COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 15th, 2020, 4:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:While I'm happy we are locking down I thought we couldn't afford it?
We can't. It's how we all gonna pay for it. Budget 2020 gonna leave a bad taste

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 15th, 2020, 4:21 pm

eitech wrote:Ppl not responsible. We need to be told what to do and the instructions need to be enforced. Left to our own conscience, we are here
This

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 4:35 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:While I'm happy we are locking down I thought we couldn't afford it?
We can't. It's how we all gonna pay for it. Budget 2020 gonna leave a bad taste

Ok I see the motive now, Covid is the new Kamla.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 15th, 2020, 5:08 pm

Maracas tomorrow too?
Dohplaydat wrote:Avenue tonight yes

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 5:11 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Maracas tomorrow too?

hope allyuh joking- anyone planning dat now deserve to end up on a ventilator in caura

Lou Screuz

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 412 cases, 9 deaths, 265 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Lou Screuz » August 15th, 2020, 5:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1597430022976.jpeg

nonsense

if colm could give a press conference

the ministry of health can give a press conference

Colm spoke in the capacity of a PNM executive member. He spoke from his constituency office.

So rowlie was talking in his capacity of a PNM executive member too ?

or how that does work ?

i dont understand

i hear men saying nothing can happen unless KAMALA behave

the counting exercise finish then ?

somebody explain i lorss

:(

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 15th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Trinis finally get the community spread they wanted. Lets see if their attitudes would change. Hope unc people stock up on puncheon and lime.

Postby j.o.e » August 15th, 2020, 5:18 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1597430022976.jpeg

nonsense

if colm could give a press conference

the ministry of health can give a press conference

Colm spoke in the capacity of a PNM executive member. He spoke from his constituency office.

So rowlie was talking in his capacity of a PNM executive member too ?

or how that does work ?

i dont understand

i hear men saying nothing can happen unless KAMALA behave

the counting exercise finish then ?

somebody explain i lorss

:(

The current govt remains I was just clarifying that either way Colm was sitting down in front a PNM backdrop talking from his constituency office. So you comparing apples and grapes.
And the MOH has given a press conference anyway after the election. So **shrugs**

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 15th, 2020, 5:19 pm

From the press release....

The Office of the President notes the concerns of the general public regarding the current status of the Prime Minister, Ministers and other members of Parliament, in response to which, much incorrect information is in widespread circulation particularly on social media.

First, and most importantly: the process of appointing or reappointing a Prime Minister and Ministers of Government, the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House is guided by the Constitution.

In the context of a General Election:

Prime Minister (Section 77)
After any dissolution of Parliament, the Prime Minister vacates office only after he is informed by the President that he is to be re-appointed or that she is appointing someone else as Prime Minister

Ministers of Government (Section 77)
Ministers vacate office only after any person is appointed or re-appointed as Prime Minister

President of the Senate (Section 45)
The President of the Senate remains Senate President after the dissolution of Parliament until the Senate first meets after that dissolution. At that first meeting the Senators will elect a President from among themselves.

Speaker of the House (Section 50)
The Speaker of the House remains Speaker after the dissolution of Parliament until the House of Representatives first meets after that dissolution. At that first meeting the Members of the House will elect a Speaker from among themselves.

The OTP trusts that this clarifies the position and puts to rest any unease being felt by citizens.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 5:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:

hope allyuh joking- anyone planning dat now deserve to end up on a ventilator in caura

Listen, while I support these measures because Trinis too harden, house limes and working in offices are perhaps the most likely ways to get covid.

Countless studies have been showing this of late. Working from home is best measure we can take, as well as avoiding crowded into spaces.

Going beach with your family who you live it is perhaps the most harmless thing you can do.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2020, 5:34 pm

Best case we can expect the cases to wither down after two weeks or so,
And hopefully small numbers towards the end of the 28 days.

Let’s see if this can be properly enforced and well of course the illegal borders

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2020, 5:36 pm

House gatherings down the islands never stopped, most of the rich folks actually spent a lot of the early lockdown there. And well gg have a big boat so he is surely quite aware as well.
Ddi should have been included as part of beaches and rivers.

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Listen, while I support these measures because Trinis too harden, house limes and working in offices are perhaps the most likely ways to get covid.

Countless studies have been showing this of late. Working from home is best measure we can take, as well as avoiding crowded into spaces.

Going beach with your family who you live it is perhaps the most harmless thing you can do.

assassin

Postby assassin » August 15th, 2020, 5:57 pm

And plenty raff up too
pugboy wrote:House gatherings down the islands never stopped, most of the rich folks actually spent a lot of the early lockdown there. And well gg have a big boat so he is surely quite aware as well.
Ddi should have been included as part of beaches and rivers.

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 15th, 2020, 5:59 pm

With a.10-14 day incubation it might help flatten this spike.

Unless we change our behavior, as soon as they let up it will spike again...we need to fundamentally change they way we operate day to day

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 6:05 pm

pugboy wrote:Best case we can expect the cases to wither down after two weeks or so,
And hopefully small numbers towards the end of the 28 days.

Let’s see if this can be properly enforced and well of course the illegal borders

we won't see any effect from this lockdown till 2 weeks due to both the incubation period as well as the lag in getting tested and results. but it will take longer as ppl still out to work depending on whether they wear masks at work

eitech

Postby eitech » August 15th, 2020, 6:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Wat? On ah expensive ventilator? Yuh mad. Fall down one time and in yuh grave. Doh waste no tax payers money

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 6:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

except when many families have d same idea this weekend and you get this:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 6:23 pm

eitech wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Wat? On ah expensive ventilator? Yuh mad. Fall down one time and in yuh grave. Doh waste no tax payers money

Ventilators are basically a death sentence, only 10% survival rate with Covid and for those who survive, quality of life after is hell.

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 6:37 pm

FB_IMG_1597530999999.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » August 15th, 2020, 6:46 pm

I just want to give props to the PM for his actions today.

This will save lives. Yes, it is a sacrifice. I know paying salary relief grant, social support, etc, is expensive, but allowing the virus to spread and wreak havoc on this country would be worse both economically and socially for all stakeholders involved.

And let me praise the PM for evolving the lockdown. That move of allowing bars to operate as defacto liquor stores will save both lives and livelihoods. For the first time in a some weeks, we have hope. Follow through, My Prime Minister. Do what needs to be done to protect the most vulnerable in our society.

Postby paid_influencer » August 15th, 2020, 6:47 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1597530999999.jpeg

uh, 23 additional cases between 10am and 6pm? no backdating? :o

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 6:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I just want to give props to the PM for his actions today.

This will save lives. Yes, it is a sacrifice. I know paying salary relief grant, social support, etc, is expensive, but allowing the virus to spread and wreak havoc on this country would be worse both economically and socially for all stakeholders involved.

And let me praise the PM for evolving the lockdown. That move of allowing bars to operate as defacto liquor stores will save both lives and livelihoods. For the first time in a some weeks, we have hope. Follow through, My Prime Minister. Do what needs to be done to protect the most vulnerable in our society.

I'm glad he did what he did, but I just hope it wasn't too late. He really should have done this 2 weeks ago, but better late than never.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2020, 6:50 pm

I fully agree with the PM's stance today...only thing is(as someone mentioned above) bars should have closed one time

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 6:52 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1597530999999.jpeg

uh, 23 additional cases between 10am and 6pm? no backdating? :o

seems so. and wait.. the difference in samples is also 23? 13,398 this afternoon - 13,375 this morning- 100% positivity rate? :shock: :shock:
Last edited by redmanjp on August 15th, 2020, 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 15th, 2020, 6:54 pm

slimey bald head aint say nothing about border protection to stop further infected venes from bring more infections to our shores. he cant he trying to stop the spread on one side and it coming in from the other.

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 7:07 pm

FB_IMG_1597532823610.jpeg

Postby matr1x » August 15th, 2020, 7:15 pm

daring dragoon wrote:slimey bald head aint say nothing about border protection to stop further infected venes from bring more infections to our shores. he cant he trying to stop the spread on one side and it coming in from the other.

Why would he want to stop he new voting base?

Postby Rovin » August 15th, 2020, 7:35 pm

ppl praising covid restrictions by the authorities but a few days ago during election time nobody was studying precautions ...

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 15th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Place pumping tonight oui. Last lap. Everyone outside tonight. Trinis are so stupid. Just got home from work an had so much traffic cz of ppl liming an parked all on the streets

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 15th, 2020, 7:41 pm

Tbh I'm glad for the restrictions however my personal opinion is it's a bit too late. The damage has already been done. Too much ppl has been moving about especially all those election rallys. We have had mass spreading already. Hopefully ppl will heed what the prime minister is saying an we can't slow things down a bit. Long road ahead tho.