Re: Slackness: Studying on the day of/night before final exams

Postby Redman » December 7th, 2018, 2:49 pm

studying the night before isnt a function of discipline
its a function of panic

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » December 7th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Hey i study rel plenty and got a good job. Short term. But had aspirations of having a long term career.

Then September 2015 and the Evil Lord emerged and i have been unemployed ever since.

So all your studying makes no sense. Sorry to buss yuh booble.

Postby bluefete » December 7th, 2018, 2:55 pm

So how are you surviving since?

Monkey Man wrote:Hey i study rel plenty and got a good job. Short term. But had aspirations of having a long term career.

Then September 2015 and the Evil Lord emerged and i have been unemployed ever since.

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2018, 4:46 pm

only way to study night before without ever studying & pass is tuh pop a adderall or something- not sayin tuh do dat eh :roll:

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » December 7th, 2018, 6:25 pm

bluefete wrote:So how are you surviving since?

Monkey Man wrote:Hey i study rel plenty and got a good job. Short term. But had aspirations of having a long term career.

Monky woman have a job.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 7th, 2018, 6:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:is like a sickness man
I did it..and made it thru life just fine

Same here. You never use any of that crap anyway.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 7th, 2018, 6:41 pm

One should study in a way that they understand the concepts, rather than cram.

Cramming is why we have so much educated people that can't do what they studied for

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » December 9th, 2018, 2:43 am

Yeah reel talk eh but u really expect somebody to get Uber excited about something like, for example psychology

Mark007

Postby Mark007 » December 9th, 2018, 7:35 am

Passion for the subject goes a long way. Else u just gonna end up forcing yourself to cram trust me

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 9th, 2018, 7:52 am

Sell your body op !

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 9th, 2018, 9:29 am

Mark007 wrote:Passion for the subject goes a long way. Else u just gonna end up forcing yourself to cram trust me

Same, I used to love to study physics and IT for cxc. Been reading cxc physics books since primary school actually

But I studied the day before Bio. Bio coulda suck salt boy. Meen need to know wtf mitochondria is.

Studentheaf

Postby Studentheaf » September 3rd, 2020, 2:04 pm

anyone know where i could get adderall?
for recreational use studying

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 3rd, 2020, 2:19 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:Passion for the subject goes a long way. Else u just gonna end up forcing yourself to cram trust me

Same, I used to love to study physics and IT for cxc. Been reading cxc physics books since primary school actually

But I studied the day before Bio. Bio coulda suck salt boy. Meen need to know wtf mitochondria is.

I was actually very, very good at physics and chem before CXC. My teacher was probably the best there was. Seriously, he was a genius. I actually built a lab to show how the colors of the spectrum behave when spun at high speeds( turns into white light) using the turning device of a burnt out discman that was spoiled because the wrong polarity was used on it. I also helped build an amplifier( connected from a pre-designed schematic) in form 3. Man i really enjoyed it then. Then i went into o level classes where they changed the guy to a woman( i have had very few good experiences with female teachers, way too emotional and unpredictable. I would even go as far as saying if we had more males in the education system, we would have a lot less criminals. I love and respect women but i stand by my opinion) and she was a nutcase. Was just slack for chemistry even though i lent a girl my notes and she never came back to school. Two terms of work lost, never to be seen again. Still could have gotten a 1 if i had studied that entire week instead of the night before...blah

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 3rd, 2020, 2:31 pm

Studentheaf wrote:anyone know where i could get adderall?
for recreational use studying

Rowlee legalise d herb boi dan.
Forget bout dem forrin people ting like adarol and zanacks.

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2020, 9:50 pm

memory chains is the way.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 4th, 2020, 4:26 am

There are diff strategies for diff types of courses.
- Like econ/business, where you have to learn concepts, make a map of the syllabus on a single page, and make sure you understand everything on that page. If you're in uni/uwi, the summary of the course-outline should help you, or the toc in the textbook.
- For math/stats/chem/phys/accounts/etc subjects, where you have to calculate stuff (moles!), you just have to put in the work by doing exercises/worked problems.. take up a text book and literally do ALL the problems to make sure you get the right answers at the back of the text.

night before the exam is for re-reading and flippig through the entire book, not for learning.
day of the exam, relax, you got this. if you remember something you forgot, go chk it quick (bc that's coming, trust me), but dont panic.

and always remember, use the washroom before going into the exam, even if you feel to or not.
and if you need to use the washroom during the exam, just do it, don't wait or feel shame or whatever... that's wasting valuable time.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 4th, 2020, 4:28 am

nervewrecker wrote:memory chains is the way.

definitely, or mnemonics; if you're really having trouble. But these never worked for me.

the only mnemonic i remember is POC3.