Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby *KRONIK* » January 25th, 2021, 8:12 pm

Cyah do b
Nuttin
The madam vitara came factory privacy glass.
I pretty sure it gonna read close to or around 20%
If it darker
They go HTMC
nervewrecker wrote:The two back glass in my Subaru have no tint. What am I to do if it's darker than 20%?

I have seen lexus come with reflective glasses and a Nissan frontier come with 5%

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » January 25th, 2021, 9:07 pm

Here doing free testing also.
18687241144_status_54d7a76115b94d29a5841865978bd870.jpeg

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » January 25th, 2021, 10:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
d.d.s. wrote:Image

I went here today...my 20% read 17. He used one of those meters where it has to be clipped onto the glass. Not sure if the reading would be different with another meter.

Made a pass through as well. Wondering if the meter off by 3% because the 35% on my four doors read 32%.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 25th, 2021, 11:01 pm

Didn't someone mention that the accuracy of the testing equipment is +/-3%

Postby shogun » January 25th, 2021, 11:41 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Cyah do b
Nuttin
The madam vitara came factory privacy glass.
I pretty sure it gonna read close to or around 20%
If it darker
They go HTMC
nervewrecker wrote:The two back glass in my Subaru have no tint. What am I to do if it's darker than 20%?

I have seen lexus come with reflective glasses and a Nissan frontier come with 5%

Seriously wish they would allow the front sides to be 20% as well. That two tone thing from a side view just doesn't look right.

SYKO

Postby SYKO » January 26th, 2021, 1:00 am

Nite all, I'm a newbie here but i think that 6" strip is just ridiculous.

Postby gastly369 » January 26th, 2021, 4:06 am

I hate that anyways

Makes car look like taxi
SYKO wrote:Nite all, I'm a newbie here but i think that 6" strip is just ridiculous.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2021, 5:25 am

kamakazi wrote:Didn't someone mention that the accuracy of the testing equipment is +/-3%

I need to see this on some document yes. Yuh know police kinda chupid

mad

Postby mad » January 26th, 2021, 6:56 am

Not sure if this was answered here or not, but can someone tell me what's the procedure with a glass panel van eg. hiace,e24/25.
Do all the panels (middle/back) have to be 35/20% as well?

Postby adnj » January 26th, 2021, 7:18 am

kamakazi wrote:Didn't someone mention that the accuracy of the testing equipment is +/-3%

Laser Labs, Inc. tint meters are spec'd at +/-2%
OEM glass has spot variation of 3% and typical VLT of 15% - 20%
Tint film has a manufacturer's VLT variation of 3%. Some films have tighter tolerances.

You can search Laser Labs, 3M, Solar Gard, Carlite, PPG, etc., for their specification data.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2021, 7:41 am

adnj wrote:

Tint film has a manufacturer's VLT variation of 3%. Some films have tighter tolerances.

You can search Laser Labs, 3M, Solar Gard, Carlite, PPG, etc., for their specification data.

Meant to say....looking for some type of documentation from MOWT saying they allowing the +/- 3% variation

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2021, 7:48 am

Its in the act.
3% tolerance
adnj wrote:

Meant to say....looking for some type of documentation from MOWT saying they allowing the +/- 3% variation

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2021, 7:53 am

Screenshot_20210126-075307_Drive.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2021, 7:59 am

E bounce^....downloads and saves to phone

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » January 26th, 2021, 9:04 am

a-a, nice! we safe shakes

Postby pete » January 26th, 2021, 11:31 am

SYKO wrote:Nite all, I'm a newbie here but i think that 6" strip is just ridiculous.

I agree. Measured the tint on my car and it's 10" at the middle and 12" at the ends. 6" strip wouldn't make any sense so will probably just peel the whole thing and maybe switch to 80% full windscreen.

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2021, 12:18 pm

pete wrote:

I agree. Measured the tint on my car and it's 10" at the middle and 12" at the ends. 6" strip wouldn't make any sense so will probably just peel the whole thing and maybe switch to 80% full windscreen.

never had a strip on any of my cars. If i need some glare protection, I just fold down the visor...never felt the need to put a strip across the windscreen

sbocus

Postby sbocus » January 26th, 2021, 8:20 pm

Idea Factory
Debe

Postby sMASH » January 26th, 2021, 8:25 pm

mad wrote:Not sure if this was answered here or not, but can someone tell me what's the procedure with a glass panel van eg. hiace,e24/25.

any ting past the B pillar...
meem no lawyer... :drinking:

mad

Postby mad » January 27th, 2021, 7:18 am

sMASH wrote:
mad wrote:Not sure if this was answered here or not, but can someone tell me what's the procedure with a glass panel van eg. hiace,e24/25.

any ting past the B pillar...
meem no lawyer... :drinking:

So I found out in case anyone else wants to know.
All panels past the B pillar will have to be 20%

Postby MG Man » January 27th, 2021, 8:59 am

so....what's the best method of removing back glass tint without damaging the demister?
I know one way is to put black plastic over the back glass and misting the inside of the glass, and letting the sun do some kinda voodoo....or did I miss something?

Postby Dave » January 27th, 2021, 9:05 am

You have it correct. Building heat is key.

Postby adnj » January 27th, 2021, 9:10 am

MG Man wrote:so....what's the best method of removing back glass tint without damaging the demister?
I know one way is to put black plastic over the back glass and misting the inside of the glass, and letting the sun do some kinda voodoo....or did I miss something?

A hairdryer set to low, a wallpaper steamer or anything that keeps the temperature low. Use masking tape to pull the tint away if the film breaks.

The plastic bag is just acting like a window sized piece of tape.

hindian

Postby hindian » January 27th, 2021, 12:07 pm

MG Man wrote:so....what's the best method of removing back glass tint without damaging the demister?
Heat and purple blaster with a micro fiber cloth to take the glue off

Postby gastly369 » January 30th, 2021, 3:25 pm

Ting touchdown
IMG_20210130_123115.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » January 30th, 2021, 6:10 pm

Best thing is heat and water.

I redid my tint in 2019. The installer had a steamer, like the one used for clothes, and used that to remove all tint. Then it was heated to soften the glue which was gently removed. The defoggers remained good.

If you have a steamer with the wide attachment, that'd work good for removal with no damage.

On a related note, the retint was a 35% 3M charcoal ceramic. I visited xtra on Friday for their free tint inspection. It was measure at 39% in the front and 38% in the back. Their meter was a "slip-on" meter that slides into the glass when the glass is rolled down. Not the type that law enforcement will use... But those values seem strange to me. Unless the tint was a 50% and sold as a 35% l, I think that those readings are quite odd.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 30th, 2021, 7:33 pm

change out all my tint nearly a year ago and the installer put two giant infrared lights over the back glass to heat up the old tint

demister works perfectly still, it was my biggest hangup as well at the time

Postby aaron17 » January 31st, 2021, 11:10 am

What about ppl who put big johnny walker sticker on back and side glass?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 1st, 2021, 5:49 pm

Would like to know how this works with panel vans, some have glass all along the sides some don't. Some vinyl wrap to turn windowed van into full on cargo van.

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » February 1st, 2021, 7:17 pm

Where is south has meters to check tint? Most places I’m seeing are north and one place in Debe. Anywhere else?