When buying used 20's, 22s and bigger check them properly

Postby Ben_spanna » December 5th, 2019, 8:28 am

Just a heads up as i have heard some really bad stories.
Alot of people who are looking into and buying used BIG rims (20's and up) are having nightmares after they buy used and then discover leaks and damages that were hidden by the tyres being ON the rim when they went to buy.
Clearly in this land of craters and potholes , if you have literally 3/4" inch of rubber between the road and your rim what else you expect to happen, doesnt it ever make you question why someone will sell an almost new 24" rim set for cheap?
Just veer on the side of caution and ask the seller to have the tyres removed prior to you examining them before purchasing

Re: When buying used 20's, 22s and bigger check them properly

Postby Rovin » December 5th, 2019, 11:07 am

ppl love to put d most massive crims\tires & then realize steering cant lock all d way , or find it riding rough , rubbing d inner\outer fender brakes not stopping good like b4

then some ppl does like to change when they get tired of what they have or see something nicer

if u really want a seller to take out d tires at least do it ur expense or nego d cost into d final price ...

Postby 88sins » December 5th, 2019, 11:30 am

Be VERY CAREFUL buying used anything, especially when buying something as important to you safety as alloy rims and tires.
Always keep in mind, a set of rims might look nice, but if you can't tell if it's defective or not and it kills or injures you or others while you driving along your merry way that sweet deal you thought you made will immediately taste more sour than lemon rind.
When buying, always inspect with tires off. Look for things like bends, dents, raised spots, fine cracks, digs on the inside parts that don't contact the road. Take your time and go over each one thoroughly. Ask for the original receipt from the vendor as well to verify if they were bought new and how long ago.
Be careful of rims with fresh paint also. There's some ppl that will repaint a really old rim when the aluminium it's made from starts become compromised, just to get it sold, and it would end up on a vehicle when it should be destroyed.

Always remember, unless they made of steel rims are constantly taking heat, vibration, impacts and often sudden changes in temps. Aluminium can only withstand so much of those things for so long before it starts to show signs of failure.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 5th, 2019, 1:56 pm

Ever wonder why most of these 20-26 sell for 1500-2500 used?
Because they're absolute trash

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 5th, 2019, 10:51 pm

OEM!

Postby rspann » December 5th, 2019, 10:55 pm

Op , youmind changing the name of the thread? It should be, When buying used 20's and 22's , don't.

Postby nervewrecker » December 5th, 2019, 11:35 pm

Curtms wrote:OEM!

or BBS

Postby Ted_v2 » December 6th, 2019, 6:09 am

i cant see myself going with any tire under 2' in thickness, I fear no holes, pavement could get touch and not even come close to the rims.

Postby Les Bain » December 6th, 2019, 7:06 am

Is it possible to get a set of steelies in 15 or 16?

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 7:20 am

What hole pattern? On Facebook there is a page for Trini used rims and tyres for sale. The foreign used yards have a lot and the larger tyres shops that sells wheels do trade-ins so they have used rims.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 6th, 2019, 8:04 am

Still rocking meh stock steel rims. Not taking any chances with de amount of potholes it have in Trinidad. Seen too many fellas with they big rims gone down in holes and is either rim crack or tyre buss.

Postby Les Bain » December 6th, 2019, 8:58 am

rspann wrote:What hole pattern? On Facebook there is a page for Trini used rims and tyres for sale. The foreign used yards have a lot and the larger tyres shops that sells wheels do trade-ins so they have used rims.

Standard Japanese 4 hole. Want to powder coat them black then slap dog dish caps on them.

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » December 6th, 2019, 11:02 am

Maybe you should stick with stock 16's-18's rather than buying foreign used crap..just a thought

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 3:06 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:Maybe you should stick with stock 16's-18's rather than buying foreign used crap..just a thought

Foreign used are originals too. They are from salvaged Japanese or Singapore cars. What you have to be careful with is aftermarket wheels. They always look original but are of inferior material and crack and bend easily. Especially the ones made in China.

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 3:12 pm

Les Bain wrote:
rspann wrote:What hole pattern? On Facebook there is a page for Trini used rims and tyres for sale. The foreign used yards have a lot and the larger tyres shops that sells wheels do trade-ins so they have used rims.

Standard Japanese 4 hole. Want to powder coat them black then slap dog dish caps on them.

That knocking dog all over the place.make sure you get theaccurate spacing there are 4x100 ,4x110 etc. Imagine local and foreign tiida has different spacing and AD and wingroad are different. Some have smaller center bore ,lots of differences. Also good preparation and some black 2K paint will have you looking brand new for a lot less. What car is it?

Postby Rovin » December 6th, 2019, 7:35 pm

does wonder when u see ppl on fb say "far hole or near hole" spacing , ppl doh understand what is 100 or 114 ? ....

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 10:35 pm

What about when they say 5 whole?

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 10:38 pm

Some people never heard about wheel-size.com ,it gives specs for almost any vehicle.

Postby Les Bain » December 8th, 2019, 10:21 pm

rspann wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

That knocking dog all over the place.make sure you get theaccurate spacing there are 4x100 ,4x110 etc. Imagine local and foreign tiida has different spacing and AD and wingroad are different. Some have smaller center bore ,lots of differences. Also good preparation and some black 2K paint will have you looking brand new for a lot less. What car is it?

Y12. I clean up and paint the 14 steelies it came with when i realized i couldn't decide on rims, and buying hubcaps is a waste of money. Is a real nice look when the steelies and tires clean.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 8th, 2019, 10:35 pm

If you putting any wheel with less than 5 inches of rubber on your car.....
You deserve the headache tbh.

Is like running a race in high heels then complaining how your ankle snapped.

Trinidad have million potholes, adapt to the environment. Stop hustling backwards, dotish trinis.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 23rd, 2020, 1:26 pm

Someone was selling a set of rims, said that one rim was repaired PROFESSIONALLY and has no problems, not leaking, so i said ok "then can we mount the rims and then i take a drive and get up to 100 (the speed limit) and if they are good ill take them"
, man say "what for they spinnin like new"
So he unwillingly agrees and low and behold at 75km wheels starts to shake ALOT and vibrate.
When i challenge him about it and blame it on shoddy repairs he telling me how i mounted it on my car badly and the rim perfect.
Why oh why do people sell rims right after they fix them if they are Good as new and have no problems?
Yeah Right!!!