WTK Clutch Alignment Tool

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 19th, 2018, 12:12 pm

Anyone knows where I can get a clutch alignment tool for a 110 Corolla?
Been calling everywhere and nobody seems to have it

Thanks

Re: WTK Clutch Alignment Tool

Postby *KRONIK* » October 19th, 2018, 12:18 pm

Make a post in the toyota section, or see if you can get in one of then toyota group chats, somebody will have 1.

Or option 2
Do it ole skool, use a screw driver to kinda set the clutch disc,
wiggle in the gear box while the pressure plate loosely tightened and try to get it in. Remove the gearbox carefully and tighten up the pressure plate.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 19th, 2018, 12:36 pm

Broom stick!

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » October 19th, 2018, 1:14 pm

Use a deep socket that matches closes to the alighment tool,center the disc and bolt down the pressure plate to torque specs.

Postby MG Man » October 19th, 2018, 1:20 pm

airuma wrote:Broom stick!

this
Shave it down accordingly...no wait...daz de spanish ting nex door.....

Postby black start » October 19th, 2018, 3:59 pm

Fingers never fail....

Postby rspann » October 19th, 2018, 5:50 pm

Get an old output gear shaft.

Postby skylinechild » October 19th, 2018, 9:46 pm

visit fabricating shop a have then turn down a piece of hollow metal pipe to your O.D spec.

measure output shaft diameter with a vernier..

tbh the broomstick idea sounds legit...

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 20th, 2018, 12:21 am

Hirotoshi wrote:Use a deep socket that matches closes to the alighment tool,center the disc and bolt down the pressure plate to torque specs.

i've changed more clutch kits than i care to remember and i've never used that tool.
deep socket or broomstick has always done the trick.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 20th, 2018, 11:15 am

That broomstick and deep socket method does be dead on???
I aint no strong man to be wiggling up gearbox for the input shaft to finish line it up inno :cry:

How good are those ebay clutch kits btw?
After inspecting the clutch and pressure plate they look like they get some lix previously so I might as well replace them one time before the gearbox go in. The kits looking tempting since I getting a release bearing with it too.

If not what do you guys recommend?
This is my first time doing this as the car is automatic atm.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 20th, 2018, 1:27 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:That broomstick and deep socket method does be dead on???
I aint no strong man to be wiggling up gearbox for the input shaft to finish line it up inno :cry:

How good are those ebay clutch kits btw?
After inspecting the clutch and pressure plate they look like they get some lix previously so I might as well replace them one time before the gearbox go in. The kits looking tempting since I getting a release bearing with it too.

If not what do you guys recommend?
This is my first time doing this as the car is automatic atm.
Buy OEM.
Or good aftermarket brand: exedy or act

Also, resurface the flywheel 1 time

Postby supercharged turbo » October 20th, 2018, 2:35 pm

Never used the broomstick method but how does it work?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 20th, 2018, 3:51 pm

The ebay clutch kits really that bad??
The ACT and Exedy clutches atleast double the price :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » October 20th, 2018, 3:54 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:The ebay clutch kits really that bad??
The ACT and Exedy clutches atleast double the price
Cant say, i never used any.

Doh study price, the clutch kit is what keeping the engine power connected to the wheels

Mr President

Postby Mr President » October 20th, 2018, 4:25 pm

use your vision and approximation skills

Postby black start » October 20th, 2018, 5:46 pm

black start wrote:Fingers never fail....
I wasnt even joking about this

no tool needed and has never failed on many clutch installation

Postby skylinechild » October 20th, 2018, 8:22 pm

black start wrote:
black start wrote:Fingers never fail....
I wasnt even joking about this

no tool needed and has never failed on many clutch installation

this does only work if yuh hav fingers like toolum eah.....short and fat....

somehow i feel the females you date unsatisfi.........*internet cuts out..... :lol: :lol:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 21st, 2018, 12:10 am

i always just eyeballed it and never failed me yet

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2018, 7:41 pm

Box went in with new clutch,pressure plate and release bearing. I had gotten one but the tool was literally a WOFT...clutch coulda still move around alot even with the centering tool.

Eyeballed it and the box went in easy easy.

I find the throws between gears a bit firm tho(Not harsh but just a little firm)...never really drove a front wheel drive car that was manual(well aside from my driving exam lmao) so I was guessing its because of the cable linkage between the shifter and the box (the bends etc to reach the gearbox).

RWD cars the shifter already part of the gearbox so I guessing thats why it less firm?...well atleast from my experiences