Cost of Labor 2017

bassotronics

Cost of Labor 2017

Postby bassotronics » February 11th, 2017, 9:49 pm

Good night guys,
I would like to know what is the current price of paying a mason and a laborer to do construction work.
Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Last edited by bassotronics on February 13th, 2017, 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

urbandilema

Re: RE: Cost of Labour 2017

Postby urbandilema » February 12th, 2017, 12:09 am

bassotronics wrote:Good night guys,
I would like to know what is the current price of paying a mason and a laborer to do construction work.
Thanks in advance for any assistance.

I think some workers were 450 for a mason and 350 for a laborer Last I heard I may be wrong..

francis1979

Re: Cost of Labour 2017

Postby francis1979 » February 12th, 2017, 8:15 am

In for a response

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 12th, 2017, 9:50 am

Seems about right, however, most of them will work on a job basis only so it not so easy to find one willing to work daily.

alcom2222

Postby alcom2222 » February 12th, 2017, 10:30 am

Average pay is $400 for a mason and laborer is $270 and skill laborer is $300

linton

Postby linton » February 12th, 2017, 10:53 am

What hours do they work ? What should be a reasonable expectation for a mason's day, in terms of surface area of plastering?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » February 12th, 2017, 11:03 am

Job is a better bet ... you really can't get a worker to make a full days work unless you supervise them all day. .

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 12th, 2017, 11:20 am

cherrypopper wrote:Job is a better bet ... you really can't get a worker to make a full days work unless you supervise them all day. .

Well said.

bassotronics

Cost of Labour 2017

Postby bassotronics » February 12th, 2017, 1:25 pm

Would 1100 a day be enough to cover 3 men at this current time?

2 labourers
1 mason

SammyPolly

Postby SammyPolly » February 12th, 2017, 1:45 pm

$300 dollars per

Reez100

Postby Reez100 » February 12th, 2017, 2:07 pm

skilled worker $400
labourer $250-300
venezuelan labourer $200 (and they work hard)

urbandilema

Re: RE: Re: Cost of Labour 2017

Postby urbandilema » February 12th, 2017, 3:13 pm

Reez100 wrote:skilled worker $400
labourer $250-300
venezuelan labourer $200 (and they work hard)

Hmm best get a translator and a venez

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 12th, 2017, 6:14 pm

As stated earlier....but just to add :- Having observed workmen on many jobs the best thing is to do a work assessment and budget labour realistically and accordingly. Pay according to skill required x time to complete job. Always be upfront with timeframe to complete a job and hold them to it. Alot of these guys like to work to job sites a day.

No night labour cuz most likely they worked whole day and come to take ur money while sleeping on themselves.

Don't spoil workers ie let them organize their own food etc. Lil cold water no big thing. When they start asking for coffee and juice they on a bed and breakfast scene.

Too much of Trini and Guyanese workmen either lazy or not sufficiently skilled.

Try to avoid drunks and smartmen.

A smart thing to do I believe is to give eligible candidates a small job that can be done in a day and see how that goes before bigger jobs.

Postby toyolink » February 13th, 2017, 10:13 am

I have had to deal with the fact that 90% of construction workers introducing themselves as skilled tradesmen and when they are asked how to calculate concrete volumes they are at a loss.
Many want top dollar but report for work without even a trowel, hammer or level.
........$400 a day is possible, BUT!

matix

Postby matix » February 13th, 2017, 10:19 am

Get a job price and ask for a break down of the costs with the amount of days expected to complete said job. And negotiate from there. I'm currently paying a mason -$350
Laborer -$250
But I stay with them all day, that's the only downside.

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2017, 10:39 am

toyolink wrote:I have had to deal with the fact that 90% of construction workers introducing themselves as skilled tradesmen and when they are asked how to calculate concrete volumes they are at a loss.
Many want top dollar but report for work without even a trowel, hammer or level.
........$400 a day is possible, BUT!

!!!

steups the other day someone come to install a outlet into a cesspit because the old one get covered with concrete (the 6/8 inch pipe for the truck to put their hose in)

my boy come.....with a regular hammer and a small chisel...to buss 4 or 6 inch concrete......

i had to organise a hilti for him to use....as well a sledge hammer.....as well as a trowel to mix the concrete to put in the pipe after.....

alot of people i know who using venes for labour have no complaints at all

they say the venes sweeping up the place clean clean at the end of every workday as well and washing out tools and packing them up neat and nice

walking with their own food and the most they asking for is cold water

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » February 13th, 2017, 10:47 am

The reason I am asking is because I am paying a guy 1100 a day for 3 workers, 1 mason and 2 laborers. Now he is telling me he needs to re evaluate the cost since labor price went up. Is there any kind of document that involves this? I personally think Im paying them good. What you guys think?

Re: Cost of Labor 2017

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2017, 10:56 am

get 3-4 padnas to come and look at the job while the current fellas working
let them do as if they interested in taking over the work

then see if your current workers still want to raise their price.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 13th, 2017, 10:57 am

bassotronics wrote:The reason I am asking is because I am paying a guy 1100 a day for 3 workers, 1 mason and 2 laborers. Now he is telling me he needs to re evaluate the cost since labor price went up. Is there any kind of document that involves this? I personally think Im paying them good. What you guys think?

Tell him HYMC.....two years ago I had a guy come and quote me for a job, i explained the full scope. On the morning to start he came with 1 extra worker and say he underestimate the labour needed. Obviously he price went up. I told the wife tell him don't bother to start as I was in worl. If it isn't critical and you can get someone else do it.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » February 13th, 2017, 11:18 am

Real good advice here....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 13th, 2017, 11:39 am

Don't know how price of labor gone up. We in a recession you know. Plenty smart men and underqualified people calling top $ out there.

BTW in case youre planning on firing the current workmen....careful with hiring a new crew in the middle of a job.

In some cases the new crew will tell you that the old crew did everything wrong and as a result they have to redo the entire job.

And document everything. Or at least make a written record of the details of the job, dates completed and details. Just in case u get a pre-action protocol letter.

Postby toyolink » February 13th, 2017, 5:19 pm

A lot of the stuff going on is based on the fact that most clients hire construction workers because there is some view that they lucky to get people to do their work and this aint unique to the construction sector.
Look at the nightmare stories many have told with auto repairs etc.
Customers need to check on the performance history and references before hiring.
Customers must also understand that you have an obligation to pay fairly and on time, anyone they employ once performance is in accordance with arrangements.
Customers who go looking for deals and best price more frequently end up in a mess.
Presently the construction industry is in a down cycle and rates are certainly coming down, the smart and experienced construction service providers are responding to this simple fact (rather than earn possibly nothing).
BTW, a three day job will normally cost a bit more than a 6 month work opportunity.......the longer the job average daily rates are softer.

Postby gt4tified » February 16th, 2017, 12:32 pm

I know the going rate is around $400 for a mason and $300 for a labourer. My most recent experience was hiring a builder to put up a 10'x24' wooden shed, blocked around with plyboard and a simple shed roof. The builder charged me $2500 labour as a job price and completed it in two days.

I sometimes wondered if I had paid him a daily rate if I would have come out better...the first day he had 3 labourers plus himself, the second day just he and one other guy, as 80% of the work was completed on the first day. The second day, I took time off to be on the job site and I can say with great certainty that I was correct in paying a job price.

Postby De Dragon » February 16th, 2017, 1:07 pm

NEVER
1) Pay day rates
2) Hire friends or family
3) Pay anything in advance where if they leave the job, the cost to rehire someone will kill you.
4) leave them unsupervised.
5) Allow them to regulate material.
6) Allow work to start without a written agreement (subject to the magnitude of the work of course).
7) Let daas be your construction manager