COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: CoVID Mamaguey

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2020, 2:31 am

No, it was painfully obvious to all that Covid was out of control 2 to 3 weeks ago. Anyone who believed it wasn't getting out of control were drinking Deylalsingh's koolaid.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 588 cases, 12 deaths, 436 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 18th, 2020, 3:45 am

Ah yes
..rowley conference today...awaits the fine for masks.

Postby RedVEVO » August 18th, 2020, 4:01 am

Dohplaydat wrote:No, it was painfully obvious to all that Covid was out of control 2 to 3 weeks ago. Anyone who believed it wasn't getting out of control were drinking Deylalsingh's koolaid.

Exactly :D :D

So if it was out of control 2-3 weeks ago, why was there a lapse in protocol to allow a surge ?

The event is made very clear by Mr Aboud .

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/16/fisher ... his-hands/

Even in the Jamaat al Muslimeen coup attempt to overthrow the government of Trinidad and Tobago, instigated on Friday, 27 July 1990 ... 552 people did not die :wink:

Again this thread is to analyze the management of the CoVID 19 .

Why are we NOW back to square one with same protocols that should have been there in the first instance ?

Why do we have "community surge" with our borders closed ?

screwbash

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 588 cases, 12 deaths, 436 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby screwbash » August 18th, 2020, 4:14 am

pugboy wrote:those masks with exhale valves help you spread

no, in fact the valves that 3 filters and you put in a carbon filter that can be replaced. the make with the exhale valves are infact n95 mask.( at least the one i buy since january)

Postby matr1x » August 18th, 2020, 4:38 am

Here is the bigger question: do we even have a surge?

Notice they are dodging with saying where the surge definitively came from

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 18th, 2020, 5:17 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Low-cost measurement of facemask efficacy for filtering expelled droplets during speech

https://advances.sciencemag.org/content ... dv.abd3083

Summary

https://advances.sciencemag.org/content ... .large.jpg

You should be wearing N95 and the fitted ones are the best if not Surgical or Polymer Cotton blend.

Bandanas, knitted or fleece material are not good.

thanks for this.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 18th, 2020, 5:18 am

paid_influencer wrote:things were definitely not okay on Aug 10.

FB_IMG_1597680206744.jpeg

Blame doh cure COVID. Lockdown cure COVID. we need lockdown. Giwwe Keith, giwwe now

When did elections campaigning start?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 18th, 2020, 6:45 am

This

Is what happened

Talk done

Terrrance mammy didnt have nothing to do with it. Is MC stuart.
RedVEVO wrote:Why do we have "community surge" with our borders closed ?[/b]

Hello REDVEVO,

Saw you didnt bring out the MDTuner70 account this time. Remember i told you it was kinda obvious? Hadda blend things in a lil better bro hehe hehe heheh heh hehhhee hehe.

Anyways,

Remember borders were not totally closed and special flights were allowed to come in.

The core reason for “community surge” would be Trinis in breech of self quarantine orders. Their behavior speaks for itself.

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2020, 7:05 am

*KRONIK* wrote:This

Is what happened

Talk done

Terrrance mammy didnt have nothing to do with it. Is MC stuart.
RedVEVO wrote:Why do we have "community surge" with our borders closed ?[/b]

Hello REDVEVO,

Saw you didnt bring out the MDTuner70 account this time. Remember i told you it was kinda obvious? Hadda blend things in a lil better bro hehe hehe heheh heh hehhhee hehe.

Anyways,

Remember borders were not totally closed and special flights were allowed to come in.

The core reason for “community surge” would be Trinis in breech of self quarantine orders. Their behavior speaks for itself.
You're right. It didn't just appear. It had to come from somewhere.

Postby aaron17 » August 18th, 2020, 7:32 am

Oops I think that is rowley victory speech today since it is in balisier house..

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 18th, 2020, 8:17 am

To ZR and paid_influencer please read the article below

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/18/engage ... d19-spike/

Again who is to blame for the rise in covid.
Last edited by elec2020 on August 18th, 2020, 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 18th, 2020, 8:22 am

Just playing devils advocate here...

The virus is reported to have a two week incubation period.

The country "normalised" in mid-June. Conservatively speaking, there should have been some cases popping up two weeks which means that in July, there should have been a surge.

Why towards end-july and August was there such a surge?

Yes Trinis were indiscriminate and dutty, but shouldn't there have been a large number of cases popping up earlier?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 18th, 2020, 8:23 am

Dohplaydat wrote:As soon as the first unknown source of Covid arose, we should have had an immediate lockdown. Especially given all the election action. All campaigning should have stopped. Both parties are to blame but if the ruling party doesn't then that obviously puts the opposition in a predicament. But still both are to blame.

The government wanted to give the impression everything was still under control.

We the people aren't the only ones to blame. And secondly, blaming people for getting sick isn't right. Many people can be obeying the rules and get it from an mild of asymptomatic or person who isn't wearing a mask.

Remember masks don't work well in preventing you from getting it, it prevents you from spreading it.

The inconsistent mixed messaging enabled people to put their guards down..... And this is our situation now.

This wasn't February and March when things were new. We should have learned from others and not make the same mistakes. Especially the mistakes made by the US.

July 21st almost a month ago we had our first case. Now 4 weeks late we've had 450+.

This overdue lockdown will help, but I can almost assuredly tell you the actual cases are a lot more and will still continue to grow.

I don't think economically we can maintain a lockdown till the vaccine is out so we may have to go the route of Sweden for the next few months after these 28 days or so.

I figure the goal right now is solely but to overload the health care system.

Good luck to us all.

Thats foolsih. So you lockdown everytine their is a little jump in numbers. You do that till when? Till they find a cure for the virus? And till the cure is circulated to about 70 per cent of the population? Keeping in mind we don't know when that will happen. How much of that vaccine will be available for third worlders like us. How much it will cost (and if we have the money for it). How much of us can afford it and even if so how much of us will take it (cause i sure my arse aint the only person who aint taking no experimental drug). After all them lockdowns what gah be the state of tnt? Ya'll think ot so simple eh. Don't have a clue about how difficult this situation is. Imo government should just let us live with this. Cause eventually the fiscal space that allows us to proceed on lockdowns will soon be erased (debt to gsp is close to 80 per cent for example). Imo they just prolonging the inevitable. Deaths and infections are going to happen people. Just accept the reality of the situation. You can only rum away from it for so long

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 18th, 2020, 8:29 am

paid_influencer wrote:
goalpost wrote:I see Rowley hosting a media conference tomorrow, but it in Balisier House, so probably not about covid.

I see they published some letters relating to caricom/commonwealth observers. Lots of talk about COVID19 but not much public health discussion.

I propose this thread be limited to Public Health issues, for the benefit of ZR and elect2020.

Is ya'll men that keep on talking about politics in this forum. Case in point u bring up observers. Observers for covid? Nah election observers. Cause ya'll men cant let go of the fact UNC lost. Move on. But is me ain't? Pnm bloggers like me that keep on raising politics in this thread. Ain't it? Smh whatever suits your narrative.

Postby pete » August 18th, 2020, 8:29 am

MaxPower wrote:The core reason for “community surge” would be Trinis in breech of self quarantine orders. Their behavior speaks for itself.

What Trinis were in breech of self quarantine orders 4-6 weeks ago? The ones who went through two weeks state quarantine, tested negative and were supposed to further self isolate? Is there any data to support that?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 18th, 2020, 8:39 am

carluva wrote:Just playing devils advocate here...

The country "normalised" in mid-June. Conservatively speaking, there should have been some cases popping up two weeks which means that in July, there should have been a surge.

Yes Trinis were indiscriminate and dutty, but shouldn't there have been a large number of cases popping up earlier?

Full tin foil hat on for this one here but hear me out. Didn't this woman from the US who was making noise about her company to be allowed to fly back trinis accuse the government of allowing 1 per centers to self quarantine on their yachts. And then newsday posted this today (https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/18/engage ... d19-spike/). Now for newsday's argument that this event is largely responsible for the surge in covid infections depends on how long ago this event happen. But if we assume the wedding planner who spent a weekend or whatever in tropikiss (which we first heard about pre elections i think) was also responsible for this event down the islands then that event happened a good time ago so ewsday's article that this event was the major source of the recent surge in covid cases holds merit.

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2020, 8:46 am

carluva wrote:Just playing devils advocate here...

It was the government that indiscriminate, they gave the illusion that things was ok to hold elections.

They withheld infor and testing. If they had released the true figures then elections would have had a diffent outcome.

Public got played

Postby aaron17 » August 18th, 2020, 8:48 am

'Newsday understands that St Clair Medical some time ago introduced a drive-through testing system by appointment.

The test is done while the patient is in the car and they receive results in one to two days. The actual cost is $1,650 per test.'

interesting

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » August 18th, 2020, 8:51 am

elections are over

let us stop the division and infighting and blaming

and remember where the virus came from

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China

and let us remain ever vigilant - and keep a close eye on our own government

https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/ar ... ce/614197/

Xi Jinping is using artificial intelligence to enhance his government’s totalitarian control—and he’s exporting this technology to regimes around the globe.

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2020, 8:55 am

Lou Screuz wrote:elections are over

let us stop the division and infighting and blaming

and remember where the virus came from

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China

and let us remain ever vigilant - and keep a close eye on our own government

https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/ar ... ce/614197/
We know elections are over but it's the way the government fooled people in to thinking everything was ok in order to hold elections in the peak of Covid.

They did this and who knows what else they going to do.

Stupid country filled with stupid people.

Postby MaxPower » August 18th, 2020, 9:58 am

pete wrote:
MaxPower wrote:The core reason for “community surge” would be Trinis in breech of self quarantine orders. Their behavior speaks for itself.

What Trinis were in breech of self quarantine orders 4-6 weeks ago? The ones who went through two weeks state quarantine, tested negative and were supposed to further self isolate? Is there any data to support that?

Hello pete,

Are u aware that flights are still coming in and out of T&T?

Did it ever stop?

Doesnt it always have some “special” flight?

Postby The_Honourable » August 18th, 2020, 10:00 am

1. Selective Testing - Many persons reported that when they called or visited a health institution to do a test, they were denied. You had to fit a very narrow criteria to get tested. Also, docs were complaining that when they wanted to test suspected patients for covid, they were denied by higher ups. Some private labs were immediately clamped down initially by the state preventing them from doing any tests even tho they had a PCR machine. This meant that there were persons who were walking around in the population with covid spreading it to other persons.

2. Testing Backlog - You already had a lack of testing but many who took a test ended up in a backlog. Carpha had to make a statement defending themselves stating that they release results within 24-48hrs. The offender was the Trinidad Public Health Lab (TPHL) but it was only in the last few days this was acknowledged. The way tests were done was recently changed to batch testing. You can test many persons at once. If that group tests negative, they good to go. If one or more is positive, they have to do more tests to find out which one in the group is positive.

3. Phase Reopening - We went from Phase 1-4 quickly. With a lack of testing plus a backlog, the population had a false sense of security and got complacent. TTPS got complacent also plus many businesses were not enforcing social distancing.

4. Elections - Rowley called elections on July 3rd. July 17th is when cases started to slowly rise. Between July 17th to August 10th, we had 100+ cases. Since mid July, Rowley should have been reversing the phases but it did not happen. Clearly he wanted to use the "good will" his government got for fighting covid to market during elections. It is true that if Rowley postponed elections, Kamla would have jumped out and say he doesn't want to have elections but that's normal political picong. Rowley called elections using covid goodwill and before the budget. When numbers started to go up, he didn't want to postpone because he knew sheet was hitting the fan and if the population realizes this, he would loose. Many in the population was still thinking we had nothing to worry about. As elections came and went, just like that we learning that there has been a backlog in testing, problems at TPHL, there are private labs doing tests, health workers contracted covid and Rowley now looking to lockdown. Those in the know like Shakes knew this weeks before.

5. Venezuelans - Altho they may have contributed, as with other things they are a convenient scapegoat. We need to know the numbers on how much venez were actually tested positive. I bet it is very low.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 18th, 2020, 10:16 am

Up by 12
FB_IMG_1597760086585.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597760083943.jpeg

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 18th, 2020, 10:26 am

Guess now they leaving out the part that states if the new cases are pending epidemiological investigation or was in contact with a recent positive covid-19 patient.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 600 cases, 12 deaths, 448 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2020, 10:31 am

What's the scene with hotels and beach houses etc

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2020, 10:34 am

Can someone please explain the following? Those are the figures I really look at for the updates.

90 new patients enroute.
35 new patients to be processed.

Does that mean next 2 updates will be increased by 125.

They will start leaving this part out as well when people start to figure it out.

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2020, 10:39 am

adnj wrote:The only campaigning that I saw were a few cars rolling down the avenue with their little flags hanging out, following the music truck.

I did mention before that I saw a campaign walk for Terrence Deyalsingh and 90% of the people were unmasked while walking.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 600 cases, 12 deaths, 448 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 18th, 2020, 10:44 am

Anybody know when they gonna announce the fines for not wearing masks?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 18th, 2020, 10:46 am

^ it hasn't been made law as yet.

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2020, 11:02 am

how many of those 3 in ICU surviving? out of the first 4 none did. tell meh dey at least trying remdesivir or something
also putting the patient in the prone position helps

https://www.vox.com/2020/8/17/21371827/covid-19-coronavirus-update-prone-position-dexamethasone-remdesivir-ventilators
Last edited by redmanjp on August 18th, 2020, 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.