Video Games (PS4, Wii, X-Box, PSP, 3DS) now 40% import duty

aaronb27

Video Games (PS4, Wii, X-Box, PSP, 3DS) now 40% import duty

Postby aaronb27 » November 10th, 2017, 4:41 pm

So apparently all video games now have an increased import duty rate of 40% as opposed to the usual 20%. This includes PS4, Nintendo Wii, X-Box, PSP, Nintendo 2DS/3DS, etc... but why????? :cry:

This change came into effect together with the increase in taxes for gambling machines, used tyres and change in requirements for getting concession on hybrid vehicles.

Last Page in Legal Notice No. 117 of 2017:
http://news.gov.tt/sites/default/files/E-Gazette/Gazette%202017/Legal%20Notices/Legal%20Notice%20No.%20117%20of%202017.pdf

Taken from the Customs Tariff:

Subheading Note.

1.- Subheading 9504.50 covers :

(a) Video game consoles from which the image is reproduced on a television receiver, a monitor or other external screen or surface; or

(b) Video game machines having a self-contained video screen, whether or not portable.

This subheading does not cover video game consoles or machines operated by coins, banknotes, bank cards, tokens or by any other means of payment (subheading 9504.30).

I also confirmed the 40% with a customs officer. This is currently in effect.
Last edited by aaronb27 on November 11th, 2017, 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Video Games (PS4, Wii, X-Box, PSP, 3DS) now 40% import duty

Postby skylinechild » November 10th, 2017, 4:51 pm

simple solution.... buy and download via steam....or dl a crack copy......

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 10th, 2017, 5:08 pm

That sucks for allyuh console men #pcmr

Where you got that info? Sauce?

Average

Postby Average » November 10th, 2017, 5:55 pm

Buy digital....but it's sheit for those who are collectors and specifically buy those editions.

Grate is de pnm.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 10th, 2017, 6:42 pm

Digi download is d way

Postby dougla_boy » November 10th, 2017, 7:34 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Digi download is d way

This... I doh buy games so often... does raid PSN Plus with discounts and free games... Cyah go wrong

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 11th, 2017, 12:14 am

This might affect local businesses more by pushing consumers to go full digital...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 11th, 2017, 3:43 am

aaronb27 wrote:So apparently all video games now have an increased import duty rate of 40% as opposed to the usual 20%. This includes PS4, Nintendo Wii, X-Box, PSP, Nintendo 2DS/3DS, etc... but why????? :cry:

This change came into effect together with the increase in taxes for gambling machines, used tyres and change in requirements for getting concession on hybrid vehicles.

Source?

aaronb27

Postby aaronb27 » November 11th, 2017, 8:12 am

^^Added the source of the info...

Also i work for a brokerage/shipping company and i specialize in tariff classification.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 11th, 2017, 8:45 am

Seems like this only applies to consoles and not the games themselves tho. I could be wrong.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 11th, 2017, 8:48 am

vaiostation wrote:This might affect local businesses more by pushing consumers to go full digital...

The increase in tariffs will also

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 11th, 2017, 8:50 am

2NR Smurf wrote:Seems like this only applies to consoles and not the games themselves tho. I could be wrong.

Both actually. Check ya skybox calculator to see the change...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 11th, 2017, 9:11 am

vaiostation wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:Seems like this only applies to consoles and not the games themselves tho. I could be wrong.

But the wording of the tariff doesn't suggest this.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 11th, 2017, 9:28 am

2NR Smurf wrote:
vaiostation wrote:

I just checked my aeropost, it saying
39.5% on video game consoles
39.5% on video game

Not sure if aeropost interpreting the tariff correct or I just getting confused with the language...

airuma

Postby airuma » November 11th, 2017, 9:33 am

Given the recent ban on sugar drinks at schools, this is probably aimed at reducing obesity in school children. If this is the case, these local technocrats getting more stupid by the day..... when my children play these games, they will not eat until we tell them to eat, not even snack, just water. It's not uncommon for children to be jumping and twisting while playing games with a controller, especially platformers!

Postby pete » November 11th, 2017, 9:41 am

Smurf only way to know is to put the commodity code into the customs system and see what the duty is.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 11th, 2017, 10:26 am

vaiostation wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:
vaiostation wrote:

I just checked my aeropost, it saying
39.5% on video game consoles
39.5% on video game

Not sure if aeropost interpreting the tariff correct or I just getting confused with the language...

Those aeropost rates includes 12.5% vat and 7% opt. So that means their site still saying 20% duties.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 11th, 2017, 10:30 am

pete wrote:Smurf only way to know is to put the commodity code into the customs system and see what the duty is.

This is something the average Joe could do?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2017, 10:43 am

Damn. You can’t sell a digital download after you play it the way you would a physical game disc or cartridge.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2017, 11:01 am

THANK GOD that Injustice 2 is finally on STEAM I no longer have to worry about finding this insane amount of money to buy a under powered console and then furthermore be scammed into paying $10 USD a month just to access a free online feature in the game. If Sony and Microsoft eh already scamming you enough with console gaming, the PNM is scamming you with console gaming

I guess so much for the arguement of console gaming is cheaper than PC gaming

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2017, 11:20 am

What did your gaming PC cost vs a console?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2017, 11:43 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What did your gaming PC cost vs a console?

considering my PC uses a old core i5 and all I had to do was buy a GTX 1060 for $1300 and I can run all the latest games at 60 FPS TWICE THE SPEED of a PS4 which costed $4000 at launch. I would say yup a hell of a lot cheaper
Can the guys with a PS3 just buy a new GPU and continue playing their next gen games? nope!!! Not to mention how much more powerful a gtx 1060 is compared to a PS4

Even the Xbox one X fail hard because the CPU is a tablet CPU which is why Destiny 2 cannot run above 30 fps. While a shitty intel Pentium can run Destiny 2 at 60 fps.

And this isn't even taking into consideration the $70 TT a month for online on a console where as PC is FREE!!!

Also the 2 best FPS games in the world CS GO and Battlegrounds are on PC. CS GO is the number 1 ESPORT FPS in the world

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 11th, 2017, 2:35 pm

This is sad to hear guys! I miss the days of the original Xbox and PS2. I’m actually a huge fan of popping in the game disc and playing it within seconds vs having to sign in and download a lot of updates and add-ons etc... I recently upgraded but thinking of selling my consoles and won’t be returning to this in a long while, if ever again.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2017, 4:24 pm

agent007 wrote:This is sad to hear guys! I miss the days of the original Xbox and PS2. I’m actually a huge fan of popping in the game disc and playing it within seconds vs having to sign in and download a lot of updates and add-ons etc... I recently upgraded but thinking of selling my consoles and won’t be returning to this in a long while, if ever again.

Updates are common now so are DLC and all those stuff.

If you have a basic 30mb package from flow or 25mb from Digicel this is no longer an issue. Also with the type of graphics in games these days large updates are to be expected everything is online now.

The Tax on consoles is too much at this point for me to even consider it. This is just retarded, is Imbutt expecting us to return to playing marbles or going to the bar to drink rum with our free time? They are alienating everyone from aside looks like they also want to lose the few PNM Gamers support aswell.

PNM supporters do play games and its mainly on consoles, UNC people more likely to be PC Gamers. So I don't understand this logic from Imbutt here he hurting he own people

handsomeRob2837

Postby handsomeRob2837 » November 11th, 2017, 4:57 pm

Anybody ever use d cronusmax plus controller mod with a Logitech G27 wheel on a PS4?

aaronb27

Postby aaronb27 » November 11th, 2017, 7:35 pm

pete wrote:Smurf only way to know is to put the commodity code into the customs system and see what the duty is.

I jus logged in and checked. See screenshot below

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 11th, 2017, 7:45 pm

All who want hard copy for whatever reason, just wait a few years till the price drop and in the meantime play digital.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 12th, 2017, 1:57 am

aaronb27 wrote:

I jus logged in and checked. See screenshot below

Wtf

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 12th, 2017, 2:27 am

Still have my PS3... Still have my Dad of War collection... Except for Ascension... Still can't get it on PC. While I love my PC I love that game franchise.

Most of the games made today however are designed to continuously squeeze you for money... I'm not about that so free to play it is.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » November 12th, 2017, 8:25 am

Hey i think the minister cleared up the issue read here
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-11- ... -permanent