New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

kamakazi

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby kamakazi » June 14th, 2017, 10:38 am

Does anyone know if anybody has received a ticket in the mail yet from either spot speed or red light cameras

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 14th, 2017, 10:41 am

kamakazi wrote:Does anyone know if anybody has received a ticket in the mail yet from either spot speed or red light cameras

Is it law already ?

Drea

Postby Drea » June 14th, 2017, 11:36 am

mad wrote:I think what people are not understanding is the laws and fines are already there. The problem is the vast increase in the fines. In these economic times these dunces are trying to rape the working class of their hard earned money. And most importantly I am sure most people here break the law at least more that one time-come on. For those who are complete law abiding citizens-keep it up"kudos to you". There is no problem enforcing these existing laws as we seen with the Speeding. Its just the increase in the fines.

To the one who mentioned this:
"if they do that ..you would say they not penalizing the rich and they could afford it blah blah blah.
and they favoring rich people."
The rich gets away from it, they don't even have to pay. People who live in Trinidad will know this.

Agreed, how many of these offences were actually enforced aside from speeding tickets and tint violations? The increase in fines are unjustified in most cases and simply make no sense or have a purpose other than to raise revenue. You are talking about mostly regular working class citizens whose monthly salary is equivalent or less than the cost of these tickets. We all know how "some" officers operate during traffic exercises and I can clearly see this is not going to play out well if it comes to pass.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 14th, 2017, 11:39 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Does anyone know if anybody has received a ticket in the mail yet from either spot speed or red light cameras

Is it law already ?

Not law yet.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 14th, 2017, 1:04 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:

Is it law already ?

Not law yet.

rememebr pal. whatsapp fwd msgs are not credible sources of information.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 14th, 2017, 1:49 pm

Just inquiring

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 14th, 2017, 3:47 pm

government is making laws each day to make your freedom be diminished....triple or double points on public holidays???? plus arrogant ttps.....some seem to be intoxicated whilst executing their duties to keep the public safe....... why when stopped in a roadblock some ttps treat the civillian like they are criminals>??? and dont get me wrong.....the majority of ttps i know are great officers...who make me proud to know them....

Postby matr1x » June 14th, 2017, 6:31 pm

It's easy to say to obey the law...but when does draconian become ok?

mad

Postby mad » June 14th, 2017, 8:14 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:government is making laws each day to make your freedom be diminished....triple or double points on public holidays???? plus arrogant ttps.....some seem to be intoxicated whilst executing their duties to keep the public safe....... why when stopped in a roadblock some ttps treat the civillian like they are criminals>??? and dont get me wrong.....the majority of ttps i know are great officers...who make me proud to know them....

Very true. These officers treat citizens worst than the murderers, robbers and rapist.
This one incident during the carnival season, after the fete-big roadblock. Police officers doing routine DUI. One driver apparently was over the limit. Mr officer start to get on with the man and want to hit him (and the driver was real cool eh). About five cars up fight break out, man pull out ah blade and start to plan-ass ah next man. You know the same officers wait till the blade pass then proceed slowly to the two individuals involve in the fight. Boy and if you see how nice the same officer who was bawling up the driver talk to the man with the blade to put it down. Real Fu**ery yes.

Right now you better off being a criminal yes.

Postby RedVEVO » June 14th, 2017, 8:32 pm

matr1x wrote:It's easy to say to obey the law...but when does draconian become ok?

Good question :D

However the roads have become a " war zone " and the accidents are like somebody drop an atom bomb .
Kids are killed , mothers, daughters etc. Or and the amount of dogs and cats - No cows.

My view is that the Gov't and People has had enough - hence draconian approach to the roadway Laws. Keep
cool and within the Law no problem - Personally I cannot afford those fines .

Recently, saw many, many many Tida cars and pickups - Hilux & Navara - No Amarok - on the Bus Route .

What is the fine ? The last fine was $3,000 for this infringement .

Police in front and behind like they giving escort - no arrests .

So TTPS again F...ing up :x :x :x

Postby matr1x » June 15th, 2017, 4:59 am

I have no empathy for shoulder drivers. But the cost of these tickets carry a dangerous trend that government doesn't get.

Pressure. As a society, a powder keg situation where penalties make you feel that you are not a citizen but a prisoner. And where there is oppression people will find ways to fight it.

Whether it is alerting people of police presence on the roads ahead or other forms of protest. Citizens have to work together against and oppressive regime. If we don't, we risk the reality we are living right now

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 15th, 2017, 9:41 am

I see faris talking about drugalyser tests for motorists....all kinda mc thing to make $...why isn't there this type of urgency wrs to criminal laws

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 15th, 2017, 10:04 am

Catching criminals doesn't make money...soon driving over the speed limit will be $50,000, and tint will be $20,000. And all the supporters will be like, "road fatalities on the rise".
But doing something for the ppl is too far fetched for this government.
Let's hope ppl vote wisely for the next election!

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 15th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Ppl are so stupid they cannot seperate politics fromthe erosion of freedom of movement, brain washed fools, just like ppl following sat maha sabha .....dumb, its why the world is becoming a militarised zone without anyone noticing it, by the time the majority ppl notice it we will all be living under a military rule, where the only ppl free to roam the land freely will be members of police , military and uniform wearing officials and govt offic. Sci fi shyt coming through.......

Postby 88sins » June 15th, 2017, 5:08 pm

matr1x wrote:I have no empathy for shoulder drivers. But the cost of these tickets carry a dangerous trend that government doesn't get.

Pressure. As a society, a powder keg situation where penalties make you feel that you are not a citizen but a prisoner. And where there is oppression people will find ways to fight it.

Whether it is alerting people of police presence on the roads ahead or other forms of protest. Citizens have to work together against and oppressive regime. If we don't, we risk the reality we are living right now

Qft

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 15th, 2017, 5:19 pm

A prisoner or a criminal the more laws that are created the easier it is for one to be deemed a criminal

vedap20

Postby vedap20 » June 15th, 2017, 5:33 pm

All you have to do is obey the laws and you have no problem

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 15th, 2017, 5:44 pm

vedap20 wrote:All you have to do is obey the laws and you have no problem

Well with that logic the fines should be $50,000+
Just obey the law and no problem. Yet ppl using my tax dollars for $hit all over the country. The latest being the $65M on an unused building from 2012 to 2017...but I guess road users are criminals...just obey the law...

And the best is that the ttps has to enforce the road laws and $hit happening on the roads like normal but most too lazy to even stop somebody and give them a ticket. Just look at the PBR and the number of police vehicles that are driving next to unauthorized vehicles. Dem doesn't even bother.

Postby matr1x » June 15th, 2017, 5:55 pm

Sounds simple until.you realize that the laws are not equally applied to everyone

Average

Postby Average » June 15th, 2017, 6:09 pm

Gosh boy the ppl who say "obey the laws and everything will be alright" does make me feel to vomit.
I can sense they are the types who let ppl walk all over them. When this dotish govt brings about more dotish laws and fines you will hear them......setta c.unts.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 15th, 2017, 6:38 pm

Pirate wrote:

Just obey the law and no problem. Yet ppl using my tax dollars for $hit all over the country. The latest being the $65M on an unused building from 2012 to 2017...but I guess road users are criminals...just obey the law...

And the best is that the ttps has to enforce the road laws and $hit happening on the roads like normal but most too lazy to even stop somebody and give them a ticket. Just look at the PBR and the number of police vehicles that are driving next to unauthorized vehicles. Dem doesn't even bother.

And just for reference, I have been driving for over 15 years and not one ticket or warning self.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 15th, 2017, 8:00 pm

Pirate wrote:Catching criminals doesn't make money...soon driving over the speed limit will be $50,000, and tint will be $20,000. And all the supporters will be like, "road fatalities on the rise".
But doing something for the ppl is too far fetched for this government.
Let's hope ppl vote wisely for the next election!

streetbeastINC. wrote:Ppl are so stupid they cannot seperate politics fromthe erosion of freedom of movement, brain washed fools

Thank you very much. I got a speeding ticket on Sunday gone and while I was upset, as a big man, I accepted that I. WAS. WRONG. Not the PNM or UNC. :lol:
Yes these fines are extreme, draconian even, but it's hilarious when everything is political..like why use politics to justify your chest burn? Some of y'all could tote feelings/baggage for realll long(since September 2015 y'all holding on to this; sorry for allyuh wives :lol: )
But as a conscious citizen, I'm aware of the issues so since we're on politics, here are some things that the GoRTT and by extension the TTPS should address, because I mean..

1) If I'm from San Fernando and I get a ticket in Toco and I fail to pay it, should a warrant be made out for my arrest, would the Police wait for me to head back up to Toco to arrest me or would they arrest me on sight? Likewise, why are we forced to pay a ticket in the court closest to whatever area we're ticketed in? Are we so ancient such that everything is written on paper so there are no electronic means to document or process a ticket given out or a ticket that was paid?

2) Linx/CC machines. The courts need them. Now.

3) The speed limit enforcement is like an iceberg. 10% is caring for the citizenry, 90% we don't really care about the citizenry, let's just make money off of these suckers. So when the TTPS reaches their quota of X amount of vehicles for the day/night, at least let the officer walk away far enough so that we don't hear them telling their comrades to wrap it up. While I'm sitting waiting for my ticket, two officers walking to hand out tickets were almost cleared away by a speeding vehicle, other vehicles are speeding by, well over 80 km/h ('T' vehicles as well) and they were literally unbothered, so it's clear what their motive really is. Can we fix that?

4) Again, Linx.

5) The Police Service's motto is 'To Protect and Serve'. Now while I know some officers who are by the book, respectful and what not, a lot of officers need to learn how to lead by example. How do you expect the citizenry to respect the Service if while all we 'normal' citizens sit patiently in Marabella traffic, two Police X-Trails or better yet Hiluxes, blaze through the traffic, sirens wailing and all, only to pass the whole squad 15 minutes later, with the awesome freshness that is a Shaka punch?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 16th, 2017, 11:04 am

the way this speed testing is done on the highways, u deserve to get catch if u not aware it is going on yes. it really frigging obvious ....and at least one SOB on the opposite lane will warn.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 16th, 2017, 8:16 pm

Monkey Man wrote:the way this speed testing is done on the highways, u deserve to get catch if u not aware it is going on yes. it really frigging obvious ....and at least one SOB on the opposite lane will warn.

Nah Monkey, that's exactly why I got caught the other night..I was cruising at first, telling my wife I'm observing drivers on the other side and when I saw no one was flashing, I say well let me pick it up a bit..not more than 15 seconds later, I saw the flash in a particularly dark spot on the SSHH near the Golconda Flyover and even after I already got my picture taken and I was approaching where the police were pulling us aside, still no lights..idk if drivers bitter now or if I was just sour that night but..it serious..

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 16th, 2017, 8:21 pm

Some Drivers do not want to be spotted signaling to other drivers
They also probably told themselves that driver look like he's within the limit. Sometimes other drivers don't even know is a speed trap they watching

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 17th, 2017, 3:00 pm

the law not applicable yet, thanks.
Last edited by agent007 on June 21st, 2017, 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » June 17th, 2017, 7:54 pm

agent007 wrote:Well tuners, here what chupidness I do on the CRH by Aranjuez/El Socorro where the speed camera is. When I entered the Beetham heading east, I told myself to remember the speed camera but between Beetham and said camera, there were too much inconsiderate motorists on the roads driving on the right lane at 60kmph etc and some drivers just swerving from lane to lane without indication. I got a little gap and took it pronto to escape the bunch of drivers that didn't seem to know what they doing. Well I reach up onto the speed camera zone and I remembered too late. Like a manicou that now get spot in the bush (the expression of shock, disgust and sadness on my face) I managed to see the flash and I wise up one time! I real beat up on myself for this dumbness but gosh some drivers over doing it by driving so slow on the right and causing unnecessary congestion. I will let you guys know when I get the ticket and the amount they charge (if this law is in effect). Think I relaxing home for the rest of this weekend yes.

:angel: :angel:

Did you see a flash ?

Hope that was not the "John John Sniper" with his homemade rifle.

So is this "Photo Law" in effect ?

Maybe they testing or ...

Publishing Clearing House want to give you 1 M US$ :lol: :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 17th, 2017, 9:09 pm

How much times people gonna say the law is not in effect yet. The amendment is still being debated in parliament it was only passed in the senate

Postby RedVEVO » June 18th, 2017, 1:06 am

Pirate wrote:

And just for reference, I have been driving for over 15 years and not one ticket or warning self.

I get so much tickets ..
And I go to Court .. Do not ask why.

Now I driving like Ms Daisy .

I agree with ALL ALL those heavy fines $$$ - it time we slow the F...K down and obey the Laws.

Again , I driving like Ms Daisy .

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 20th, 2017, 12:03 am

Financial terrorism I say.

Police stop you and in one fell swoop yuh got ten points in yuh A@se twenty thousand in fines and the horror just start. Cyah pay, get ready to defacate in a bucket at the Maximum Security.

Just think about The Chief Justice, Marcia, Law Association VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE, ETC.

Plenty men leave Trini because ah isssue like this. Time to start writing the 41 members of Parliement, the press.