WHY ZABOCA SOOOOOO EXPENSIVE IN TRINIDAD?

Re: WHY ZABOCA SOOOOOO EXPENSIVE IN TRINIDAD?

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2020, 11:18 am

yuh know the saying
if you not eating
she may find a next man who would

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2020, 11:27 am

I know the saying, and I also know it wouldn't apply to me.
the perceived threat of someone doing what I don't want to do isn't a threat to me :lol:

Postby gastly369 » June 9th, 2020, 11:54 am

Wtaaa seeing here

Going protest around de savanna yes
#zaboccalivesmatter

Postby shogun » June 9th, 2020, 1:06 pm

88sins wrote:i doh eat tomato at all, not just choka, I doh even eat ketchup. & I eh eating nuttn that slimy or sappy or mushy. so ting like eddoes, ochro, pumpkin, mash potato, avocado, callaloo, etc, all dat out of bounds for me.
Prefer to eat my vegetables raw, &have a fondness for fresh picked ripe local fruits.

You eh eatin' nothing bruh? Mash potatoes? What???

Agree on the ochro though. Slime with no flavour payoff? Yeah, eff that.

Postby Rovin » June 9th, 2020, 5:48 pm

i eh know bout d mash potato 1 , i tort i a lil odd but like i starting to feel a lil more normel here now :P

like i say on d previous page all u hadda do to ease up on d orcho slime is cut it a few hrs b4 cooking & cook it well done

only ketchup i eat is heinz when i 1st discovered it yrs ago , stop eating all dem other crap "ketchup" since then , if i happen to buy outside food & not eating it at home then i simply dont ever put ketchup on it , i rather eat it dry than dem other sh1t ketchup

btw u must never put ketchup on chinese food , i dunno why d hell ppl does do dat ...... :agrue:

Hwells

Postby Hwells » June 9th, 2020, 6:34 pm

Rovin wrote:i eh know bout d mash potato 1 , i tort i a lil odd but like i starting to feel a lil more normel here now :P

like i say on d previous page all u hadda do to ease up on d orcho slime is cut it a few hrs b4 cooking & cook it well done

only ketchup i eat is heinz when i 1st discovered it yrs ago , stop eating all dem other crap "ketchup" since then , if i happen to buy outside food & not eating it at home then i simply dont ever put ketchup on it , i rather eat it dry than dem other sh1t ketchup

btw u must never put ketchup on chinese food , i dunno why d hell ppl does do dat ...... :agrue:

does usually put a lil line a ketchup on chinese food on top, but i like it with plenty soy sauce, salt addiction not good but what e go do.

as for original topic, have this guy from maraval does sell mi big big squash looking zaboca for $20. 1.5 to 2x the local size. does work with he. thing doh get black and ting inside and does have a real good buttery taste weeiiii :) :)

Postby r3iXmann » June 9th, 2020, 7:36 pm

It's all relative. This is what we pay in Australia for some of the tiniest avocados I've ever seen in my life.

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/prod ... ss-avocado

Could easily stuff a whole one in your mouth :(

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2020, 8:08 pm

Thing is, avocado is one of the fruits that you can pick before it full out on the tree and put to ripen. And once you keep it cold it won't ripen, so shipping is easy enough to avoid losses. So some people go pick it to sell as soon as they reach the size to look like an avocado.
That means you basically buying green fruit, and paying premium price for it.

Like I said, I don't eat it. But I have a issue with that practice, not just with avocado but with all fruits. If you pick it half ripe ok, but I HATE to see people picking fruits that now full or worse yet green. Picking fruits green you never get the full flavor of it. Zaboca is no exception.

Postby maj. tom » June 9th, 2020, 8:11 pm

r3iXmann wrote:It's all relative. This is what we pay in Australia for some of the tiniest avocados I've ever seen in my life.

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/prod ... ss-avocado

Could easily stuff a whole one in your mouth :(

These coming from Mexico? Because they look like the same in Canada for $5/bag of 5. https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/avocado/6000191273458
Would explain that crazy price in AU because of shipping.