s to early 930s this evening...1200 by wednesday evening into thursday morning. This is providing they keep "playing it safe"

ST Auto wrote:31
118148388_3632892260073889_4647399700996367593_n.jpeg

Aye watch nah...hmph

Penguin

Postby Penguin » August 22nd, 2020, 7:07 pm

ST Auto wrote:31118148388_3632892260073889_4647399700996367593_n.jpeg

Aye watch nah...hmph

What's tomorrow's numbers nah?

Also, if they keep holding back the actually positives? What's the end game? Won't that number keep rising?

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2020, 7:16 pm

Penguin wrote:What's tomorrow's numbers nah?

Also, if they keep holding back the actually positives? What's the end game? Won't that number keep rising?

my guess is it is a managed float. the 'never done' batch is a way of buffering the numbers so it never seems too big or too small.

or maybe its all just made up to control perceptions

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 7:16 pm

So backlog totally clear from tomorrow onwards then

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 22nd, 2020, 7:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Penguin wrote:What's tomorrow's numbers nah?

my guess is it is a managed float. the 'never done' batch is a way of buffering the numbers so it never seems too big or too small.

or maybe its all just made up to control perceptions

This sounding plausible.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 7:18 pm

They would hope that figures actually drop due to lockdown so they would use that to average it out.

If figures keep rising exponentially then it will bite back sooner or later as the backlog grows badly.

Penguin wrote:

ST Auto wrote:31118148388_3632892260073889_4647399700996367593_n.jpeg

Aye watch nah...hmph

What's tomorrow's numbers nah?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 930 cases, 13 deaths, 752 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby 88sins » August 22nd, 2020, 8:23 pm

What I'm concerned about is that once the trend continues or speeds up, a nationwide lockdown will be become unavoidable. With the last shutdown so many businesses collapsed, and many still under strain and many were out of work withl little hope of relief in sight. And the salary relief & rent assistance grants never materialized for many.
Now with growlers saying outright to not expect any form of aid during another shutdown, people might just be completely ignore the orders to stay home. This may be the situation for many for fear of job loss, causing them to be exposed to contamination and infection, perpetuating the spread of the disease in their families, and the wider community.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 930 cases, 13 deaths, 752 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2020, 8:55 pm

^the economy already feeling this pandemic. very few people want to go shopping during a plague

Postby aaron17 » August 22nd, 2020, 9:10 pm

Interesting video...

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 9:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^the economy already feeling this pandemic. very few people want to go shopping during a plague

in that case we might as well do a full lockdown for 2 weeks, get the spread down to sporadic and let contact tracing & quarantine handle the rest and then open back and allow ppl to shop without the constant fear of infection- might be better in the long run?

they better get it down before christmas which is the busiest season for the year- otherwise that's billions lost

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 22nd, 2020, 9:21 pm

88sins wrote:What I'm concerned about is that once the trend continues or speeds up, a nationwide lockdown will be become unavoidable. With the last shutdown so many businesses collapsed, and many still under strain and many were out of work withl little hope of relief in sight. And the salary relief & rent assistance grants never materialized for many.
Now with growlers saying outright to not expect any form of aid during another shutdown, people might just be completely ignore the orders to stay home. This may be the situation for many for fear of job loss, causing them to be exposed to contamination and infection, perpetuating the spread of the disease in their families, and the wider community.

This is what happens when you lockdown when we didn't need to. Now is the time to lockdown but we can't afford it, if we faced this months ago we'd be in much better position to transition slowly back to normal.

Postby Gladiator » August 22nd, 2020, 9:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:^the economy already feeling this pandemic. very few people want to go shopping during a plague

in that case we might as well do a full lockdown for 2 weeks, get the spread down to sporadic and let contact tracing & quarantine handle the rest and then open back and allow ppl to shop without the constant fear of infection- might be better in the long run?

they better get it down before christmas which is the busiest season for the year- otherwise that's billions lost

Just an alternative perspective.... but if hard times reach due to COVID and we get locked down and businesses close and cannot import crap for us to consume then the foreign import bill for the island would be reduced resulting in more USD available in reserves and we will be better off for it in the long run... provided Govt don't steal all of it from under our noses.

Postby MaxPower » August 22nd, 2020, 9:25 pm

Hello paid_influencer,

I would like to believe that Trinis aren’t feeling anything.

Their careless behavior speaks for itself.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 22nd, 2020, 9:55 pm

Everyone is really quick to say that a lockdown is what is needed, and that the the countries that had a lockdown are doing well now, all this might be true, however we fail to see, or maybe what we don't want to see, is that the countries that are doing well now had some combination of:

a highly educated public with smart leadership
a data and science driven approach
a good social safety net that included BOTH physical healthcare as well as economic assistance.

We don't have any of those things. What we do have are:

a not so educated public with leadership more concerned with maintaining the status quo
a Public Relations driven approach
a social safety net that in the BEST OF TIMES was straining.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » August 22nd, 2020, 10:30 pm

Wasn't it Rowley said we can't afford it?

I'm on Team Lockdown because at the rate trinis spreading it around, we in one of the worlds' biggest covid surges that will just continue.

I really do wished we didn't waste our first 3 month lockdown. In retrospect we should have continue to live almost business as usual (with some mitigation obviously) in March and April. Yes, there would have been rampant community spread, however, like many others have said - the goal is never to avoid cases, it is to control the spread (aka flatten the curve). We would have a maybe 3000-5000 cases at least by now (tested obviously way more would have had it), possibly a few dozen deaths to 100 deaths.

BUT, we could have been moving back into a normal way of life now with the worst of it being over and businesses could be recovering slowly.

Instead, our businesses are hit with a tumultuous economy from March to let's say January 2021 (when the vaccine is out). Citizens are severely inconvenienced for almost a year, foreign nationals stranded for almost a year.

And now that the economy isn't ready for another full lockdown, we risk spreading the virus even more creating a spike that overwhlems the health facilities, leading to far more deaths (just delayed, but more).

So thanks to the brilliance of KCR, TD and SY we will be the getting the worse of the covid's economic effects along with possibly one of the worst covid outbreaks in the world.

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2020, 10:35 pm

They gonna have to borrow some money from china again. Let them hold the keys to the pitch lake as collateral.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 22nd, 2020, 10:46 pm

Well given the state of our roads it's not as if we use too much of it anyway.

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2020, 10:46 pm

this thing is a marathon, not a sprint.

right now we reaching about halfway through and winded from running too fast. Time to slow down, take a break.