Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2021, 2:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:so the crude figure free falling would mean we have to pay less to subsist the refinery. all the while u will get ur lay offs.

credit rating only is good to keep on borrowing. ur not going to get a way to repay them. u throw so many people on the bread line and so many severances, thats a lot of cash out the door and a stagnating the economy. the ripple effect of all that money coming out of circulation just cut many businesses in half, and shut down outright a lot more.

annnd u would have been in a position to approach guyana to process their crude, as minister hinds had tweeted out.
all the people chomping at the bits to get the refinery, MUST have had a source to resume.

Even when the price dropped in 2016 PT was still losing on every refined product. 2020 crushed many refineries around the world, PT would not have been immune.

We have been borrowing (deficit spending) since 2009, if after we took on your harebrained idea to keep the refinery going and it fell through, the credit rating is what will determine the rates we will borrow for covid-19 relief aside from the normal borrowing we are doing for a decade now. Those high rates is what will create a stagnant economy and push us to the lender of last resort, IMF. The $2B that PT was losing is money that was coming out of circulation, the $1B that HPCL making is supporting the economy.

It is obvious your armchair expertise falling apart with the littlest prodding.

those high rates is what u will have to pay back in a few years to come, and soon. that, u cant generate that income if a large bulk of ur citizens just got snapped to under the income tax bracket. and all the disposable income they used to spend, was ur recurring VAT all over. all ur business levies cut as well. u have ur tuitions cut, ur books, ur buildings, ur building materials etc.

the money on petrotrin salaries that went to the workers, was not money burnt. it was money that was getting recirculated numerous times, most times with VAT being taken out and in the while, sustaining the people.

covid was another wrong set of decisions, taking to late to lock down, and then locking down too hard and then taking too long to reopen.. they didnt NEEED to go into so much debt.

but u see, the whole set up was done SPECIFICALLY to borrow, so that they would get reasons to take money out to spend on nonsense projects we have no NEED for atm.

Postby toyolink » March 2nd, 2021, 2:33 pm

The moth-balled petrotrin refinery cannot reasonably meet the thresholds any investor would be looking to achieve without significant gov't concessions and risk sharing.
As much as we may wish this major asset to be reactivated, all the global conditions suggest that this venture is just about dead in the water and may very well be a debt trap.
The property on which the refinery sits and the associated facilities (including the port) may offer new opportunities for a different set of business options.
We just have to let go and demonstrate a creative capacity to move on quickly.

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2021, 2:45 pm

toyolink wrote:The moth-balled petrotrin refinery cannot reasonably meet the thresholds any investor would be looking to achieve without significant gov't concessions and risk sharing.
As much as we may wish this major asset to be reactivated, all the global conditions suggest that this venture is just about dead in the water and may very well be a debt trap.
The property on which the refinery sits and the associated facilities (including the port) may offer new opportunities for a different set of business options.
We just have to let go and demonstrate a creative capacity to move on quickly.

tell rowley dat, they keep trying to sell it.

Postby Habit7 » March 2nd, 2021, 4:50 pm

sMASH wrote:tell rowley dat, they keep trying to sell it.

But you trying to keep it open with state money.

I really doubt you understand profit and loss and a balance sheet. Whatever, benefit you have from overpaid, overstaffed workers who pay VAT in an inefficient tax system that does collect all the revenue, is LOST by the $2B in losses the company made every year. Trimming the staff, lowering the salaries and making a profit is the current HPCL and Paria, that is the benefit to the economy, not running a refinery on nostalgia.

Whoever wants to buy the land, the assets or the name, once they can cover the lien and create an opportunity for jobs and taxes without govt funds they can have it.

So when you say nonsense like "those high rates is what u will have to pay back in a few years to come" is saying suffer the entire country now, to save 5,000 ppl jobs in the most overstaffed NOC in the region.

Postby Redman » March 2nd, 2021, 4:52 pm

Float it on the exchange.
Repurpose the other assets..

....but keep it open.

Crude production free falling.

Impressive smash.

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2021, 12:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:What's going on with NiQuan and World GTL?

Khan said Government has also managed to bring one of Petrotrin’s former projects to fruition by working alongside a private entity called NiQuan Energy Trinidad Ltd.
NiQuan, he said, acquired Petrotrin’s incomplete gas to liquids plant in 2018.
He said it has now successfully completed the plant and commenced commercial production.
Khan said this is a 4,000 barrel a day ultra low sulphur diesel production facility coming out of natural gas.
He said on March 8 he will be officially commissioning the plant.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 4dd71.html
De Dragon wrote:I realize that asking you to be balanced is maybe a waste of time, but you consistently only mention PP when replying to any topic on why we ware where we are economically and socially.
No mention of taking the debt to 120 B from 84 B since the LFD RFD PNM took over, DESPITE raiding the HSF several times. No mention of spending on sheit like Toco Port, Arse Wari Sando vanity project, Roundy land buy scandal etc, all while telling people to belt tighten and peel cassava.

Toco port hasn't started yet, the Sando Waterfront was in planning since Carolyn Seepersad Bachan and only you know what is "Roundy land buy scandal" besides the regular rubbish you talk.
Bullchit

Millions have already been spent on Toco, just like project pride $.5 billion spent and not a truck load of sand to show for it .

The feasibility study is where red government minsters get rich over night

This tunts Habit7 seems to sincerely believe that only when the first bulldozer and workmen arrive on the site, money starts to be spent :lol:
Just like the refinery costing nothing because it is down presently :lol:

Postby sMASH » March 6th, 2021, 3:47 pm

every business gets thier upfront 500m payment waived for 10 yrs. that is common business practice that imburt does do.

Postby Habit7 » March 6th, 2021, 7:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Khan said Government has also managed to bring one of Petrotrin’s former projects to fruition by working alongside a private entity called NiQuan Energy Trinidad Ltd.
He said it has now successfully completed the plant and commenced commercial production.
Khan said this is a 4,000 barrel a day ultra low sulphur diesel production facility coming out of natural gas.
De Dragon wrote:I realize that asking you to be balanced is maybe a waste of time, but you consistently only mention PP when replying to any topic on why we ware where we are economically and socially.
No mention of taking the debt to 120 B from 84 B since the LFD RFD PNM took over, DESPITE raiding the HSF several times. No mention of spending on sheit like Toco Port, Arse Wari Sando vanity project, Roundy land buy scandal etc, all while telling people to belt tighten and peel cassava.

Toco port hasn't started yet, the Sando Waterfront was in planning since Carolyn Seepersad Bachan and only you know what is "Roundy land buy scandal" besides the regular rubbish you talk.
Bullchit

Millions have already been spent on Toco, just like project pride $.5 billion spent and not a truck load of sand to show for it .

This tunts Habit7 seems to sincerely believe that only when the first bulldozer and workmen arrive on the site, money starts to be spent :lol:

You don't even know how much money spend but all you know it is too much. Toco port have plans dating back to the Panday admin as nearly all govts see it as viable and an economic generator in a location in Trinidad that needs it. But dyslexic you doesn't agree it so must be bad.

What is even worst, you continue to lie about anybody saying that the refinery is costing nothing because it is down.

Stop trying to lie and insult and start trying to make sense.

Postby sMASH » March 6th, 2021, 8:54 pm

who driving to toco to go to tobago? u, with one setta pothole waiting bite yuh?

but when they sell PoS port, who ever operates it might jack up the tobago fares, so much so, people will be forced to use the govt toco port.
yah hadda drive for hours tru traffic, pothole and bush for hours, mash up ur suspension to go tobago... upside is, u save an hour sail time.

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2021, 8:59 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Bullchit

This tunts Habit7 seems to sincerely believe that only when the first bulldozer and workmen arrive on the site, money starts to be spent
Just like the refinery costing nothing because it is down presently

You don't even know how much money spend but all you know it is too much. Toco port have plans dating back to the Panday admin as nearly all govts see it as viable and an economic generator in a location in Trinidad that needs it. But dyslexic you doesn't agree it so must be bad.

What is even worst, you continue to lie about anybody saying that the refinery is costing nothing because it is down.

Yeah you right, we don't know how much money spent. Everything this red government does is a secret.

It's only when the 5hit hits the fan and the red government corruption is exposed then we will get find out.

Toco port is funneling money out and Red government MPs and wives and Reeking in the millions.

Where is the Trini Train feasibility study? Who pocketed that money?

P○rnhabit 7 you so full ah 5hit

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 7th, 2021, 7:09 am

sMASH wrote:who driving to toco to go to tobago? u, with one setta pothole waiting bite yuh?

but when they sell PoS port, who ever operates it might jack up the tobago fares, so much so, people will be forced to use the govt toco port.
yah hadda drive for hours tru traffic, pothole and bush for hours, mash up ur suspension to go tobago... upside is, u save an hour sail time.

:| But right now the "highway" to Toco is being designed and built. In theory, and I stress "in theory", at the end the people are supposed to have a proper road on which to drive to get to the proposed Toco port. But we all know the bobol that goes down with government projects, no matter which party is in power.

Postby Redman » March 7th, 2021, 7:11 am

Habit...goal post move to the Rapid Rail.

If you expecting a rational discourse...you will be disappointed.

Volume over content

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2021, 8:57 am

Habit7 wrote:

Bullchit

Dummy, TTEC, WASA free?
Amalgamated etc working for free?
Arrogance and condescension , is only tolerant in people who are not dotish to obvious facts.

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 9:26 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
sMASH wrote:who driving to toco to go to tobago? u, with one setta pothole waiting bite yuh?

:| But right now the "highway" to Toco is being designed and built. In theory, and I stress "in theory", at the end the people are supposed to have a proper road on which to drive to get to the proposed Toco port. But we all know the bobol that goes down with government projects, no matter which party is in power.

we dont build ROADS. we pave over dirt. i watch some road building vids to understand what is the diference between the one the americans built and ours, and then the romans did 2000 years ago, and u realize that they have like 4ft foundation under the surfaces to negate shifting sometimes.

but when ur road caving, its better to have a recurrent problem recure spending. every time u draw down from the treasury, it pass on the grater and some pass tru. both pnm and unc. but under the patos regime a pnm contractor man told me it was so bad that up to the man answering the fone to pass on the msg to ministers wanted ah 50k. it didnt make any sense bidding on any projects cause the grease exceeded the profits. when kams take over, he got, but was delays to get payments to recoup the upfront funding the projects. since then i eh meet him back to find out how tings goin.

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2021, 9:48 am

Redman wrote:Habit...goal post move to the Rapid Rail.

Volume over content

A rapid rail, unlike a Toco Port, is a good idea. The similarity is that we can afford neither right now. The price for the feasibility study is just typical LFD RFD PNM corruption and graft.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2021, 10:02 am

Volume over content
Rapid rail feasibility study was a money con job on Tax payers. Red government minsters made millions from it .

Toco port is currently their income.

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 10:33 am

Volume over content

A rapid rail, unlike a Toco Port, is a good idea. The similarity is that we can afford neither right now. The price for the feasibility study is just typical LFD RFD PNM corruption and graft.
Difference is, they got turned down the loan cause the lenders sythere will be no way for Trinidad to ever repay it way back in 2015/16. Precovid. Precovid they saw our economy was sheit

They ran with that on the 2015 campaign,

If the lenders didn't blank we, all now they bulldozing property to lay down railway planks.

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2021, 10:40 am

sMASH wrote:

Volume over content

Difference is, they got turned down the loan cause the lenders sythere will be no way for Trinidad to ever repay it way back in 2015/16. Precovid. Precovid they saw our economy was sheit

They ran with that on the 2015 campaign,

If the lenders didn't blank we, all now they bulldozing property to lay down railway planks.

LFD RFD PNM people still pocketed $500M though :roll:

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 11:03 am

500m to consider if it make sense to spend 5 bn to transport a secretary from arima to PoS.

the rightest thing is to spread the PoS facilities along the East/West corridor, using the intersection with the north south throughfares as the central point, like where the caroni LO is.
but ministers living in the west dont want to travel so far. rather chook up every ting in PoS and let the rest of the country fite up to reach.

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2021, 11:20 am

sMASH wrote:500m to consider if it make sense to spend 5 bn to transport a secretary from arima to PoS.

the rightest thing is to spread the PoS facilities along the East/West corridor, using the intersection with the north south throughfares as the central point, like where the caroni LO is.
but ministers living in the west dont want to travel so far. rather chook up every ting in PoS and let the rest of the country fite up to reach.

Well the head LFD RFD PNM idiot JUHN Scarfy is on record as saying he isn't travelling to Chaguanas for any Gov't services, so what you expect from the minion LFD RFD PNM to say?

Postby Habit7 » March 7th, 2021, 1:48 pm

De Dragon wrote:Dummy, TTEC, WASA free?
Arrogance and condescension , is only tolerant in people who are not dotish to obvious facts.

Nobody said it was free. Your dyslexia getting the better of you.

Less insults, more facts.

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 1:55 pm

fact is, a tonne of formerly employed people gonna have to pony up for higher gas prices now...
how that gonna affect the entertainment and staycation industries?

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2021, 1:59 pm

sMASH wrote:fact is, a tonne of formerly employed people gonna have to pony up for higher gas prices now...
how that gonna affect the entertainment and staycation industries?
Doh worry P○rnHabit7 say Petrotrin made a profit of about 0.8 billion

But we won't see that money , we not even seeing what they did with our HSF

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 2:01 pm

gortt making profit not giving sheldon sales for doubles or shaniqier her beef pies.

Postby Habit7 » March 7th, 2021, 2:09 pm

PP 2015 manifesto
20200717_064435.jpg

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2021, 2:15 pm

wow, UNC was gonna get rid of super too? damn, thank goodness we got away from that economic bomb.
grate iz de PNM!!

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2021, 3:10 pm

Habit7 wrote:

You did by saying it wasn't costing anything to keep the refinery down nitwit :?

Postby Habit7 » March 7th, 2021, 3:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:

You did by saying it wasn't costing anything to keep the refinery down nitwit :?

Quote me

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2021, 3:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Quote me
Habit7 wrote:
death365 wrote:just 1 or 2 or 3 years more waiting for them,

u doh just get financing so... maybe a year to a year and half to secure and deliver. same time to re- certify/ check and adjust systems to code. then a phased start up, plant by plant.

Doh beat up, Habit7 say it eh costing we nuttin....................

So because I call you out on your lie that "millions spent" you still toting? Anyways, keep attacking, facts are not your forte.

Postby Habit7 » March 7th, 2021, 4:39 pm

Let me help you
Habit7 wrote:
death365 wrote:just 1 or 2 or 3 years more waiting for them,

u doh just get financing so... maybe a year to a year and half to secure and deliver. same time to re- certify/ check and adjust systems to code. then a phased start up, plant by plant.

Doh beat up, Habit7 say it eh costing we nuttin....................

So because I call you out on your lie that "millions spent" you still toting? Anyways, keep attacking, facts are not your forte.

Quote me