The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby gastly369 » February 2nd, 2021, 8:54 am

What area south
lionofzion wrote:Where is south has meters to check tint? Most places I’m seeing are north and one place in Debe. Anywhere else?

Postby K74T » February 2nd, 2021, 10:53 am

lionofzion wrote:Where is south has meters to check tint? Most places I’m seeing are north and one place in Debe. Anywhere else?
FB_IMG_1612277576432.jpeg

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » February 2nd, 2021, 8:01 pm

gastly369 wrote:What area south

San Fernando and environs

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 8th, 2021, 11:05 am

Medical exemptions
IMG_0561.JPG

1.6 TURBO

Postby 1.6 TURBO » February 13th, 2021, 5:30 pm

Tuners,
Get your tint checked, don't be fined $5000
798-4759

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 16th, 2021, 7:47 am

removed the 35% tint and added 50% tint meter read 38.9.

back windows kept 35% tint read 27

Small Shakes tint Shop - Union road Marabella
WhatsApp Image 2021-02-12 at 11.22.42 AM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-02-12 at 11.22.42 AM (2).jpeg

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 22nd, 2021, 3:07 pm

Man, I getting sun tan these days...

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 22nd, 2021, 7:52 pm

mitch1980 wrote:removed the 35% tint and added 50% tint meter read 38.9.

you either use a chinese tint or a chinese meter

or they calibrate it dotish to make people pay for new tint

Postby gastly369 » February 22nd, 2021, 7:57 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

Whattttt....

Read back what the man said... Its correct

Postby gastly369 » February 22nd, 2021, 7:59 pm

My meter(laser labs) alongside the tint check pro the gov will be using
IMG_20210220_170536.jpeg

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 23rd, 2021, 7:48 am

gastly369 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

Whattttt....

Read back what the man said... Its correct

English is a difficult language.

AllhailMuttley

Postby AllhailMuttley » February 23rd, 2021, 8:34 am

Good morning fellow tuners. New member. From my experience in re-tinting my vehicle, the tint shop must take into consideration that the windows in your vehicle already has a tint (see codes A1, E1, E2 etc on glass). Installing 35% and 20% tint on a glass that is already tinted will give you a lower reading that may well be below the 3% variance. A 35% when installed may read 29.8% VLT and not 32% and above that is acceptable.

Those of you who have old 35% and 20% should have your windows checked as these tend to read below the accepted 3% variance.

Postby gastly369 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:41 am

Alot of shops not informing and just "making ah quick money" pushing their old stock 35 and 20%
AllhailMuttley wrote:Good morning fellow tuners. New member. From my experience in re-tinting my vehicle, the tint shop must take into consideration that the windows in your vehicle already has a tint (see codes A1, E1, E2 etc on glass). Installing 35% and 20% tint on a glass that is already tinted will give you a lower reading that may well be below the 3% variance. A 35% when installed may read 29.8% VLT and not 32% and above that is acceptable.

Those of you who have old 35% and 20% should have your windows checked as these tend to read below the accepted 3% variance.

Postby adnj » February 23rd, 2021, 11:14 am

gastly369 wrote:Alot of shops not informing and just "making ah quick money" pushing their old stock 35 and 20%
AllhailMuttley wrote:Good morning fellow tuners. New member. From my experience in re-tinting my vehicle, the tint shop must take into consideration that the windows in your vehicle already has a tint (see codes A1, E1, E2 etc on glass). Installing 35% and 20% tint on a glass that is already tinted will give you a lower reading that may well be below the 3% variance. A 35% when installed may read 29.8% VLT and not 32% and above that is acceptable.

How to compute your final tint along with what tint film values you would likely be able to use are covered at length in the earlier posts of this thread.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 23rd, 2021, 4:51 pm

Which tint shop do tinting with no gaps?
What's the cost?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 26th, 2021, 11:14 am

FYI: Curtains and other screens require authorization
IMG_0638.JPG

Postby Dizzy28 » February 27th, 2021, 10:17 am

Tested this morning by N Gopiee 23.1 and 24.2 front and back doors.
IMG_20210227_092036.jpeg

Postby S_2NR » February 27th, 2021, 12:04 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Tested this morning by N Gopiee 23.1 and 24.2 front and back doors.
IMG_20210227_092036.jpeg

This is with 20% or 35% tint?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 27th, 2021, 12:34 pm

35%

Would go change out the front doors and windshield band next week.

Tinting is by appointment
S_2NR wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Tested this morning by N Gopiee 23.1 and 24.2 front and back doors.
IMG_20210227_092036.jpeg

This is with 20% or 35% tint?

Postby rollingstock » February 27th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Thank goodness for exemption.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 27th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Tint Exemptions - The New Vehicle Tint Laws of TT - Frequently Asked Question 2

abbow

Postby abbow » February 28th, 2021, 1:22 pm

now clean my CY tint...

gone to clean my P11 and it has no tint, the glass was manufactured that way...both the rear glass and back doors.
Front doors and windshield clear as i bought it that way.

now its looks like around 20% but the interior is black so looks very dark...

Dunno how these cacasplats gonna respond to this when they stop me..

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 28th, 2021, 1:36 pm

as with everything in TT you will just see 1 or 2 road block and thats it, the meter will stop working, battery go dead, and nobody will want to buy batteries and that it business as usual. my tint showing purple fus it old. i go leave it so till the panic die down and the meters spoil and then ting it back.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2021, 1:53 pm

The antiglare band in front supposed to be lighter than the rear window?

Suppose it came with the glass which was replaced due to chips, would it be exempt from the law?
Last edited by redmanjp on February 28th, 2021, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 28th, 2021, 1:53 pm

Anyone know the exemption percentage of tint that will be permissible with medical conditions?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 28th, 2021, 2:03 pm

Mercenary wrote:Anyone know the exemption percentage of tint that will be permissible with medical conditions?
Good luck getting them to even process it. I have 2 exemption in since start of January waiting on replies, both cases are severe...
eye surgery with ongoing treatment and 3rd degree burn person. I'm driving with copies of the application until I get some answer.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2021, 2:09 pm

They might tell u doh drive and take ah taxi in the mean time

Postby gastly369 » February 28th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Treated/dye glass from what have tested so far all read in the 20-23 range so should be safe
abbow wrote:now clean my CY tint...

gone to clean my P11 and it has no tint, the glass was manufactured that way...both the rear glass and back doors.

Last edited by gastly369 on February 28th, 2021, 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 28th, 2021, 4:01 pm

gastly369 wrote:Treated/dye glass from what have testes so far all read in the 20-23 range so should be safe
abbow wrote:now clean my CY tint...

Hoping so yes....cant tolerate the dotish attitude they gonna give when they stop mih.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 28th, 2021, 5:04 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Which tint shop do tinting with no gaps?
What's the cost?

This is what I was referring to.
Are there any tint shops offering this?