COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

demented

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby demented » March 27th, 2020, 11:54 am

aaron17 wrote:If i have to go in the grocery or pharm...do i need a letter to show the police? If not , what is the purpose then of using the police to regulate? Ppl can lie.

And these are the people that will cause us all to become infected. The foolish/immature dotish people. People need to be mature and understand the seriousness of this situation. Sadly, it may be that Trinidad will become like NY soon...out of control.

Postby maj. tom » March 27th, 2020, 12:00 pm

If the police stops you after Sunday night, they can check your address on the driver's licence and ask why you so far from home. If it doesn't have a grocery near you within 5 km. The roads will be empty so police patrols in an area bound to take note if they see you again later without groceries.

It obviously kind of hard to prove someone is not going to the grocery though, but they have to threaten people with real fines or jail time.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 27th, 2020, 12:04 pm

That is a really long list Stuart called out there for the essential services. Sounds like everything continuing as normal. So anyone want to hazard a guess at what is predictable for the next few weeks?

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 12:15 pm

I wish some of you collect some hard slap from the TTPS...

I dont understand, if you boldface Trinis seeing people distancing....WHY allyuh still coming close with allyuh out ah timing self?

Yuck!

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 27th, 2020, 12:24 pm

So my employer says we are an essential service because we supply the energy sector. She is giving us letters to keep in our vehicles that we are employees of blah blah blah..... So if a policeman decides to stop me on my way to work an looks at it and says that the company is not essential.... If I am being charged, can I ask that the charge be laid against the company instead of myself because the company wanted us to come to work?

killercow

Postby killercow » March 27th, 2020, 12:47 pm

MaxPower wrote:I wish some of you collect some hard slap from the TTPS...

I find TTPS should start / be allowed to operate like the police in India. Anytime yuh get ketch on d road without VALID and LEGITIMATE reason, beat yuh @ss with a big stick.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 27th, 2020, 12:54 pm

So what's the consequence / result of opening / operating a non-essential business come Monday?
And what are the consequences if the TTPS / TTDF stops you Monday and you're not deemed as essential? Fine? I just wanna make sure I understand all the stipulated news regulations. Thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2020, 1:08 pm

ESSENTIAL SERVICES LIST - CNC3

National Security Minister Stuart Young has announced stay-at-home measures from March 30 to April 15 and listed what the essential services are.

The full list, which we shall also publish, will be released later today but he listed the essential services at a news conference this morning.

The following are our notes of some of the services he mentioned:

• Judiciary
• Parliament
• Cabinet
• THA
• Primary emergency and protective services
• State and private emergency ambulances
• Police Service, Defence Force, Fire Services, Immigration, SSA
• Basic services concerning provision of health, hospital, water, electricity, fire, civil aviation, funeral homes, public work facilities, prisons, Immigration detention centres
• Children’s homes, community residences, rehabilitation centres
• Places for disabled, socially displaced, elderly, geriatric
• Private security firms, estate constables, SRPs
• Social services homes, removal of solid waste
• Financial services including banking and other institutions under Financial Institutions Act and all support services to financial institutions
• Care-givers for the elderly and those who require it
• Services necessary for maintaining safety, sanitation and essential operations of personal residents including plumbers, electricians, exterminators and live-in domestic workers
• Convenient stores, corner shops, discount stores, supermarkets, groceries, pharmacies and hardware
• All government services closed except ministries and municipal corporations and they will decide essential services necessary
• Inland Revenue Division, Treasury, Central Bank, Customs and Excise
• Port operations, truck drivers providing delivery services
• Automated repair and maintenance facilities who are providing direct support to essential services
• Manufacturers and distribution of food, beverages, pharmaceuticals
• Coastal operations, repair of aircraft, movement of cargo and passengers, aviation and airport operations, loading an unloading repair of ships ans storage and delivery of goods off ports
• Public transportation of water taxis, motor vehicles and buses
• Workers supporting groceries, pharmacies and retail selling food and a beverage
• Restaurants can have take away no in-house dining
• Media which includes workers supporting newspapers, radio, television and online services
• Services related to food production, agriculture, fisheries and feed production
• Energy services, oil and gas industries, gas stations
• Hotels guest houses, Seismic Research Unit at UWI
• Not including construction sites and workers but specific exemption for workers engaged in health care facilities
• Persons responsible for lighting and keeping going, furnaces and kilns in manufacturing operations

He said the Minister of Health, after consultation with Minister of National Security and the Prime Minister can amend this list.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/here-are-the-ess ... d-by-govt/

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 27th, 2020, 1:10 pm

Play dotish and tell us what happens come Monday.
killercow wrote:So what's the consequence / result of opening / operating a non-essential business come Monday?
And what are the consequences if the TTPS / TTDF stops you Monday and you're not deemed as essential? Fine? I just wanna make sure I understand all the stipulated news regulations. Thanks

Re: Coronavirus-should Chinese nationals be allowed to come?

Postby Ben_spanna » March 27th, 2020, 1:12 pm

88sins wrote:Would a national outbreak of super virus with a high mortality rate really be such a terrible thing for T&T? idk about allyuh eh, but to me it sounding kinda attractive & I could see some benefits to it.

still on the same thought pattern??? :roll:

Postby Ben_spanna » March 27th, 2020, 1:13 pm

once people stay home AND government extends the total lockdown of its airport and any other points of entry for the next 2 months we should get through this with minimum casualties. But it will be sweet tnt cause you aint going no where either.

Postby hydroep » March 27th, 2020, 1:15 pm

LOL @ "Guest Houses" as an "essential service"...:lol:

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 65 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2020, 1:23 pm

boxy wrote:See if this one works
https://tinyurl.com/yx7ncfco

@smash the Ministry would have done immediate contact tracing with his primary persons of contact and by now they would have developed symptoms similarly to the cruise ship victims and they would have been added to the tally. Or you believe they are covering this up as well?

boxy wrote:Your arguement is getting annoying now.
On another note here is an example of the stupidity of Boris Johnson before and regret after. Take note of the way he stresses on the term mild symptoms for all the Web MD graduates who still think the specialists are saying the virus is mild.

https://twitter.com/mufc_1878_1902/stat ... 02437?s=09
Gladiator wrote:From the timeline in the article...is it safe to say that if we did not have Carnival Mr Leon would not have come to Trinidad and died and whoever he infected could have been avoided.

Awaits the carnival jumbies to start their rants...
hydroep wrote:The CMO/MOH is withholding the date when the gentleman was (first) admitted. Why?...:|

Wide tracing net needed for 1st COVID fatality
Mark Bassant, Lead Editor - Investigative

Hansel Leon, who died of a COVID-19-related illness at the Couva Hospital on Wednesday.

There are still several burning questions that have not been answered by Ministry of Health authorities in the death of 77-year-old Hansel Leon, a US citizen who succumbed to complications from the COVID-19 on Wednesday close to noon at the Couva Hospital. The one thing that seems certain, however, is that the Ministry’s of Health’s contact tracing net for persons he may have come into contact with will have to be cast wide.

During a post-Cabinet media briefing opn Thursday, Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram skirted around several questions raised about Leon and failed to give clear answers on when the patient was first admitted to a medical facility before he was later transferred to the Couva Hospital, where his condition worsened.

But Guardian Media was able to obtain some vital information not only concerning Leon’s travel but also his activity over the last few weeks with a friend of the man’s relatives.

Senior immigration sources told Guardian Media that Leon, who was staying at his sister’s house in South Trinidad, arrived in the country on flight BW521 on February 7 from New York. The man also visited Trinidad last year, arriving on February 20 and leaving on March 22 - senior immigration sources added.

“He comes every year for Carnival,” a family friend said Thursday.

In the weeks leading up to Carnival, Leon had been socialising and attending public events.

“For all of February he was fine but one of his close relatives where he was staying told him he should not be venturing out so often because of COVID-19,” revealed the family friend.

But on March 1, the week after Carnival, there was a gathering Leon attended along with his friend, also from New York, where there were several other foreign nationals also present, the family friend said.

“I know that he passed out on a chair from tiredness that night and his friend later took him home. About four days later (March 5) he went to a funeral,” the family friend said.

A few days later, Leon fell ill and his friend from New York, who had gone to visit him at his relative’s home, said he did not look well and they decided to call an ambulance.

“From what I was told, he was taken to the San Fernando General Hospital and I know when they admitted him he gave his son’s contact information in Atlanta,” said the friend.

The friend said they believe it was “quite likely that someone else who was ill with the virus may have passed it on to him.”

Leon seems to have been taken to the Couva Hospital sometime between March 13 and 15, where he was being treated until he died on Wednesday, which would suggest he took well over the two to 14-day period which current medical experts suggest before showing symptoms after exposure.

Parasram said there were outliers (anomalies) that didn’t fix the general statistic trend with his case. He said in some cases, patients could show symptoms up to 42 days after.

“All of us have been working with 14 days and we are hoping to God that it is right. There has been shown viremic patients up to 42 days in the research, some as far as beyond 42 days, documented 21 days and carrying viral illness.”

However, he steered clear of indicating when Leon was admitted and if he was admitted around March 13, why his case wasn’t declared to the pubic in some measure since the first two cases declared by the Ministry of Health did not match his age. The ages of the first two COVID-19 patients were 52 and 66 respectively.

Up to Thursday, according to the Ministry of Health, T&T had 65 confirmed cases of COVID and 415 people had been tested.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wide-tracing-net-needed-for-1st-covid-fatality-6.2.1087619.1a5fbcd137
Your link isn't leading to a page however hopefully it was not this you were referring to when talking about Boris!!

Screenshot_2020-03-27-07-56-37-532_bbc.mobile.news.ww.jpeg

think garcia. day before school has to open, he comes out and reports to rowley, every thing is regular and correct, all schools will be open, and ready for business. when school reopens, if all do open, some of them close back during that first week for a myriad of reasons. most of the time is repairs that did not occur during the vacation period.

same ting now; a lot of grandiose proclamations of how they got this, but really, they are operating minute to minute. and by the seat of thier pants. case in point, all the goodies they promised people, the next day every body outside nib and MoSS, and they had to tell them they have nothing in place for what ever promises that was made.

another point, the 20k people, they said that they would be called twice a day to keep track of them. if each call lasted no more than 1 minute, it would take 83 callers, calling non stop for 4 hours without break to call all 20k persons, once. and they said they will do it twice a week.

they like to feed u all bs, with a calm sedate tone, and u all lap it up. they are at least a month behind every measure.

anohter thing, they needed to do quasi random testing at various places to figure out how far it is in the population. we have two confirmed deaths now, but we had 40 flu deaths that would nothave had a covid test done.

they re selectively measuring for this disease, and the lack of social suppression would(had) allowed it to spread, and would wait till they get a release by a careless person to blame it on, eg ian. so population testing will be actoined after the carnival incubation, so u will not have data to show carnival spread.

not so much a cover up, as a system engineered to skew the data a certain direction.

Postby teems1 » March 27th, 2020, 1:25 pm

hydroep wrote:LOL @ "Guest Houses" as an "essential service"...:lol:

Spanish cops ‘forced to break up ORGY during coronavirus lockdown

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/11255701/spanish-cops-orgy-coronavirus-lockdown/

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2020, 1:39 pm

All NLCB games are suspended until Apr 15th as well.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 27th, 2020, 1:43 pm

Smash please go to the WHO website and educate yourself on how testing works please cause at this point I honestly believe u are trolling and it's useless trying to get u to comprehend how modern medicine works.

In a nutshell YOU WILL BE WASTING PRECIOUS TESTING KIT RESOURCES IF YOU TEST SOMEONE WITHOUT SYMPTOMS. The kits provided to CARPHA came from WHO and special guidelines are to be met before using these limited resources.

Secondly the set of people who end up in front of NIB should have called first what country in the world makes an announcement of that magnitude and makes it available by the following day. You are purposely being difficult.

Lastly you do not know what capabilities the government uses to track the people who should be quarantined be it that it could be none you don't know and I don't know for sure.

Basically your entire rants on this page either has been debunked numerous times or you parroting talking points from Facebook.

Can you believe people saying the CMO was programmed lmao aye Allyuh real different here yes and my eye literally twitched when my bredrin bring back up Dr Trotman expressing the mild symptoms Allyuh continue to live in ignorance and believe there is a conspiracy to everything. Doh take the vacinne too when it is made cause u might end up becoming a PNM for life as a side effect

sMASH wrote:

@smash the Ministry would have done immediate contact tracing with his primary persons of contact and by now they would have developed symptoms similarly to the cruise ship victims and they would have been added to the tally. Or you believe they are covering this up as well?

On another note here is an example of the stupidity of Boris Johnson before and regret after. Take note of the way he stresses on the term mild symptoms for all the Web MD graduates who still think the specialists are saying the virus is mild.

Gladiator wrote:From the timeline in the article...is it safe to say that if we did not have Carnival Mr Leon would not have come to Trinidad and died and whoever he infected could have been avoided.

hydroep wrote:The CMO/MOH is withholding the date when the gentleman was (first) admitted. Why?...:|

Hansel Leon, who died of a COVID-19-related illness at the Couva Hospital on Wednesday.

There are still several burning questions that have not been answered by Ministry of Health authorities in the death of 77-year-old Hansel Leon, a US citizen who succumbed to complications from the COVID-19 on Wednesday close to noon at the Couva Hospital. The one thing that seems certain, however, is that the Ministry’s of Health’s contact tracing net for persons he may have come into contact with will have to be cast wide.

During a post-Cabinet media briefing opn Thursday, Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram skirted around several questions raised about Leon and failed to give clear answers on when the patient was first admitted to a medical facility before he was later transferred to the Couva Hospital, where his condition worsened.

But Guardian Media was able to obtain some vital information not only concerning Leon’s travel but also his activity over the last few weeks with a friend of the man’s relatives.

Senior immigration sources told Guardian Media that Leon, who was staying at his sister’s house in South Trinidad, arrived in the country on flight BW521 on February 7 from New York. The man also visited Trinidad last year, arriving on February 20 and leaving on March 22 - senior immigration sources added.

In the weeks leading up to Carnival, Leon had been socialising and attending public events.

“For all of February he was fine but one of his close relatives where he was staying told him he should not be venturing out so often because of COVID-19,” revealed the family friend.

But on March 1, the week after Carnival, there was a gathering Leon attended along with his friend, also from New York, where there were several other foreign nationals also present, the family friend said.

“I know that he passed out on a chair from tiredness that night and his friend later took him home. About four days later (March 5) he went to a funeral,” the family friend said.

A few days later, Leon fell ill and his friend from New York, who had gone to visit him at his relative’s home, said he did not look well and they decided to call an ambulance.

“From what I was told, he was taken to the San Fernando General Hospital and I know when they admitted him he gave his son’s contact information in Atlanta,” said the friend.

The friend said they believe it was “quite likely that someone else who was ill with the virus may have passed it on to him.”

Leon seems to have been taken to the Couva Hospital sometime between March 13 and 15, where he was being treated until he died on Wednesday, which would suggest he took well over the two to 14-day period which current medical experts suggest before showing symptoms after exposure.

Parasram said there were outliers (anomalies) that didn’t fix the general statistic trend with his case. He said in some cases, patients could show symptoms up to 42 days after.

“All of us have been working with 14 days and we are hoping to God that it is right. There has been shown viremic patients up to 42 days in the research, some as far as beyond 42 days, documented 21 days and carrying viral illness.”

However, he steered clear of indicating when Leon was admitted and if he was admitted around March 13, why his case wasn’t declared to the pubic in some measure since the first two cases declared by the Ministry of Health did not match his age. The ages of the first two COVID-19 patients were 52 and 66 respectively.

Up to Thursday, according to the Ministry of Health, T&T had 65 confirmed cases of COVID and 415 people had been tested.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wide-tracing-net-needed-for-1st-covid-fatality-6.2.1087619.1a5fbcd137
Your link isn't leading to a page however hopefully it was not this you were referring to when talking about Boris!!

think garcia. day before school has to open, he comes out and reports to rowley, every thing is regular and correct, all schools will be open, and ready for business. when school reopens, if all do open, some of them close back during that first week for a myriad of reasons. most of the time is repairs that did not occur during the vacation period.

same ting now; a lot of grandiose proclamations of how they got this, but really, they are operating minute to minute. and by the seat of thier pants. case in point, all the goodies they promised people, the next day every body outside nib and MoSS, and they had to tell them they have nothing in place for what ever promises that was made.

another point, the 20k people, they said that they would be called twice a day to keep track of them. if each call lasted no more than 1 minute, it would take 83 callers, calling non stop for 4 hours without break to call all 20k persons, once. and they said they will do it twice a week.

they like to feed u all bs, with a calm sedate tone, and u all lap it up. they are at least a month behind every measure.

anohter thing, they needed to do quasi random testing at various places to figure out how far it is in the population. we have two confirmed deaths now, but we had 40 flu deaths that would nothave had a covid test done.

they re selectively measuring for this disease, and the lack of social suppression would(had) allowed it to spread, and would wait till they get a release by a careless person to blame it on, eg ian. so population testing will be actoined after the carnival incubation, so u will not have data to show carnival spread.

not so much a cover up, as a system engineered to skew the data a certain direction.
Last edited by boxy on March 27th, 2020, 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 27th, 2020, 1:48 pm

ah wonder if all them people who creating those long lines at the grocery right now, know that those same groceries will be opened until the 15th????????

Postby Rovin » March 27th, 2020, 1:59 pm

a logical person wud think for sure these wud be shut down but is TnT , no matter what : govt supporters & financiers hadda eat ah food too right

dem tusty men who cyar do without is to blame too

govt also left a gap open for fast food places to operate too seeing is take away & not dine in , so certain businesses $ still running

... :agrue:

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 27th, 2020, 2:00 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah wonder if all them people who creating those long lines at the grocery right now, know that those same groceries will be opened until the 15th????????

Just Trinis being low-information / under-prepared as usual.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 27th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Rovin wrote:

a logical person wud think for sure these wud be shut down but is TnT , no matter what : govt supporters & financiers hadda eat ah food too right

dem tusty men who cyar do without is to blame too

govt also left a gap open for fast food places to operate too seeing is take away & not dine in , so certain businesses $ still running

... :agrue:

if people cant get their KFC there might be riot, same as why we didnt stop carnival this year... how any of those go look!

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 2:03 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah wonder if all them people who creating those long lines at the grocery right now, know that those same groceries will be opened until the 15th????????

People say its the month end crowd...

But then again these are the same ppl crowding the groceries over and over.

Postby nemisis » March 27th, 2020, 2:17 pm

So I have stocks at home sando but will be staying by in laws in point fortin. If I need to go home to grab items over the two week period is that non essential travel. Considering I'm not in contact with anyone outside of the same family circle?

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2020, 2:29 pm

boxy wrote:Smash please go to the WHO website and educate yourself on how testing works please cause at this point I honestly believe u are trolling and it's useless trying to get u to comprehend how modern medicine works.

In a nutshell YOU WILL BE WASTING PRECIOUS TESTING KIT RESOURCES IF YOU TEST SOMEONE WITHOUT SYMPTOMS. The kits provided to CARPHA came from WHO and special guidelines are to be met before using these limited resources.

Secondly the set of people who end up in front of NIB should have called first what country in the world makes an announcement of that magnitude and makes it available by the following day. You are purposely being difficult.

Lastly you do not know what capabilities the government uses to track the people who should be quarantined be it that it could be none you don't know and I don't know for sure.

Basically your entire rants on this page either has been debunked numerous times or you parroting talking points from Facebook.

Can you believe people saying the CMO was programmed lmao aye Allyuh real different here yes and my eye literally twitched when my bredrin bring back up Dr Trotman expressing the mild symptoms Allyuh continue to live in ignorance and believe there is a conspiracy to everything. Doh take the vacinne too when it is made cause u might end up becoming a PNM for life as a side effect

sMASH wrote:

u dont get selected to get those positions on merit, u get it by toeing lines.

and my rants, by america testing 50k persons a day, through drive through testing, and have now attained the rank of the country with the most positives, that shows what testing does.

u dont have to test every one, but u do need to do some quasi random testing, sampling the population, to pick up any that was outside of control. especially since uncle real palance before he was hospitalized.
'oh, they contact traced him'
well, by not sampling the population u dont establish data to show how much community spread, if any.

ostrich head in sand syndrome. when more of the population gets it, blame it on ian for frolicking all over .

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2020, 2:32 pm

nemisis wrote:So I have stocks at home sando but will be staying by in laws in point fortin. If I need to go home to grab items over the two week period is that non essential travel. Considering I'm not in contact with anyone outside of the same family circle?

i dunno bout u, but u was gonna get groceries.

Postby nemisis » March 27th, 2020, 2:39 pm

^^^ I get that but let's day the kids need a change of scenery can I pack them up from where we staying at the In laws and go home. Can someone move freely between two quarantined locations

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » March 27th, 2020, 2:54 pm

Hi Folks,

Did they say anything about leaving your house to Exercise??

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2020, 2:55 pm

Exercise at home

Postby maj. tom » March 27th, 2020, 2:56 pm

After Sunday I don't think so. More than 1 person in a car is enough suspicion for a police to stop you and ask questions. More than 1 person doesn't need to go grocery. If you can, get them home today or tmrw morning. Make sure they wash their hands properly with soap before entering the car and before entering the home.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2020, 2:58 pm

richiepooh wrote:Hi Folks,

This one I agree with Stuart but at the same time I think it was too strict a measure right now, only because many studies and WHO officials who say you're in very little danger of spreading or contracting while jogging once social distancing is maintained. However, all week I'm seeing groups and droves of people jogging together, training together on the Savannah and Chancellor.

Peter pay for paul here because DAMN trinis CANNOT socially distance themself.

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2020, 3:06 pm

richiepooh wrote:Hi Folks,

common sense much?