Prime Minister says Gov't will consider allowing non-lethal weapons for citizens

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2017, 9:21 pm

Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago Dr. Keith Rowley says Gov't will consider allowing non-lethal weapons such as tasers for citizens and security services

Re: Prime Minister says Gov't will consider allowing non-lethal weapons for citizens

Postby skylinechild » September 15th, 2017, 9:23 pm

FINALLY !!!!!!!!!

Re: Prime Minister says Gov't will consider allowing non-lethal weapons for citizens

Postby bluefete » September 15th, 2017, 9:25 pm

That answer there is a big 'NO".

"The commissioner of police is actively considering ..." LOL.

We could checkback for an answer when he goes on pre-retirement leave.

Who is Rowley fooling? Does that mean they are considering it for bandits too?

This is one time I would not mind being wrong though.
Last edited by bluefete on September 15th, 2017, 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 15th, 2017, 9:25 pm

Still can't do much against bandits armed with real guns.

We need a real law that states "The right to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed upon"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right_to_ ... ted_States

The right to keep and bear arms in the United States is a fundamental right[1][2][3] protected by the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, part of the Bill of Rights, and by the constitutions of most U.S. states.[4] The Second Amendment declares:

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed

^ BUT I won't expect any of that, not in this backward Banana republic.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2017, 9:29 pm

They may allow it for police officers first based on the choice of words?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 15th, 2017, 9:33 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:They may allow it for police officers first based on the choice of words?

Assuming this law passes, will I be able to order this?

https://www.amazon.com/TSD-Zombie-Airso ... um+replica

After all it's non lethal, right?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2017, 9:56 pm

Allyuh take that with a pinch of salt...ent they say they was increasing the speed limit...all kinda petition and thing and not one fck has changed..

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 15th, 2017, 10:14 pm

but the entire bandit community has lethal weapons ....

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2017, 10:19 pm

That commissioner have so many investigations ongoing and at sensitive stage I doubt he have time for this

Yuh better off with a bag of salt, grab a handful and throw in bandit face

Postby DVSTT » September 15th, 2017, 11:53 pm

Non-lethal weapons tax coming?

Postby rspann » September 16th, 2017, 12:06 am

Watch the wording. We will consider..... When it is anything like taxes or any draconian measures to jam the people, they say they use words like .....we are going to... Or we are resolute ........

Postby MaxPower » September 16th, 2017, 12:07 am

Considering...may....might.....
possibility....contemplate....

words just to shut people up for a while...

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » September 16th, 2017, 12:48 am

bluefete wrote:That answer there is a big 'NO".

"The commissioner of police is actively considering ..." LOL.

We could checkback for an answer when he goes on pre-retirement leave.

Who is Rowley fooling? Does that mean they are considering it for bandits too?

This is one time I would not mind being wrong though.

You are right, these are pacifying words. Said to make us stop asking for a few months and get distracted until things get bad again. However, things are getting progressively worse, so it might keep things in the limelight. :agrue:

It's unfortunate, but much more must die before the current powers that be will actually do something about it. :evilbat:

Plus you need to consider, does the PNM really want us to have the ability to hurt/imprison and possibly kill a portion of their die-hard supporters? :fist:

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2017, 2:11 am

The laws of trinidad and Tobago don't allow for people to have weapons to be used against other people, generally.

Anything can become a weapon if not originally intended for that purpose, and that mindset when concocting the laws was meant to disarm the populace.

If u in a fight and u hit a man with an umbrella, it becomes a weapon, and Ur liability increases.

So, until they change the laws to allow for weapons of self defense, there will be no permitting of devices or substances with the sole purpose of being used as weapons against another human being, to be carried around or used by the public.

We need a second amendment-like law.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 16th, 2017, 8:51 am

sMASH wrote:The laws of trinidad and Tobago don't allow for people to have weapons to be used against other people, generally.

Anything can become a weapon if not originally intended for that purpose, and that mindset when concocting the laws was meant to disarm the populace.

If u in a fight and u hit a man with an umbrella, it becomes a weapon, and Ur liability increases.

So, until they change the laws to allow for weapons of self defense, there will be no permitting of devices or substances with the sole purpose of being used as weapons against another human being, to be carried around or used by the public.

We need a second amendment-like law.

Because the laws were written to protect the white masters from the former slaves and labourers.
no more white masters, ummm. hold that thought.

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2017, 8:54 am

Wheeeeeel

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2017, 11:30 am

one of the best things you can buy for anyone you care about

https://www.supremedefense.com/pepper-spray-stun-ring

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 16th, 2017, 11:48 am

d marn is jes mamaguying ppl

police shud get mace , pepper spray & tasers though , that highway beltman wuda never get d chance to use it on d policeman & end up damaging d guy bonnet .......

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2017, 11:51 am

whatever they give the police....they hadda be able to justify its use when they replacing it for them
civilians gonna get endless pepper spray lol

Average

Postby Average » September 16th, 2017, 2:22 pm

Allyuh still expecting anything positive to happen here?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 16th, 2017, 10:09 pm

Key word to look out for "MANDATED"

Postby 88sins » September 17th, 2017, 7:48 am

they didn't say for all citizens eh
Most likely it will be initiated for ttps officers first, & possibly female civilians afterwards. So if you are a man, take yuh rob/chop/bullet like a man, unless yuh gf close by & wiling to save you.

& it's highly unlikely they will allow this even for female civilians either, & if they do they may very well put it in such a way that you need a permit for those items. yuh know what it is TTPS trying to detain somebody on d road in d ghetto & a few ah dem ghetto rat come out vex with pepper spray & tazers?

Postby SR » September 17th, 2017, 8:53 am

Lol paperwork gonna sit just like applications for gun licence

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 17th, 2017, 8:57 am

Dillon also said enterprise was getting a police station...he succeeded in silencing the residents doh..

Postby 88sins » September 17th, 2017, 9:16 am

that talk has been bandied about for years now, hasn't happened yet, doubt it will soon. Besides, it have police stations in Besson St. Morvant, Laventille, Carenage, D'go, & other places, those stations curbed crime in those areas ent?
when they actually start doing something worth seeing/mentioning keep me informed

Postby matr1x » September 17th, 2017, 12:09 pm

More empty words.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 17th, 2017, 12:48 pm

trust me a non projectile taser will and does give persons a false sense of security and may actually make someone get killed or severely injured by the attacking party, than protect you,....to actually get a taser out of your pocket or bag and then you have to make physical contact with the assailant...... if those two processes fail, you in trouble.....it might have been better to run....and worst case scenario and very probable the assailant has firearm..lights fkn out for u

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 17th, 2017, 9:20 pm

No matter what Big Gubbament bureaucrats promise...thiz iz still a legal deterrent for home protection...

Postby Redman » September 18th, 2017, 6:01 am

The deterrent is the belief that there is risk in commuting a crime.

As of now the criminals perceive there to be little or no risk.

Getting a suitable dog is a great first step...a big step to be clear...

Enabling a person to defend their property,person and loved ones...with a level of violence that the criminals perceive as a threat is the other step.

The headache to by pass dogs, maybe an alarm system...and a gun...that will change the home invasion dynamic.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 18th, 2017, 7:50 am

allyuh not eatting up this sheitt right??

these bunch of kakahole jus sheiting out some half ass statements as if its actually good news

they can sit there and consider a million ideas and nothing comes out of it.

and the other statement- No job cuts for the end of the year. We in fleckin September.

They should be ashamed of themselves.