Interchange at Curepe - Churchill Roosevelt Highway/Southern Main Road flyover

cornfused

Re: Interchange at Curepe - Churchill Roosevelt Highway/Southern Main Road flyover

Postby cornfused » May 4th, 2020, 9:22 pm

On the leftmost lane as said earlier,there is a NJ style barrier that needs some cat eyes or paint and pre warning signals.

Also on the south to east drive, where the exit on to the highway is located its quite close to the east to North exit from the highway. Probably 200 ft. Traffic exiting onto the highway needs to accelerate from 30 kmph in the same area where traffic would be decelerating to exit from the highway to hear north.

Would be interesting under full traffic flow.

racedriverpro

Re: Interchange at Curepe - Churchill Roosevelt Highway/Southern Main Road flyover

Postby racedriverpro » May 4th, 2020, 9:29 pm

Did they pave the road or colour it black?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 5th, 2020, 8:13 am

Rohan Sinanan

"The long-term plan for traffic on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway, is the removal of as many traffic lights as possible. Sinanan says at least two more plans are in motion for intersections further east.

The next stage will be the two interchanges; one in Piarco and one at Macoya."

Could it be that they doing consolidation of the other intersections?

Or will there still be a mix of intersections and traffic lights

Postby Dave » May 5th, 2020, 8:28 am

If we had roundabout etiquette we could use Barbados example of them. Somehow that just seems like a disaster waiting to happen.

Postby rspann » May 5th, 2020, 8:56 am

PariaMan wrote:Rohan Sinanan

"The long-term plan for traffic on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway, is the removal of as many traffic lights as possible. Sinanan says at least two more plans are in motion for intersections further east.

UWI to Curepe isn't that far , so you could drive down to Curepe and back up east to UWI if they close off the intersection like they did at Valsayn and Bamboo . Interchanges so close to each other will have a similar effect to traffic lights because of drivers slowing ( Sometimes too much and prematurely ) to access the off ramp . Also a lay-by like El Socorro / Aranguez can work and the reserve is already there .

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2020, 9:06 am

Rovin wrote:^^^ u dun kno who this area votes so pnm not gonna waste time here , they might try for chaguanas east though hoping to tip d scales

& all ah we so feel "we own party" wuda fix we nice when they were in power & had all d $$$ to do it , but they know whether we get or doh get we still voting yellow this side ....

Another perspective is that a Chaguanas interchange will require planning for long term traffic flow in one if the fastest growing areas locally. Nearly any roadwork will negatively impact local businesses and residents for years.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 5th, 2020, 9:38 am

Uwi to curepe and pasea to macoya sounds reasonable

Orange grove to macoya seems to be problematic because of the bridge

Trinicity mall far from macoya/piarco and also a bridge in between

Additional land at the side of the highway in both cases not a problem

The designs will be interesting
rspann wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Rohan Sinanan

UWI to Curepe isn't that far , so you could drive down to Curepe and back up east to UWI if they close off the intersection like they did at Valsayn and Bamboo . Interchanges so close to each other will have a similar effect to traffic lights because of drivers slowing ( Sometimes too much and prematurely ) to access the off ramp . Also a lay-by like El Socorro / Aranguez can work and the reserve is already there .

Postby Rovin » May 5th, 2020, 1:47 pm

adnj wrote:
Rovin wrote:^^^ u dun kno who this area votes so pnm not gonna waste time here , they might try for chaguanas east though hoping to tip d scales

& all ah we so feel "we own party" wuda fix we nice when they were in power & had all d $$$ to do it , but they know whether we get or doh get we still voting yellow this side ....

Another perspective is that a Chaguanas interchange will require planning for long term traffic flow in one if the fastest growing areas locally. Nearly any roadwork will negatively impact local businesses and residents for years.

agreed

i not a expert but imo it wud not be feasible to do an interchange by chaguanas flyover , i doubt there is space & to buy up d needed properties will require a colossal budget not to mention d inconvenience of interrupting normal traffic while construction going on

what we need is simpler entrance\exit routes like if a road was made somewhere near direct tv area from endeavor road to d highway

or a few connector roads along d southern main road into d highway instead of everybody having to jam up by d triangle , there are existing roads but all lead to dead end , wouldnt cost much to open it to d highway

that pricesmart flyover shud be made into a 4 lanes

iirc around 2012-13 d unc politicians were on tv talking about a roundabout by medford gas & by d junction by midcenter mall , it never happened , they built d 1 by pricesmart so at least i give them that

i can type alot more but not feeling to ... :|

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2020, 5:12 pm

They can build more access roads around that X-tra foods/PriceSmart area to come through the back, places where there is empty land now. The round-about that they built there last year is good, but it will have to expand in a few years. There is a lot of open space further down by Chase village flyover to build to a traffic interchange to architect's pleasure for 100 years ahead. Within 25 years all those places going to be full housing developments, businesses and a huge boost in local population. They can put an interchange there and re-route traffic around into Chaguanas accordingly with many filter lanes for getting into the opposite highway lane without crossing traffic.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2020, 7:03 pm

before any new projects they need to fix tarouba by toyota

that piece of single lane coming out from roundabout by toyota to highway is a real piece of dotishness
whoever designed that should be shot
dunno how south drivers can tolerate that but I guess its more persons leaving south during evening rush hour who are affected.

Postby The_Honourable » May 5th, 2020, 7:48 pm

pugboy wrote:before any new projects they need to fix tarouba by toyota

that piece of single lane coming out from roundabout by toyota to highway is a real piece of dotishness
dunno how south drivers can tolerate that but I guess its more persons leaving south during evening rush hour who are affected.

Some modifications are needed by that roundabout for sure. The root cause for most of that traffic especially on evenings is by the tarouba overpass and turnoffs by the highway near the UTT Technical Institute. Interchange is needed there for sure.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 5th, 2020, 7:52 pm

I hope they make up to arima no traffic light first just as up to debe is.

Listening to Rohan that seems to be the plan
The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:before any new projects they need to fix tarouba by toyota

Some modifications are needed by that roundabout for sure. The root cause for most of that traffic especially on evenings is by the tarouba overpass and turnoffs by the highway near the UTT Technical Institute. Interchange is needed there for sure.

Postby rspann » May 5th, 2020, 8:07 pm

Fun fact . If you were going East to West you would have encountered 31 lights . That is not a definition of a highway . Check it .
Wallerfield . Demerara . Pinto . Tumpuna . O'Meara . Mausica . Maloney . Piarco . Trincity . Orange Grove . Macoya . Pasea . UWI . Curepe . Valsayn 1 . Valsayn 2 . Grand Bazaar . Aranguez . El Socorro . Sea Lots . Lighthouse . Tobago terminal . Independence sq. Dock Rd . Colville st . French st . Stadium . Movie Towne . Foreshore . Westmooring 1 . Westmooring 2.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 5th, 2020, 9:52 pm

You missed one. Cipriani Bamboo had lights
rspann wrote:Fun fact . If you were going East to West you would have encountered 31 lights . That is not a definition of a highway . Check it .
Wallerfield . Demerara . Pinto . Tumpuna . O'Meara . Mausica . Maloney . Piarco . Trincity . Orange Grove . Macoya . Pasea . UWI . Curepe . Valsayn 1 . Valsayn 2 . Grand Bazaar . Aranguez . El Socorro . Sea Lots . Lighthouse . Tobago terminal . Independence sq. Dock Rd . Colville st . French st . Stadium . Movie Towne . Foreshore . Westmooring 1 . Westmooring 2.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2020, 10:14 pm

Too bad no drone pics of all them lights from old days

Postby redmanjp » May 5th, 2020, 10:21 pm

^all dat is highway? wrightson rd too?

once this intersection done i good- d way i see it the other lights to the east if they had proper timing on it wouldn't be a problem- but yuh see when u getting d red light 3 out of 4 times on a major highway something wrong with how the lights working- either horrible timing or sensors not working properly

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 5th, 2020, 10:31 pm

rspann wrote:Fun fact . If you were going East to West you would have encountered 31 lights . That is not a definition of a highway . Check it .

No. Highways do have traffic lights.

Freeways do not have traffic lights. Access to a freeway is controlled, and drivers can only enter by ramps.

The north-south road (UBH and SHH) can be considered a freeway although not named as such. The east-west road (BH, CRH) is a highway.

Postby adnj » May 6th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

No. Highways do have traffic lights.

Freeways do not have traffic lights. Access to a freeway is controlled, and drivers can only enter by ramps.

The north-south road (UBH and SHH) can be considered a freeway although not named as such. The east-west road (BH, CRH) is a highway.

A freeway must only be accessible via on/off acceleration/ deceleration lanes. Because there are a few oblique entrances, those roads are more likely classified as limited-access highways. But there are some regional differences in nomenclature.

In the US, a freeway is also typically below grade while an expressway is not.

Trivia: the first mile of concrete roadway and the first urban, below-grade freeway were both in Detroit. And they were both near the same intersection of Woodward Ave and Six Mile Rd.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 7th, 2020, 10:11 am

adnj wrote:

I did hear about plans to do an interchange by brentwood. This was supposed to be the next phase after the soogrim tr roundabout by nagar

Postby SR » May 7th, 2020, 2:39 pm

On and off ramps of the interchange do not allow proper flow for merging of traffic.

For example if you are coming from caroni side and want to head east you are crossing in the same lane that one has to use if you want to head west when travelling east bound for example valsayn north. Also when you take that ramp onto the flyover you have to watch out for traffic coming from curepe who also want to head west.

Postby De Dragon » May 7th, 2020, 3:21 pm

The next interchange will be wherever Roundy Rohan has land.

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2020, 3:25 pm

Similar to leaving Aranguez and looking to go east on crh, you have to watch for cars filtering left to go up on overpass.

These designs (poorly albeit) require drivers to learn and drive to suit, when gb overpass was first installed there would be a lot of hesitation by drivers on that section

SR wrote:On and off ramps of the interchange do not allow proper flow for merging of traffic.

For example if you are coming from caroni side and want to head east you are crossing in the same lane that one has to use if you want to head west when travelling east bound for example valsayn north. Also when you take that ramp onto the flyover you have to watch out for traffic coming from curepe who also want to head west.

Postby mero » May 7th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Fyaz gheeing from curepe to POS.@ but speed camera on Beetham though, tickets real dishing out too.

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2020, 5:53 pm

yeah 5 mins or less from uwi to end of beetham easy no excessive speed

Postby K74T » May 16th, 2020, 12:35 pm

Valsayn Pedestrian Walkover opened

FB_IMG_1589646825181.jpeg

Postby K74T » May 16th, 2020, 1:45 pm

FB_IMG_1589651040488.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2020, 2:16 pm

I aint go lie, after driving west a few times at night
it real easy to keep foot on gas and find yourself gradually creeping up to 120-130 easy by the time you reach aranguez
and I usually stick to speed limit at all times.

Postby redmanjp » May 26th, 2020, 1:00 am

pugboy wrote:I aint go lie, after driving west a few times at night
it real easy to keep foot on gas and find yourself gradually creeping up to 120-130 easy by the time you reach aranguez
and I usually stick to speed limit at all times.

careful- demerits points in effect now

Postby redmanjp » May 26th, 2020, 1:01 am

hey now that phase 2 of the reopening started Thursday how d traffic going west on a morning?

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2020, 8:34 am

seeing a msg from rohani saying speed cameras have not been installed yet and the law yet to be completed in the senate
dunno how true