Re: The official tropical weather thread 2020

Postby The_Honourable » August 21st, 2020, 7:56 pm

Sando getting a 2nd treatment

Postby bluefete » August 21st, 2020, 8:02 pm

I hear rain real falling in St. Julien and Penal.

Postby bluefete » August 21st, 2020, 8:07 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Weather Center
·
A Riverine Flood Alert (Yellow Level) goes into effect at 11 PM tonight through 3 PM tomorrow for Central and Southern Trinidad.
Note that smaller streams and tributaries have already broken its banks across the island, including the Gandia River

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2020, 8:58 pm

Raining hard in many places now, ground waterlogged
Runoff flooding likely But saving grace is we on a low tide now.

2WNBoost

The official tropical weather thread 2020

Postby 2WNBoost » August 21st, 2020, 9:05 pm

Heavy rain, strong gusts and lightning in Petit Valley

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2020, 9:49 pm

Lightning

Screenshot 2020-08-21 at 9.49.15 PM.jpg

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 22nd, 2020, 12:55 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Tunapuna - real dark for 20 mins now. No rain but level thunder (and lightning)

Screenshot 2020-08-21 at 12.17.29 PM.jpg

thanks to maj.tom for the link to the lightning mapper
http://rammb.cira.colostate.edu/ramsdis ... f_the_day/

What sector is that exactly. Not getting that loop when I click the link.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2020, 1:04 am

dredman1 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Tunapuna - real dark for 20 mins now. No rain but level thunder (and lightning)

See below
maj. tom wrote:GOES-16 satellite which has a lightning mapper module...

The link took some digging to find but you can actually access all these weather satellites now. GOES-17 and Himawari-8 too.
Look on the left and you will see SLIDER links to the major hemisphere sats.

Then you have to zoom in, select Product (in this instance GeoColor), add overlay if you want (lightning is CIRA Group Energy Density). It takes a while to load. Use Chrome for best results. Then when you get the image loop on the screen at the speed you want, at the time step and # of images you want, you can click the download option and let it process as a gif. Your browser may seem like it freezes up, but don't click anywhere at all until it finishes processing. Then right click on the image and save it. Right click once and wait for the menu because it's a lot of processing...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2020, 1:05 am

118403751_10157094537442407_5012282158240638836_n.jpg

In the latest sign of a climate emergency, two hurricanes are expected to hit the Gulf of Mexico simultaneously for the first time in recorded history next week. 'This is a very rare, very dangerous situation for the entire Gulf Coast,' said CBS meteorologist Ella Dorsey

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 22nd, 2020, 3:15 am

Duane I was reading about this in truth

https://www.livescience.com/two-hurrica ... exico.html

This is very serious, and could they merge into one and become a super hurricane? it is said that If the two storms get to within 190 miles of each other, they'll collide or merge into 1 megastorm. Not unlike how 2 black hols can collide and merge into one super black hole far more deadly and threatening.

But what can and will be done about climate change? some of the biggest polluters like China aren't going to do anything about it, even if USA and Europe went completely renewable energy would that stop it? highly doubt it.

These are the 4 biggest polluters in CO2 emissions

1 China 10.06GT
2 United States 5.41GT
3 India 2.65GT
4 Russian Federation 1.71GT

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2020, 7:11 am

Remember that movie..."the perfect storm" hollywood mc

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 22nd, 2020, 8:09 am

dredman1 wrote:

See below
maj. tom wrote:GOES-16 satellite which has a lightning mapper module...

The link took some digging to find but you can actually access all these weather satellites now. GOES-17 and Himawari-8 too.
Look on the left and you will see SLIDER links to the major hemisphere sats.

Then you have to zoom in, select Product (in this instance GeoColor), add overlay if you want (lightning is CIRA Group Energy Density). It takes a while to load. Use Chrome for best results. Then when you get the image loop on the screen at the speed you want, at the time step and # of images you want, you can click the download option and let it process as a gif. Your browser may seem like it freezes up, but don't click anywhere at all until it finishes processing. Then right click on the image and save it. Right click once and wait for the menu because it's a lot of processing...

Darn - No wonder I wasn’t seeing it.

Thanks (and to maj. tom too)!

killercow

Postby killercow » August 23rd, 2020, 2:34 am

Imagine being struck by a hurricane...
800px-NHC_AL142020_5day_cone_no_line_and_wind.jpeg

and then less than 48 hours after, being struck by another hurricane...
800px-NHC_AL132020_5day_cone_no_line_and_wind.jpeg

I hope this scenario changes.
Hope for the best, cater for the worst...

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2020, 8:33 am

Stiff rain in pos

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 23rd, 2020, 8:41 am

Raining in sando a couple hours now

Postby maj. tom » August 26th, 2020, 2:59 pm

Trouble on TX and LA coasts. Big trouble. (Katrina was 25 - 30 feet surge).

Hurricane Laura to trigger catastrophic storm surge of up to 20 feet

Forecasters said that storm surge of this magnitude posed the greatest threat to lives and property along the Gulf Coast, while also warning that time was running out to get to safety

Data from an Air Force Hurricane Hunter aircraft has found that Hurricane Laura is now a Category 4 storm, the first storm to reach such an intensity in the Atlantic basin this year. Laura's maximum sustained winds are around 140 mph. The storm is located about 200 miles south-southeast of Lake Charles, Louisiana, and Port Arthur, Texas.

https://www.accuweather.com/en/hurrican ... ura/799307

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 27th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Probably just ah lil rain
Screenshot_2020-08-27-14-12-41.png

Postby sMASH » August 27th, 2020, 2:23 pm

some serious clouds over,,, lookin like fyzo or siparia or somewhere that direction. like one dread cumulonimbus

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2020, 2:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Probably just ah lil rain

maybe but we are into the peak of the season so storms go start marching across the ocean- the heat would give them fuel

Postby bluefete » August 27th, 2020, 2:38 pm

Sahara dust around for a few days.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2020, 3:56 pm

Still there
Screenshot_2020-08-28-15-56-03.png

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 28th, 2020, 4:47 pm

We go get a lil rain

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 28th, 2020, 5:37 pm

it so dam hotttt. i feel we go get a earthquake soon.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2020, 5:52 pm

aye these days real nice eh, feels like dry season.

But when so we could expect rain? I need to plant a plum tree a common plum cause I just plant 6 governor a few months ago.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 28th, 2020, 9:31 pm

Repeat after me Earthquakes are not caused by the heat of the sun.The uneducated who put that phrase into our speech should go back to a school, if they ever went.

The earth is made of different tectonic plates. When these plates shift they cause earthquakes.

Postby maj. tom » August 28th, 2020, 9:50 pm

Even if they had even a remote relation of causation, the "sun being so hot" is just local weather.

But they're not related. Scientists have collected a lot data with SOHO and other satellites and the USGS confirmed that there is no relation between solar activity and earthquakes. https://agupubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com ... /grl.50211

Postby Gladiator » August 28th, 2020, 10:42 pm

cornfused wrote:Repeat after me Earthquakes are not caused by the heat of the sun.The uneducated who put that phrase into our speech should go back to a school, if they ever went.

The earth is made of different tectonic plates. When these plates shift they cause earthquakes.

Yeah I hear yuh.... but coincidentally when you hear one of them people say that... it does have a damn earthquake soon after... LOL

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2020, 12:42 am

brickman

Postby brickman » August 29th, 2020, 1:06 am

Been getting some strong winds in pos all night.

Postby goalpost » August 29th, 2020, 5:21 pm

Place clear in Arima, but hearing thunder