Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Re: Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 9th, 2020, 10:41 am

Soul Collector wrote:Fellas, if ya had to get the cheapest battery you could, what would you opt for? It's for a regular old car and normal use. Not expecting it to last a full 2 years even, just need sumn cheap which won't blow up. Thanks.

Any locally made battery can work, because they have decent warranty with full exchange and the prices are not bad

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 9th, 2020, 11:40 am

Locally made like? Give some names plz
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:Fellas, if ya had to get the cheapest battery you could, what would you opt for? It's for a regular old car and normal use. Not expecting it to last a full 2 years even, just need sumn cheap which won't blow up. Thanks.

Any locally made battery can work, because they have decent warranty with full exchange and the prices are not bad

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 9th, 2020, 11:54 am

Lange 80 - track
Massy ACL - power master
Am marketing (can't remember product name)

Postby K74T » September 9th, 2020, 12:01 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Lange 80 - track
Massy ACL - power master
Am marketing (can't remember product name)
Yuasa

Postby aaron17 » September 9th, 2020, 12:06 pm

Thoughts about Die-hard?

Postby Dave » September 9th, 2020, 12:51 pm

Die hard isn't bad. Never had any issues with Die hard and PS service.

I didn't like the last set of Tracks I got, all failed long before the warranty and the replacement was stamped replacement so they know it had a short life and failure was shortly after warranty period.

Miatsu failed just before warranty and they went on the shelf and took a regular one and swapped in. So I expect another 18mths with no trouble.

Had a couple of American Superior with no issues.

Haven't bought Power Master in a long time.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 9th, 2020, 1:08 pm

Unless the wiring in the vehicle has several serious problems any local made lead acid battery will work fine and not "blow up". All properly built batteries have vents to allow gases to escape so they don't explode from pressure buildup. If your wiring jacked up the car will faster ketch fire than anything.
Carry it by an electrician for a check through if you really concerned about possible problems.

I put in that part about not blowing up to hopefully avoid any criminally cheap stuff, lol. I hear you though and was planning to go to an electrician once I drop in a new battery to make sure there isn't a drain or anything and that all is well.

Thanks for the responses guys, much appreciated.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 9th, 2020, 1:18 pm

Dave wrote:Die hard isn't bad. Never had any issues with Die hard and PS service.

I didn't like the last set of Tracks I got, all failed long before the warranty and the replacement was stamped replacement so they know it had a short life and failure was shortly after warranty period.

Miatsu failed just before warranty and they went on the shelf and took a regular one and swapped in. So I expect another 18mths with no trouble.

Had a couple of American Superior with no issues.

Haven't bought Power Master in a long time.

Have a Power Master which will make 2 years on Sep 25th. No issues so far.

2nd time I bought PM but the last time I sold my car a few months after installation so never experienced it as long term as this.

Postby Dave » September 9th, 2020, 1:39 pm

Thanks for that too. I never had any issues when I used Power masters in the past just wasn't available when I wanted.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » September 9th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Where do you guys usually go buy your car batteries?

I usually go Lange and buy Track but wouldn't mind trying one of the other local brands

Postby Dave » September 9th, 2020, 2:46 pm

Miatsu is Chamco in Aranguez.

Local means locally distributed which was once made here. All those batteries now come from Turkey.

Talk was reopening battery manufacturing here but not sure where that process has reached.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 9th, 2020, 2:53 pm

I usually go ACL in Arima.
I see Massy in Trincity is offering ACL battteries for sale instore and there are number of ACL distributors across the country.

My Roadside assist also offers ACL batteries for sale as part of their service but when my last battery went they had none on stock.

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2020, 3:54 pm

Price Smart ftw
Never had a single issue with a Price Smart battery, and can't go wrong at $650 for a DIN45
Only downside for the NS70s etc is they don't have small terminal options

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 17th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Anybody can advise me as to where I can get my battery tested in south besides Laughlin? I need a second opinion

Postby MG Man » September 17th, 2020, 2:22 pm

Lange Trinidad, Lady Hailes Ave

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 18th, 2020, 3:23 pm

So interesting story.... I had a problem with my electronic power steering and the mechanic told me it could be a weak battery causing it. So I went to the dealer of my Rocket battery and did the battery test and the battery was going bad. I bought it only 15 months so it was covered under warranty. They put the replacement battery in and when I started the car to leave the tumble didn't sound as strong as it should be with a new battery. But I didn't take it on and driving back to work the steering was feeling even more stiff than it was before which made me suspicious about this battery. After work went to a battery shop and got that replacement battery tested and it was weak as well! So I went back to the dealer this morning who also did a test which confimed that this battery was bad also. They pulled another one off the shelf and tested it and that one was weak as well. The other one they took off the shelf after that seemed to test good because they put that one in the car. The steering feels much better already. So I may not be buying a rocket battery again, not because of the battery itself, but because when you think you getting a new battery put into your car that shouldn't give trouble I have to now question any other service that I may end up going there to do.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 18th, 2020, 3:49 pm

Pricesmart sells the battery jumper and charger kits. Question, if the battery falls to 11.4V as an example, if I put the charger on it, would it bump up charge to pass 12V so that I may start my car next morning?

Reason I'm asking is, if the charger is as revolutionary as I read it to be then there is no need to actually replace a battery unless it is damaged?

Educate me..

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 3:58 pm

my alphaex battery have 4 more days on warranty
have a very slight lazy start in morning, using my load tester it is just slightly weak

passed by a dealer service center to get it checked
showing just about good on their load tester as it prob charged up from driving
was hoping it would show weakish and maybe get a new warranty replacement lol

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2020, 5:30 pm

agent007 wrote:Pricesmart sells the battery jumper and charger kits. Question, if the battery falls to 11.4V as an example, if I put the charger on it, would it bump up charge to pass 12V so that I may start my car next morning?

Reason I'm asking is, if the charger is as revolutionary as I read it to be then there is no need to actually replace a battery unless it is damaged?

Educate me..

theoretically, yes, once it's not physically damaged or overly sulphated & has enough electrolyte, but is only so many times you can do that before it ceases to work eh.
But voltage is only part of the equation, if it not holding sufficient amperage it would read 12.6v & still not start the vehicle. When you try to start the engine, it would drop right down & slowly come back up to 12v & you won't even get a click from the starter.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 18th, 2020, 5:49 pm

Sins, I didnt think of that! Much thanks...

Postby Ted_v2 » September 18th, 2020, 7:24 pm

Portable jump pack- lithium is the way.

a friend used one for a few weeks till he got paid to purchase a battery.

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » April 11th, 2021, 9:08 am

Good day, looking to purchase a battery for my Nissan Navara d40. Previously used an AC delco battery which lasted about 2 years. Any recommendations?

Postby gastly369 » April 11th, 2021, 1:08 pm

Only using optima and xs power in vehicles

XS going in 4 years strong and my oldest yellowtop going in 6 years strong

Have 1 xs power and 3 optima batteries

Postby Dizzy28 » April 11th, 2021, 2:37 pm

Have an ACL battery in my car which would make 3 years in Sep. The original battery the vehicle came with gave 22 months and then the replacement which was changed under warranty lasted around 14 months.

In my previous car the original battery lasted 37 months and well the replacement I'm not sure as I sold the car at 4.5 years old. I believe there was either a 30 or 36 month warranty on the replacement - can't remember the brand but it was a brand sold by Diamond Motors Marine something.

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » April 12th, 2021, 7:12 pm

Thanks guys I'd give one of those a try!

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » April 12th, 2021, 11:55 pm

have a OEM honda battery goin on 8 years now...does trickle charge it every month...no problems

Postby supercharged turbo » April 28th, 2021, 4:21 pm

Looking for a relatively inexpensive battery for a bluebird(Z16 engine).Xspower and Optima out of the budget,what allyuh recommend?Seeing Alpha Ex,YUASA,MAC,Power Master,Track,Rocket etc

Postby X_Factor » April 28th, 2021, 4:31 pm

i using alpha ex in 3 vehicles and in two of them its past the 18mth warranty period

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 28th, 2021, 9:05 pm

where sells XS batteries, and at what price?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 28th, 2021, 9:28 pm

I call blight on myself yes.

Alpha tanked after 14 months.