Water pump

voidstone

Water pump

Postby voidstone » March 23rd, 2019, 7:40 pm

How much does it cost to install a water pump ?

Re: Water pump

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 23rd, 2019, 7:50 pm

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=641413&p=9886890&hilit=Goulds+water+pump#p9886890

Lots of info here...but to answer your question I have seen people pay between $250-$350

But it can be a DIY

voidstone

Postby voidstone » March 23rd, 2019, 7:59 pm

If i have to pay someone to install the pump and do the electrical plus material ?

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2019, 8:49 pm

The cost may not be a simple answer as you need to look at the various components:

- do you have a tank already which which has wasa fill ?
- if not you need to install a tank and proper base for it etc and run supply from tank to pump location
- is the house mains easily accessible to plumb a pump into ?
- proper place to install pump out of weather ?
- electricals accessible to supply to pump ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 23rd, 2019, 9:22 pm

Depends on what is needed.

Electrical run (labour and materials)
Plumbing run (labour and materials)
Installation prep, casting? Clearing? plenty variables there OP.

In most cases it's a good DIY weekend project, except for the electrical part - unless you know what you're doing.

Postby RedVEVO » March 24th, 2019, 2:07 am

Water Pump price about $2,500 ( a good one )
Labor $200

Total $2,700

Postby Les Bain » March 24th, 2019, 6:31 am

If I had the experience beforehand I woulda just deal with Water Source Ltd first. They are very helpful.
Example, you will get a Rotoplastics brand tank. No matter where you bought it new, the warranty is with them. Doh waste time contacting whatever bess price hardware you bought it from; they responsible for dispatching a technician to determine whether the warranty applies and what the follow-up action is.

Same thing with the pump brands they carry.

voidstone

Postby voidstone » March 24th, 2019, 12:50 pm

Ok. Thanks so far guys. So I have the tank put up already. What i am looking at is installing the pump a good one,running the electrical and connecting it to the house. Whats a ball park figure someone might charge for that.

Postby adnj » March 24th, 2019, 1:29 pm

voidstone wrote:Ok. Thanks so far guys. So I have the tank put up already. What i am looking at is installing the pump a good one,running the electrical and connecting it to the house. Whats a ball park figure someone might charge for that.
$400 to $800 labor.
$50 to $300 wiring, breaker, conduit.
$1800 to $3200 pump, pressure tank, valves and piping.

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2019, 2:05 pm

As it is new install
Better to put in a tank float switch as well to protect pump if tank runs empty.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 25th, 2019, 6:44 pm

smart head pumps doing that, no ballast tanks to blow ever so often.

pentax bredda, watersource is the dealer. 1550. going to get one for my grandfather this week.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2019, 7:10 pm

Boy I doh trust smarthead
I know at least 4ppl whose dead
And pump does an irritating cycle

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 25th, 2019, 8:26 pm

Did a smarthead 1/2 hp pentax back in 2010.
On my third smarthead since.
Each time is about 6-800.
Next time I won't do it. I'll put a large external pressure tank instead.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2019, 8:47 pm

They smart though
Pentax tend to sell their pumps with smarthead cheaper than with pressure tank

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 25th, 2019, 9:06 pm

^ Had issues with Pentax also, anyone used Pedrollo brand ?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 26th, 2019, 8:35 am

pugboy wrote:Boy I doh trust smarthead
I know at least 4ppl whose dead
And pump does an irritating cycle

Same here!

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 26th, 2019, 10:34 am

The pentax pump itself is mechanically sound and takes proper abuse. Parts are readily available for repair/maintenance. It's the smart head system itself I have an issue with

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2019, 3:59 pm

Boy I have two Pentax that burnt, minimal usage
Have another that take real licks and still going, it ran with a faulty check valve for a long time with short cycling.

Goulds are more powerful

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 26th, 2019, 6:27 pm

My Pentax burned once. Bearing was making noise and I ignored it until one morning it seized and the pump came on and burned out in seconds.
Got a replacement coil for like 300, used from my repair guy.
No more chances. Once that bearing get a lil noisy I scheduling replacement

Postby Ted_v2 » March 27th, 2019, 5:50 am

i am on my 3rd ballast tank, second coil, 3rd pressure switch with a goulds.

soso, Pentax build quality more impressive. i got one with a damaged smart head from someone.

Postby pugboy » March 27th, 2019, 6:04 am

what size tank did you use ?
if tank is too small for the expected usage it stresses the rubber and it will bust fast

I have serviced both brands myself and the coils in a goulds substantially bigger and the impeller innards much bigger also

Ted_v2 wrote:i am on my 3rd ballast tank, second coil, 3rd pressure switch with a goulds.

soso, Pentax build quality more impressive. i got one with a damaged smart head from someone.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 27th, 2019, 8:22 pm

i get est 2 years out of a tank, its the smallest tank they sell. im unsure of the proper way to size it, but i got the pump unit with it, and replaced it when i went.

its in use 5 days a week for the past 4 years or so. before that once every now and then.

Defiant

Postby Defiant » March 28th, 2019, 12:13 am

OP your request is vague........ I could tell you buy a $500 pentax pump and a $400 smart head, slap on a piece of 1.5mm ECC with a plug and tell you your good to go.........
What size of house? domestic, commercial
What size pump you bought or buying? 1/4Hp or 1Hp
Where is the pump in relation to the electrical supply? Is it in the house or out in the back yard 20ft away

more info op

200sx

Postby 200sx » March 28th, 2019, 10:32 am

recently installed a 1HP GOULDS pump with 30/50 switch and a 2gallon pressure tank.........the tank is way to small for the pump............ i know, when they say a 2gl tank its really .6 gallon of water the tank accutally holds (the rest is air this pressure should be set 2PSI lower than your cut in pressure) so every time you use .6 gallon of water the tank empties and the pump trips on.......this is bad for the motor espacially while bathing the .6 gallon from the tank empties quickly.........avg 12-15seconds.........so my pump trips on and of being a 1HP MOTOR........ i need to maintain a flow rate of 24gpm.......... so fellars when choosing a pump bigger isnt always better............i will be supplying water to 5 full baths, plus........kitchen etc......so i wanna convert my 1HP goulds pump to run like a smart head........ by using a Pressure Reducing Valve (PRV) and moving the pressure switch from the pump, installing it in front of the PRV............i know i can just put a smart head unit on it............but i want to try another way..........will be updating........

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2019, 12:14 pm

You are a smart guy
What you describe exists and is called a cycle stop valve
Google it
I use one and it works like a smarthead somewhat but not electronically

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2019, 1:48 pm

btw I have an extra one to sell at online price if you interested.
Rotoplastics is the agent but might be twice the price.

also if you used a 40/60 pressure switch you might get better results as with a 50psi cutoff that big pump will run up to 50 fast.

daron

Postby daron » March 28th, 2019, 3:26 pm

pugboy wrote:btw I have an extra one to sell at online price if you interested.

also if you used a 40/60 pressure switch you might get better results as with a 50psi cutoff that big pump will run up to 50 fast.
Asking price, does this require a pressure still to operate

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2019, 5:04 pm

$70usd or TTD eq

https://www.ebay.com/itm/CYCLE-STOP-VAL ... ctupt=true

it is a 60psi version, so you need a 60psi cutoff pressure switch i think.
you still need a pressure tank but can use the smallest one, it will be stressed less as less on/off cycles
It has to be installed before the pressure tank, ie between the pump and the pressure tank.

it does run the pump a little more like a smarthead but it throttles the volume pressure at 60psi max so pump will be running in a steady state with less current load than a pump running with full bore volume flow.

Cycle stop valves are great for installs with many users/bathrooms where a large pressure tank would have to be used
however pressure tank prices go up exponentially.

daron wrote:
pugboy wrote:btw I have an extra one to sell at online price if you interested.

Asking price, does this require a pressure still to operate

200sx

Postby 200sx » March 28th, 2019, 7:46 pm

I just ordered the Cycle Stop Valves CSV1A Pump Control Valve, 15 psi -150 psi

This version is adjustable so I can set it to run at 45psi constant will decide if I want to run a higher pressure when all baths and plumbing installed...... ordered a 40/60 square D pump switch also........so I’ll hav it on hand........

Usd156 and the ss fittings to go with it

Postby pugboy » March 28th, 2019, 8:34 pm

Nice, make sure your supply pipe from tank to pump is as large as possible to maximize volume flow.