How often do you change/upgrade/buy your smartphone?

As soon as the latest one comes out
2%
Every 12 months or so
11%
Every 24 months or so
30%
Every 3 years or so
31%
Other
26%

Total votes: 91

Re: How often do you change/upgrade/buy your smartphone?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 28th, 2018, 10:41 am

Anyone ever purchased a phone online and had it shipped via directly to Trinidad? Did you have any issues when you collected it from TTPost (damage, accessories missing, etc.)?

Thanks.

Postby gastly369 » October 28th, 2018, 10:52 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Anyone ever purchased a phone online and had it shipped via directly to Trinidad? Did you have any issues when you collected it from TTPost (damage, accessories missing, etc.)?

Thanks.
All my phones and family i order in... no problems

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 28th, 2018, 10:58 am

gastly369 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Anyone ever purchased a phone online and had it shipped via directly to Trinidad? Did you have any issues when you collected it from TTPost (damage, accessories missing, etc.)?

Thanks.
All my phones and family i order in... no problems
Skybox or direct to Trinidad?

Postby gastly369 » October 28th, 2018, 11:15 am

Skybox

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 28th, 2018, 11:41 am

gastly369 wrote:Skybox

Sorry if I wasn't clear. I was referring to shipping directly to Trinidad, not through a skybox.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 4th, 2019, 4:57 pm

Well I was rallying a berry yrs n a cheap samsung.. then bam I blaze thru expensive phones in one year... cause I keep dropping my phones .. I buy a best protective case for s7 edge... now I sold it...not sure what I gonna buy.. I had some cheap Huawei and once u go premium phones.. it hard to downgrade

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 5th, 2019, 2:56 pm

supernedd wrote:Well I was rallying a berry yrs n a cheap samsung.. then bam I blaze thru expensive phones in one year... cause I keep dropping my phones .. I buy a best protective case for s7 edge... now I sold it...not sure what I gonna buy.. I had some cheap Huawei and once u go premium phones.. it hard to downgrade

Had two 7 plus is a year. Always breaking them. Can't use a cheap phone anymore. Went oneplus 6t. Performance with a better budget

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 5th, 2019, 3:12 pm

Well if uk you clumsy or have parkinsons, dont buy glass backed phones. Duhhhhh

death365

Postby death365 » March 5th, 2019, 3:41 pm

I usually do an upgrade once a year ... usually around early September.

But back in the day (before being married) used to be 2-3 times a year

Postby Dizzy28 » March 6th, 2019, 9:39 am

Hitting 17 months on my LG V20. Bought a new battery Christmas time (removable batteries are underrated as a feature). Thinking of getting another battery before they stop making them (maybe a 6,000 or 10,000 mAh extended).

Will keep this phone till it absolutely dies. Haven't seen anything revolutionary to make me want to throw out insane amounts of cash for.

Postby Spitfir3 » March 6th, 2019, 10:06 am

i only change phone if it feeling outdated or lacking features i really want or if it breaks
have an s7 goin in 3yrs now and it still does everything i want and more

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 6th, 2019, 2:59 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
supernedd wrote:Well I was rallying a berry yrs n a cheap samsung.. then bam I blaze thru expensive phones in one year... cause I keep dropping my phones .. I buy a best protective case for s7 edge... now I sold it...not sure what I gonna buy.. I had some cheap Huawei and once u go premium phones.. it hard to downgrade

Had two 7 plus is a year. Always breaking them. Can't use a cheap phone anymore. Went oneplus 6t. Performance with a better budget
Yea. . I think I want a one plus6 .. my girl have a one plus1. Years now n it still working..jus need a new battery.. Yea samsung overrated.. I hate the ui.. touch wizz sickening .. I use nova launcher

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 6th, 2019, 3:01 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Well if uk you clumsy or have parkinsons, dont buy glass backed phones. Duhhhhh
Hahah boi I see men drop their phone when it vibrate n ring.. off a table...lol

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 6th, 2019, 3:02 pm

death365 wrote:I usually do an upgrade once a year ... usually around early September.

But back in the day (before being married) used to be 2-3 times a year
Nah these high prices ridiculous now.. unless I get a good resale or trade.. then u might come out good

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 6th, 2019, 3:15 pm

supernedd wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Yea. . I think I want a one plus6 .. my girl have a one plus1. Years now n it still working..jus need a new battery.. Yea samsung overrated.. I hate the ui.. touch wizz sickening .. I use nova launcher

So far I'm very pleased. The software is the best part. Very clean and fast. The front fingerprint sensor is great too. Two things I dislike. The vibration is really weak and the screen could be brighter outside.

JayJayA

Postby JayJayA » March 7th, 2019, 6:44 am

After I break one. Usually it happens every 5 years

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 7th, 2019, 7:42 am

I had a S3 when it now came out, upgraded to the note 3 a couple months after that came out because the S3 got damaged, and upgraded to the note 8 from the note 3. Don't see myself buying another phone until the end of next year, unless this one get damaged.

Postby gt4tified » March 12th, 2019, 3:30 pm

I does change over when my old phone just cyah cut it no more....and yes, I is ah apple user.

Postby tr1ad » March 12th, 2019, 3:51 pm

gt4tified wrote:I does change over when my old phone just cyah cut it no more....and yes, I is ah apple user.

and you yuhself old....

Postby gt4tified » March 13th, 2019, 5:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:
gt4tified wrote:I does change over when my old phone just cyah cut it no more....and yes, I is ah apple user.

and you yuhself old....

...but not cold. ;)

supernedd

Postby supernedd » March 14th, 2019, 7:04 am

gt4tified wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

and you yuhself old....

...but not cold. ;)
Hahahaah

philliprock

Postby philliprock » February 11th, 2021, 11:25 pm

pete wrote:Basically replace when it conks out. For me that seems to happen every two years.
Same. Usually replace it with a hand me down haven't bought a phone several years now lol
Looking towards iphone direction nowadays.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » February 12th, 2021, 9:15 am

pixel 2 still goin strong

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » February 12th, 2021, 10:20 am

I have a 6s still going strong. Meen tryning to keep up with the Jones. Its still doing everything a smart phone is supposed to do.

Postby Gladiator » February 12th, 2021, 11:23 am

I change them every 18 months or so but I have a hand me down arrangement that allows recovery of costs to invest in a new device.

I also try all phones and not just the mainstream samsung and apple. Got the REALME X50 Pro and it is a gem...

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 16th, 2021, 7:50 am

depends on the battery depletion over the period of time
avg 3 years.

i also dont buy the latest flagship
will buy the previous year flagship at half the cost.
over the years s3, s5 s8 now S10plus

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2021, 7:54 am

same here
I rallied with an iphone 6s for a good few years and changed battery in it 3 times

just got a refurb Xs, all day battery is a godsend

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2021, 9:05 am

So the curse of reading this thread. I have a 1 year old phone which I intended to keep for as long as possible [Xiaomi Mi9]

Went Tobago over the weekend and there were lots of kids in the house. At some point somebody must have knocked my phone down (never fell with me) and now the back glass is broken.
Checked the price last night and its US$120 for the original Gorilla Glass 5 replacement.

How important is that back glass and would the cracks eventually lead to failure of the panel? Alternatively is there a compound or the like to apply and mitigate the cracking?

Zalos

Postby Zalos » February 16th, 2021, 9:21 am

Dizzy28 wrote:So the curse of reading this thread. I have a 1 year old phone which I intended to keep for as long as possible [Xiaomi Mi9]

Went Tobago over the weekend and there were lots of kids in the house. At some point somebody must have knocked my phone down (never fell with me) and now the back glass is broken.
Checked the price last night and its US$120 for the original Gorilla Glass 5 replacement.

How important is that back glass and would the cracks eventually lead to failure of the panel? Alternatively is there a compound or the like to apply and mitigate the cracking?

I think the back is just a cosmetic cover, just throw a case on it

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2021, 9:29 am

Zalos wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:So the curse of reading this thread. I have a 1 year old phone which I intended to keep for as long as possible [Xiaomi Mi9]

I think the back is just a cosmetic cover, just throw a case on it

Its in a Spigen case. Had to be a real spot on fall because I have dropped that phone so much times with no damage.