"No Stopping" Ticket Advice

Gunsessionz

"No Stopping" Ticket Advice

Postby Gunsessionz » October 12th, 2016, 10:20 pm

Hey tuners this is the very first time I am being issued a ticket so any advice given would be really helpful.

I was on my way to pickup my family from Piarco airport where i got a Phone call from MT. Hope General Hospital concerning my aunt who has fallen ill had to go into surgery immediately. Because of the nature of call I quickly pulled aside, completely forgot the No Stopping Sign (This is exactly opposite the car part) where people normally park up. Immediately the road was blocked of by a wrecker that sped up and drifted blocking the entire road, (This got me very scared, wondering if it was some sort of criminal activities) Then came the police asking for my licence and insurance. I asked the officer if he can listen to why i pulled aside to take the call but he wouldn't listen and indicated to me to get the documents, I asked him again if he would just hear me out as i pleaded with him but he didn't and said he would arrest me if i fail to comply a 3rd time (Understandable). I got the documents out and gave to him while waiting i saw another officer nearby and asked him how much this fine is and he said $1000,00. I told him I only stopped as it was an emergency phone call and he was willing to listen as i told him about my aunt and her condition as her kidneys 1 failed and the other failing as the doctors called to let me know what was happen and that they needed to take action now.

I am the only person who visits my aunt, helps her and keeps in contact with her this is why they contacted me. She don't have any kids or husband. Now the officer asked me if i told the other guy this and I said he wouldn't give me a chance to speak. He said well everyone has their own judgement. I said ok officer thank you for listening.

Now after the issuing officer returned and issued my ticket I asked him if he would listen to my case. He said yes go ahead. I said my aunt is in the hospital and He cut in and said "what she dead or something"? I said NO she's very sick and that call was from Mt. Hope the doctor letting me know what was happening as they needed an immediate ok to perform a 50% life or death surgery. He said ok if you want to contest it you can go right ahead. I said i have no idea how to do such as this is the very first time i'm being issued a ticket, he said this is normal as he have gotten tickets himself. I also asked him what should I have done in a situation like that? I stated I normally leave the phone to ring out as I cannot talk and drive at the same time but the nature of the call needed urgent intervention. He said i should've gotten a bluetooth headset but i told him i cannot focus on the road and talk he said ok.

I need you advice Tuners, I felt very disrespected from the way he addressed my aunt. I also felt like i didn't have a voice to explain myself as he didn't care to listen before the ticket but after.
To pay i will pay but i just need some advice.

ru$$ell

Re: No Stopping Ticket Advice

Postby ru$$ell » October 12th, 2016, 10:25 pm

wrong place wrong time buddy

Postby gastly369 » October 12th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Gov need morny gee dem gee dem

But as Russell said wrong place wrong time

Save yourself the hassle and pay the ticket

Gunsessionz

Postby Gunsessionz » October 12th, 2016, 10:50 pm

I'd have to do that guys. Thanks for sharing. Also what's this about 14 days period? Is this before the date to court or what?

Postby Morpheus » October 13th, 2016, 3:51 am

That's really tough. Too bad the occifer didn't hear you out. But then again they probably fed up hear that excuse or similar. Who is to know if you were in fabrication mode?

Tough luck. And I hope Aunty is ok

Postby Spitfir3 » October 13th, 2016, 4:10 am

easiest thing is just to pay it and move on
its just luck of the draw sometimes you'll get a considerate officer and then sometimes you'll get the type that would let your wife offload a newborn in the backseat while he christens his new gel ink pen on a fresh piece of ticket paper

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 13th, 2016, 5:27 am

Men are telling you to pay the ticket because contesting it and failing could result in an increased fine. So this fear has them unwilling to contest what may be an injustice.

The no stopping zone is meant for deliberate and regular situations which cause uneccesary traffic build up, or sometimes security reasons. it does not apply to stopping for the reason of handling an emergency. in this case i would say that a phonecall requiring a life/death decision meets the requirements of an emergency. If ur story is true. U should be able to get a written and signed letter by the doctor confirming the date and time the call was made and the nature of the call. This would prove that you are not making it up.

But u might also have to explain how u knew it was an emergency call before answering the fone. Since admitting you answered the fone while driving in court could get you a fine for that. So you would have to have known the call was an emergency before answering, thus choosing to stop to take it as you did not have your bluetooth.

It's up to you. As you see it can be alot of inconvenience to you now to prove your innocence. Some people might rather pay the fine than go thru the hassle.

I am not a legal professional but i can help you get in contact with someone that deals with this sort of thing if you want to pursue it.

These things all depend on the nature of the emergency and if it truly warrants a breach of traffic instructions. Some ppl may think it's ok to use the bus route to the hospital because their wife is in labour. But this might not qualify as much as someone with a bulletwound bleeding out in your backseat.

I would say using the bus route for a wife in a labour is more about you making the decision that you're willing to pay the fine if caught as long as you get her there at the quickest time. Some officers might let you off and even assist you with an escort. Others, as some say will let her moan in the background while they take your details and write up the ticket. The officer may consider himself, not in a position to judge. And so by writing you the ticket is deferring the whole scenario to be judged in the court.

Sorry long write up. Good morning and good luck.

car

Postby car » October 13th, 2016, 7:04 am

Easier to pay the ticket. Too much dramas to try to contest it.

Postby pete » October 13th, 2016, 8:31 am

I'd also suggest a cell phone mount for your car so you can answer the phone without having to stop or hold it.

Postby RBphoto » October 13th, 2016, 8:38 am

Got to pay bro. Hope family is OK.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 13th, 2016, 9:39 am

hard luck day but you will have to pay that ticket. Next time don't stop there, pull into the car park or drive out of that area first , then answer the call.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 13th, 2016, 10:07 am

bluesclues wrote:I am not a legal professional but i can help you get in contact with someone that deals with this sort of thing if you want to pursue it.

You could pass for writer with them stories all the time.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » October 13th, 2016, 10:20 am

Gunsessionz wrote:I'd have to do that guys. Thanks for sharing. Also what's this about 14 days period? Is this before the date to court or what?

You do have 14 days from issued date to pay after that you need to attend court on the date stated on the ticket to plead guilty and pay or not-guilty and contest the ticket.

Contesting will easily take up to 1 year as the 1st date for hearing your case may be about 4 months time.

Had a similar experience and paid TT$900 on a TT$1,000 ticket due to some scratches on my ticket by the officer.(error when entering address).

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » October 13th, 2016, 11:04 am

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:
Gunsessionz wrote:I'd have to do that guys. Thanks for sharing. Also what's this about 14 days period? Is this before the date to court or what?

You do have 14 days from issued date to pay after that you need to attend court on the date stated on the ticket to plead guilty and pay or not-guilty and contest the ticket.

Contesting will easily take up to 1 year as the 1st date for hearing your case may be about 4 months time.

Had a similar experience and paid TT$900 on a TT$1,000 ticket due to some scratches on my ticket by the officer.(error when entering address).

You have until the morning of the court date to pay the ticket

Re: "No Stopping" Ticket Advice

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 13th, 2016, 11:10 am

even though u have a valid point it may not be worth d time\hassle to contest it so best u gee d gobment d $ [that they need to teef later] & move on with ur life .... :|

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » October 13th, 2016, 11:20 am

I would contest
1. You have a valid case( depends on the magistrate attitude on the morning )
2. Majority of the time the officer issuing the ticket is a NO show ( happened to me twice, once you dont mind going to court which is kind a waste of time when these boops dont show up)
3. In the event you reach to court and start to cold sweat, I ve seen people come in and pay on the court date itself , once its done b4 9.00am on the date.
Last edited by nissan4life on October 13th, 2016, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2016, 11:21 am

not worth the hassle to fight it

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 13th, 2016, 1:11 pm

Sometimes I wonder if the police forget that their motto is to protect and serve. You have to I interact with the public everyday...the govt should put some training in place to show these hip-hop they should interact and talk to people in a professional manner....

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Fight it. My father in law fighting a ticket with AATT and twice they have not shown up to Arima magistrate court. One more time the magistrate say he will throw it out

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 13th, 2016, 3:44 pm

So many betas lol

Postby rollingstock » October 13th, 2016, 6:58 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Sometimes I wonder if the police forget that their motto is to protect and serve. You have to I interact with the public everyday...the govt should put some training in place to show these hip-hop they should interact and talk to people in a professional manner....

Huh?

What happened to following the law?

So everytime someone use the hot sheit excuse for Speeding police hadda check for skid marks?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 13th, 2016, 7:54 pm

Why is it that people find it so hard to pay to park for an hour, or use the FREE cell phone parking lot when waiting to pick up people at the airport. So boldfaced that they even parking directly in front of the no stopping no waiting signs and vex when you tell them they not allowed to park there

Postby Morpheus » October 13th, 2016, 8:26 pm

^^Cause "we" too damn lazy.
Ent people does pull up by doubles stand and order from the driver's seat?
Trinis always wanna park by the entrance.....

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 14th, 2016, 4:24 am

make sure everything on the ticket correct including the date. I once got a ticket early a January month and the ossifer put the only year date and i didnt say anything went in front the court and the judge dismiss it. Also if he wuking airport i doubt he going to go puna magistrate court to answer every ticket, most time the ossifer doh show up and they dismiss the matter. Is a chance yuh hadda take padna, pay it or wait and see on the court date and say yuh now remember the ticket and taut yuh had to come to court or somthing and the judge mite tell u jus pay the 1000. In any case the law is the law but as polise commishimer Gibbs told the polise to have some compassion and understanding that not every case is warranted to be ticket and they run d man back to canada.

Postby De Dragon » October 14th, 2016, 4:33 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Sometimes I wonder if the police forget that their motto is to protect and serve. You have to I interact with the public everyday...the govt should put some training in place to show these hip-hop they should interact and talk to people in a professional manner....

Huh?

What happened to following the law?

So everytime someone use the hot sheit excuse for Speeding police hadda check for skid marks?

This. Said officer and many like him have probably heard dozens of excuses by lawbreakers.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 14th, 2016, 4:50 am

need you advice Tuners, I felt very disrespected from the way he addressed my aunt. I also felt like i didn't have a voice to explain myself as he didn't care to listen before the ticket but after.
To pay i will pay but i just need some advice.

Babylon ent dey 2 listen.

Tell it 2a judge...in ur bess court clothes.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 14th, 2016, 5:35 am

screwbash wrote:make sure everything on the ticket correct including the date. I once got a ticket early a January month and the ossifer put the only year date and i didnt say anything went in front the court and the judge dismiss it. Also if he wuking airport i doubt he going to go puna magistrate court to answer every ticket, most time the ossifer doh show up and they dismiss the matter. Is a chance yuh hadda take padna, pay it or wait and see on the court date and say yuh now remember the ticket and taut yuh had to come to court or somthing and the judge mite tell u jus pay the 1000. In any case the law is the law but as polise commishimer Gibbs told the polise to have some compassion and understanding that not every case is warranted to be ticket and they run d man back to canada.

Arima Magistrate Court, most of the time Airport Authority officers do attend court and the Arima magistrate is not very lenient