Re: My DIY house Build...

Postby supercharged turbo » February 22nd, 2017, 3:29 pm

$500..thats cheaper than the company

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 22nd, 2017, 10:59 pm

You can use Steel beams on top a concrete column or even a short stanchion (column) for installing a steel framed roof.

With regards beams on top concrete column, a plate with the necessary hold down bolt is casted on top to the desired level for the beam to be placed upon. There is much debate about whether you should bolt or weld. This is dependant on design.

Personnel at any one of our leading structural steel for buildings company can be consulted eg Sital, Yorke Structures et al

deadstuntman

Postby deadstuntman » March 10th, 2017, 6:45 pm

rspann wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/download/file.php?id=380669&mode=view
No need for massive beams though.

rspann, what section sizes was used in that pic? column and beam...
orr what is a normal section size for a two story house?

Postby rspann » March 10th, 2017, 7:11 pm

Columns were 8x8 35 lbs Mains 6.5x12, 32 lbs and secondaries 4x12 26 lbs fillers 4x12 19 lbs. Got a real steal of a deal on three already fabricated buildings including that one you seeing there.
Last edited by rspann on March 10th, 2017, 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 10th, 2017, 8:28 pm

What spans were between all those???

Postby rspann » March 10th, 2017, 8:44 pm

30 ft on the width with a 4 ft overhang and 20 ft between columns. Notice no props under the floor? I used whalers to support the ply deck but use two short pieces of 2x4 between the webs to support them. Another thing I do is to block up downstairs first , gives additional support to the deck when doing upstairs .

York

Postby York » March 11th, 2017, 5:00 pm

What's the cost of Readymix now? For foundation and floor - flat. Who has competitive prices - Advance / Central?

York

Postby York » March 11th, 2017, 5:01 pm

And cement? Haven't done any projects in a lil while ...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 11th, 2017, 5:19 pm

20ft between columns? do you get any vibrations? I use the same 8x8x35lb but did 12.5ft apart. Spann, who did you get the aluminum windows from? Looking for 12 aluminum windows, who has the best prices and quality?

Postby rspann » March 11th, 2017, 6:13 pm

I use steel windows ,but there is a guy in Aranguez who makes them, used to work Caribbean Glass, I'll get his no from my brother. No vibrations, the walls are under the beams so extra support.

Postby rspann » March 11th, 2017, 6:19 pm

York wrote:What's the cost of Readymix now? For foundation and floor - flat. Who has competitive prices - Advance / Central?

You ever tried PreMix? Call the rep for a best price. 499 3990 Sham. Last price I paid was just over $900 per cu m.

zagie

Postby zagie » March 11th, 2017, 7:21 pm

rspann need some advice on a porch size of 15'x10'x 10' high joining a concrete structure, info on size of steel beams that can be used, porch load would be basically, 4" thick concrete floor, and roof

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 11th, 2017, 8:15 pm

rspann wrote:I use steel windows ,but there is a guy in Aranguez who makes them, used to work Caribbean Glass, I'll get his no from my brother. No vibrations, the walls are under the beams so extra support.

Great will look out for it.

badandy

Postby badandy » March 12th, 2017, 10:19 am

Anyone has a septic tank and soakaway design other than ttbs?

ImageImage

Postby adnj » March 12th, 2017, 12:00 pm

badandy wrote:Anyone has a septic tank and soakaway design other than ttbs?

ImageImage

This is the current standard. The dimensions depend on capacity. Capacity depends on the number of occupants.

The correct dimensions and scale are required for WASA submission approvals.

There are some slightly different designs that have been approved.

York

Postby York » March 13th, 2017, 12:32 pm

$830 per cu m. that's $640 per cu yard. PREMIX...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 10th, 2017, 10:19 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking for 12 aluminum windows, who has the best prices and quality?

ABEL has good prices online and the quality ok.

Looking for someone to build 48"(h) x 30"(w) aluminium sliders with insect screens. Unfortunately Abel didn't have this size.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 10th, 2017, 2:05 pm

sweeks, Able I recently checked and did not like the prices. Delta I did not like the quality. Ended up going with reflection glass in Marabella.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 10th, 2017, 2:55 pm

Aluminum or steel....??

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 10th, 2017, 5:48 pm

Aluminum. Casing, sliding with double movement and push up type.

Postby Mark! » April 11th, 2017, 8:04 am

I have always wondered about this. I know there are somethings you wont be able to physically do on your own, but why not do everything else.

No disrespect to the skilled persons in the construction industry, but why cant I learn how to do what they do? I used my brain in school and I am physically able. In hard times like this you have to be willing to make the effort for the rewards.

Good luck with the build Nos.

Postby gt4tified » April 19th, 2017, 1:28 am

Saw this on FB...some inspiration, if you may:
<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FInTheKnowByAOL%2Fvideos%2F812851018870681%2F&show_text=0&width=400" width="400" height="400" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 19th, 2017, 2:15 am

gt4tified wrote:Saw this on FB...some inspiration, if you may:
<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FInTheKnowByAOL%2Fvideos%2F812851018870681%2F&show_text=0&width=400" width="400" height="400" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

i call bs

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2017, 5:52 am

when you go to collect walk with a carpenters square and double check that they are all square :)
built some burglar proofing for a friend who had 12 of them installed,
I used a jig to quickly frame up the steel square........

sweeks wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking for 12 aluminum windows, who has the best prices and quality?

ABEL has good prices online and the quality ok.

Looking for someone to build 48"(h) x 30"(w) aluminium sliders with insect screens. Unfortunately Abel didn't have this size.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » April 21st, 2017, 8:33 am

Hey nos how de building going? I forgot it was your DIY house. Going to check you soon for some perlite.

demented

Postby demented » May 15th, 2018, 7:41 am

Any updates on this project?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 15th, 2018, 8:01 am

Well the project came to a dead halt due to an issue with the land. The individual also sold the land to 2 other persons..SO.. we are trying to get it sorted out, and prevent me from going to jail

Postby *KRONIK* » May 15th, 2018, 8:49 am

nos_specialist wrote:Well the project came to a dead halt due to an issue with the land. The individual also sold the land to 2 other persons..SO.. we are trying to get it sorted out, and prevent me from going to jail
How u get urself in that bacchanal boi?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 15th, 2018, 8:59 am

Well. 1 LAWYERS..

I did my purchase via a so called reputable lawyer in sanfernando..

Other transactions were done by d guy and other ppl by other lawyers and stuff..

And well everybody has some kinda stake in it. So I paused everything until this sorts out.

demented

Postby demented » May 15th, 2018, 11:53 am

Lord, headache upon headache for you nos. This is why i am scared to buy land even using lawyers. hope you get through.