Postby matr1x » August 5th, 2019, 4:30 am

Marlene stumble

Re: T&T Earthquakes Thread

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2019, 1:49 pm

brickman wrote:Hard in p.o.s!!

1 year anniversary.

Where were you when it hit last year and what did you feel?

I was on the 6th Floor Police Admin building- at that height the shaking was hard & wide!
Last edited by redmanjp on August 21st, 2019, 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hydroep » August 21st, 2019, 4:11 pm

One year already? Ah wonder if people any better prepared now or they fall back into the "God is ah Trini" mentality?

Anyways from pg. 3...

...Was in Point Lisas when it hit. The shaking was bad enough but after we start to hear explosions we thought that was it yes . Luckily it was only blown out transformers...

Postby The_Honourable » September 10th, 2019, 10:12 pm

UWI, SRC - Automatic Earthquake Location

DATE AND TIME:
2019-09-10 9:31 pm (Local Time)
2019-09-11 01:31 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 62.06W
Depth: 35 km

NEARBY CITIES:
61 km W of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
86 km NW of San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
87 km W of Arima, Trinidad and Tobago

Postby K74T » September 11th, 2019, 12:19 am

Felt that one earlier, was a quick jolt

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 11th, 2019, 5:52 am

The_Honourable wrote:UWI, SRC - Automatic Earthquake Location

DATE AND TIME:
2019-09-10 9:31 pm (Local Time)
2019-09-11 01:31 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 62.06W
Depth: 35 km

NEARBY CITIES:
61 km W of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
86 km NW of San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
87 km W of Arima, Trinidad and Tobago

This wasn't the second for the week? Like they coming closer and closer though

Postby aaron17 » September 11th, 2019, 6:18 am

Its always around the same area.

Postby The_Honourable » September 23rd, 2019, 11:45 pm

11:24 PM Breaking: A Preliminary Magnitude M6.3 Earthquake strikes Northern of Puerto Rico. Shaking reported. No tsunami threat. Minor sea fluctuations possible.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/TTWeatherCente ... 4655854235

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » October 14th, 2019, 5:26 pm

DATE AND TIME:
2019-10-14 3:28 pm (Local Time)
2019-10-14 19:28 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 62.69W
Depth: 10 km

NEARBY CITIES:
60 km E of Carúpano, Venezuela
117 km NE of Maturín, Venezuela
131 km W of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

If you felt this earthquake, please tell us (http://uwiseismic.com/EarthquakeFeedback.aspx)

DISCLAIMER: this event has NOT been reviewed by an analyst. It was automatically located by a seismological computational system, therefore, it is a PRELIMINARY result and this may vary when new additional data are processed.

Postby matr1x » October 14th, 2019, 8:10 pm

Don't panic...Marlene stubbed her toe

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » October 17th, 2019, 12:22 pm

UWI Seismic Research Centre
October 14 at 8:56 AM ·

This animation shows earthquakes in the Caribbean region from 1918-2019. You can see the increase in events recorded in the Eastern Caribbean from the 1960’s and onward as the UWI Seismic Centre (or Seismic Unit as it was then known) deployed more instruments. The expansion of the network with various instrument types in the following decades has helped enhance the monitoring of earthquakes in the region*. In commemoration of International Day of Disaster Risk Reduction (13th October), we share this video as a reminder of the earthquake hazard the region can potentially face but also the need to have preparedness and mitigation measures in place so we #buildtolast should any natural hazard impact us.
*As the animation approaches the present day these instrument networks are able to detect smaller and smaller earthquakes, creating the illusion of increasing activity. In reality, these smaller earthquakes have always occurred, but the technology has only recently been able to detect them. #DRRday #buildtolast

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 17th, 2019, 12:48 pm

^ that's a cool viz

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2019, 4:38 pm

What I want to know is if you take away all the <5 magnitude quakes and you are left with the bigger quakes which have always been detected as big quakes didn't need the sensitive equipment we have today, if we would see any increase.

Postby Rovin » October 17th, 2019, 6:59 pm

since that 6.9 we had last yr i never felt anymore again , i have lost my feelings .... :oops:

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » October 19th, 2019, 9:22 pm

redmanjp wrote:What I want to know is if you take away all the <5 magnitude quakes and you are left with the bigger quakes which have always been detected as big quakes didn't need the sensitive equipment we have today, if we would see any increase.

Good question. Is there a trend of increasing number of earthquakes? BGS and USGS both say no.
http://www.earthquakes.bgs.ac.uk/news/EQ_increase.html
https://www.usgs.gov/faqs/why-are-we-having-so-many-earthquakes-has-naturally-occurring-earthquake-activity-been?qt-news_science_products=0#qt-news_science_products

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 8th, 2019, 5:06 am

earthquake at 4:12 am. Felt heavy in the west

Postby maj. tom » November 8th, 2019, 5:41 am

Meh. Anything less than a 5 won't be felt in sleep.

brickman

Postby brickman » November 8th, 2019, 5:55 am

Thought it was just me imagining things....guess not

T&T Earthquakes Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 8th, 2019, 6:38 am

Adjustments.JPG

4:12am
5.1 on the Richter scale
Depth 10km

Postby maj. tom » November 8th, 2019, 6:45 am

4.6 M (moment magnitude scale) you mean.
Nobody uses the Richter scale anymore .
Annotation 2019-11-08 064307.png

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2019, 6:47 am

woke me up in woodbrook, neighbour dogs make plenty noise

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » November 13th, 2019, 12:17 pm

DATE AND TIME:
2019-11-13 12:07 pm (Local Time)
2019-11-13 16:07 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 62.01W
Depth: 30 km

NEARBY CITIES:
71 km NW of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
93 km NW of Arima, Trinidad and Tobago
108 km NW of San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago

If you felt this earthquake, please tell us (http://uwiseismic.com/EarthquakeFeedback.aspx)

DISCLAIMER: this event has NOT been reviewed by an analyst. It was automatically located by a seismological computational system, therefore, it is a PRELIMINARY result and this may vary when new additional data are processed.

Postby The_Honourable » January 28th, 2020, 12:53 am

DATE AND TIME:
2020-01-28 00:24 am (Local Time)
2020-01-28 04:24 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 61.98W

NEARBY CITIES:
59 km WSW of San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
80 km SW of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
97 km SW of Arima, Trinidad and Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » January 28th, 2020, 2:22 am

Well...

Shortly after midnight, at 12:02 AM, a small, minor earthquake struck in the Gulf of Paria, just west of Cedros and northwest of Icacos. 12 minutes later, at 12:14 AM, another minor earthquake struck in a similar location. Both of these quakes, reported by FUNVISIS, were foreshocks, leading up to a (preliminary) Magnitude 5.3 earthquake 10 minutes after.

No damage was reported across the affected areas as of 2:00 AM.

This larger, moderate earthquake was reported felt across much of Western Trinidad with light shaking in Southwestern Trinidad and weak shaking in Northwestern Trinidad. You can submit felt reports to the University of the West Indies Seismic Research Centre or the United States Geological Survey.

Source: https://ttweathercenter.com/recent-eart ... ami-threat

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 28th, 2020, 8:55 am

I was awake and didn't feel a thing - (Waterloo area on the coast)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 29th, 2020, 8:22 am

Small quake recorded?

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 29th, 2020, 7:46 pm

I feel we might get a big one soon

when one plate moves, another will move as a result.
And Jamaica had a LARGE movement recently

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » February 3rd, 2020, 11:30 pm

http://uwiseismic.com/NewsDetails.aspx?id=731

Earthquake on land (south) Trinidad
Feb.02.2020

On February 02nd at 10:52pm local time, an earthquake occurred on land Trinidad (south). It was located at 10.10°N and 61.52°W with a magnitude of 3.8 and depth of 21km.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » February 4th, 2020, 5:58 pm

DATE AND TIME:
2020-02-04 5:24 pm (Local Time)
2020-02-04 21:24 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 62.00W

NEARBY CITIES:
57 km WNW of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
82 km WNW of Arima, Trinidad and Tobago
87 km NW of San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago