New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

stikid09

New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Postby stikid09 » June 8th, 2017, 9:26 pm

Take careful note of the new traffic fines:

1. Obstructing a traffic warden on duty: $10,000 fine and/or six months in prison (fine raised from $300 to $10,000)

2. Caught speeding by traffic cameras: $7,000 (new fine)

3. Drag racing on highways without the consent of the Commissioner of Police: $6,000 (fine raised from $2,000 to $6,000)

4. Driving without a driver's permit: $1,500

5. Driving without a seatbelt: maximum fine $8,000

6. Driving with a child under the age of five without a car seat: $4,000

These are but a few of the new fines

The red light camera system will be enforced. This is different from and is in addition to the speed guns

These cameras will be attached to all traffic lights

Also, the lowly traffic warden who most of us has largely ignored over time will now have the power to impose heavy fines

The demerit points system will also be in place. Traffic violations registered against you will eventually lead to your permit being revoked

Online applications for drivers permit renewals also coming soon.

UPDATE: AS THE LICENSE DEMERIT POINTS SYSTEM IS SET TO START on Tuesday, May 26th 2020, following is a Guide to Understanding the Demerit Points System.

1) WHAT IS THE DEMERIT POINTS SYSTEM?

The Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act was amended in 2017, and brought the Judiciary, representatives of the Ministry of Works and Transport, the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Legal Affairs, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, TTPost and other stakeholders into a collaborative working relationship, to implement a new traffic system.

The Demerit Points System – utilised to monitor, track and improve the road behaviour of drivers, was conceived and implemented as a part of this transformative traffic system.Demerit Points for Traffic Violations and Offenses.

2) WHY DO WE NEED THE DEMERIT POINTS SYSTEM?

The System is securely and confidentially managed through an Electronic Demerit Points Register on the U-Turn Software Management System.
The U-Turn System is maintained and monitored for efficiency and effective operation by highly trained personnel in the Traffic Enforcement Centre (TEC).
The TEC plays a pivotal role within the demerit point system, by digitally sharing real time information with all the stakeholder agencies involved in road traffic law enforcement.
This relationship, along with the demerit points system, seeks to foster safer roadways through:
The prevention and deterrence of high-risk driving behaviour;
The detection of repeat or frequent offenders by calculating demerit points and notification of driving permit suspensions; and
The reforming of repeat offenders through a rehabilitative driving programme and re-siting the driving test.

3) HOW DOES THE DEMERIT POINTS SYSTEM AFFECT ME AS A DRIVER?

Every driver starts with zero (0) demerit points on his/her driving permit record.

The vast majority of the traffic offenses and violations form part of the Traffic Ticketing System and the Demerit Points System.

Demerit points are placed on a person’s driving permit record only after payment of a Traffic Ticket.

Failure to pay the Traffic Ticket and/or contest the Traffic Ticket within the prescribed time frame; or conviction before a court for a traffic violation or offence that carries demerit points, will result in demerit points being placed on a person’s driving permit record.

Demerit Points will stay on your record for a maximum of two (2) years.

Once two (2) consecutive years have passed without the driver accumulating additional demerit points, these points will automatically be removed from his/her driving permit record.

If a driver reaches their maximum threshold of demerit points according to the law, he or she can be disqualified from driving for a specified period.

For the purpose of administering demerit points and disqualification periods, there is a distinction between:A newly licensed driver or provisional permit holder (an individual who holds their driving permit for a period of twelve (12) months or less from the date of issue).
An experienced driver (an individual who holds their driving permit for a period of more than twelve (12) months from the date of issue).

4) HOW DOES THE DEMERIT POINTS SYSTEM WORK?

Demerit points are electronically calculated and recorded on driving permit records.

Everyone starts with zero (0) demerit points on their driving permit record.

A person can accumulate demerit points on their driving permit record, for committing certain traffic violations and offences which carry demerit points.

The more traffic violations or offences that are committed – such as speeding, unauthorised use of the Priority Bus Route, or Driving Under the Influence of alcohol (DUI), the more demerit points that are electronically accumulated on a person’s driving permit record.

Depending on the total amount of demerit points accumulated within a specified period, this could result in the suspension of a person’s driver’s permit, as well as other consequences.

5) DISQUALIFICATION PROCESS FOR DRIVING PERMITS.

Step 1
If you accumulate or exceed the threshold of demerit points and are subject to disqualification, the Licensing Authority will notify you in writing prior to disqualification.

Step 2
Once you receive this notification of impending disqualification, you can explain in writing to the Licensing Authority, why your driving permit should not be suspended.

Step 3
Where you fail to show good reasons, the Licensing Authority will inform you of the disqualification. The disqualification will take effect fourteen (14) days after the date of the notice.

Step 4
You will then be required to surrender your driving permit to the Licensing Authority, according to the instructions given in the notification letter [Step 1].

Step 5
Failure to surrender your driving permit to the Licensing Authority is an offence that carries a fine of Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) and further disqualification for an additional period of one (1) year.

Step 6
A driving permit disqualified by the Licensing Authority during the period of suspension, will be invalid. You are committing an offense if you drive while your driving permit has been suspended.

Step 7
When the disqualification period expires, all demerit points recorded against your driving permit record will be expunged or removed.

6) CONTESTING YOUR DISQUALIFICATION
The Licensing Authority is required to specify when suspension will occur, not less than fourteen (14) days after the date of the notice. A person who is disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving permit may appeal to a Court within fourteen (14) days of the receipt of the notice.

7) REGAINING YOUR DRIVING PERMIT AFTER DISQUALIFICATION.

At the end of their disqualification period, to regain permission to drive, a driver must go into the Licensing Authority and file an application to be issued a driving permit.
They are then required to undertake the following actions:

Step 1
Participate in a driver’s rehabilitation programme approved by the Licensing Authority. This can be defensive driving or some other accredited programme similar in nature.

Step 2
Re-sit and pass a driving test and regulation examination.

Step 3
Pay the prescribed fee for the re-issue of the driving permit.

8) EXPUNGED DEMERIT POINTS

- Demerit Points will remain on the record of a driver for a maximum of two (2) years.
- After two (2) consecutive years have passed without the driver accumulating additional points, the existing number of demerit points will automatically be expunged or removed from his/her driving permit record, therefore returning the driver’s record to zero.
- Demerit points are expunged from a driver’s driving permit record under two conditions:
- The expiration of the disqualification period; or
Maintaining good driving behaviour for a period of two (2) consecutive years.

Please see the table below for a listing of traffic violations and offenses that carry Demerit Points under the Ninth Schedule under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act.

Expunged Demerit Points

Demerit Points will remain on the record of a driver for a maximum of two (2) years. After two (2) consecutive years have passed without the driver accumulating additional points, the existing number of demerit points will automatically be expunged or removed from his/her driving permit record, therefore returning the driver’s record to zero.
Demerit points are expunged from a driver’s driving permit record under two conditions:

The expiration of the disqualification period; or

Maintaining good driving behaviour for a period of two (2) consecutive years.

Note: There are no demerit points for traffic violations detected by automated cameras e.g. red-light and spot speed cameras. The Honourable Faris Al-Rawi, M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs says, "the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, include the introduction of spot speed, the introduction of RF tag IDs, the tintometer and all number plates in Trinidad and Tobago which will be changed out and a tag will go into it, so that on the road, the police will know where you have passed."

Courtesy - the Ministry of Works and Transport
Please click on each image for easy reading

racedriverpro

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby racedriverpro » June 8th, 2017, 9:33 pm

The oppression is real

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Well so far it seems that it's just a proposal.

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » June 8th, 2017, 10:16 pm

so what im getting from this is that the commisoner of police can give consent for drag racing on the highway....

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2017, 10:18 pm

So I gather also.
But tho they can, don't mean they ever wii

Postby Les Bain » June 8th, 2017, 10:21 pm

Point 4: driving without a DP

Is that driving without a DP cause you don't have one, or is it that if you forget your wallet and have the fortune to get ketch in a
roadblock or something similar?

If it's the latter, is it true you have 24 hours to present your DP to a stipulated police station?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 8th, 2017, 10:30 pm

Kamikaze wrote:so what im getting from this is that the commisoner of police can give consent for drag racing on the highway....

that was always the case for any kind of racing or time trials on the road, including rally, but he has not granted any such permission for some years now and probably won't any time soon.

nissubaru

Postby nissubaru » June 8th, 2017, 10:32 pm

Where is the speed cameras? Locations??

Postby wagonrunner » June 8th, 2017, 10:36 pm

stikid09 wrote:Noted thanks.
Adjusted OP to reflect this link for now: http://3ne2nr.me/2s2aTa7
thanks. alot of BS rules in here.

(G) Imposition of Double Demerit Points:
(i) Specified Periods: Due to the comparatively high number of road accidents that occur during
certain periods (e.g. long weekends or festive occasions such as Easter,
Carnival, Christmas and New Year’s), consideration will be given to the
imposition of Double Demerit Points; where certain violations are
committed during such periods for certain prescribed offences

and then for seasoned drivers 9 points maximum. (10 points is 6 months suspension)

1. Defaced or defective Identification plate 3
this should be 1pt. why is it 3?

2. No ID plate fixed to the front and to the back of the vehicle 4pts
bumpers are damaged by others at times
having the vehicle wrecked is a costly & time wasting option.

6. Vehicle with defective fittings 4pts
for 4pts, this should be clearly defined. not "fittings".

9. Vehicle without two head lamps 3pts
3pts for a blown bulb?

14. Reversing on roads for an unreasonable distance 3pts
That distance should be in meters or feet.

16. Improper overtaking on the left side of the road 6pts
Anyone know the procedure for the proper overtaking?

17. Obstructing overtaking traffic 3pts.
Overtaking at 80km/h, a vehicle doing 79km cannot be obstructing overtaking traffic.

32. Use of noisy vehicle 2pts.
Noise can be measured. What is the measurment for noisy?

41. Use of motor vehicle with the windscreen or any other window fitted with glass so tinted, treated or darkened as to obscure the view of the inside of the vehicle from outside 3pts.
That's the definition of tint. to block the amount of light coming in. which results in reduced vision. This can also be measured.
Why is there not a set limit?

49. Motor racing and speed trials between motor vehicles without permission 6pts.
TTASA will love this.

55. Dangerous Driving 6pts.
Needs a definition.

61. Using or causing to be used or permitting a person to use a motor vehicle or licenced trailer on a public road without a valid policy of insurance 6pts.
Time to buy a wrecker. a written off (cost to repair exceeds 40% of insured value) vehicle which was repaired, has to be taken to valuation for it to be reinsured.

66. Using a wireless communication device to view, send or compose an electronic message while driving or having charge of a
vehicle 6pts.
If i'm parked and using A/C, i'm "in charge of the vehicle", but why is it an issue?

72. Careless driving 6pts
Definition needed.

74. Failure to produce the vehicle for inspection or driving a motor vehicle without obtaining a valid inspection sticker and certificate 9pts.
That word AND.
Since the vehicles were inspected, they got their certificates but not their stickers, even after a couple of time wasting visits.

FLEX

Postby FLEX » June 8th, 2017, 10:38 pm

2. Caught speeding by traffic cameras: $7,000 (new fine)

3. Drag racing on highways without the consent of the Commissioner of Police: $6,000 (fine raised from $2,000 to $6,000

STUPIDITY: HIGHER FINE FOR A SPEEDING OFFENCE THAN A DRAG RACE ON PUBLIC ROAD..
wonder who the genius is!!!!!!!!!!!

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 8th, 2017, 10:44 pm

No scene, I'm pretty sure that the murder rate would drop to zero after these laws are implemented...
Might as well rename the police service to the ticketing service cause that's all they can do.
Must give the government props though, them trying de hardest to make that rapid rail train look better than driving your own car...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 9th, 2017, 12:07 am

Government needs money

That points thing is madness... so if you drive without a valid inspection sticker you getting your license suspended for 6 months?

Also - does it now mean that there are no longer fines for such offences as a blown headlight etc? Or are you being double penalized???

Is this what freedom feels like?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 9th, 2017, 12:17 am

Caveman laws meets new bs.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 9th, 2017, 12:30 am

unless the nation protest just accept these.
A better way to collect monies is to cut minister salaries and allowances
prime minister should get 10 k a month government ministers and senators with portfolios 9 k
and opposition members and and members of the govt with out portfolio 8 k
if you collecting a pension which is more than this zero pay
ministers should drive their own cars and be paid mileage by the industry standard for business trips and not to and from work
pay your own cell phone bill .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2017, 12:33 am

They ain't gt with property tax....so road law in yuh mc...$$ hada make

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 9th, 2017, 12:49 am

Most of the fines are designed to make Money. There is little care or enforcement for the normal driver.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 9th, 2017, 2:02 am

At the end of the day its.the working class, the people who really building this country will be affected because he maybe running late for work, trying to get home to spend time with the family after work, trying to get that delivery on time, using lunch hour to pay bills and get a meal, trying to reach early to places like licensing office, immigration, hospitals etc because if you are late yuh day done. the man on the hustle, the worker of this country are the ones that will slip up at one time or another. ..and for some yuh whole salary gone. Nothing is being said about the criminals, especially the gunman who will run into your home, rape yuh wife, young daughter, yuh old mother and then kill you.
That is over doing it, but then nothing will be done, no one will stand up and say that's enough. At the end of the day we who have dem in office like it so.

Postby rollingstock » June 9th, 2017, 2:33 am

Les Bain wrote:Point 4: driving without a DP

Is that driving without a DP cause you don't have one, or is it that if you forget your wallet and have the fortune to get ketch in a

If it's the latter, is it true you have 24 hours to present your DP to a stipulated police station?

Driving without a dp would fall under expired or never having been issued one.
If you don't have it on you the offence is fail to produce.

There is no time stipulation to produce a dp, it must be produced on demand. The 24hr thing is a concession (bligh) given by the police, the law makes no allowances for this.

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2017, 3:06 am

What is fine for shoulder overtakers ?
That should be the max,
Shoulder overtakers are the most blatant disrespecters of the law

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2017, 3:08 am

There is no time stipulation to produce a dp, it must be produced on demand. The 24hr thing is a concession (bligh) given by the police, the law makes no allowances for this.

If you do not have DP on demand. You are human - You forget it home or at office ? NP

Take the ticket in a quiet way - no fuss with Police - they only have 2 CXC passes - Grade 7

Go to Court and produce it to the Judge.

Watch Police face.

Priceless .

Postby Gem_in_i » June 9th, 2017, 4:40 am

If the offence you are being charged with is failure to produce the dp.
producing it to the Judge after will do what?

Postby zoom rader » June 9th, 2017, 5:16 am

Jah Bless PNM

I told you all about the dangers of voting PNM

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 9th, 2017, 5:24 am

Demerits should only be for major offenses not petty things like blown light or cracked windshield or even tint

whizzard

Postby whizzard » June 9th, 2017, 7:10 am

hong kong phooey wrote:unless the nation protest just accept these.
prime minister should get 10 k a month government ministers and senators with portfolios 9 k
ministers should drive their own cars and be paid mileage by the industry standard for business trips and not to and from work

I agree.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 9th, 2017, 7:23 am

I think the time for protesting past long time now. If man protest it go get hijack by kams and it will turn into an Indian Vs negro thing, as you usually see on this forum or real life, and nothing gets done.
It's time citizens take matters into their own hands.
We need a che in this country...

Postby 16 cycles » June 9th, 2017, 7:24 am

Thaz some crazy fines if true....trying to figure out the maximum you can rack up

Speeding (7k) on bus route (?)with a kid in car /no car seat (4k)- driver with no seatbelt (8k) - no permit (1.5k) and on phone
(?) , dangerous overtaking (?) with a blown headlight (?), faulty fixtures on car (?), over the allowable limit for breathalyzer (22.5k max) and obstructing a traffic warden (10k) when stopped...

....at53k so far...

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 9th, 2017, 7:27 am

aye dis stinking dunce government really know how to frig up a good friday eh.

WHAT THEY REALLY TRYING TO DO? MAKE MONEY OFF OF CITIZENS LAW BREAKING OR ACTUALLY MAKE THE ROADS SAFER?

you feel this shieet will stop Cornwall and Narine from do they usual crap in they Sarena, H1, Voxy or tiida?? hell friggin no.

Postby Les Bain » June 9th, 2017, 7:44 am

Great, thanks for clearing that up.

Postby Ben_spanna » June 9th, 2017, 7:51 am

Well that's some good suggestions , however with the " Minister of Piggly" taking 3 women with no govt affiliation to Tobago and racking up bills on a one night medal presentation, what else yuh expect?
Then theres the Kunt-hole minister who roamed on f()ckbook and twit whole day at our expense..
You really expect govt to reduce spending if they treating the treasury as their personal expense account?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » June 9th, 2017, 8:02 am

This would probably increase bribes. instead of paying the state a 6k, the officer would take a lil 1500 for themselves. Many people gunna reason that its cheaper and that would set a trend