The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 18th, 2020, 12:19 pm

What this really means is tint meters not here yet.

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2020, 12:25 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:What this really means is tint meters not here yet.

they gonna have voluntary stops soon where you can have the test your tint with the correct device, so you will know if your tint is legal or not

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2020, 12:32 pm

Always request that they do and show you a zero calibration before they test your tint

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2020, 12:36 pm

I curious about cars that are sold with OEM 'black-out' glass. Lots of those euros have pitch black rear back glass; actual tinted glass, not clear with film that can be pulled off....would be interesting to see how those are handled

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2020, 12:51 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:What this really means is tint meters not here yet.

they gonna have voluntary stops soon where you can have the test your tint with the correct device, so you will know if your tint is legal or not

This is a good step.
Would help build buy in from the public.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 18th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Tint shops doing testing after installation, how would you know the tint legal ?

rebound

Postby rebound » December 18th, 2020, 1:40 pm

Cantmis wrote:Tint shops doing testing after installation, how would you know the tint legal ?
They should start that and provide you with a readout.

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2020, 1:42 pm

current daily (2 door hatchback) has no tint on windscreen and doors/ It has dark side and rear glass from previous owner. I thought I was safe but now I hadda get it tested

Postby Chimera » December 18th, 2020, 6:45 pm

So I could g5 the whole car for the next 3 months ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 18th, 2020, 7:58 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So I could g5 the whole car for the next 3 months ?
yeh

Postby *KRONIK* » December 19th, 2020, 7:09 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:So I could g5 the whole car for the next 3 months ?

yuh have a letter for dark tint?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 19th, 2020, 8:09 am

There is an exemption form going around. Employer need to fill out part of it

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2020, 10:07 am

Dear sir/madam
Plz excuse my employee for light tint today because he was feeling sick.

How de France ur employer gonna have provisions in the law to excuse u for dark tint? Lol.

That exception should only be via a letter from the transport commish.

I don't think it make sense.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 19th, 2020, 3:59 pm

sMASH wrote:Dear sir/madam

How de France ur employer gonna have provisions in the law to excuse u for dark tint? Lol.

I think MNS people stand to benefit from this
...shrugs shoulders

Question...mowt sent out a memo stating that there is a 3 month grace period for drivers to get their vehicles in order. Are there places carrying tint meters? This is the only way we can get sheit in order

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2020, 4:12 pm

MG Man wrote:current daily (2 door hatchback) has no tint on windscreen and doors/ It has dark side and rear glass from previous owner. I thought I was safe but now I hadda get it tested
Dis de Gray car you been driving around ?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 19th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Last week on Facebook a tint place advertised they have the tint meter so you can get your tint measured. One in central, but can't remember the name now.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

...shrugs shoulders

Question...mowt sent out a memo stating that there is a 3 month grace period for drivers to get their vehicles in order. Are there places carrying tint meters? This is the only way we can get sheit in order

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 19th, 2020, 7:22 pm

Under the proposed law would smart tint / adjustable tint be allowed.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 19th, 2020, 9:35 pm

MG Man wrote:I curious about cars that are sold with OEM 'black-out' glass. Lots of those euros have pitch black rear back glass; actual tinted glass, not clear with film that can be pulled off....would be interesting to see how those are handled

Would eventually be treated the same as cars with OEM fog lights, you would have a certificate stating that your privacy glass is OEM. Some cars also have window curtains from the factory and this would be treated the same way.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 19th, 2020, 11:35 pm

But how would they treat window curtains? It’s not like actual tint

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 19th, 2020, 11:54 pm

in the road traffic act you cant have any curtain or item to block the view inside the vehicle, and window curtains are such an item

cars that come with it oem would have to get a certification from the dealer vouching for it, just like fog lights

but that would probably come months later when some old S-class on its 7th owner get pulled over for broken lights and get ticketed for that too, starting the battle

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2020, 3:17 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Last week on Facebook a tint place advertised they have the tint meter so you can get your tint measured. One in central, but can't remember the name now.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

...shrugs shoulders

Imo, LO should have invited the public to visit an office convenient to them and have their tints checked out using meters which are being used by LO. Next thing you go by a normal man and his meter say you good but LO says otherwise, what you gonna do? Are you getting a print out stating xyz is the case(if you go private)???

Postby gastly369 » December 20th, 2020, 5:26 am

Actually I ordered one and planned to do that for customers...may or may not be useful but better than nothing
rebound wrote:
Cantmis wrote:Tint shops doing testing after installation, how would you know the tint legal ?

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2020, 6:25 am

gastly369 wrote:Actually I ordered one and planned to do that for customers...may or may not be useful but better than nothing
rebound wrote:

without knowing about tint except getting it done a couple times, when i ask what grade was told was 35%. so i assumed all, or most tint would be graded. is that not so?

i know very well between brands u might get some variance but that should not be too wildly off.

in any event, i think LO needs to step up, or police, and do a lil clinic demo vid of how they test the tint on windows, with some vehicles to show how the grading is according to their meters.

Postby gastly369 » December 20th, 2020, 11:03 am

sMASH wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Actually I ordered one and planned to do that for customers...may or may not be useful but better than nothing
rebound wrote:

without knowing about tint except getting it done a couple times, when i ask what grade was told was 35%. so i assumed all, or most tint would be graded. is that not so?

i know very well between brands u might get some variance but that should not be too wildly off.

in any event, i think LO needs to step up, or police, and do a lil clinic demo vid of how they test the tint on windows, with some vehicles to show how the grading is according to their meters.
IMG_20201220_110225.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » December 20th, 2020, 11:04 am

Also I hope the shops that bring in tint meters are certified and calibrated stuff as well and not those cheapo Chinese things

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2020, 12:29 pm

i would be satisfied that the tint they get, be in line with the grading the meters the lo uses.

Postby j.o.e » December 20th, 2020, 12:49 pm

The most important question is how rigid they will be. Standard new car glass is UV treated which can register as a light tint (let’s say 97% for argument sake ) when you apply a 35% tint the meter is not going to read 35% but darker ....... will this be a problem ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2020, 1:52 pm

This going and turn out to be one bullsheit law with all kinda bachannal...but hey, money affi make

Postby zoom rader » December 20th, 2020, 1:55 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This going and turn out to be one bullsheit law with all kinda bachannal...but hey, money affi make
Policing for profit but they can't slove murders and red Goverment Curruption

rebound

Postby rebound » December 20th, 2020, 2:50 pm

j.o.e wrote:The most important question is how rigid they will be. Standard new car glass is UV treated which can register as a light tint (let’s say 97% for argument sake ) when you apply a 35% tint the meter is not going to read 35% but darker ....... will this be a problem ?
Exactly. Thats why tint shops should at least do a test on the actual vehicle... my Legacy had stock privacy glass in the rear windows (that was rather dark) and UV protection in the front doors and windscreen.