COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 89 cases, 4 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2020, 11:02 am

what is the ratio of m/f for the entire group of positive folks though ?
and well we not sure bout ian

hydroep wrote:1st Death - male
2nd Death - male
3rd Death - no official info. This is around the time two Government officials lost elderly people close to them.
4th Death - female
5th Death - male

Seems to be keeping with the international trend of a higher mortality rate for males than females thus far...:|

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 89 cases, 5 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby nemisis » April 1st, 2020, 11:03 am

Madness the only persons who could weather the quarantine will be the well off panic buyers from earlier in the month.

Postby Gladiator » April 1st, 2020, 11:07 am

ST Auto wrote:Carpha press conference cnc3 live now

They need professionals to conduct these conferences.

I understand the poor audio, but understandable the configurations are of a short notice.

But some of the speakers need to study their work rather than reading their entire speech off a piece of paper. The illiteracy and obvious cluelessness is highly noticeable. i.e - Dr.Indar

No wonder.

But Dr.St John a lil blunt but she sounds alot more confident.

She (Indar) is not a medical doctor... Dr. in Food Science. That's why she fumbling.... square peg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 1st, 2020, 11:09 am

paid_influencer wrote:5.6% mortality rate so far locally

Dude, it 'appears' that high because of the restrictive testing procedures, which I learned were adopted because:
1. CARPHA does not have the capacity to do more than 15-20 tests per day
2. They don't have the facilities, everyone, with the virus so if you call and your symptoms are minor they blanking you.

In Germany, a country that was done mass testing the mortality rates are just over 1% which is closer to the real mortality rate. That would mean we have at a minimum 5 times more cases than reported.

Postby Gladiator » April 1st, 2020, 11:12 am

Smart fella.... when that number start to go up then they will start to lest like mad to bring it down... all about appearances

Postby paid_influencer » April 1st, 2020, 11:17 am

oh gad oye, Rowley say he going after the "recalcitrant minority" :drinking:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 1st, 2020, 11:19 am

paid_influencer wrote:oh gad oye, Rowley say he going after the "recalcitrant minority" :drinking:

daz the majority of his voters :|

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » April 1st, 2020, 11:23 am

Russia not playing.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52109892
Coronavirus: Russia includes jail terms to enforce crackdown

The Russian parliament has approved an “anti-virus” package of laws including up to seven years in prison for serious violations of quarantine rules.

The tough laws and amendments were rushed through in record time, as regions across Russia followed Moscow’s lead in imposing strict lockdowns, to slow the spread of coronavirus.

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2020, 11:25 am

Gladiator wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Carpha press conference cnc3 live now

They need professionals to conduct these conferences.

I understand the poor audio, but understandable the configurations are of a short notice.

But some of the speakers need to study their work rather than reading their entire speech off a piece of paper. The illiteracy and obvious cluelessness is highly noticeable. i.e - Dr.Indar

No wonder.

But Dr.St John a lil blunt but she sounds alot more confident.

She (Indar) is not a medical doctor... Dr. in Food Science. That's why she fumbling.... square peg

Or ok,

She probably thought it was a KFC conference.

Got it now, thanks bro

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 11:28 am

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 11:29 am

Banks are not to be closed by CoP because they are an essential service.

Postby The_Honourable » April 1st, 2020, 11:33 am

PM Rowley's Press Conference - Wednesday April 1st 2020

Postby Monk BANzai » April 1st, 2020, 11:37 am

paid_influencer wrote:oh gad oye, Rowley say he going after the "recalcitrant minority" :drinking:

hahah listen i come here just to post hat....hahahahahahaha

rowze.png

Postby redmanjp » April 1st, 2020, 11:41 am

damn- i had diarrhoea a few days ago and still have stomach discomfort

and a coworker now say her child & husband was exposed to a relative in the country who in hospital in New Jersey

https://www.livescience.com/coronavirus-diarrhea-symptoms.html

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2020, 11:48 am

CMO really deserve an award yes...

Man answering them questions almost immediately.....until non-Dr. Dunce Deyalsingh open his mouth.

Postby adnj » April 1st, 2020, 11:52 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Dude, it 'appears' that high because of the restrictive testing procedures, which I learned were adopted because:
1. CARPHA does not have the capacity to do more than 15-20 tests per day
2. They don't have the facilities, everyone, with the virus so if you call and your symptoms are minor they blanking you.

In Germany, a country that was done mass testing the mortality rates are just over 1% which is closer to the real mortality rate. That would mean we have at a minimum 5 times more cases than reported.
You're probably right about this. The governments of Germany, South Korea, Singapore, Hong Kong, and Japan indicated that testing was the most important preventative measure. Social distancing after that.

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 12:02 pm

In case allyuh think I spewing spittle again:

Should We All Be Wearing Masks In Public? Health Experts Revisit The Question

March 31, 20205:00 PM ET

Huo Jingnan-Allison Aubrey - Carmel Wroth

Even without symptoms, you might have the virus and be able to spread it when out in public, say researchers who now are reconsidering the use of surgical masks.
Elijah Nouvelage/Bloomberg via Getty Images

Updated March 31, 8:25 p.m. ET

A few months ago, it may have seemed silly to wear a face mask during a trip to the grocery store. And in fact, the mainline public health message in the U.S. from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has been that most people don't need to wear masks.

But as cases of the coronavirus have skyrocketed, there's new thinking about the benefits that masks could offer in slowing the spread. The CDC says it is now reviewing its policy and may be considering a recommendation to encourage broader use.

At the moment, the CDC website says the only people who need to wear a face mask are those who are sick or are caring for someone who is sick and unable to wear a mask.

But in an interview with NPR on Monday, CDC Director Robert Redfield said that the agency is taking another look at the data around mask use by the general public.

"I can tell you that the data and this issue of whether it's going to contribute [to prevention] is being aggressively reviewed as we speak," Redfield told NPR.

And Tuesday, President Trump weighed in suggesting people may want to wear scarves. "I would say do it," he said, noting that masks are needed for health care works. "You can use scarves, you can use something else," he said.

On Tuesday Dr. Deborah Birx, who serves as the White House's coronavirus response coordinator, said the task force is still discussing whether to change to the recommendation on masks.

Other prominent public health experts have been raising this issue in recent days. Wearing a mask is "an additional layer of protection for those who have to go out," former FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb told NPR in an interview. It's a step you can take — on top of washing your hands and avoiding gatherings.

In a paper outlining a road map to reopen the country, Gottlieb argues that the public should be encouraged to wear masks during this current period of social distancing, for the common good.

"Face masks will be most effective at slowing the spread of SARS-CoV-2 if they are widely used, because they may help prevent people who are asymptomatically infected from transmitting the disease unknowingly," Gottlieb wrote. Gottlieb points to South Korea and Hong Kong — two places that were shown to manage their outbreaks successfully and where face masks are used widely.

A prominent public health leader in China also argues for widespread use of masks in public. The director general of the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, George Gao, told Science that the U.S. and Europe are making a "big mistake" with people not wearing masks during this pandemic. Specifically, he said, mask use helps tamp down the risk presented by people who may be infected but aren't yet showing symptoms.

If those people wear masks, "it can prevent droplets that carry the virus from escaping and infecting others," Gao told Science.

The argument for broadening the use of face masks is based on what scientists have learned about asymptomatic spread during this pandemic.

It turns out that many people who are infected with the virus have no symptoms — or only mild symptoms.

What this means is that there's no good way to know who's infected. If you're trying to be responsible when you go out in public, you may not even know that you're sick and may be inadvertently shedding the virus every time you talk with someone, such as a grocery store clerk.

"If these asymptomatic people could wear face masks, then it could be helpful to reduce the transmission in the community," says Elaine Shuo Feng, an infectious disease epidemiology researcher at the Oxford Vaccine Group at the University of Oxford.

Given the reality of asymptomatic spread, masks may be a good socially responsible insurance policy, Gottlieb argues. "[Wearing masks] protects other people from getting sick from you," he says.

But there is still a big concern about mask shortages in the United States. A survey released Friday from the U.S. Conference of Mayors finds that about 92% of 213 cities did not have an adequate supply of face masks for first responders and medical personnel.

At this point, experts emphasize that the general public needs to leave the supply of N95 medical masks to health care workers who are at risk every day when they go to work.

And supplies are also tight for surgical masks, the masks used everywhere from dentists' offices to nail salons and that are even handcrafted.

"We need to be very mindful that the supply chain for masks is extremely limited right now," Gottlieb says. "So you really don't want to pull any kind of medical masks out of the system."

Given current shortages, it may be too soon to tell the general public to start wearing surgical masks right now. "We certainly don't have enough masks in health care," says William Schaffner, an infectious disease expert at Vanderbilt University. "I wouldn't want people to go out and buy them now, because we don't want to siphon them off from health care."

Where does that leave us? Some research has shown that cotton T-shirt material and tea towels might help block respiratory droplets emitting from sick people, even if the effect is minimal.

"Homemade masks, shawls, scarves and anything that you can conjure up at home might well be a good idea," says Schaffner. "It's not clear that it's going to give a lot of protection, but every little bit of protection would help."

But experts say homemade masks may not be effective if not constructed and handled properly.

That's why Gottlieb says the CDC should issue guidelines advising people on how to construct their own cotton masks. "Cotton masks constructed in a proper way should provide a reasonable degree of protection from people being able to transmit the virus," he told NPR.

There's no definitive evidence from published research that wearing masks in public will protect the person wearing the mask from contracting diseases. In fact, randomized controlled trials — considered the gold standard for testing the effectiveness of an intervention — are limited, and the results from those trials were inconclusive, says Feng.

But Feng points out that randomized clinical trials have not shown significant effects for hand hygiene either. "But for mechanistic reasons, we believe hygiene can be a good way to kill pathogens, and WHO still recommends hand hygiene," she says.

And those randomized studies were looking at how the face mask could protect the wearer, but what experts are arguing is that face masks may prevent infected but asymptomatic people from transmitting the virus to others. It's hard to come by data on this point. One meta-analysis reviewing mask use during the SARS epidemic found that wearing masks — in addition to other efforts to block transmission, including hand-washing — was beneficial. Another meta-analysis of mask use to prevent influenza transmission was not conclusive but showed masks possibly help.

The research may not be conclusive, but researchers we interviewed agreed that mask use is better than nothing. "There are some modest data that it will provide some modest protection," Schaffner says. "And we can use all the protection we can get."

Concern over presymptomatic spread in the community has also led some hospitals to change their policies and extend the use of masks to nonclinical employees and visitors. Last week, Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston took the unusual step of giving surgical or procedural face masks to all employees who go into the hospital to work, even if they don't provide care to patients, the hospital's Infection Control Unit associate chief, Erica Shenoy, told NPR.

"This runs very contrary to what we normally do in infection control," she says. "But we felt that with the unprecedented nature of the pandemic, this is the right decision at this time." She says if an employee were to get sick while at work, "the face masks would serve to contain the virus particles and reduce the risk of patients and others working at our facilities."

On March 29, the University of California, San Francisco, also started giving surgical masks to all staff, faculty, trainees and visitors before they enter any clinical care building within the UCSF system.

Feng cautions that if people do start wearing face masks regularly in public, it is important to wear them properly. She notes that the World Health Organization has a video on how to practice correct hygiene when putting on or taking off a mask.

Saskia Popescu, an infectious disease researcher and biodefense consultant, is skeptical that healthy members of the public need to start wearing masks regularly — she says people should follow current CDC guidelines. But she emphasizes that if you are going to wear a mask, "you have to wear it appropriately." That means, she says, "you have to discard it when it gets damp or moist. You want to stop touching the front of it. Don't reach under to scratch your nose or mouth."

Otherwise, she warns, wearing masks could give "a false sense of security."

https://www.npr.org/sections/health-sho ... e-question

Not wearing masks to protect against coronavirus is a ‘big mistake,’ top Chinese scientist says

By Jon CohenMar. 27, 2020 , 6:15 PM

Chinese scientists at the front of that country’s outbreak of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) have not been particularly accessible to foreign media. Many have been overwhelmed trying to understand their epidemic and combat it, and responding to media requests, especially from journalists outside of China, has not been a top priority.

Science has tried to interview George Gao, director-general of the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), for 2 months. Last week he responded.

George Gao, head of the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Stephane AUDRAS/REA/Redux

Gao oversees 2000 employees—one-fifth the staff size of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention—and he remains an active researcher himself. In January, he was part of a team that did the first isolation and sequencing of severe acute respiratory syndrome 2 (SARS-CoV-2), the virus that causes COVID-19. He co-authored two widely read papers published in The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) that provided some of the first detailed epidemiology and clinical features of the disease, and has published three more papers on COVID-19 in The Lancet.

His team also provided important data to a joint commission between Chinese researchers and a team of international scientists, organized by the World Health Organization (WHO), that wrote a landmark report after touring the country to understand the response to the epidemic.

First trained as a veterinarian, Gao later earned a Ph.D. in biochemistry at the University of Oxford and did postdocs there and at Harvard University, specializing in immunology and virology. His research specializes in viruses that have fragile lipid membranes called envelopes—a group that includes SARS-CoV-2—and how they enter cells and also move between species.

Gao answered Science’s questions over several days via text, voicemails, and phone conversations. This interview has been edited for brevity and clarity.

Q: What can other countries learn from the way China has approached COVID-19?

A: Social distancing is the essential strategy for the control of any infectious diseases, especially if they are respiratory infections. First, we used “nonpharmaceutical strategies,” because you don’t have any specific inhibitors or drugs and you don’t have any vaccines. Second, you have to make sure you isolate any cases. Third, close contacts should be in quarantine: We spend a lot of time trying to find all these close contacts, and to make sure they are quarantined and isolated. Fourth, suspend public gatherings. Fifth, restrict movement, which is why you have a lockdown, the cordon sanitaire in French.

Q: The lockdown in China began on 23 January in Wuhan and was expanded to neighboring cities in Hubei province. Other provinces in China had less restrictive shutdowns. How was all of this coordinated, and how important were the “supervisors” overseeing the efforts in neighborhoods?

A: You have to have understanding and consensus. For that you need very strong leadership, at the local and national level. You need a supervisor and coordinator working with the public very closely. Supervisors need to know who the close contacts are, who the suspected cases are. The supervisors in the community must be very alert. They are key.

Q: What mistakes are other countries making?

A: The big mistake in the U.S. and Europe, in my opinion, is that people aren’t wearing masks. This virus is transmitted by droplets and close contact. Droplets play a very important role—you’ve got to wear a mask, because when you speak, there are always droplets coming out of your mouth. Many people have asymptomatic or presymptomatic infections. If they are wearing face masks, it can prevent droplets that carry the virus from escaping and infecting others.

Q: What about other control measures? China has made aggressive use of thermometers at the entrances to stores, buildings, and public transportation stations, for instance.

A: Yes. Anywhere you go inside in China, there are thermometers. You have to try to take people’s temperatures as often as you can to make sure that whoever has a high fever stays out.

And a really important outstanding question is how stable this virus is in the environment. Because it’s an enveloped virus, people think it’s fragile and particularly sensitive to surface temperature or humidity. But from both U.S. results and Chinese studies, it looks like it’s very resistant to destruction on some surfaces. It may be able to survive in many environments. We need to have science-based answers here.

Q: People who tested positive in Wuhan but only had mild disease were sent into isolation in large facilities and were not allowed to have visits from family. Is this something other countries should consider?

A: Infected people must be isolated. That should happen everywhere. You can only control COVID-19 if you can remove the source of the infection. This is why we built module hospitals and transformed stadiums into hospitals.

Q: There are many questions about the origin of the outbreak in China. Chinese researchers have reported that the earliest case dates back to 1 December 2019. What do you think of the report in the South China Morning Post that says data from the Chinese government show there were cases in November 2019, with the first one on 17 November?

A: There is no solid evidence to say we already had clusters in November. We are trying to better understand the origin.

Q: Wuhan health officials linked a large cluster of cases to the Huanan seafood market and closed it on 1 January. The assumption was that a virus had jumped to humans from an animal sold and possibly butchered at the market. But in your paper in NEJM, which included a retrospective look for cases, you reported that four of the five earliest infected people had no links to the seafood market. Do you think the seafood market was a likely place of origin, or is it a distraction—an amplifying factor but not the original source?

A: That’s a very good question. You are working like a detective. From the very beginning, everybody thought the origin was the market. Now, I think the market could be the initial place, or it could be a place where the virus was amplified. So that’s a scientific question. There are two possibilities.

Q: China was also criticized for not sharing the viral sequence immediately. The story about a new coronavirus came out in The Wall Street Journal on 8 January; it didn’t come from Chinese government scientists. Why not?

A: That was a very good guess from The Wall Street Journal. WHO was informed about the sequence, and I think the time between the article appearing and the official sharing of the sequence was maybe a few hours. I don’t think it’s more than a day.

Q: But a public database of viral sequences later showed that the first one was submitted by Chinese researchers on 5 January. So there were at least 3 days that you must have known that there was a new coronavirus. It’s not going to change the course of the epidemic now, but to be honest, something happened about reporting the sequence publicly.

A: I don’t think so. We shared the information with scientific colleagues promptly, but this involved public health and we had to wait for policymakers to announce it publicly. You don’t want the public to panic, right? And no one in any country could have predicted that the virus would cause a pandemic. This is the first noninfluenza pandemic ever.

" Infected people must be isolated. That should happen everywhere."
George Gao, Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention

Q: It wasn’t until 20 January that Chinese scientists officially said there was clear evidence of human-to-human transmission. Why do you think epidemiologists in China had so much difficulty seeing that it was occurring?

A: Detailed epidemiological data were not available yet. And we were facing a very crazy and concealed virus from the very beginning. The same is true in Italy, elsewhere in Europe, and the United States: From the very beginning scientists, everybody thought: “Well, it’s just a virus.”

Q: Spread in China has dwindled to a crawl, and the new confirmed cases are mainly people entering the country, correct?

A: Yes. At the moment, we don’t have any local transmission, but the problem for China now is the imported cases. So many infected travelers are coming into China.

Q: But what will happen when China returns to normal? Do you think enough people have become infected so that herd immunity will keep the virus at bay?

A: We definitely don’t have herd immunity yet. But we are waiting for more definitive results from antibody tests that can tell us how many people really have been infected.

Q: So what is the strategy now? Buying time to find effective medicines?

A: Yes—our scientists are working on both vaccines and drugs.

Q: Many scientists consider remdesivir to be the most promising drug now being tested. When do you think clinical trials in China of the drug will have data?

A: In April.

Q: Have Chinese scientists developed animal models that you think are robust enough to study pathogenesis and test drugs and vaccines?

A: At the moment, we are using both monkeys and transgenic mice that have ACE2, the human receptor for the virus. The mouse model is widely used in China for drug and vaccine assessment, and I think there are at least a couple papers coming out about the monkey models soon. I can tell you that our monkey model works.

Q: What do you think of President Donald Trump referring to the new coronavirus as the “China virus” or the “Chinese virus”?

A: It’s definitely not good to call it the Chinese virus. The virus belongs to the Earth. The virus is our common enemy—not the enemy of any person or country.
Posted in:

Asia/PacificHealthCoronavirus

doi:10.1126/science.abb9368

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/03 ... tist-says#

bluefete wrote:Right now big disagreement by the "experts" on whether people should or should not wear masks.

Western doctors saying it is not necessary or only when you get the virus.

Eastern (China) doctors saying it is mandatory because that also helped slow the virus in China.

Who are we supposed to believe?

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 12:07 pm

There are symptoms linked to the virus that the "experts' do not even acknowledge.

For example - the temporary loss of smell and taste.

But I am just a bush doctor related to Trevor Sayers.

redmanjp wrote:damn- i had diarrhoea a few days ago and still have stomach discomfort

and a coworker now say her child & husband was exposed to a relative in the country who in hospital in New Jersey

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 89 cases, 5 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2020, 12:12 pm

Lol

The TUB girl in the media asking the panel how they doing.

This is no time to pull smalls....

She should have asked non-Dr. Dunce Deyalsingh how he could say they doing well when they doing minimal testing.

She should have asked WHY, even before the stay at home restrictions, why hundreds of citizens with symptoms were denied testings. What impact has this caused to society in the mass uncontrollable irresponsible crowds.

The hospitals would have never been able to handle the volume of people had they done more testings.

Ask that, not giggle questions.
Last edited by MaxPower on April 1st, 2020, 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 12:15 pm

The more restrictive the testing, the more controlled the results.

How many testing kits does the gov't really have though?

Postby hydroep » April 1st, 2020, 12:15 pm

PM: Govt considering releasing non-violent inmates from prison
Shane Superville

The Prime Minister consideration is being given to the possibility of releasing non-violent offenders from prison to reduce overcrowding at these institutions and hence minimise the spread of the coronavirus.

Speaking at a media briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's, on Wednesday, Dr Rowley said in such a time of crisis it was important for society to have some understanding on the risks associated with the transmission of the disease, citing prisons as one of the vulnerable areas where the virus could spread.

"Today I have been in touch with the Attorney General who has been in touch with the Judiciary and work is progressing with a view to determine what we can do to intervene in the prisons, to have people who are there on the basis of not having been able to make bail, persons who are not violent or a danger to see if we can improve the conditions by reducing overcrowding because that's a vulnerable area.

"For prisoners who have been convicted and are on appeal, the population will understand that if there are things we can do there with the broadest sense of understanding, get those people out of there and I trust we can minimise our exposure there for certain categories of the incarcerated so that will be another step."

Dr Rowley said he expected the Attorney General and the Judiciary would have come to a decision on what should be done on the release of non-violent offenders by the end of the day.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/01/pm-govt-considering-releasing-non-violent-inmates-from-prison/

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 12:17 pm

If they ban visitors and screen prison officers then you can restrict the spread in prison.

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2020, 12:26 pm

Once again, in case allyuh think I spewing spittle:

Sudden Loss of Smell Could Indicate 'Hidden Carriers' of Coronavirus, Say UK Experts
ADAM BIENKOV, BUSINESS INSIDER
22 MARCH 2020

Anyone experiencing a sudden loss of smell could be a "hidden carrier" of the coronavirus, even if they have no other symptoms, according to evidence compiled by leading rhinologists in the UK.

In South Korea, China, and Italy, about a third of patients who have tested positive for COVID-19 have also reported a loss of smell – known as anosmia or hyposmia – leading ear, nose, and throat experts in the UK have reported.

"In South Korea, where testing has been more widespread, 30 percent of patients testing positive have had anosmia as their major presenting symptom in otherwise mild cases," the president of the British Rhinological Society Professor, Clare Hopkins, and the president of the British Association of Otorhinolaryngology, professor Nirmal Kumar, said in a joint statement.

The professors said that many patients around the world who have tested positive for COVID-19 are presenting only the symptoms of loss of smell and taste – without the more commonly recognised symptoms of high fever and coughing.

"There have been a rapidly growing number of reports of a significant increase in the number of patients presenting with anosmia in the absence of other symptoms," the statement says.

"Iran has reported a sudden increase in cases of isolated anosmia, and many colleagues from the US, France, and Northern Italy have the same experience."

The lack of other recognised symptoms in these cases may mean they are unlikely to be tested and isolated, meaning they could be contributing to the rapid spread of the disease worldwide.

"These patients may be some of the hitherto hidden carriers that have facilitated the rapid spread of COVID-19," they added.
Young people may not present common coronavirus symptoms

Professor Kumar told Sky News that younger patients in particular may demonstrate only a loss of smell or taste, without demonstrating the more commonly recognised coronavirus symptoms of high fever and persistent coughs.

"In young patients, they do not have any significant symptoms such as the cough and fever, but they may have just the loss of sense of smell and taste, which suggests that these viruses are lodging in the nose," he said.

The professors called for anyone presenting the symptoms of loss of taste or smell to self-isolate for seven days to prevent the further spread of the disease.

This article was originally published by Business Insider.

https://www.sciencealert.com/mild-covid ... l-or-taste

bluefete wrote:There are symptoms linked to the virus that the "experts' do not even acknowledge.

For example - the temporary loss of smell and taste.

But I am just a bush doctor related to Trevor Sayers.

redmanjp wrote:damn- i had diarrhoea a few days ago and still have stomach discomfort

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 1st, 2020, 12:35 pm

Meanwhile Germany testing 500,000 per week.

Whereas how much we testing? About 500 in 20 days? 25/day?
At that rate it would take (1.3m/25) = 52000 days or 142 years.
And bear in mind that is TT alone (not counting the millions of others from the region that also have to use TT labs)

If we have to test at such a sheit rate, why even bother test at all?
In 142 years everyone will be dead anyway.

Why not just accept it and go the Swedish/Dutch route?

Also, Dewayne them should probably unban the person (Kamla) who post the 'fake news' seeing that he/she wasn't far from the truth at all.

Maybe they might give some more news from the future.

And oh GOSH man ollour trini real fuggin annoying - I will continue this post in the next thread

abducted

Postby abducted » April 1st, 2020, 12:35 pm

The mods should give bluefete and Effectic Designs their own thread and then hide it from everyone else, this thread would be very informative without their useless posts and toting of feelings

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2020, 12:36 pm

I was not studying the poor countries as much as the larger ones. For example China is the largest foreign holder of US debt. You really think America going and hand over the Port of Long Beach to them like Sri Lanka did with Hambantota?

you think America would actually have an alternative choice? A contract between two governments is still a contract, & if in that contract there is a condition that failure to service the debt results in forfeiture of the indebted asset, only thing stopping foreclosure is a creditors good faith gesture. To the best of my knowledge, the US has not been a recipient of Belt & Road Initiative financing, so they don't have to worry too much there. but if ever they were, they'd be JUST as on the hook as smaller countries with weak economies would be. & right now some of those smaller watching out & trying to see what can be done if this kind of economic slowdown/shutdown continues for so long that it takes them years to recover & they literally cannot pay back what they owe.

US debt to china is mostly trade debt, but it is a lot. No great risk of siezure of assets, but this sort of debt does have it's consequences if not managed properly
Time will tell for us all, nation by nation, fledgling or superpower.

Postby matr1x » April 1st, 2020, 12:41 pm

The Chinese are a disgusting lot. Filthy and no regard for life. Human or otherwise

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2020, 12:45 pm

Things just got a whole lot worse according to MIT researchers, tho it should be noted Dr. Fauci disagrees with this MIT research he says it is misleading but again you talking about a MIT researcher here eh.

https://nypost.com/2020/03/31/coronavir ... qtjWvcHbAg

Corona can travel 27 feet and stay in the air for hours

MIT associate professor Lydia Bourouiba, who has researched the dynamics of coughs and sneezes for years, warns in newly published research that the current guidelines are based on outdated models from the 1930s.

Rather than the assumed safety of 6 feet, Bourouiba warns that “pathogen-bearing droplets of all sizes can travel 23 to 27 feet.”

Her research, published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, also warns that “droplets that settle along the trajectory can contaminate surfaces” — and “residues or droplet nuclei” may “stay suspended in the air for hours.”

Postby Dizzy28 » April 1st, 2020, 1:18 pm

I was not studying the poor countries as much as the larger ones. For example China is the largest foreign holder of US debt. You really think America going and hand over the Port of Long Beach to them like Sri Lanka did with Hambantota?

you think America would actually have an alternative choice? A contract between two governments is still a contract, & if in that contract there is a condition that failure to service the debt results in forfeiture of the indebted asset, only thing stopping foreclosure is a creditors good faith gesture. To the best of my knowledge, the US has not been a recipient of Belt & Road Initiative financing, so they don't have to worry too much there. but if ever they were, they'd be JUST as on the hook as smaller countries with weak economies would be. & right now some of those smaller watching out & trying to see what can be done if this kind of economic slowdown/shutdown continues for so long that it takes them years to recover & they literally cannot pay back what they owe.

US debt to china is mostly trade debt, but it is a lot. No great risk of siezure of assets, but this sort of debt does have it's consequences if not managed properly
Time will tell for us all, nation by nation, fledgling or superpower.

No it is not.
The Chinese are the largest overseas holder of Treasury bills which is the largest component of the debt they own.
https://www.investopedia.com/articles/i ... w-much.asp

Once again it is in their interest for America to have at least a healthy economy if not a booming one

Postby redmanjp » April 1st, 2020, 1:26 pm

time to wear masks then? especially as local and then community spread is happening