Putting Meh Graphics for critique. New in the design dance.

IdeaCubeGFX

Putting Meh Graphics for critique. New in the design dance.

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 22nd, 2017, 5:01 pm

Good Day Tuners,

The name is Jonathan, I am new to the design field and studying to get some skills.
I am creating this thread to get honest and brutally honest feedback to my concepts
and random projects. These projects are NON commercial work and are simply for
design critique and doodles (Please note moderators).

Any fellow designers are welcome to hit me up with suggestions.
Thanks.

Stuff like this.
Make-up-Flyer-Sample.jpg

Email: ideacube.jdillon@gmail.com

#IdeaCubeGFX

Re: Putting Meh Graphics for critique. New in the design dance.

Postby rspann » January 22nd, 2017, 5:20 pm

Work looking nice, but I don't know what are the implications of using the CAL plane, if they will have objections. I know a friend who used some insurance companies logos in an ad and they real bend on him.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 22nd, 2017, 6:46 pm

I don't like the fonts used at all... I don't like the entire right panel. it should be another texture and colour. text should float more center. the alignment is off. it looks like wordArt. Get rid of the plane, 7 colours, and the pink graphic at the top and bottom. too dark throughout. Associating pink with makeup is old school.

I like the face and palm leaves.

check this..

No hard feeling.. I was a UX/UI consultant in a past life. You are on the right track!

Postby Monk BANzai » January 22nd, 2017, 7:27 pm

uncle sam wrote:I don't like the fonts used at all... I don't like the entire right panel. it should be another texture and colour. text should float more center. the alignment is off. it looks like wordArt. Get rid of the plane, 7 colours, and the pink graphic at the top and bottom. too dark throughout. Associating pink with makeup is old school.

I like the face and palm leaves.

check this..

No hard feeling.. I was a UX/UI consultant in a past life. You are on the right track!

what he said... I'm counting at least 3 fonts being used. Limit yourself to Two fonts max. Usee the Face as the selling point. And you may have to develop a logo-type or a full Brand Identity.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 22nd, 2017, 7:59 pm

Fonts definitely microsoft wordish and have less of a professional look.

Postby RBphoto » January 22nd, 2017, 8:09 pm

No boat ride promo as yet oar

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 22nd, 2017, 8:41 pm

But seriously take rb advice and hook up with them boat cruise people. . Is every weekend yunno plus the invitation does b rel dappa .

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 5:30 am

Thanks much, definitely no hard feelings, that is the kinda brutally honest feedback I am seeking. I am currently working on improving my grid choices and building a suitable selection of fonts. As for the branded aircraft, I did over look it, so these are the things I would definitely be looking to improve in the future.

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 5:39 am

Any suggestions for books / resources I may use to improve overall harmony in design?

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 6:19 am

cherrypopper wrote:But seriously take rb advice and hook up with them boat cruise people. . Is every weekend yunno plus the invitation does b rel dappa .

I actually should consider this, I guess I was more limiting myself to the corporate / product advertising view that I kinda never really looked into it. Will start to explore for sure.

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 6:38 am

This is an old flyer layout I was toying with that I took out some elements just to get an idea what I could have done better and to get an overall rating. I would point out I had some fonts replaced while editing it as re building my PC and just want to keep content coming, I am aware of the "Electrical Serivces" typo, Didn't change it as font will change.

Latent-Air-Con1.jpg

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 23rd, 2017, 7:59 am

IdeaCubeGFX wrote:This is an old flyer layout I was toying with that I took out some elements just to get an idea what I could have done better and to get an overall rating. I would point out I had some fonts replaced while editing it as re building my PC and just want to keep content coming, I am aware of the "Electrical Serivces" typo, Didn't change it as font will change.

Latent-Air-Con1.jpg

You should probably do a course... I think COSTAATT has a decent programme.

your blues are not cold enough.. especially your second panel. The fire effect is over done, remove it entirely. No hot colours..
look at the innovair (I think) billboard on the highway with the baby. The baby looks cool under the blanket.. the woman in your artwork looks hot like the AC isn't working..

Kill the text outlines entirely for everything. Fonts are too thick and ugly. Too many different shades of the same colour.. look at the footer that 3D gradient you should do away with.

the trailing effect behind "escape the heat" well you can see that problem on your own. Also don't let the Text touch the AC unit.

side note: adding pics of workers doing work is old school. If it's a AC place we can assume it has workers.

Continue working.. Good luck!
Last edited by uncle sam on January 23rd, 2017, 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » January 23rd, 2017, 10:22 am

The blue area with all the txt looks confusing. U need to structure it to be easy on the eyes and readable.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 23rd, 2017, 10:29 am

did this for you quickly to show what i was referring to.. please don't use this to discuss/reference font placement or balance... its just to show how with perspective (use of the face as the center) you can change the feel of a piece of work...

makeupsample.jpg

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 4:46 pm

I actually started a Graphic Design course with YTEPP where I was advised to get people to critique my work, and thus the creation of this post. I have intention to either go SBCS or COSTAATT for the upcoming semester where I am using this current course to get traction so I don't start the course totally a noob. Seeing the points highlighted by new eyes where I am still in my own thought thinking the "design" looks cool sheds a new light on how I need to think and clearly need to expand my knowledge of design theory. LOVING the AV Tours redo.. Thais the direction I desire to be able to reach.

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 4:48 pm

So simple and yet so effective (Still in awe at the AV redo). Ok back on the designs again. Thanks.

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 23rd, 2017, 5:04 pm

:lol: "Info on getting hoes and beyotches and drugs to your doorstep can be placed here as well" #DED

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 23rd, 2017, 8:44 pm

Basically, try to make all the elements flow with each other. Sorta blend them with some shadows and soft colours
Eg. with the plane , some clouds in the back would make it look less outatiming

With the text, use soft colours generally, nothing too harsh or primary.
And ease up with the outlines too, a really thin one is okay, but the thick ones seem unprofessional

Postby SUPAstarr » January 23rd, 2017, 10:56 pm

Critique me
1485195316127.jpg

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 24th, 2017, 5:06 am

I realize I use the thick fonts because I seem to try to hard to make the text seen. I'm using emphasis on the wrong areas and in the end getting that non aesthetic outcome. Really looking back at my stuff and seeing a consistent pattern with the font and outline stuff.

Like these are some stuff I did to practice while I was selling some stuff I had and it consistent how I use thicker fonts

exersize-bike_620-3772_400.jpg

folding-bike-clean-v2.jpg

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » January 24th, 2017, 5:08 am

SUPAstarr wrote:Critique me

Thais stamina man dey? He bring out a new song? we bai... lolll

Postby SUPAstarr » January 24th, 2017, 5:22 am

1485173849829.jpg

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 24th, 2017, 5:47 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:did this for you quickly to show what i was referring to.. please don't use this to discuss/reference font placement or balance... its just to show how with perspective (use of the face as the center) you can change the feel of a piece of work...

makeupsample.jpg

you sure that number correct?
hoes and beyotches not found

Postby rspann » January 24th, 2017, 4:36 pm

I thought is only me call the number.

viralbee

Postby viralbee » January 24th, 2017, 7:48 pm

Go check out a website called Ads of The World. It's a massive online portfolio of the best design work from agencies all over the world. Also I'd recommend getting some books on Amazon related to design, colour and typography.

IdeaCubeGFX

Postby IdeaCubeGFX » February 7th, 2017, 6:41 am

viralbee wrote:Go check out a website called Ads of The World. It's a massive online portfolio of the best design work from agencies all over the world. Also I'd recommend getting some books on Amazon related to design, colour and typography.

Thanks. Checking it out, I got some books on kindle. Designing on a grid and some others. Had some very high ratings and I was advised to start from the building blocks then work my way up. Gotta focus on proper layout and typography.

viralbee

Postby viralbee » February 7th, 2017, 6:57 am

That's good advice! Also, most local advertising agencies in TT take in interns around school holiday periods. If you can get in one you could get yourself some hands on experience and proper direction from industry pros.