WTK: Any Certified Ayurvedic Doctors

V2NR 3.0

WTK: Any Certified Ayurvedic Doctors

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2019, 10:52 am

Good Day

I've been searching all the various internet sites and social media to determine if there are any Ayurvedic Doctors, Practitioners in Trinidad and Tobago. If anyone has credible info - can you please post.

FordeG

Re: WTK: Any Certified Ayurvedic Doctors

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 11:23 am

Might as well go by a bush doctor

Postby ismithx » March 1st, 2019, 11:36 am

why not go to a proper medical practitioner?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2019, 11:39 am

And what is defined as a "proper medical practitioner" ?

Postby MG Man » March 1st, 2019, 11:47 am

a practitioner of proper medicine

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2019, 11:49 am

I see ignorance runs rampant.

Anyway, not turning into a debate. If anyone has solid information, please provide.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 11:52 am

Many may be surprised by this but I think most herbal medicine is BS. Real medical doctors and researchers study the human body inside out. That's why it works, that's why life expectancy is increasing. Herbal and Ayurvedic medicine works by either solving minor ailments that would have cured on their own. Or through the placebo effect. It's not worth it, I do have a problem with many doctors in Trinidad being careless and lazy, but if you find a good doc who runs extensive tests you will be in a much better position.

snatman

Postby snatman » March 1st, 2019, 12:16 pm

OP, check Dr. Trevor Sayers.
Same nonsense, different name.

Postby stev » March 1st, 2019, 12:40 pm

it's always amazing to see how gullible trinis are...i will never understand why these 'doctors' are still allowed to scam people blatantly like that.

OP i hope ur not one of those ant-vaxxers / flat-earthers.

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 12:53 pm

Dr Guatam Tewari in El Socorro is one.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 1st, 2019, 1:15 pm

for those like me and dont know what the others are talking about

https://www.webmd.com/balance/guide/ayu ... eatments#1

What Is Ayurveda?
Ayurveda and Your Life Energy

Ayurvedic medicine (“Ayurveda” for short) is one of the world's oldest holistic (“whole-body”) healing systems. It was developed more than 3,000 years ago in India.

It’s based on the belief that health and wellness depend on a delicate balance between the mind, body, and spirit. Its main goal is to promote good health, not fight disease. But treatments may be geared toward specific health problems.

In the United States, it’s considered a form of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

Students of CAM therapy believe that everything in the universe – dead or alive – is connected. If your mind, body, and spirit are in harmony with the universe, you have good health. When something disrupts this balance, you get sick. Among the things that can upset this balance are genetic or birth defects, injuries, climate and seasonal change, age, and your emotions.
hose who practice Ayurveda believe every person is made of five basic elements found in the universe: space, air, fire, water, and earth.

These combine in the human body to form three life forces or energies, called doshas. They control how your body works. They are Vata dosha (space and air); Pitta dosha (fire and water); and Kapha dosha (water and earth).

Everyone inherits a unique mix of the three doshas. But one is usually stronger than the others. Each one controls a different body function. It’s believed that your chances of getting sick -- and the health issues you develop -- are linked to the balance of your doshas.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayurveda

Ayurveda (/ˌɑːjʊərˈviːdə, -ˈveɪ-/)[1] is a system of medicine with historical roots in the Indian subcontinent.[2] Globalized and modernized practices derived from Ayurveda traditions are a type of alternative medicine.[3][4] In countries beyond India, Ayurveda therapies and practices have been integrated in general wellness applications and in some cases in medical use.[5][page needed]

The main classical Ayurveda texts begin with accounts of the transmission of medical knowledge from the Gods to sages, and then to human physicians.[6] In Sushruta Samhita (Sushruta's Compendium), Sushruta wrote that Dhanvantari, Hindu god of Ayurveda, incarnated himself as a king of Varanasi and taught medicine to a group of physicians, including Sushruta.[7][8] Ayurveda therapies have varied and evolved over more than two millennia.[2] Therapies are typically based on complex herbal compounds, minerals and metal substances (perhaps under the influence of early Indian alchemy or rasa shastra). Ancient Ayurveda texts also taught surgical techniques, including rhinoplasty, kidney stone extractions, sutures, and the extraction of foreign objects.[9][10]

Although laboratory experiments suggest it is possible that some substances used in Ayurveda might be developed into effective treatments, there is no scientific evidence that any are effective as currently practiced.[11] Ayurveda medicine is considered pseudoscientific.[12] Other researchers consider it a protoscience, or trans-science system instead.[13][14] In a 2008 study, close to 21% of Ayurveda U.S. and Indian-manufactured patent medicines sold through the Internet were found to contain toxic levels of heavy metals, specifically lead, mercury, and arsenic.[15] The public health implications of such metallic contaminants in India are unknown.[15]

Some scholars assert that Ayurveda originated in prehistoric times,[16][17] and that some of the concepts of Ayurveda have existed from the time of the Indus Valley Civilization or even earlier.[18] Ayurveda developed significantly during the Vedic period and later some of the non-Vedic systems such as Buddhism and Jainism also developed medical concepts and practices that appear in the classical Ayurveda texts.[18] Doṣa balance is emphasized, and suppressing natural urges is considered unhealthy and claimed to lead to illness.[19] Ayurveda treatises describe three elemental doṣas viz. vāta, pitta and kapha, and state that equality (Skt. sāmyatva) of the doṣas results in health, while inequality (viṣamatva) results in disease. Ayurveda treatises divide medicine into eight canonical components. Ayurveda practitioners had developed various medicinal preparations and surgical procedures from at least the beginning of the common era.[20]

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2019, 1:26 pm

rspann wrote:Dr Guatam Tewari in El Socorro is one.

Thanks Rspann - I actually know of Dr Tewari, if I'm not mistaken his daughter is also involved in the same field of study ?

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 2:15 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:for those like me and dont know what the others are talking about

https://www.webmd.com/balance/guide/ayu ... eatments#1

What Is Ayurveda?

Ayurvedic medicine (“Ayurveda” for short) is one of the world's oldest holistic (“whole-body”) healing systems. It was developed more than 3,000 years ago in India.

It’s based on the belief that health and wellness depend on a delicate balance between the mind, body, and spirit. Its main goal is to promote good health, not fight disease. But treatments may be geared toward specific health problems.

In the United States, it’s considered a form of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

Students of CAM therapy believe that everything in the universe – dead or alive – is connected. If your mind, body, and spirit are in harmony with the universe, you have good health. When something disrupts this balance, you get sick. Among the things that can upset this balance are genetic or birth defects, injuries, climate and seasonal change, age, and your emotions.
hose who practice Ayurveda believe every person is made of five basic elements found in the universe: space, air, fire, water, and earth.

These combine in the human body to form three life forces or energies, called doshas. They control how your body works. They are Vata dosha (space and air); Pitta dosha (fire and water); and Kapha dosha (water and earth).

Everyone inherits a unique mix of the three doshas. But one is usually stronger than the others. Each one controls a different body function. It’s believed that your chances of getting sick -- and the health issues you develop -- are linked to the balance of your doshas.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayurveda

Ayurveda (/ˌɑːjʊərˈviːdə, -ˈveɪ-/)[1] is a system of medicine with historical roots in the Indian subcontinent.[2] Globalized and modernized practices derived from Ayurveda traditions are a type of alternative medicine.[3][4] In countries beyond India, Ayurveda therapies and practices have been integrated in general wellness applications and in some cases in medical use.[5][page needed]

The main classical Ayurveda texts begin with accounts of the transmission of medical knowledge from the Gods to sages, and then to human physicians.[6] In Sushruta Samhita (Sushruta's Compendium), Sushruta wrote that Dhanvantari, Hindu god of Ayurveda, incarnated himself as a king of Varanasi and taught medicine to a group of physicians, including Sushruta.[7][8] Ayurveda therapies have varied and evolved over more than two millennia.[2] Therapies are typically based on complex herbal compounds, minerals and metal substances (perhaps under the influence of early Indian alchemy or rasa shastra). Ancient Ayurveda texts also taught surgical techniques, including rhinoplasty, kidney stone extractions, sutures, and the extraction of foreign objects.[9][10]

Although laboratory experiments suggest it is possible that some substances used in Ayurveda might be developed into effective treatments, there is no scientific evidence that any are effective as currently practiced.[11] Ayurveda medicine is considered pseudoscientific.[12] Other researchers consider it a protoscience, or trans-science system instead.[13][14] In a 2008 study, close to 21% of Ayurveda U.S. and Indian-manufactured patent medicines sold through the Internet were found to contain toxic levels of heavy metals, specifically lead, mercury, and arsenic.[15] The public health implications of such metallic contaminants in India are unknown.[15]

Some scholars assert that Ayurveda originated in prehistoric times,[16][17] and that some of the concepts of Ayurveda have existed from the time of the Indus Valley Civilization or even earlier.[18] Ayurveda developed significantly during the Vedic period and later some of the non-Vedic systems such as Buddhism and Jainism also developed medical concepts and practices that appear in the classical Ayurveda texts.[18] Doṣa balance is emphasized, and suppressing natural urges is considered unhealthy and claimed to lead to illness.[19] Ayurveda treatises describe three elemental doṣas viz. vāta, pitta and kapha, and state that equality (Skt. sāmyatva) of the doṣas results in health, while inequality (viṣamatva) results in disease. Ayurveda treatises divide medicine into eight canonical components. Ayurveda practitioners had developed various medicinal preparations and surgical procedures from at least the beginning of the common era.[20]

So in other words Ayurvedic medicine is pure BS. Thanks for the informative post.

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 7:22 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
rspann wrote:Dr Guatam Tewari in El Socorro is one.

Thanks Rspann - I actually know of Dr Tewari, if I'm not mistaken his daughter is also involved in the same field of study ?

Correct.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2019, 8:45 pm

FordeG...you are becoming a desi....

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 8:50 pm

What type of medicine was there before the advent of modern pharmaceutical companies and their medications? Say like pre- 20th century.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2019, 9:06 pm

Rspann - don't even bother.

Guys - I am looking for my information not your opinions. If you have nothing to add, please remove yourselves.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 1st, 2019, 9:19 pm

https://www.facebook.com/Ishtara-Centre ... 583227038/
?
Never went, just saw the name on my social feed

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2019, 9:44 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:https://www.facebook.com/Ishtara-Centre-135140583227038/
?
Never went, just saw the name on my social feed

Interesting. I'd check them out.

I have a TCM doctor who looks after me but have been doing a lot of research into the Ayuervedic system and quite intrigued. TCM and Ayuervedic are very aligned.

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 9:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:FordeG...you are becoming a desi....

Becoming?

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 1st, 2019, 10:31 pm

Lol at Ayurvedic medicine, are you all really serious? This is snake oil, no better than Trevor sayers.

Postby rspann » March 1st, 2019, 10:39 pm

Dr Trevor Sayers ISSA borse! He curing anything from aids go back. Foonky Nani , sore foot, lice , only thing he might not be able to cure is a holier than thou attitude.

Postby bluefete » March 2nd, 2019, 3:04 pm

Yuh ever hear anybody ded from using DR. Trevor Sayers concoctions????

On the other hand, before yuh could take medical medicine, yuh hadda read one setta warning labels about what it could do to you, including kill you.

rspann wrote:Dr Trevor Sayers ISSA borse! He curing anything from aids go back. Foonky Nani , sore foot, lice , only thing he might not be able to cure is a holier than thou attitude.

FordeG

Postby FordeG » March 2nd, 2019, 5:44 pm

bluefete wrote:Yuh ever hear anybody ded from using DR. Trevor Sayers concoctions????

On the other hand, before yuh could take medical medicine, yuh hadda read one setta warning labels about what it could do to you, including kill you.

rspann wrote:Dr Trevor Sayers ISSA borse! He curing anything from aids go back. Foonky Nani , sore foot, lice , only thing he might not be able to cure is a holier than thou attitude.

I know plenty people who ended dying of serious medical conditions because they refused real medical care in favour of bush medicine or Ayurvedic BS. Trevor's crap doesn't kill you directly, it kills you indirectly by delaying you seeing a real doctor

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2019, 6:07 pm

I know a whole church in POS who was praying for a whole year for the pastor's amputated leg to grow back.

Postby maj. tom » March 2nd, 2019, 6:30 pm

Eye Doctors don't want you to know this one trick. Don't let them thief your hard earned money!

How To Cure Myopia Naturally At Home

Kusuma Varthi Anajana is an Ayurvedic medicinal treatment that could be used to deal with the symptoms caused by mild to moderate myopia issues. This contains black pepper, common jasmine, long pepper, and sesame flowers. All you need to do is just to mix all of these ingredients and mash them to make a powdered combination. Add water to the powder to make a mask in the paste form and allow it to dry it in the shade. This mixture could be used 2 times per day and it will help in minimizing the risks of myopia. This is also among the best and most useful tips on how to cure myopia at home without making use of any type of drugs, pills, or medical interventions so that people dealing with this health issue should make use of it as soon as possible.

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2019, 7:18 pm

FordeG wrote:Many may be surprised by this but I think most herbal medicine is BS. Real medical doctors and researchers study the human body inside out. That's why it works, that's why life expectancy is increasing. Herbal and Ayurvedic medicine works by either solving minor ailments that would have cured on their own. Or through the placebo effect. It's not worth it, I do have a problem with many doctors in Trinidad being careless and lazy, but if you find a good doc who runs extensive tests you will be in a much better position.

All jokes aside, you should do some research and educate yourself. You seem not to know what Ayurvedic is about and equate it to bush medicine. Healing is holistic and can even be preventative instead of being reactive. Lifestyle diseases and many others can be cured naturally and also by abstention. Medicine has always been around, long before the chemical compounding and technological advances. Up to now, some medicines are still derived from plants and other sources.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2019, 7:22 am

FordeG...let me guess you doh know bout zebapeek, saijan etc etc ent

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » March 4th, 2019, 8:33 am

All these bush remedies some big boy commerciallizing and making a mint because organic lifestyles are the new trend. The same saigen aka moringa it have a big pack in pricesmart for like 200 and old people have that growing in the yard all over the place since they small lol. Just now they well start to sell fever grass tea call it something fancy and people will buy

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2019, 9:55 am

Fireflyrain7 wrote:All these bush remedies some big boy commerciallizing and making a mint because organic lifestyles are the new trend. The same saigen aka moringa it have a big pack in pricesmart for like 200 and old people have that growing in the yard all over the place since they small lol. Just now they well start to sell fever grass tea call it something fancy and people will buy

My folks have a tree...almost every other day people does pass for a branch in that moringa thing...I should start selling..

FordeG seems to be the one who could get chain real easy and spend real $$ on it because a Dr say it good for you...but if ah ole lady say the same thing...she talking sheit