Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby kamakazi » January 13th, 2021, 8:26 pm

Diagram doesn't address the rear quarter glass on station wagons

Postby adnj » January 13th, 2021, 8:41 pm

kamakazi wrote:Isn't there an allowance for darker tint on the rear glass(tail gate and rear quarters) for station wagons and similar vehicles

ea851428-e29c-48b4-89d6-7acc1bae792d.jpg

All vehicles are allowed darker tint in the back but no lower than 20%
kamakazi wrote:Diagram doesn't address the rear quarter glass on station wagons
Everything beyond the B-pillar is defined as rear glass.

Minimum levels of Visible Light Transmittance (VLT)

Windscreen - at least 70% VLT

Windscreen’s Anti-[G]lare Band (AGB) or Visor - (Width of 6” or 15cm from top of Windscreen) - at least 35% VLT

Front windows (driver and passenger) - at least 35% VLT

Rear windows (including side windows) - at least 20% VLT

Rear windscreen - at least 20% VLT

http://www.mowt.gov.tt/Divisions/Transp ... rium-on-th

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 13th, 2021, 8:55 pm

Thank you for the clarification.

Postby redmanjp » January 14th, 2021, 2:37 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 14th, 2021, 6:17 pm

Again...which shops?
Which shops have authorized meters?

Dum$!÷× laws

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2021, 7:02 pm

N. Gopie
Protint
Techmotive

Wont be "approved" tho
Nobody have calibration specs yet afaik

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Again...which shops?

Dum$!÷× laws

Postby sMASH » January 14th, 2021, 7:27 pm

Dum$!÷× laws

disagree, good law this time. problem is the roll out.
cause when u go to check ur tint, how are u sure that their meter is calibrated to meet LO meters?

aidan

Postby aidan » January 14th, 2021, 8:13 pm

So most likely everyone who had 35% install in the past will be in violation? At least on the front doors

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 14th, 2021, 9:12 pm

sMASH wrote:

Dum$!÷× laws

disagree, good law this time. problem is the roll out.
cause when u go to check ur tint, how are u sure that their meter is calibrated to meet LO meters?

My bad....agree with you, should rephrase...the rollout is ballz

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2021, 10:10 pm

Basically
aidan wrote:So most likely everyone who had 35% install in the past will be in violation? At least on the front doors

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 15th, 2021, 12:12 am

It would have faded somewhat over time
aidan wrote:So most likely everyone who had 35% install in the past will be in violation? At least on the front doors

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 17th, 2021, 10:47 pm

My 20% ceramic read 9.8% today on the meter at N. Gopie marketing. And at any time of day the driver is clearly visible eh. So much for wanting specific % numbers. Now is pressure to rip this out and do over

Postby sMASH » January 17th, 2021, 11:14 pm

nick639v2 wrote:My 20% ceramic read 9.8% today on the meter at N. Gopie marketing. And at any time of day the driver is clearly visible eh. So much for wanting specific % numbers. Now is pressure to rip this out and do over

is their meter calibrated properly?

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » January 18th, 2021, 7:58 am

I currently have 20% all round on my vehicle and visibility from the exterior is quite good. Considering these laws going into effect , I am thinking of going with 50% carbon on all now. I prefer a uniformed look vs light up front and darker to the rear.
I was considering 50% ceramic but I want some privacy. Any thoughts?

Postby Dave » January 18th, 2021, 8:08 am

In this particular case, our opinion doesn't matter. Meter calibrated correctly or not, if it says not enough light being emitted through then it's a violation.
My factory tint from the local dealership may or may not be in compliance and as a result new car dealers should do the responsible thing and have it correct before delivery.

Postby sMASH » January 18th, 2021, 8:17 am

And how, pray tell, would they be able to verify if they are in compliance? Ent not if they are able to verify it with calibrated meters? Where they getting their meters calibrated? Or are they supposed to lo to use their meters to ensure compliance?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 18th, 2021, 8:22 am

ask them if they check the tint on them police vehicles that have 5% tint all over or the police officer private vehicles that have front glass 5% and no problem. ask them if they want to see if they mother inside the vehicle.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2021, 8:24 am

Ammmm...dealerships dont tint.
They bring in a tintman/tintshop to do the work inhouse most times.
So the tintperson should by now, have a meter or at least recommend to the dealership that they will install 50% to ensure compliance.

This only became relevant as of a few weeks ago so who bought cars before, the onus is on them to have it rectified.
sMASH wrote:And how, pray tell, would they be able to verify if they are in compliance? Ent not if they are able to verify it with calibrated meters? Where they getting their meters calibrated? Or are they supposed to lo to use their meters to ensure compliance?

abbow

Postby abbow » January 18th, 2021, 8:30 am

with all this confusion about it...im simply gonna remove all tint from both my cars and when it is actually known what will "get pass" if tested, i will retint with that....

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2021, 11:45 am

sMASH wrote:And how, pray tell, would they be able to verify if they are in compliance? Ent not if they are able to verify it with calibrated meters? Where they getting their meters calibrated? Or are they supposed to lo to use their meters to ensure compliance?
Use this - for US$20+ you might want to buy your own. Certification samples are only good for one year.

Reference Samples

$20.00

Certified tint standards

Fulfills state tint meter recertification requirements

Check the accuracy of the tint meter

Description

Each piece has its light transmittance value printed on the label

These values are accurate to within ±1% of a N.I.S.T. calibrated spectrophotometer

The reference samples work with any brand tint meter

Each new tint meter includes two reference samples

To verify that the tint meter is working properly and within specifications, take a reading of the reference samples before you begin to use the tint meter.  The meter should display a reading of not more than ±2% of the value printed on the label.

https://www.laser-labs.com/product/reference-samples/

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2021, 11:57 am

Should these tint meters fall under the purview of the TTBS since they are responsible by law for Metrology?

Postby 88sins » January 18th, 2021, 12:37 pm

I suppose they should.

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2021, 2:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Should these tint meters fall under the purview of the TTBS since they are responsible by law for Metrology?
Request for Measuring Device Verification

Trinidad & Tobago Bureau of Standards
Metrology Division
Legal Metrology Inspectorate

https://gottbs.com/lmi_request/request.php

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 18th, 2021, 6:02 pm

sMASH wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:My 20% ceramic read 9.8% today on the meter at N. Gopie marketing. And at any time of day the driver is clearly visible eh. So much for wanting specific % numbers. Now is pressure to rip this out and do over

is their meter calibrated properly?
Who knows... Rd4 cr-v with factory baked glass read 14% also. I'll redo my tint to the 35 and cross my fingers it follows the police meters.

Thing is this van bought to work, and when I'm on my hustle I can't tell you how much times eyes watching me put my tools and other people's equipment in the cab just to avoid it in the tray. Already have men take a knife to previous a previous vehicle tray cover just to look inside.

Questioned the darker application form for my safety and job, it was met with the answer 'So everybody could lie and say the same thing as you then, u buy new pretty van to wuk? Who u fooling'

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » January 18th, 2021, 6:52 pm

Pickup owners
https://www.thedrive.com/reviews/28267/best-truck-toolboxes
Why Buy a Truck Toolbox

Organize and haul small items. Since a truck bed is just one large rectangle, storing small items can be difficult if you don't want loose items floating around as you drive. A tool or storage box provides simple and convenient storage space to keep small objects so everything is contained.

Protect valuables. While most truck toolboxes aren't bank vaults, the basic locks and latches they provide are good for general tool storage and protection. The average toolbox is secure enough to deter all but the most motivated would-be thieves.

Free up the pickup truck bed. Less small items in the truck bed mean more usable space for larger things. Some toolboxes sit above the floor of the bed, so it's easier to haul longer or more awkward items while still taking advantage of the space above.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 18th, 2021, 7:19 pm

^^ canopy in the works actually. Just haven't gotten the style I want in stock yet

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » January 18th, 2021, 11:07 pm

https://www.looptt.com/content/motorist ... tint-legal

New window tint regulations in effect from April 1
LOOP NEWS CREATED : 18 JANUARY 2021T&T NEWSPhoto: iStock
Photo: iStock

Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to WhatsAppShare to MessengerShare to EmailShare to TelegramShare to More
Drivers with window tints in breach of the new regulations have up to March 31, 2021, to change their tints.

Speaking on radio 103FM this morning, Road Safety Coordinator Brent Batson and Team Leader of the Road Policing Task Force, Inspector Sunil Harrylal, outlined the new regulations which were given a moratorium until March 31, 2021.

Harrylal said: ‘With regards to the tint regulations, the moratorium that has been given by the Minister of Works and Transport is until the 31st of March, 2021. We’re imploring all drivers to go to the tint shops, check the status of their vehicles and if they do not comply with the regulations, please have your tints removed and replaced.’

Harrylal said after March 31, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) will be enforcing these regulations.

Sgt. Batson said a public service announcement had been done on the window tint regulations to make things clearer to drivers.

‘We continue to see a lot of people with a lot of heavy tints on the roads. We want people to know it’s coming into effect very soon and we need persons to be aware of the law.’

Batson said previously the laws surrounding window tint was subjective based on the discretion of the officer on duty, which could be unclear.

He said to clarify the matter the regulations have been revised to account for the visible light transmission (VLT) for vehicle windows, calculated by measuring devices.

Under the legislation, there are various specifications for different parts of a vehicle.

Minimum levels of Visible Light Transmittance (VLT)

Windscreen - at least 70% VLT
Windscreen’s Anti-Blare Band (AGB) or Visor - (Width of 6” or 15cm from top of Windscreen) - at least 35% VLT
Front windows (driver and passenger) - at least 35% VLT
Rear windows (including side windows) - at least 20% VLT
Rear windscreen - at least 20% VLT

Batson said drivers are often unaware that some new vehicles already come with a light tint:

‘What people don’t seem to realise is that when you buy a vehicle it already come with a slight film of about 80 per cent. 100 per cent means full light transmission so as you move away from 100 per cent, it gets darker.’

Batson said the tint measuring devices work via laser lights and can work both during the day and at night.

He said calibration checks are made to ensure the devices are in order prior to checking vehicle windows. He added that there’s a measurement error threshold of three per cent for each window.

Batson said those applying for medical exemptions for various health issues must secure a letter from a specialist, which must be approved by the Transport Commissioner.

He added the TTPS also intends to set up voluntary compliance checkpoints where drivers can check to see if their tints are within the regulations before it becomes active:

‘We plan to set up some voluntary compliance checkpoints along the highways where any driver who wants to pop in, we will measure their tint for them and write down the results so they can carry it to the tint shop to assist in their compliance.’

He said the TTPS is due to receive the tint measuring devices by the end of next week, and a schedule of the checkpoints will be published.

When asked whether a driver found with unlawful window tints after the deadline would be fined as well as made to remove the tint, Batson said that decision would be at the discretion of the officer on duty.

He added that if a driver's window tint was found to be unlawful, the offence would be one for the whole vehicle, not for the individual windows.

Postby gastly369 » January 19th, 2021, 12:28 am

Getting my laser labs tint meter will be able to measure all vehicle glass and not just the sides month end... For peace of mind I'll be doing free testing and if required can arrange to get vehicle tinted over...

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 21st, 2021, 11:08 am

So Folks 4 weeks ago I tinted my Wife's CRV . Added 35% tint .
based on the video by TTPS last week and research being done there after I was able to measure the VLT with the tint meter on and it read 20.9.

at the time i did not take into account the factory built in film of 70% VLT( I measured this when I removed the 35% Tint) on the front and driver side windows.

As a result I pulled out the 35% and added 50% Tint and the reading was 38%. or about.

As many of you rightfully said most persons with 35% VLT tint should measure and may have to remove and or re-install 50% tint to the driver and front passenger side windows.

tint .jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » January 21st, 2021, 11:32 am

Is the factory built in tint standard or differs across manufacturers?