PEP Policy Discussion

Re: PEP Policy Discussion

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2019, 8:02 am

take the sando hospital, put it somewhere near the golconada/corinth intercange, expand the number of beds, make it a modern facility, to handle all that sando is doing but more capacity.

then when that is done u take the old sando hospital and use it as a government park. alllll what people hadda go up tong for, can be done there,,, in one complex. even move the utilities there too.

the tater taxi terminus, the hospital car park, take those, grade down the hill, and make a muliti story parkade... just like PoS. u will solve parking for the water front and for sando, as the walk from there along the promenade isnt that much .

FordeG

Postby FordeG » February 21st, 2019, 10:49 am

PEP is perhaps the most rediculous set of pseudo intellectuals. Never trust people who don't have the intelligence or people skills to make it in an established political party.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2019, 11:14 am

reboot2020 wrote:A full manifesto is still pending launch but interested to hear what tuners think about the policy ideas put forward by the PEP so far. Pros, cons, suggestions, criticisms welcome. Policies listed below :

https://peptt.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/PoliciesAtAGlance.pdf

1. HOME OWNERSHIP FOR ALL
Zero deposit, zero interest for 30 years for first time home owners for up to $1.5 million, allowing even minimum wage earners to own a home.

2. NATIONAL SECURITY
Establish radar connected security platforms three miles out at sea to create a virtual wall around T&T, manned by law enforcement professionals and equipped with fast attack boats and interceptor helicopter gunships that would enforce “stop and search” for all marine craft entering our waters. This will bring an end to the illegal trades in guns, drugs and human cargo.

3. FIRST WORLD LAW ENFORCEMENT
Engage the services of foreign law enforcement internal affairs and investigation teams to clean up the police service of corruption and criminal activity. Establish continuous training & assessment inclusive of mandatory drug and polygraph testing. Incentivise law enforcement through bonuses and rewards for exemplary service. Establish promotion policy based on merit and instructed by knowledge and skill
development as well as unblemished records.

4. FROM CRIMINALS TO CONTRIBUTING CITIZENS
Those who run afoul of the law and end up in jail would be given the tools to return to society better equipped than when they entered. Mandatory literacy, therapeutic counselling and conflict resolution skills, together with opportunities to learn trades and even attain university degrees would be offered
to encourage personal development, and provide hope and opportunity away from a life of crime.

5. FIRST WORLD HEALTH CARE
Build and operate 41 constituency healthcare facilities complete with accident and emergency/minor surgery services that would put healthcare within easy reach of all citizens, twenty four hours a day, seven days a week. Deploy professionally trained, call centre-controlled paramedic ambulance service to fire-stations, health centres and/or police stations to allow for emergency responses in under 10 minutes nationwide. Monitor fleet via GPS.

6. PRESTIGE EDUCATION FOR ALL
Abolish the abusive SEA. Make ALL schools 10-year zoned schools. Establish a Grade Point Average
(GPA) system that monitors the performance of students, teachers and principals simultaneously. Create
Constituency Education Board of Supervisors.

7. HIGHER EDUCATION & SKILLS TRAINING
Make education finance available that can be repaid either as loans or through public service in disciplines
deemed essential to national development. Establish assessment facilitates for skills and trades certification.
Develop a national trades and skills masterplan to guide career choices.

8. FOOD INDEPENDENCE
Set food targets based on national consumption data. Make farmland available rent free to small farmers.
Set crop schedules; purchase harvests and distribute produce through 41 constituency wholesale and retail
markets.

9. TOBAGO & TRINIDAD
Until an actual bridge is built, we must work to ensure that all goods and services that are available in Trinidad are also available in Tobago at the same prices, and that movement between both islands is uncomplicated and affordable. Establish within the sister isle opportunities for further education in tourism and agriculture; and create credit facilities that support the development of these and other industries.

10. ALTERNATIVE RENEWABLE ENERGY
Develop alternatives to oil and gas. Encourage wind farms, solar arrays and tidal generators use to
provide cheap, abundant and clean energy for all.

11. CLEAN, RELIABLE PIPE-BORNE WATER FOR ALL
Decentralise water management and distribution to ALL 41 constituencies through the establishment of
constituency-owned and operated water purification and distribution plants, responsible for sourcing their
own supply through bulk transmission, wells, rainwater retention dams & ponds or desalination. This plan would quickly allow ALL citizens to benefit from a reliable clean source of water 24/7.

12. A WAR ON POVERTY
Make universal home ownership a reality and job creation a top priority. Encourage foreign direct
investment in labour intensive business partnerships. Set medium-term national ‘jobs-for-all’ masterplan that leaves no citizen behind. Establish ‘living wage’ policy to guide minimum wage.

13. REGULATE THE FINANCIAL SECTOR
Interest to be paid on depositors’ funds at rates set by Central Bank. Abolish ALL banking fees
not compliant with terms of banking license. Open the banking sector to international competition. Cap the
spread on foreign exchange. The difference between the prices for buying and selling foreign exchange
(the spread) puts an unnecessary 10-13% tax on the economy. Capping it to under 3% would save billions of
dollars lost to artificial inflation and profiteering.

14. FROM EMPLOYEE TO EMPLOYER
Start-up support for small businesses with demonstrated potential for success. Operational credit
to assist with recurring expenses of rent, electricity and raw materials for approved projects; monitored
by dedicated case officers; and designed to achieve profitability in quick time.

15. PUBLIC OFFICE REFORM
Make all public office holders accountable. Enact recall and termination legislation for instances of nonperformance and misconduct in public affairs.

16. ELECTORAL REFORM
Cap election spending that disqualifies candidates for breaches. Enact equal opportunity media law. Remove
the $5000 deposit currently required to contest an election. Candidates must reside within the constituency they hope to contest.

17. AN END TO CORRUPTION
Shut down all special purpose companies and establish robust and transparent tenders’ processes that
disconnects purchase decisions and contractual awards away from the political directorate. Sell non-essential State companies.

18. NO MORE MEGA CONTRACTORS
Decentralise all public developmental and maintenance works to constituencies, with all contractors
and employees having to reside within the constituency where projects are located.

19. DECRIMINALIZE MARIJUANA
Medicinal marijuana is now the number one cash crop in California and other jurisdictions. Grown for export
to the global pharmaceutical industry could create massive revenue streams and much needed jobs. Regulated and controlled the way tobacco and alcohol are, would allow for much needed protections and controls, and remove the criminal underworld from the equation.

20. NATIONAL PLASTIC BOTTLE POLICY
Apply tax to plastic bottles at manufacture or importation stage. Redeem tax for return of discarded
bottles so as to encourage environmental cleanup, provide a ready stock of material for road-building and
construction industries, and generate revenue for those least employable and most in need.

21. FIRST WORLD DEVELOPMENT
Establish ‘new city’ within easy access from all corners of T&T for offices of State currently based in Port
of Spain. Implement online and ATM payments wherever possible for ease of payment and decentralisation of transactions. Properly done, this would end the hours lost to traffic faced by State employees twice daily, and put essential service within easy reach of all.

what? no flying cars powered by free unlimited unicorn farts?
dem jokey

Postby Rovin » February 21st, 2019, 11:19 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 21st, 2019, 11:30 am

Rovin wrote:Image

Wanting change is one thing.
Being practical and realistic is another.

Since you like their ideas, help them fit their manifesto into a 'SMART' framework

Specific (simple, sensible, significant).
Measurable (meaningful, motivating).
Achievable (agreed, attainable).
Relevant (reasonable, realistic and resourced, results-based).
Time bound (time-based, time limited, time/cost limited, timely, time-sensitive).
You're welcome.

Postby Rovin » February 21st, 2019, 11:43 am

i know wud catch ppl with my post & it did :lol:

how can u tell my political affiliation by that post , does it imply i say i support PEP or i will be voting for PEP or UNC or PNM , when last i ever post anything concerning PEP , u doing like i ever went to any of their meeting or i with them .... i sometimes watch rowley\kamla talking crap on tv or fb , doh mean ise ah unc or pnm

change doh mean stop voting unc\pnm & automatically u have to vote PEP

change cud be NOT voting back d same area Representative from d last time or not voting for ppl u dont like or voting against somebody party to spite d next 1

change cud be changing d way ppl think , it does not mean go vote for X Y or Z

every party has its good,bad,ugly but if anybody read my posts over d past 6 mths u wud have seen i said numerous times even up to a few days ago that i NOT voting for no damn body next election .... :|

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2019, 11:58 am

sMASH wrote:take the sando hospital, put it somewhere near the golconada/corinth intercange, expand the number of beds, make it a modern facility, to handle all that sando is doing but more capacity.

then when that is done u take the old sando hospital and use it as a government park. alllll what people hadda go up tong for, can be done there,,, in one complex. even move the utilities there too.

the tater taxi terminus, the hospital car park, take those, grade down the hill, and make a muliti story parkade... just like PoS. u will solve parking for the water front and for sando, as the walk from there along the promenade isnt that much .

It's a good idea, but it expensive. PLENTY money would have to spend. Sando Hospital is actually ok. The General Hospital (Colonial building) need a serious renovation. It was a good idea for the administrative building now Teaching hospital to merge with General Hospital but the execution was bad. The building was 90% complete as a Government administration building so it would have been wise for all the administrative departments and some of the Allied Health services to go in the building instead of spending more millions to turn it into a hospital which caused new problems. Most of the administrative departments and some health services are in old Ministry of Health buildings. If those departments was moved to Teaching and break down all those old and condemned MoH buildings, you would have plenty land space to expand the hospital all the way to Naparima Bowl side. There are also condemned buildings behind Teaching overlooking the wharf which can easily be broken down and a new structure go up. I audited different departments there so i know the scene.

Once Couva Hospital (eh?) and Point Fortin Hospitals comes online, you will take some load off Sando Hospital. If a Hospital is built in the Penal-Syne Village area along the proposed highway, even better.

The hospital car park wharf side should stay as part of the hospital, it just needs to be developed into an open car park like Mt Hope or a multilevel parkade. If you ever experience visiting hours in Sando General, is serious pressure. I agree with you for a multilevel parkade in the area, mostly somewhere near the wharf as High St is a high thoroughfare area. You might quicker get a private developer to do that but to buy land down there alone is $$$. Check what Furness did in POS: http://www.looptt.com/content/furness-g ... y-car-park
Last edited by The_Honourable on February 21st, 2019, 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 21st, 2019, 11:59 am

interesting ideas, however the reality of switching to a zoned school system as great as it sounds is quite a few years off and would require extensive training and infrastructure, not to mention what it would do for the price and demand of Location , location, location... for home owners.

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2019, 1:49 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:take the sando hospital, put it somewhere near the golconada/corinth intercange, expand the number of beds, make it a modern facility, to handle all that sando is doing but more capacity.

It's a good idea, but it expensive. PLENTY money would have to spend. Sando Hospital is actually ok. The General Hospital (Colonial building) need a serious renovation. It was a good idea for the administrative building now Teaching hospital to merge with General Hospital but the execution was bad. The building was 90% complete as a Government administration building so it would have been wise for all the administrative departments and some of the Allied Health services to go in the building instead of spending more millions to turn it into a hospital which caused new problems. Most of the administrative departments and some health services are in old Ministry of Health buildings. If those departments was moved to Teaching and break down all those old and condemned MoH buildings, you would have plenty land space to expand the hospital all the way to Naparima Bowl side. There are also condemned buildings behind Teaching overlooking the wharf which can easily be broken down and a new structure go up. I audited different departments there so i know the scene.

Once Couva Hospital (eh?) and Point Fortin Hospitals comes online, you will take some load off Sando Hospital. If a Hospital is built in the Penal-Syne Village area along the proposed highway, even better.

The hospital car park wharf side should stay as part of the hospital, it just needs to be developed into an open car park like Mt Hope or a multilevel parkade. If you ever experience visiting hours in Sando General, is serious pressure. I agree with you for a multilevel parkade in the area, mostly somewhere near the wharf as High St is a high thoroughfare area. You might quicker get a private developer to do that but to buy land down there alone is $$$. Check what Furness did in POS: http://www.looptt.com/content/furness-g ... y-car-park

sando is good, really good, but is is in a bad location as well as under capacity. trinidad as developed way past what it is able to provide.

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2019, 1:53 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:interesting ideas, however the reality of switching to a zoned school system as great as it sounds is quite a few years off and would require extensive training and infrastructure, not to mention what it would do for the price and demand of Location , location, location... for home owners.

so, the solution is, to keep voting the same set of shithongs, who will keep doing the same dotishness, and not even envision how sumting that could elevate this place.

10% of pie in the sky, is better than 100% of nothing.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2019, 2:07 pm

sMASH wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:interesting ideas, however the reality of switching to a zoned school system as great as it sounds is quite a few years off and would require extensive training and infrastructure, not to mention what it would do for the price and demand of Location , location, location... for home owners.

so, the solution is, to keep voting the same set of shithongs, who will keep doing the same dotishness, and not even envision how sumting that could elevate this place.

definition of insanity then

FordeG

Postby FordeG » February 21st, 2019, 3:23 pm

sMASH wrote:

You'd think so, I found the UNC/PP government to run things quite well, implemented some well needed projects and seemed to actually listen to the needs of the people. I for the life of me, can never understand why people say both PNM and UNC are the same. PNM seems more corrupt, caters to the needs of the 1% and actually seems to scorn the average person.

PEP reminds of the people in highschool who didn't fit in and wanted to play they better than us because by hating everything we do. Those kinds of people live in a fairy tale land and should NOT be trusted.

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » February 21st, 2019, 4:14 pm

FordeG wrote:
sMASH wrote:

You'd think so, I found the UNC/PP government to run things quite well, implemented some well needed projects and seemed to actually listen to the needs of the people. I for the life of me, can never understand why people say both PNM and UNC are the same. PNM seems more corrupt, caters to the needs of the 1% and actually seems to scorn the average person.

PEP reminds of the people in highschool who didn't fit in and wanted to play they better than us because by hating everything we do. Those kinds of people live in a fairy tale land and should NOT be trusted.

If you already accept at the outset that both of those entities are corrupt, when does the question change from "who is more/less corrupt?" to "why accept corruption as if it is the only choice?". At what point does the citizenry decide enough is enough and seriously look at alternatives?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 21st, 2019, 4:34 pm

The denominational school model in TnT produces some of the finest scholars in the island. Now there is a lot to be said about the class stratified structure of some of these, especially in the top performing Presbyterian secondary schools, but the fact remains: making all schools into prestige schools will make no schools prestigious.

What makes these schools so successful is the concentration of raw pressure to succeed in one campus. You take a regular student from Point Fortin and put him in naps or pres and he will perform a lot better than if he went to vessigny.

When I was in form 6, nearly every weekend, students used to gather on a saturday by themselves to study, play football then do past papers. Even average students with no brilliant ability fell into the routine because their smarter friends were doing it. Now those average students are engineers and lawyers.

Zoning the school system will destroy that.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 21st, 2019, 4:43 pm

reboot2020 wrote:If you already accept at the outset that both of those entities are corrupt, when does the question change from "who is more/less corrupt?" to "why accept corruption as if it is the only choice?". At what point does the citizenry decide enough is enough and seriously look at alternatives?

Better the devil you know than the devil you dont. A man with the charisma of an wet towel and a penchant for incoherent cursing doesnt do much to dazzle potential voters, especially if his policies make less sense than the average manifesto.

Now regardless of how i feel about Rowley and Kamla alike, they both possess the charisma that PEA never will.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2019, 4:53 pm

EH!? Rowley and charisma? :lol:

But i hear what you are saying.

OP the country not ready for an "unknown" yet. We still prefer the status quo. I quicker see Phillip winning Rowley seat for the upset than PEP winning the election.

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2019, 8:42 pm

FordeG wrote:You'd think so, I found the UNC/PP government to run things quite well, implemented some well needed projects and seemed to actually listen to the needs of the people. I for the life of me, can never understand why people say both PNM and UNC are the same. PNM seems more corrupt, caters to the needs of the 1% and actually seems to scorn the average person.

the PPG was one of the most corrupt governments in the history of T&T. Lifesport, Reshmi, Anil Roberts, Section 34, and Jack Warner, all in the space of less than 3 years from taking office.

The PPG was well intentioned, no doubt, but it was absolutely corrupt.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 21st, 2019, 9:09 pm

Don't let the best be the enemy of the good.

A lot of the ideas presented are good and achievable

But (and it is a heffa sized but)....

You need to consider who these ideas are coming from and what is actually being said.

These are just pipe dreams until you can show at least an outline of how it will be done, or at the very least, and order to the approach. Otherwise, it just sounds like they checking all the boxes of what the majority of people want to hear. You all know I despise both UNC and PNM and want there to be a viable third option more than anybody so this should be like a wet dream to somebody like me that truly believes T&T can do better and deserves better representation.

Sadly, I know a charlatan when I see one. That is all PEA seems to me. Doesn't he have a history of scamming people (according to previous threads on tuner)? What do you think will happen if he gets a hold of our national coffers. It would be like winning the lottery for him.

Trinidad fell for this once already with Anil Roberts and Spalk. All big talk until the first taste of power and then before you know ot hundreds of millions of dollars unaccounted for.

I would not even consider supporting PEP if PEA is anywhere near anything they involved in. I'm sorry for those that are potentially ruining their reputation by allowimg themselves to be associated with him.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2019, 9:13 pm

Forde G sounding uml like

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 21st, 2019, 9:30 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Don't let the best be the enemy of the good.

You need to consider who these ideas are coming from and what is actually being said.

These are just pipe dreams until you can show at least an outline of how it will be done, or at the very least, and order to the approach. Otherwise, it just sounds like they checking all the boxes of what the majority of people want to hear. You all know I despise both UNC and PNM and want there to be a viable third option more than anybody so this should be like a wet dream to somebody like me that truly believes T&T can do better and deserves better representation.

Sadly, I know a charlatan when I see one. That is all PEA seems to me. Doesn't he have a history of scamming people (according to previous threads on tuner)? What do you think will happen if he gets a hold of our national coffers. It would be like winning the lottery for him.

Trinidad fell for this once already with Anil Roberts and Spalk. All big talk until the first taste of power and then before you know ot hundreds of millions of dollars unaccounted for.

I would not even consider supporting PEP if PEA is anywhere near anything they involved in. I'm sorry for those that are potentially ruining their reputation by allowimg themselves to be associated with him.

PEA's plan to pay for his spending? Tax the companies, dont tax the people. It's like Bernie Sanders, but further removed from reality (somehow).

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2019, 10:01 pm

Seems to be on the right track.. And getting things done.

FB_IMG_1550800572923.jpeg
FB_IMG_1550800565056.jpeg
FB_IMG_1550800557045.jpeg

Postby Slartibartfast » February 21st, 2019, 11:38 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Don't let the best be the enemy of the good.

PEA's plan to pay for his spending? Tax the companies, dont tax the people. It's like Bernie Sanders, but further removed from reality (somehow).

I'm not sure what you are alluding to but in any case I don't think that taxes (even the most exhobitant on both individuals and companies) will be enough to pay for his planned spending over 4 years. It may make a good 25 year plan but I also noticed a critical lack of any timing or schedule given.

Again, sounds like trumpesque pandering. Best to be ignored.

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » February 22nd, 2019, 2:08 am

A +50 Billion dollar annual budget, devoid of the waste, mismanagement and corruption inherent in the execution methods of the established parties, could arguably cover many of the short term ideas proposed and lay the groundwork for some of the larger goals.

http://www.looptt.com/content/budget-2019-10-highlights-517-b-budget

Total Revenue $47.724b (Based on US $65 per barrel, $2.75 MMBTU Oil Price)

Expenditure: $51.776 b

National Security $6.120 b

Education & Training $7.392 b

Health $5.695 b

Works and Transport $3.546 b

Public Utilities $3.182 b

Local Government $1.76 b

Housing $1.033 b

Agriculture $0.78 b

Tobago: $2.229 billion (1.97 billion for recurrent expenditure, $231.63 million for capital expenditure and $18 million for URP).

The returns for TT nationals on the level of spending above could be vastly improved, save for the political will and the vision to get the job done right.

Postby eliteauto » February 22nd, 2019, 5:24 am

It's interesting to see how many people have a default position of can't, won't and don't

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2019, 6:08 am

eliteauto wrote:It's interesting to see how many people have a default position of can't, won't and don't

not really
ppl just stating indirectly that they know what's coming based on historical evidence of failure after failure by politicians in this place
after 50 years and hundreds of politicians saying "ah go do good tings for yuh, put meh dey" & then they proceed to screw you over, ppl just jaded & don't believe anything they say.

strykr

Postby strykr » February 22nd, 2019, 6:58 am

I would have read almost all the comments to this thread. What I have found and agree with is that the PEP's promise is a bit to big for such a small and up-coming party. I've seen that trinbagonians doh really need much to be comfortable. Secondly it's unfortunate but the reality is the population is divided and only a very small number of people may really care to see new faces in government. It's either they don't care about any other party or they plain out afraid that it's just another bunch of thieves.(plain talk). I may be willing to give this party a chance because I already know what I can expect from the other two. But again I think PEP will make a fool of them selves bcuz they won't be able to keep those promises. And also maybe coming to different areas or constituents when there are issues to be met by the reigning government may help people understand your parties “intention". Just my 2 cents.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 22nd, 2019, 9:18 am

Have any experienced politicians aligned themselves to PEP?
Curious to know.

You can't run a parlour/expo/IML/Organo gold and just ups and decide you could run a country. Ideas are just ideas without the experience and skills to see them through.

I eh have anything against them, but I'm not convinced that they're fit for the job. MAYBE if COP brought some experience to their table and Furlup Urdward Erlexandr was nowhere near a leadership position. Maybe.

Postby sMASH » February 22nd, 2019, 10:04 am

experience has flecked this country out of being a first world country with the kinda money that passed through.. time to bring in a fresh philosophy.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 22nd, 2019, 10:40 am

sMASH wrote:experience has flecked this country out of being a first world country with the kinda money that passed through.. time to bring in a fresh philosophy.
I've heard the term bandied about, but fresh faces/philosophy/blood/mindset usually means the same thing.

Exuberance without guidance is a recipe for disaster

You want ah OJT Prime Minister?

Postby sMASH » February 22nd, 2019, 10:44 am

well, allyuh win, i give up. next rongs, i voting PNM. seems to be most experienced.

all hail my lord and savior, hinds and marlene!!!!!!