COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 103 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » May 9th, 2020, 3:04 pm

***Phase 1 - May 10th to 23rd

Stay home still in place for NON Essential

Food Establishments and Restaurants to reopen (including road side vending) but no in house dining...must close at 8pm

Restricted outdoor activities...such team activities and anything that requires groups

Hardware/Electrical/Plumbing open to 4pm

Supermarkets, Markets open to 8am to 6pm

Pharmacies open to 8pm

Tobacco (Witco)/ Cement (TCL)/ Nu-Iron permission to reopen on Monday

Wear masks once you leave your home and even at home, around vulnerable groups.

Testing and Monitoring to continue...if numbers stay flatted after Phase one, we move to Phase 2

Public transportation to stay at 50% capacity phase 1 and Phase 2.

***Phase 2 - May 24 to June 6th

All manufacturing sector to reopen
Public Sector Construction (some) to move ahead

***Phase 3 June 7th - June 20th

All public service back to work with flexi-time

Public Transportation will move to 75% capacity

-- possibility of phases moving ahead of schedule dependent on the curve and numbers.

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2020, 3:06 pm

so non-essential businesses closed till June 20?

:drinking:

Postby supercharged turbo » May 9th, 2020, 3:08 pm

It would seem so...he eh saying nothing in depth about non-essential services.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 9th, 2020, 3:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:so non-essential businesses closed till June 20?

:drinking:

bingo

stay woke bros

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2020, 3:23 pm

this sounding like an 'opening up' discussion, but is really a lockdown extension discussion. :drinking:

they laugh at a man who ask if he could go bathe in the sea now

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2020, 3:25 pm

i type 'how many days until June 20' into google.

i nearly ded yes.
days.jpg
days.jpg (37.09 KiB) Viewed 4931 times

Postby Country_Bookie » May 9th, 2020, 3:25 pm

Don't understand how witco is an essential business. Why not allow all manufacturers to reopen once they can provide PPE for all employees and have social distancing?

Postby supercharged turbo » May 9th, 2020, 3:30 pm

Men does get antsy when they eh get ah smoke

Postby Dave » May 9th, 2020, 3:32 pm

Witco gives the govt lots of revenue.
They know what they are doing.

Postby Gem_in_i » May 9th, 2020, 3:33 pm

So borders may open around August in Phase 6

Postby Redman » May 9th, 2020, 3:44 pm

All the essentials cussing now..back to traffic..

Steups

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 9th, 2020, 3:46 pm

I disagree with car parts shops etc remaining closed...everything else I don't mind

carluva

Postby carluva » May 9th, 2020, 4:05 pm

I hope those workers returning to food establishments do a good cleaning of the place before cooking and preparing food. I'd hate to think how much vermin, rats, mice and roaches were crawling everywhere and then these folks start to cook up a storm. The first batch f food is apt to be loaded with germs and possibly bacteria. Lepto, diarrhea, food poisoning etc could be the order of the day next week.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » May 9th, 2020, 4:05 pm

Indeed...my car needing a part don't give a rat's azz that there's a pandemic. I need to get my 'essential' self to work, AND I'm a traveling officer, so my job depends on my vehicle working up to mark...all the time.

I don't have the luxury of being able to use another vehicle, or a company vehicle, so what is my predicament if mine suddenly needs a critical part that prevents it from being driven?

They need to revise that...Pronto.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 9th, 2020, 4:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I disagree with car parts shops etc remaining closed...everything else I don't mind

it is alleged that there are some still operating.
if you know , you know.

Postby hydroep » May 9th, 2020, 4:11 pm

Gladiator wrote:A serious question.... does the COVID data support these actions being taken? I find they too strict... we have no frikin COVID ... time to go back to work

If we are to heed Minister Ding-a-ling's admonition on the dangers of using limited data to make extrapolations then the authorities do not have reliable data because they haven't done enough testing to obtain a statistically significant sample size.

It looks like dem fellas using a combination of guesswork, extensions (more time hopefully equals gradual development of herd immunity) and copycatting (what other countries esp. in Europe are doing) in coming up with these plans, then crossing their fingers and hoping for the best...:|
Last edited by hydroep on May 9th, 2020, 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 9th, 2020, 4:15 pm

hydroep wrote:
Gladiator wrote:A serious question.... does the COVID data support these actions being taken? I find they too strict... we have no frikin COVID ... time to go back to work

If we are to heed Minister Ding-a-ling's admonition on the dangers of using a limited data to make extrapolations then the authorities do not have reliable data because they haven't enough testing to obtain a statistically significant sample size.

It looks like dem fellas using a combination of guesswork, extensions (more time hopefully equals gradual development of herd immunity) and copycatting (what other countries esp. in Europe are doing) in coming up with these plans, then crossing their fingers and hoping for the best...:|

100 % agree - :roll:

Copy cat with no data is death for everybody ..

Approx 4,000 hits per day on average so people are concerned .

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2020, 4:39 pm

If you drive by grand bazaar you will see all who are open. If you have eyes you will see.
dean_spleen09 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I disagree with car parts shops etc remaining closed...everything else I don't mind

if you know , you know.

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2020, 4:40 pm

So when I could open back my cellphone store? I could start to sell bread and snacks and make it a mini mart that selling cellphones?

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So when I could open back my cellphone store? I could start to sell bread and snacks and make it a mini mart that selling cellphones?

yes.

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2020, 4:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So when I could open back my cellphone store? I could start to sell bread and snacks and make it a mini mart that selling cellphones?

might have to get a grocer's licence. or open a parlour shop for d next year or so. remember we only move from 1 phase to the next if there isnt any resurgence- if there is we going backwards to 'stay home' phase, or at least the one before./

as i said before, grocery business is d best because come hurricane/recession/pandemic, ppl hadda eat.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 9th, 2020, 5:08 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:If you drive by grand bazaar you will see all who are open. If you have eyes you will see.
dean_spleen09 wrote:

if you know , you know.

Say no more

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 9th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:If you drive by grand bazaar you will see all who are open. If you have eyes you will see.
dean_spleen09 wrote:

if you know , you know.

As a car service shop, I have been closed since the beginning of April and we are now close to the point of no return. I'm moving up on 2 months rent being owed to the landlord.

Honestly i feel i have to start "appointment" operation or try and keep my gates semi closed or something as i see others in the area doing. There's a limit as to how long I can "do the right thing".

Heck there are some blatantly open with no issues from police.

Postby Dave » May 9th, 2020, 5:43 pm

There were many auto parts places open, both new and used as well as service bays

Postby alfa » May 9th, 2020, 5:51 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

if you know , you know.

As a car service shop, I have been closed since the beginning of April and we are now close to the point of no return. I'm moving up on 2 months rent being owed to the landlord.

Honestly i feel i have to start "appointment" operation or try and keep my gates semi closed or something as i see others in the area doing. There's a limit as to how long I can "do the right thing".

Heck there are some blatantly open with no issues from police.

I have seen some open with a ' through the barrier policy' where you tell them what you want from outside and they get it but doors remain closed. Maybe you can do that to

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2020, 5:52 pm

Mall stores gonna be sucking more salt until mid June
They landlords not budging much with rent so far

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2020, 6:37 pm

i didnt import any phones going on two months now
3 reasons

most of the suppliers abroad closed so couldnt get items anyway

locally customs REAL freaking jamming yuh

and i had to close up the store anyway cuz i didnt want to do deliveries

good thing i think quick and bring in some medical supplies to sell for them 2 months yes

i feel i gonna let someone do deliveries or open by appointment. good thing i have so much people on my social media pages yes

bills still running every month no matter what

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2020, 6:50 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i feel i gonna let someone do deliveries or open by appointment. good thing i have so much people on my social media pages yes

be careful eh. Plenty people out there hungry and desperate.

Postby toyolink » May 9th, 2020, 6:56 pm

The experience of small business owners as outlined and the financial and commercial hit felt is the cost of doing the right thing.
We all now have to urgently remap our business futures and do what we must to remain viable.
The challenges;
-Govt has not demonstrated a disposition for business recovery.
-The global supply chains are badly damaged.
-Costs of doing business has over last 12 months been rapidly moving up.
-Inventory thresholds are now moving from 3 months to 6 or 9 months.
-Domestic demand is expected to shrink further and stay static for the forseeable future.
-New equity injections must be made to remain viable.
-Domestic financial institutions are going to have to adjust their disposition and this will take time.
Anyone waiting for a magic financial bullet to resolve what is happening is destined to a terrible faith.

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2020, 7:58 pm

pugboy wrote:Mall stores gonna be sucking more salt until mid June
They landlords not budging much with rent so far

no heart having there? disrespecting the PM.

this thing with customs... that will be real assness. like what is the point in making it harder for people. the country already like sheit, the people that could ride out will migrate when they get chance.