Happy Independence Day folks.

Re: Independence Day ?

Postby hydroep » August 31st, 2019, 7:28 am

The irony is strong with this one...:|

PM: End the blame game
Clint Chan Tack

THE Prime Minister declared that as TT confronts a plethora of challenges, now "is not the time for citizens to play the blame-game or to dishonestly throw stones at each other." Dr Rowley made this declaration in his Independence Day message to the nation.

He observed in other parts of the world, "progressive citizens, rather than pelt stones, are using stones to build paths to a new society."

Rowley appealed to citizens to "all work to converting the lows of partisan political rivalries, just as they confront us, into the highs of harmony, mutual respect and a permanent space for moral values." While TT has experienced some highs such as the recent signing of an energy memorandum of understanding with Barbados and the success of its althletes at the Pan American Games, Rowley said there were lows on the national landscape.

One of these, he said, was "the spreading of a disappointingly negative story line that this country was in a state of crisis." Describing the people spreading this story as "doomsters," Rowley said they never cited TT's great international achievements or its beauties of life. Instead, Rowley said they only spread stories of " unnecessary bitterness, manufactured social conflict, racial tension, even gleefully predicting our collective failure."

He declared these people "pronounced wrongly" that Government would never take serious action against white collar crime nor progressively pursue the spate of violent crimes in TT. Rowley said citizens would observe Government's stand to proceed with a series of legislative crime-fighting measure. He added this disproves the picture the doomsters are trying to paint and shows Government's "determined will to bring order where there is a chaotic reality."

He recalled recently making comments on the Public Service which were "eagerly misinterpreted, unfortunately."

At a recent handing over ceremony of motorcycles to the Police Service at St James Barracks, Rowley observed that some public servants acted lazy. He hoped this could be the beginning a national conversation on the Public Service, and that "we could work collectively towards demanding a business-orientated organisation, one that delivers customer-sensitive service, adopts a culture of strategic planning, delivers prompt results and cost effective projects."

Rowley said the Public Service has to be "the spinal cord of the new society." The new society, Rowley continued, must see "our re-focusing on higher moral values, and morality in public and private office; achieving a safer country, through authorities solving and citizens consciously preventing crime."

He also said TT can take pride in its recent hosting of Carifesta XIV. Rowley said this demonstrated, that "in spite of the history of how we all arrived here, and our language and ethnic differences, there is a unique richness of spirit which resides, within all Caribbean people."

As citizens consciously review TT's list of highs and lows, Rowley said, "We should also be asking ourselves how can we re-create, change, solve, and invent." In marking TT's 57th anniversary of independence, Rowley declared now is the time for citizens to "hold hands and step confidently forward with 'boundless faith' in a destiny which we can shape.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/31/pm-end-the-blame-game/

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2019, 8:02 am

hydroep wrote:The irony is strong with this one...:|

PM: End the blame game
Clint Chan Tack

THE Prime Minister declared that as TT confronts a plethora of challenges, now "is not the time for citizens to play the blame-game or to dishonestly throw stones at each other." Dr Rowley made this declaration in his Independence Day message to the nation.

He observed in other parts of the world, "progressive citizens, rather than pelt stones, are using stones to build paths to a new society."

Rowley appealed to citizens to "all work to converting the lows of partisan political rivalries, just as they confront us, into the highs of harmony, mutual respect and a permanent space for moral values." While TT has experienced some highs such as the recent signing of an energy memorandum of understanding with Barbados and the success of its althletes at the Pan American Games, Rowley said there were lows on the national landscape.

One of these, he said, was "the spreading of a disappointingly negative story line that this country was in a state of crisis." Describing the people spreading this story as "doomsters," Rowley said they never cited TT's great international achievements or its beauties of life. Instead, Rowley said they only spread stories of " unnecessary bitterness, manufactured social conflict, racial tension, even gleefully predicting our collective failure."

He declared these people "pronounced wrongly" that Government would never take serious action against white collar crime nor progressively pursue the spate of violent crimes in TT. Rowley said citizens would observe Government's stand to proceed with a series of legislative crime-fighting measure. He added this disproves the picture the doomsters are trying to paint and shows Government's "determined will to bring order where there is a chaotic reality."

He recalled recently making comments on the Public Service which were "eagerly misinterpreted, unfortunately."

At a recent handing over ceremony of motorcycles to the Police Service at St James Barracks, Rowley observed that some public servants acted lazy. He hoped this could be the beginning a national conversation on the Public Service, and that "we could work collectively towards demanding a business-orientated organisation, one that delivers customer-sensitive service, adopts a culture of strategic planning, delivers prompt results and cost effective projects."

Rowley said the Public Service has to be "the spinal cord of the new society." The new society, Rowley continued, must see "our re-focusing on higher moral values, and morality in public and private office; achieving a safer country, through authorities solving and citizens consciously preventing crime."

He also said TT can take pride in its recent hosting of Carifesta XIV. Rowley said this demonstrated, that "in spite of the history of how we all arrived here, and our language and ethnic differences, there is a unique richness of spirit which resides, within all Caribbean people."

As citizens consciously review TT's list of highs and lows, Rowley said, "We should also be asking ourselves how can we re-create, change, solve, and invent." In marking TT's 57th anniversary of independence, Rowley declared now is the time for citizens to "hold hands and step confidently forward with 'boundless faith' in a destiny which we can shape.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/31/pm-end-the-blame-game/

I sure that speech was written by a tuner
Last edited by zoom rader on August 31st, 2019, 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 31st, 2019, 8:36 am

What a load of fckery...end the blame game but for the last 4 years he blaming kamla

Postby aaron17 » August 31st, 2019, 9:09 am

End the blame game still means blame Kamla.

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2019, 9:11 am

aaron17 wrote:End the blame game still means blame Kamla.
Yep, Randolphinshan say she fire utt staff

abducted

Happy Independence Day T&T

Postby abducted » August 31st, 2019, 9:49 am

Trini to De Bone piano cover

Re: Happy Independence Day T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 31st, 2019, 11:04 am

K

rebound

Postby rebound » August 31st, 2019, 12:18 pm

SMH...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 31st, 2019, 6:32 pm

abducted wrote:Trini to De Bone piano cover

Wouldn't it have been better to play it on a pan?

Re: Independence Day 2019

Postby The_Honourable » August 31st, 2019, 7:14 pm

Queen laughing

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2019, 7:37 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

No

Postby j.o.e » August 31st, 2019, 8:56 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Nope. She’s a pianist... stfu

Postby hydroep » September 1st, 2019, 5:52 am

Potholes and bad manners
Ramesh Deosaran

Manners is described as polite or well-bred behaviour. And judging from the numerous letter-writers and commentaries, most recently from Archbishop Jason Gordon, DOMA president Gregory Aboud, Dr David Bratt and ethicist Dr Errol Benjamin, disrespect, abuse and expressed hatred now seem to be a widespread, hurtful menace in the society.

This does not sound pleasant in our 57th year of independence. But like corruption, such post-Independence bad manners started many years ago. Will things get better?

Prof Selwyn Ryan and I were Sunday columnists from the late 1970s. Noting the civic and infrastructural decay embraced by the “do nothing about it syndrome,” Ryan wrote a 1978 column headlined A nation of sheep. Vernon Khelawan among others, wrote about the “culture of corruption” – all hoping then for a better tomorrow. Two of my 1978 columns were respectively headlined A pothole state filled with bad manners and A nation without a conscience.

Six hundred and four of my columns (1977-1990) were published in three volumes, kindly funded by businessman Gerry Hadeed in memory of the civic work of his father, Aziz Elias Hadeed. These columns examined issues of race, education, culture, crime, justice, youth, politics, democracy and the required reforms. The following are edited excerpts from the two columns to help compare today with yesterday.

First, the 1978 column, A pothole state filled with bad manners:

“As our countless potholes get bigger and bigger with neglect, so too our bad manners are spreading. This conspiracy against human decency is becoming an epidemic. You can call a demonstration against potholes, but when offended by bad manners you are often in no position to do anything except to retaliate with a little bit of the malicious stuff yourself. In fact, your complaint about somebody’s bad manners could bring further vengeance upon you. Bad manners often come through the ugly display of inconsideration for other people’s feelings, that deliberate, snobbish tone or that blatant unwillingness to deliver a scheduled service with required courtesy and efficiency.

“The connection between the bewildering breakdown in our physical amenities and the ugly upsurge of bad manners needs to be seriously looked at. No matter how carefully you drive, there is always some mean-looking, ill-mannered hustler cutting in and rudely squeezing his car against yours. Accidents proliferate with faded white lines, potholes and no proper road signs. The ugly state of our roads helps loosen the constraints of good manners. And soon you become like those you scorn, doing it first to them before they do it to you.

“Bad manners disseminate their own jungle laws, rapidly creating a dog eat dog society. The continued proliferation of gaping potholes is an indication of how those in authority think about you taxpayers. There is, however, still some hope with those prepared to fight it out with respect, tolerance and good example. After all, individual responsibility is an integral part of democracy. At the same time, though, for a democracy to prosper, it needs a proper supply of essential services and a healthy physical environment. If not, with top-heavy wealth and pomp, the society degenerates into the realm of vulgar prosperity and rebellion.”

That was in 1978. In the other 1978 column, A nation without a conscience, I cited the views of numerous letter-writers who bitterly complained about the loss of the nation’s conscience and inefficient public service. For example, a citizen, signing as Conscience asked in April 1978: “What is really happening to our dear little country? We should all now drop down on our knees and ask forgiveness for our evil ways and amend them.”

I continued: “When good conscience goes, the difference between right and wrong also goes. Complaining again about disrespect and inefficient public service, a lady wrote, ‘It was so bad that I started to cry.’

“For many, civic participation depends on the extent to which they could be made to hate ‘the other side.’ Hate politics destroys a nation’s conscience. As the nation loses its conscience, it enters a sinister era where nobody is anybody’s keeper.”

That was in 1978. So from 1962, as governments came and went, are things better today?

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/01/potholes-and-bad-manners/

Postby matr1x » September 1st, 2019, 7:13 am

Eric Williams and his dog faced party raped and pillaged this country. If there is a hell and I am wrong about the whole god thing.....I hope he burns.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2019, 7:34 am

After watching independance day prarade It looked really sloppy and 3rd world.

More like a carnival match

eitech

Postby eitech » September 1st, 2019, 7:48 am

matr1x wrote:Eric Williams and his dog faced party raped and pillaged this country. If there is a hell and I am wrong about the whole god thing.....I hope he burns.

Based on your statements, you do realise that would only make you, eric williams , and his dog faced party eternal room mates? Oooook.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 1st, 2019, 8:08 am

zoom rader wrote:After watching independance day prarade It looked really sloppy and 3rd world.

More like a carnival match
I ain't wanna say it but you see who enjoyed it the most?? The typical people who would put carnival costume infront they're children school books.

I pass through POS and if u see how nasty the place was this morning, would swear it's ash Wednesday morning

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2019, 8:34 am

I doh see what we so happy about celebrating independence...after 57 years people still begging for water...yuh have one minister complaining about to much rain and another say to little rain...fck allyuh and this independence bs

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 1st, 2019, 8:39 am

You rather Boris Johnson than Keith Rowley ?
The_Honourable wrote:Queen laughing

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2019, 8:54 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I doh see what we so happy about celebrating independence...after 57 years people still begging for water...yuh have one minister complaining about to much rain and another say to little rain...fck allyuh and this independence bs

Postby The_Honourable » September 1st, 2019, 10:15 am

Postby bluefete » September 1st, 2019, 10:18 am

^^^^ All those pics are great examples of T&T's independent minded civilians.

Folks, we have a long way to go.

Postby hydroep » September 1st, 2019, 10:22 am

God bless our nation
Of many varied races
May we possess that common love
That binds and makes us One.
Let it be known around the World
That we can boast of Unity
And take a pride in Our Liberty.

God bless our isles of tropic beauty rare
Of flaming Poinciana
And shady immortelle
The warm and sparkling waters
That beat upon our shores
Beat out a tune that seem to tell
We take a pride in Our Liberty.

God bless our leaders
Give them grace to guide
Bestow on them thy judgement wise
To rule our land aright
To keep the flag of freedom high that we may sing most lustily
We take a pride in Our Liberty.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2019, 11:25 am

The_Honourable wrote:What nick639v2 said...

Source: https://www.facebook.com/larry.lalla/po ... 9966567060
Looks like somewhere in Africa after a coup

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2019, 11:56 am

The day after sycophant day

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2019, 11:58 am

Some random minister: cepep out in full force to have the streets cleaned

Postby mero » September 1st, 2019, 12:18 pm

Looks like a normal day in chaguanas.

Independence Day 2019

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2019, 12:35 pm

The_Honourable wrote:What nick639v2 said...

Source: https://www.facebook.com/larry.lalla/po ... 9966567060

Allyuh stinking nasty Trinis disgust me.

This day should have never happened. It just shows how grateful allyuh is.

These celebrations should be banned.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2019, 1:49 pm

mero wrote:Looks like a normal day in chaguanas.
Yes that happens when get prople moving from Laventille and coming to live in an indo community