Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

wickedtuna

Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby wickedtuna » September 21st, 2017, 3:45 pm

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has announced special arrangements to waive immigration restrictions so Dominicans left homeless by Hurricane Maria can to come to Trinidad and Tobago and stay for a period of time.

Speaking during the post-Cabinet media briefing in Port of Spain on Thursday, Rowley said Government is allowing desperate Dominicans to enter the country, given the widespread destruction on the islands, where 100 per cent of the homes were either damaged or destroyed.

Rowley said the citizens of Dominica can come and stay up to six months then “return to their homes and if they want an extension, they have to apply for the process”.

Rowley said he didn't expect “the whole of Dominica” to come, but one or two thousand people.

He said that T&T cannot assist the hurricane ravaged islands financially and made an appeal for Dominicans living in T&T to reach out to the Government and state whether they can accommodate their relatives.

He said: “for those who can accommodate them, arrangements will be made…Trinidad and Tobago will open its doors, homes, pots and I dare say our schools.”

Monkey Man

Re: Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby Monkey Man » September 21st, 2017, 3:48 pm

I would be offended if i was Dominican

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2017, 3:52 pm

Whats a few thousand Dominicans when we have tens of thousands Venes??

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 21st, 2017, 4:08 pm

74000 around that is their population

Postby sMASH » September 21st, 2017, 4:10 pm

Considering they would need more substantial infrastructure to weather any further storms, sending temporary shelter may just be wasting money, and relocation might be more cost effective in the long run... Over all.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 21st, 2017, 4:14 pm

Great news.Trini gyal have to humble now.More choices for the rude buoys.Dem trini gyal feel as if the havd gold under dey panty.

Postby hydroep » September 21st, 2017, 4:37 pm

randolphinshan wrote:Great news.Trini gyal have to humble now.More choices for the rude buoys.Dem trini gyal feel as if the havd gold under dey panty.

Dude WTF... :lol:

And allyuh doh get tie up with Google eh. He inviting "Dominicans" from Dominica NOT the Dominican Republic.

Don't see anything wrong with extending a helping hand though, especially if the families are bearing the cost. The problem is getting them out when their time is up.

For what started off as a gesture of mercy can quickly turn into a voter padding exercise.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 21st, 2017, 5:22 pm

hydroep wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:Great news.Trini gyal have to humble now.More choices for the rude buoys.Dem trini gyal feel as if the havd gold under dey panty.

Dude WTF...

And allyuh doh get tie up with Google eh. He inviting "Dominicans" from Dominica NOT the Dominican Republic. The actual product is much less appetizing.

Don't see anything wrong with extending a helping hand though, especially if the families are bearing the cost. The problem is getting them out when their time is up.

For what started off as a gesture of mercy can quickly turn into a voter padding exercise.

Men seeing dominican and getting tie up

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 21st, 2017, 5:30 pm

He done download despacito. ...have it level on the usb ....

Postby matr1x » September 21st, 2017, 6:04 pm

And who is paying for this?????

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » September 21st, 2017, 6:22 pm

matr1x wrote:And who is paying for this?????

Same people who paid for everything else

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2017, 6:39 pm

Saw a facebook comment suggesting that Rowley using this disaster as undercover to get votes for the PNM party in the long run. Similar to what happened when immigrants chiefly from St Vincent, Grenada and Guyana came to Trinidad during Williams time to get work in the 70's .

https://www.facebook.com/ExpressNewspap ... 4819535814

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2017, 7:26 pm

But they a lie^....why d FCK he doh invite them to stay in the diplomatic center

Postby nervewrecker » September 21st, 2017, 7:53 pm

Bring the vene and guyansess

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 21st, 2017, 7:57 pm

And tbh the pm woulda look a "lil" caring if he did say u know I want to help all yuh eh ....but hear what I have some ah my people here and I dealing with them first yuh understand d boss .....then we go deal with u guys but I "love meh people"......and they have to pay some tax Oct 2

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 21st, 2017, 8:02 pm

Voter padding!!!!!!!!

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 21st, 2017, 8:06 pm

^^ ay the people could stay only if they want to stay and take the free education and health care ....or ok Trinidad and Tobago and Dominica .....ocean flower free trips available

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2017, 8:09 pm

Any tuners could point to the laws that exist stating how long an immigrant will have to stay in the country (providing no laws were broken during their stay) in order to vote for our elections?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 21st, 2017, 8:30 pm

21687954_1468195253274633_784807540428635401_n.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2017, 8:36 pm

I'm seeing this circulating on fb. Anyone can confirm if this is true?
21617648_151591042096903_2541405875231710389_n.jpg

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » September 21st, 2017, 8:59 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2017, 9:03 pm

If it is true...man preparing for 2020..

Postby matr1x » September 21st, 2017, 9:07 pm

Let them.find another island

Postby Rovin » September 21st, 2017, 9:15 pm

we putting dem in d lara stadium ....

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2017, 9:21 pm

Laventille and Beetham #2 coming to an area near you? :drinking:

If the man bringing in a few families... no scene. But yuh opening the gates willy nilly for tom, dick, harry, mary, jamie, and amy?

At the end of the day, Rowley is a politician. He not going to be nice juss so.

linton

Postby linton » September 21st, 2017, 9:59 pm

Zetski wrote:That is our PM the honourable Dr.Keith Rowley! good man!

When I see how dotish some of us are, I'm ashamed to be black and PNM. We catching our ass ,no jobs , Trinidad heading for Venezuela status and when the dominicans arrive, he going to tell them he cant provide for them because kamala thief out all the money ,like what he tells us ? They need help, but our people need help too. They need to get aid and build back their country. What the pm want them to do? Stay here and abandon Dominica? Leave it as a desert island?

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 21st, 2017, 10:06 pm

We eh have no mountain chicken here.......

VII

Postby VII » September 21st, 2017, 11:04 pm

Some sick racist people here,better hope we don't have to beg a lodging anytime..

Trinis are proving to be some of the most heartless shallow and insensitive people today...and this is just an extension of what we read in the news everyday,the killers and criminals all have the similar attitudes,as in whatever THEY fancy dais it and eff everything else,that's why life has no value here and anyone can be a murderer,it's just one more step..

So if they were 'Spanish' it's ok correct? Well have mercy on allyuh mothers sisters and daughters,they not Spanish so they clearly not good enough either....I wish them the best though and hope they find favor as anyone else...

You are a reflection of the T&T we seeing today guys,congrats.

All the best to the hurricane victims.
Last edited by VII on September 21st, 2017, 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2017, 11:07 pm

orrrr so it was Ian who buss d mark around 54:14

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » September 22nd, 2017, 2:59 am

Opening your home temporarily for your neighbours in their time of need while they get back on their feet is perhaps the best offer of generosity if you really can't afford to give them money or other material items. So putting aside all the xenophobia and political fears, this is probably one time that our prime minister has done good. I wonder how many of our current politicians who aspire to prime ministership would be so generous?