The Mighty Shadow is dead!!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2018, 8:49 am

BREAKING: Calypsonian Winston "The Mighty Shadow" has died. Shadow suffered a stroke on Sunday and died this morning. We will have more for you later. Shadow is known for a wide repertoire of songs that include 'Bassman' , 'Dingolay' , 'Stranger' and 'Poverty Is Hell' .
Image may contain: 1 person

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 4004337996

WarrLordd

Re: The Mighty Shadow is dead!!

Postby WarrLordd » October 23rd, 2018, 8:56 am

RIP...

Postby K74T » October 23rd, 2018, 8:56 am

Rest in Peace to one of the greatest calypsonians that ever lived.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 23rd, 2018, 9:02 am

RIP The Mighty Shadow

Postby stev » October 23rd, 2018, 9:05 am

RIP...

he was 77 years old I think

Postby hydroep » October 23rd, 2018, 9:07 am

R.I.P., a true master of the soca art form.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 23rd, 2018, 9:14 am

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 23rd, 2018, 9:30 am

just weekend I reading in the gazette that they was going to give him an honorary doctorate.... sad he didn't get to receive it.
Why they wait till all these foundation pavers die to then try to honor them...

RIP

Postby redmanjp » October 23rd, 2018, 9:54 am

wonder if flood related stress give him that stroke

RIP!

matix

Postby matix » October 23rd, 2018, 10:18 am

https://youtu.be/xIIaRA95zdQ

Check out the crowd. A fav of mines

Postby The_Honourable » October 23rd, 2018, 12:27 pm

matix wrote:

Check out the crowd. A fav of mines

Yeah he take win for that one.

I remember as a teen in 2001 he hit gold with these two. Then looking back in his career, i recognized the genius in his music. RIP Shadow.

Postby toyolink » October 23rd, 2018, 3:56 pm

Condolences to family and friends.
This masters beat was revolutionary for the art form.
Did we really appreciate this artist as so many others?
RIP.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 23rd, 2018, 3:59 pm

Showed even at an older age he could still connected lyrically with old and young ....rip ....yuh looking fuh horn ...plenty plenty horn

Postby shogun » October 23rd, 2018, 11:36 pm

The man, the legend. One of the most influential local artists. Everyone from local Rock/Metal heads to Soca to Rapso and even local Hip-Hop artists "borrowed" from him. R.I.P. Winston Bailey.

death365

Postby death365 » October 24th, 2018, 9:42 pm

Oh how quick man does forget that he end up in d dog house after singing against the pnm

About 20 year of no big show ... snake snake snake

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=aI7dPQa7mfY

Postby shogun » October 24th, 2018, 10:38 pm

Man bring his current petty political tabanca in an RIP ched, with a song released over 20 years ago, yes.

Postby aaron17 » October 25th, 2018, 4:32 am

"I'm a stranger...."

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2018, 6:46 am

May he RIP knowing his contributions were well valued

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2018, 6:52 am

yuh kno, eventually with all our local calypso icons getting up there in age & I can't really recall if any of them still performing today, soon all we gonna be left with is a setta rum drinkin jumpin flag wavin winers.

That will be a sad day for this place, becuz I not seeing any performers coming up with skillz like these fellas. calypso is our heritage & we might just be about to lose it.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 26th, 2018, 8:48 am

88sins wrote:yuh kno, eventually with all our local calypso icons getting up there in age & I can't really recall if any of them still performing today, soon all we gonna be left with is a setta rum drinkin jumpin flag wavin winers.

That will be a sad day for this place, becuz I not seeing any performers coming up with skillz like these fellas. calypso is our heritage & we might just be about to lose it.

Unfortunately that is true. But at least his genius was recognized internationally before he passed.

https://thevinylfactory.com/features/th ... -all-time/
https://thevinylfactory.com/news/shadow ... sue-vinyl/
https://analogafrica.bandcamp.com/album ... eet-dreams