Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2021, 6:19 pm

Redman wrote:Smash..Would you put a real chunk of your money into that venture?

You've gone from running it like CEPEP to raising capital on the market.

Transfer the risk to the public.
Secured how?

Brilliant.

this govt was pushing for more ipo, if they think the refinery is good enough to restart, might as well.
are u doubting the PATRIOTISM of the people of trinidad and tobago? come nah man, sing the refrain; patriotic! patriotic!

keeping online for cepep reasons was ONLY because it was already online, because it woudl cost a lot to shut down and a lot to restart... and it was only until they go tru their fat cutting/ streamlining exercise over the course of two years.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 21st, 2021, 10:12 am

Is how roget dotish so, dat after rejected for a third time, he still hongin' imbutt about refinery shtt... and blaming govt 'consultants'. De ppl sheet on yuh, go Yuh flecking way nah

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2021, 6:36 pm

The Minister of Finance clarify the reasons as to why the Government could not proceed with the sale of the refinery to Patriotic.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2021, 6:37 pm

Patriotic's response to MoF press release

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2021, 7:27 pm

roget hit him back his own 'industry best practice'.

but tax credit incentive to invest is kamala... rowley dem say, that is losing morney, cyar do dat.
well, take bull

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 21st, 2021, 10:23 pm

I'm surprised that all this is taking place in public.
Good to know and see.
I always assumed that all this took place behind closed doors with BOTH parties at the table.

A times I think this is all a grand show for BOTH parties to save face and generate enough fluff to comfortably blame each other if anything goes south with no one actually taking the blame.

I hope it doesn't go that way, but......

Postby Redman » February 22nd, 2021, 7:04 am

After listening to warwick on TV6 I think smash said it ...the GORTT seems schizoid...in their approach to getting the refinery dealt with.

Postby De Dragon » February 22nd, 2021, 7:08 am

Redman wrote:After listening to warwick on TV6 I think smash said it ...the GORTT seems schizoid...in their approach to getting the refinery dealt with.

I really wonder if this was all some great deception or distraction. None of them seemed to be serious about the transaction, least of all the GORTT.

Postby Redman » February 22nd, 2021, 8:00 am

Well the facts support your conclusion....although now I understand that there are multiple local bidders waiting for RFP 2 to be published.

It's a lower risk time to buy than 2018.
A few regional supply points have folded
Covid is a bullet proof reason for lower bids.

But the financial position on the refinery is more than digestible..... alternative uses for the non refinery assets are starting to be pushed as well.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 22nd, 2021, 8:03 am

lolz at whole debacle, Rowley et al eh care elections done win, Ancel Roget was the new Abu Bakr for dem to secure d elections lol.
Impsbutt back in full on doh business, dem eh riot yet, mode. PNMites will take bull and be complacent an not make noise to tow d party line like a good slave so as not to offend massa and you know what it damn good cuz fool me once shame on you, fool me for 11 GE shame on me rofl.
I glad Rowley close money-losing top heavy PT down, next target should be CEPEP and URP, no way in hell ah UNC government could touch those PNM voter banks else place go burn to d ground, a la coup d'etat, when NAR tried to make the changes necessary for this country to survive.

4yza2s.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » February 25th, 2021, 4:42 pm

The saga continues?

death365

Postby death365 » February 25th, 2021, 5:28 pm

This is like yuh begging ah woman for some thing... U getting blank every time for this or that..

But yuh put u tail between your legs an begging again

Have some SHAME na!!!! Pathetic

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 25th, 2021, 5:48 pm

Redman wrote:Well the facts support your conclusion....although now I understand that there are multiple local bidders waiting for RFP 2 to be published.

It's a lower risk time to buy than 2018.
A few regional supply points have folded
Covid is a bullet proof reason for lower bids.

But the financial position on the refinery is more than digestible..... alternative uses for the non refinery assets are starting to be pushed as well.

Any hints on who said locals are?

Postby matr1x » February 25th, 2021, 5:55 pm

I was going to make a joke about the deal collapse flatter than when Marlene fall o you....but that wouldn't be classy

Postby Redman » February 25th, 2021, 6:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The saga continues?

The best political outcome is for the union to get the refinery after paying something realistic.
But they running out of time to continue the dotish posturing.

Massy Energy is the local name calling.
2 others are supposedly lining up as well.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 25th, 2021, 8:14 pm

Massey...yeah that sounds realistic.

Do you (or anyone on the thread) thinks that the Government would prefer folks like Massey in preference to Patriotic, especially when one considers the operating record and technical expertise.

Is it plausible that this was the plan all along that it would go to a Massey type local corporation anyway?

wing

Postby wing » February 25th, 2021, 10:00 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Massey...yeah that sounds realistic.

Do you (or anyone on the thread) thinks that the Government would prefer folks like Massey in preference to Patriotic, especially when one considers the operating record and technical expertise.

Is it plausible that this was the plan all along that it would go to a Massey type local corporation anyway?
It seems like that's exactly what was the plan all along. Massy Energy operating the refinery in the vein of IPSL. In terms of technical expertise, hard times from 2018 till now will guarantee no shortage of ex petro workers willing to come aboard with smaller salaries than what previously obtained at petrotrin.

Postby sMASH » February 25th, 2021, 10:36 pm

saw an article that said that massy sold press T con cause eekonomee.
massy already sold some food chain up the archipelago claiming 'they making themselves better situated to capitalize on any new opportunity '.

is not that we have a problem going to massy. the problem we have is the wheeling and dealing they do to pretend to do they right and fair thing, only to then hand it over to their financiers. if they run it well, like an actual business it will make. but it take out the profits that the country would have gotten, just because the govts let it run wild. and prolly intentionally so, just to create pretext to shut it down.
what is the mantra? run it down, shut it down, parts it up, pipe it off... to ur preferred financier

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 26th, 2021, 2:34 am

Well I think Massey at this stage is kind of big and would have clout with any political party, given their assets on the east coast (and other investments) this could mark them asserting their (energy) dominance, when better to buy than in a down turn...so this if it comes true would be quite the score.

Is Massey in Guyana? I would like to think they are. If so good for them to have such a clean sweep, from Guyana to East Coat (TT) to Pointe-A-Pierre.

Postby K74T » February 26th, 2021, 10:32 am

FB_IMG_1614349893126.jpeg
FB_IMG_1614349896973.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » February 26th, 2021, 10:45 am

So Patriotic/OWTU get blank a 4th time... this time to their faces by Imbert.

death365

Postby death365 » February 26th, 2021, 12:54 pm

ah hope Patriotic can tek dey blank an go ...

Postby Ben_spanna » February 26th, 2021, 1:39 pm

So was it govts plan all along to sell it to the 1% OR a the government of China? lets make some bets!

Postby Habit7 » February 26th, 2021, 2:44 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:So was it govts plan all along to sell it to the 1% OR a the government of China? lets make some bets!

What is with you all and this 1% talk?

You expect Tony's Mini Mart's to bid for a refinery?

Postby De Dragon » February 26th, 2021, 4:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:So was it govts plan all along to sell it to the 1% OR a the government of China? lets make some bets!

Defending the financiers hard boy! :lol: :lol:

Postby sMASH » February 26th, 2021, 4:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:

we dont expect pnm to be honest and say they closing it to redistribute the debt then pass it off to the financier.
pnm utter the words they not closing it, they not selling it, and they putting it up for public bidding.

we just rolling with their ever changing public releases.

is a good ting this isnt sparta where each man is accountable for the words they say.... is like, how much accounts pnm have??? which one is the truth.

Postby Habit7 » February 26th, 2021, 5:22 pm

sMASH wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

we dont expect pnm to be honest and say they closing it to redistribute the debt then pass it off to the financier.
pnm utter the words they not closing it, they not selling it, and they putting it up for public bidding.

Really, when?

matix

Postby matix » February 26th, 2021, 5:40 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Really, when?

https://youtu.be/hxcOyh5cdfo

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 26th, 2021, 6:26 pm

00:00 the government is not closing down (News person)
00:01 petrol train the statement from prime
00:04 minister dr. keith Rowley at a PNM
00:07 public meeting in Marbella on Tuesday
00:09 night in the heartland of the pointed
00:11 pear refinery the prime minister said
00:14 the government was so confident with the
00:17 rectitude of its action that it was not
00:19 prepared to shy away from the people who
00:22 are affected most by the action he also
00:25 had one message for the mothers sisters
00:27 neighbors and those attached to the
00:30 petrol train business the government is
00:34 not closing down petrol chin
and in case
00:42 you were just opening your fridge and
00:44 you didn't hear that when you closed the
00:45 door let me repeat it the government of
00:49 Trinidad and Tobago is not closing on
00:52 petrol channel the Prime Minister
00:55 described petrol train as an integrated
00:57 company involved in many areas of
01:00 business its involved in owning assets
01:04 it's involved in looking for oil it's
01:08 involved in piping oil it's involved in
01:12 drilling for oil it's involved in
01:14 refining oil and getting refined
01:16 products it's involved in marketing in
01:20 supplying products

Extracted form the YouTube transcripts for any one who doesn't want to watch.
Or the link to the exact part:

https://youtu.be/hxcOyh5cdfo?t=31

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2021, 7:18 pm

So this next group who possibly looking to bid could raise that kinda money ?