Gangsters buying Range Rovers in Port of Spain

greggle71

Re: Gangsters buying Range Rovers in Port of Spain

Postby greggle71 » July 24th, 2018, 10:26 pm

Have to assume the institution did what they had to do to ensure the transaction was legitimate. Yea it’s hard to look past the stereotypes but I would think the dealer won’t risk its own ability to do future business at risk given that they tend to post their client deliveries to social media as often of possible. They had to expect to raise eyebrows of John public given the optics so even more so everything had to be above board.

I might be giving too much credit but them doing business too long not ensure this isn’t above board from a pure transaction point of view.

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2018, 10:32 pm

When yuh buying dem vehicles, yuh cud make any money look legit!

buscax

Postby buscax » July 24th, 2018, 10:49 pm

Well look how two institutions going to get caught in that piece of money laundering bacchanal...
The dealer and the insurance company that accepted that business.
Because the due diligence on a proper source of funds for transactions in excess of $50k requires a statement of affairs with audited bank statements going back 3 years.
I'm certain he has neither

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 12:35 am

eurotuner wrote:Man driving a land rover and from sealots, and all the underachievors jelly, lol. Plus who gaf.

Funny .. :D :D

Underachievers ?

More like sufferers ..

They think if Trini making $$$ it's drugs

Postby Spitfir3 » July 25th, 2018, 1:46 am

big up every real, real

Postby j.o.e » July 25th, 2018, 3:03 am

buscax wrote:Well look how two institutions going to get caught in that piece of money laundering bacchanal...
Because the due diligence on a proper source of funds for transactions in excess of $50k requires a statement of affairs with audited bank statements going back 3 years.

You’re actually incorrect. The company needs to ask the source if funds. It’s not their job to prove or disprove it. I can say my money is from anything business, inheritance, lotto. Their due diligence is not as rigid as banks. FIU just needs the ‘source’.

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2018, 5:40 am

every year my insurance does harrass me for fiu information

does this happen to other ppl ?

Postby SR » July 25th, 2018, 6:06 am

Yes

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2018, 8:28 am

pugboy wrote:every year my insurance does harrass me for fiu information

does this happen to other ppl ?

yes. And I do not know why that is necessary.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 8:38 am

j.o.e wrote:
buscax wrote:Well look how two institutions going to get caught in that piece of money laundering bacchanal...

You’re actually incorrect. The company needs to ask the source if funds. It’s not their job to prove or disprove it. I can say my money is from anything business, inheritance, lotto. Their due diligence is not as rigid as banks. FIU just needs the ‘source’.

Then that document is filed away in some file cabinet in the Mohave Desert .

Postby Dave » July 25th, 2018, 8:47 am

As part of Central Bank regulations on financial institutions they require all of them to distribute and collect this information from their clients. Depending on these institutions not crossing their t's and dotting their i's as far as these and other forms are concerned their license to operate may not be renewed.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 8:50 am

Dave wrote:As part of Central Bank regulations on financial institutions they require all of them to distribute and collect this information from their clients. Depending on these institutions not crossing their t's and dotting their i's as far as these and other forms are concerned their license to operate may not be renewed.

When last ANY Trini company or institution lose a license for ANY criminal act .

Just name ONE ..

Just ONE.

Postby Dave » July 25th, 2018, 9:08 am

B&L my friend plus their are many financial institutions that lose their license on a yearly basis. They cannot trade but they can still service clients with information. We just don't hear about it and they will never say that they lost their license.
When you loose your license it may not be a criminal act, it could be noncompliance.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 9:42 am

Dave wrote:B&L my friend plus their are many financial institutions that lose their license on a yearly basis. They cannot trade but they can still service clients with information. We just don't hear about it and they will never say that they lost their license.
When you loose your license it may not be a criminal act, it could be noncompliance.

So B&L still in business ?

What license they lose ?

Postby Dave » July 25th, 2018, 9:47 am

I believe they were bought over and yes they lost their license to operate as an insurance company a few times as well as many other companies like them in the late 80s and early 90s. Many brokers also loose their license to operate as such.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 25th, 2018, 9:54 am

Dave wrote:I believe they were bought over and yes they lost their license to operate as an insurance company a few times as well as many other companies like them in the late 80s and early 90s. Many brokers also loose their license to operate as such.

Isn't B&L now Motor One?

Postby Dave » July 25th, 2018, 9:59 am

They lost their license, was in receivership and then they were bought over.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 10:00 am

Dave wrote:I believe they were bought over and yes they lost their license to operate as an insurance company a few times as well as many other companies like them in the late 80s and early 90s. Many brokers also loose their license to operate as such.

Isn't B&L now Motor One?

So if B&L lose their license and restart as a new company ..

Did they really lose their license ?

The point is all the paper work politicians talking about on platforms falls short of enforcement hence the RR purchase :cry:

Postby Dave » July 25th, 2018, 10:13 am

They were bought out with new owners and new shareholders so yes they were issued a new license. I don't know about this RR but you asked a question and I answered and explained a few points for you of how this aspect and why certain things are done.
Thanks

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 10:19 am

Dave wrote:They were bought out with new owners and new shareholders so yes they were issued a new license. I don't know about this RR but you asked a question and I answered and explained a few points for you of how this aspect and why certain things are done.
Thanks

Ok, Thanks .

Average

Postby Average » July 25th, 2018, 2:47 pm

buscax wrote:
maj. tom wrote:So I take it that the IRD taxman going to seize the vehicle and funds used to purchase it right? Unless everything above board with the Income Tax Act. If this doesn't happen, it just shows how blatant and clear the government is treating crime and corruption.

The dealer should have known better than to touch dirty money so openly.
You really feel any government going up against the Sabga empire?
Because by law, if they dont report this suspicious financial activity they would be an accomplice to money laundering.

Thread should have been locked here. :)

Postby noshownogo » July 25th, 2018, 2:50 pm

Postby gastly369 » July 25th, 2018, 3:27 pm

Case close 3 business mornee buy it ...toters stop totin

Awaits 24" and Box on hood pics

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » July 25th, 2018, 3:56 pm

Postby Dizzy28 » July 25th, 2018, 3:59 pm

FIU clears purchase of Range Rover by suspected gang leader
The Financial Intelligence Unit has cleared a Sea Lots man, identified by police as a gang leader, of any suspicious transaction in his recent purchase of a Range Rover believed to be valued at over $700,000. On Tuesday photos of the man’s newly acquired Range Rover were posted on social media and went viral.

The man is photographed with a woman handing over the keys for the Range Rover, while in a second photo the Ranger Rover is seen parked, and in a third photo a police car is seen behind it.

FIU sources said investigations showed the buyer used the money from three businesses to acquire the Range Rover.

Postby SR » July 25th, 2018, 6:04 pm

Pump illegal money into legitimate buisnesses then make purchases from said buisnesses
Sell investments after a couple montha and voila clean money...

Postby SR » July 25th, 2018, 6:06 pm

Money taken from 3 buisnesses can mean its smaller amounts so as not to raise suspicion as to how profitable the buisnesses are thus satisfying fiu.... as opposed to purchase being made thru one company only at a higher amount.

Postby maj. tom » July 25th, 2018, 6:11 pm

SR wrote:Pump illegal money into legitimate buisnesses then make purchases from said buisnesses

Money laundering 101. Who even has time to investigate further? Money done pass.

kstt

Postby kstt » July 25th, 2018, 6:24 pm

Protect the 1% which sold the vehicle.

Their money to themself!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 25th, 2018, 6:36 pm

SR wrote:Pump illegal money into legitimate buisnesses then make purchases from said buisnesses

Why launder money through a depreciating asset though lmao. He just cant buy land like the rest of them?