Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

xtech

Re: Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

Postby xtech » April 16th, 2019, 8:28 am

CE68B31E-691C-46CD-94C4-B8E492596BAB.jpeg

About 2 weeks now my car idles bad shuts down while waiting at lights, engine stutters while driving after driving for over 1 hour. I thought my brain bad I switch it out same thing so I conclude pump was going bad.

In my car Mitsubishi normally sends 6v to the pump during normal driving so I thought if pump going bad might as well hit it full 12v all the time. Did that and car idles perfect. So I thought temp quick fix wukking. But after doing that the car starts sputtering again after 30mins driving and cuts off at lights again so I say well boy pump dying.

Pull it out this morning to install spare just to see my tea bag filter clogged to the max.
Using super Gas.... NP the gas it Not good
6FD4CF59-439C-4285-B040-9D28E150295C.jpeg

Postby Dave » April 16th, 2019, 8:30 am

What was the sedimentation in your tank like?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 16th, 2019, 9:41 am

Dave wrote:What was the sedimentation in your tank like?

Didn’t dump tank yet. But I can just barely see the stuff that clogged the tiny holes in the filter when I disturb the fuel with a screw driver.

CC82224A-71F5-405E-98B9-35F20E824304.jpeg

Cleaned up.

Postby 16 cycles » April 16th, 2019, 9:42 am

+ where do you fill up?

some gas stations are to be avoided like the plague...

xtech

Postby xtech » April 18th, 2019, 4:31 pm

925757F4-2051-4DE3-955A-B2ECAF28311A.jpeg
36E7D638-EE8F-47C2-9E58-A8EFF0D08431.jpeg

After dumping, refilling tank and driving around for 2 days. It’s looks and feels like a fine powder

Postby toyolink » April 18th, 2019, 6:55 pm

I have avoided an opinion on our fuel quality since closure of Petrotrin until more evidence was available.
At this time I am convinced that Paria and NP are not holding firm on quality stds for imports of fuels and things have gone haywire.
Vehicles where full tuning services are executed are not holding and customers are quickly experiencing fluctuations in idle and power delivery which of course impact on shifting, engine operating temp and even AC function.
Unfortunately, if the present situation continues failure of sensors and internal engine components seem to be on the cards.
This particular situation is really the silent slow killer of your investment.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 18th, 2019, 7:27 pm

16 cycles wrote:+ where do you fill up?

some gas stations are to be avoided like the plague...

Generally speaking, which stations to avoid?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 18th, 2019, 9:30 pm

Charlotte street....

Postby Ted_v2 » April 19th, 2019, 4:31 pm

No issues with diesel on my end.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » April 19th, 2019, 4:39 pm

No issues wit gas thus far..600 plus KM on a tank 230 to full

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 23rd, 2019, 8:56 am

Ted_v2 wrote:No issues with diesel on my end.

Same here... Just the slight rotten smell.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 23rd, 2019, 9:29 am

no issues here.
range is 720-730km
fill up at just under quarter , after 630km
the foul smell is not as strong as before though

Postby Ben_spanna » April 23rd, 2019, 2:23 pm

Ah raise the price and they still aint protest yet,

So I might as well lower the acceptable quality of d gas as well as they aint complain yet...…………..

Postby toyolink » April 23rd, 2019, 6:27 pm

When those in authority can admit imports with high sulphur content, to the extent the rotten egg scent is obvious and no one demands improvement in quality assurance standards...….this speaks to how docile the T&T public is.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 15th, 2020, 6:31 pm

Anyone else notice that gas lasting longer now ? Getting real good mileage.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 15th, 2020, 7:40 pm

It lasting longer for me but only because commutes less trafficky. I am spending less time in bumper to bumper traffic than before Covid.
fokhan_96 wrote:Anyone else notice that gas lasting longer now ? Getting real good mileage.

Postby Dave » July 15th, 2020, 8:41 pm

I still am in 7-8am traffic and 4-5pm traffic but because not as intense I actually returned 12km/l on my refill Monday morning for last week's worth of running. Quite good. No complaints here.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 15th, 2020, 10:21 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Anyone else notice that gas lasting longer now ? Getting real good mileage.
Noticed it for Super in my Nissan Y11.
Used to get 280 to 300km per tank. Now getting up to 360km consistently.

I was wondering what changed.

Postby Dave » July 15th, 2020, 11:46 pm

That's quite bad for a QG engine even at 360 now.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 16th, 2020, 2:35 am

Yea sumtin wrong dey. I still getting 400k in meh ole b15 with

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2020, 6:06 am

Seeing less vehicles on fire too :agrue:

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 16th, 2020, 6:46 am

Dave wrote:That's quite bad for a QG engine even at 360 now.
Well to be fair, that engine have nearly 400 thousand km on it eh, so it old, and might probably probably need replacing in a year or so.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 16th, 2020, 8:18 am

stopped putting diesel NP and switched to unipet,getting 750km+ (can squeeze up to 790,but dont like to run the tank that low) per tank now as compared to sub 600km before

Postby MG Man » July 16th, 2020, 8:47 am

due to light traffic, I saw a peak of 56 mpg. Currently down to 55.4 mpg with mixed driving
Occasionally ise diesel klee but haven't for a while
I normally run my tank down to fumes and then refill

Postby Dizzy28 » July 16th, 2020, 8:51 am

MG Man wrote:due to light traffic, I saw a peak of 56 mpg. Currently down to 55.4 mpg with mixed driving

Doesn't the fuel pump depend on fuel to keep it cool?
As such wouldn't continually running down to fumes often be detrimental to said pump?

Postby MG Man » July 16th, 2020, 9:44 am

MG Man wrote:due to light traffic, I saw a peak of 56 mpg. Currently down to 55.4 mpg with mixed driving

As such wouldn't continually running down to fumes often be detrimental to said pump?

So I've been told...being doing that crap abut 4 years now
The pump hangs from the top of the fuel tank, so it isn't submerged anyway....

Postby Dizzy28 » July 16th, 2020, 10:01 am

So I've been told...being doing that crap abut 4 years now
The pump hangs from the top of the fuel tank, so it isn't submerged anyway....

Ahh....not even sure where mine is.

Since Covid I also been running down to close to E with greater regularity just because I trying not to go gas station as often. But since its a Hyundai I doh feel I wanna chance it nah.

Postby maj. tom » July 16th, 2020, 10:10 am

^mango tree mechanics have maintained many urban legend myths to tell their customers to encourage more service under said mango tree.

The fuel pump is cooled by the fuel running in it, not surrounded by fuel. Or else, why would the manufacturers design cars otherwise, and why aren't there many more, many millions of fuel pump fires from overheating due to the hundreds of millions of people in the world running close to empty?

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » July 16th, 2020, 11:17 am

Arcmanov wrote:
Noticed it for Super in my Nissan Y11.
Used to get 280 to 300km per tank. Now getting up to 360km consistently.

I was wondering what changed.

I get roughly 350k per tank with ac on most of the time , noticing its costing more to fill up , when i got my wingroad in 2019 it was 150 to fill up super now its close to 170 .

Postby redmanjp » July 16th, 2020, 11:24 am

Dave wrote:I still am in 7-8am traffic and 4-5pm traffic but because not as intense I actually returned 12km/l on my refill Monday morning for last week's worth of running. Quite good. No complaints here.

school still out and some parents home so we not seeing the same traffic pre-covid- also for CRH curepe & valsayn traffic lights removed