Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2020, 8:49 pm

Redman wrote:
Redman wrote:Govt has had the ability to levy on a property for unpaid taxes....since there was a tax.
Nothing new.

Yeah but its aimed at Injun Land owners .

Its an Injun Tax

Lol.

I missed your bigotry, for its base simplistic point of view
Indian was selling doubles and roti in a shed side de road, and behind it was a big house.
Selling pumpkin and bodi in the market, but going home to a nice house.

Injun tax!

Injun does ban de belly, but sew bskc torn clothes and fix they house good to live.

So tax it.... More than cause u paid vat on dat.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2020, 8:50 pm

Hiw much beethsm and sealots playing in property tax?

Postby maj. tom » October 5th, 2020, 8:57 pm

$3.50

Postby MaxPower » October 5th, 2020, 9:04 pm

matr1x wrote:Weren't they sending ppl to check houses and coincident that alot of houses were then broken into.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm

Slim,

Do they come in your house?

Postby zoom rader » October 5th, 2020, 9:48 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:
Redman wrote:Govt has had the ability to levy on a property for unpaid taxes....since there was a tax.
Nothing new.

Its an Injun Tax

Lol.

Indian was selling doubles and roti in a shed side de road, and behind it was a big house.

Injun tax!

Injun does ban de belly, but sew bskc torn clothes and fix they house good to live.

Redman doh have one arse pay, he in an HDC house

Postby alfa » October 5th, 2020, 9:51 pm

sMASH wrote:Hiw much beethsm and sealots playing in property tax?

Better question is who going in these areas to collect property tax? Once again it's the law abiding citizen alone who will feel the brunt

Postby 88sins » October 5th, 2020, 9:58 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:
Nothing new.

Its an Injun Tax

Lol.

Injun tax!

Redman doh have one arse pay, he in an HDC house

HDC will be factoring in property tax in their rentals, and for sure finance companies will do the same with their mortgages.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 5th, 2020, 11:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:$3.50
Threefidddyyyyy

Postby matr1x » October 6th, 2020, 9:25 am

You will have to pay online. They have been pushing epayemnt for the last 2 months..

Interesting they start with residential. So my sources were right. They are beginning the land grab. I am sorry " property resettlement act" woops!

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2020, 5:27 pm

Redman wrote:88 you throwing out Red Herrings.

BUT

I say implement the tax.....however reduce the tax to whatever level...change the formula.
While I think its reasonable in terms of 3% ArV- I take the economic points.

However the existence of a tax forces people to sign document, attest to ownership and declare beneficial interests.
It is a way to get started on the resolving land fraud-not just ministers and big wigs but also those that defraud small people.

I think we need to get going on that-22Billion in fraudulent deeds says something.

As usual the PNM will throw out the most illogical "solution" and as usual Red Plastic Bag will defend it to the hilt. This whole land ownership thing is bull, just like changing the currency was supposed to impede money laundering :roll:

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2020, 6:04 pm

Why is it illogical...you saying that land fraud doesn’t exist?

Postby MG Man » October 7th, 2020, 4:24 pm

Redman wrote:Why is it illogical...you saying that land fraud doesn’t exist?

you dare upset all dem honest humble injun who put up rental properties with no approvals and pocketing money tax free every month?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 7th, 2020, 4:37 pm

ethics?

if there exists corruption somewhere in the ether, then it excuses mine

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 12th, 2020, 9:16 pm

http://www.looptt.com/content/curbside- ... x-measures

Curbside valuations? Hosein questions property tax measures

San Juan/Barataria MP Saddam Hosein has raised questions regarding valuation measures which he said he received information on, including the use of stamp duty and curbside assessments to form valuations.

Speaking in Parliament today discussing the 2021 Budget, Hosein said he received information on a Memorandum which referred to curbside evaluations for property tax, where valuators would not have to enter the property.

‘I am further informed that valuators are conducting curbside valuations. There’s a document titled ‘Process for Use of Data by the District Revenue Office’ by the Valuation Division, to facilitate the development of the valuation role. This document was also signed off by the acting Commissioner of Valuations, dated August 11, 2020 where they are talking about curbside/roadside valuations for property and there’s a list of items that they are asking people to do…’

‘…to take photos, to take GPS coordinates, to look to see how much toilets somebody have, I don’t know how they would do that from looking outside of the building. They want to find out how much carports, pools, storage sheds if you have. They want to find out about the construction details, foundation, beams, columns, A/C.’

‘So they’re standing up by the road and taking pictures of your house to see how much air condition you have and how much bathrooms you have, and how much pool you have.’

‘This is a completely shortcut and illegal method. They have to perform the proper valuations for persons in order to get what they require in order to pay property tax.’

He said he has also received information that stamp duty calculations are being used to create valuations for property tax:

‘It has been brought to my attention that the Valuation Division is working feverishly to populate the valuation role so that the property tax can be calculated and collected.

‘Government wants to ensure that it can collect property taxes in these harsh economic times. I have a Memorandum dated September 1, 2020 [from] the Acting Commissioner of Valuations.

‘In this Memorandum, a directive has been given that they must now ramp up the valuation exercise to populate the valuation role. I am informed of the practice that is taking place at that Division right now, is that if a person submitted a deed for the purposes of stamp duty for purchasing a property or by way of deed or gift, and a value is given to determine what the stamp duty will be, the Valuation Division is now using that value placed on the stamp duty to assess your property.’

‘That is an illegal exercise that is taking place. You cannot use the value used to assess stamp duty to assess property tax. It is two different bases. One is that of market value, the other is determined on th e annual rental value. They are placing a value on your property without you completing a valuation return form, which is a requirement under the law.’

‘The purpose for which you were submitting your information was for stamp duty and not for property tax. They are using your information for another purpose. This practice must stop as it is illegal, it is a shortcut method.’

Hosein also asked how would government confirm that 50 per cent of all properties were in fact valued in order to go ahead with the process:

‘The [Finance] Minister announced that property tax is coming. According to the law, government can only collect property tax when 50 percent of the properties in Trinidad and Tobago are valued. I would like the Minister of Finance to show us the area on the maps which have been valued. Is it the 19 constituencies on this side of the House?’

‘What is the total number of properties in Trinidad and Tobago to determine 50 per cent?

During his 2021 budget presentation on October 5, Imbert said government aims to begin the collection of property tax in fiscal 2021.

He said the Commissioner of Valuations will be making mandatory requests for information from property owners in the near future.

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2020, 9:18 pm

injun tax.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2020, 9:34 pm

sMASH wrote:injun tax.
You spot on

I have been saying this for years now, this tax is aimed at Injun folk.

It is blantant racism.

Yet still proton supports this cause it is his beard and butter.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 12th, 2020, 9:38 pm

i go tax yuh

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2020, 9:49 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:i go tax yuh
Dogs waiting for your skunt and the likes of you .

You lot are bandits setting up peoples homes.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 12th, 2020, 9:51 pm

love you too

Postby 88sins » October 12th, 2020, 10:10 pm

So, wait, lemme see if I understand this madness correctly.
In this hard af time of economic contraction where people losing their jobs left and right, the ministry of fine ants under the direction of clown inbutt has ordered the valuations division to use property sale prices as listed when you pay stamp duty to form a guesstimate of what they feel your property could rent for according to what you paid for it. And he eh seeing the defect in that. Allyuh feel they kinda want that money in joke. The man want it so bad like he salivating just thinking about it.
One would think that if you are smart enough to qualify to be a minister in government, at the very least you would know the difference between buying and renting, and understand that something might cost a lot to buy but not be able to fetch much rent. Yuh might pay 6 million for a house on 50 acres in in d bush behind Erin, but how much rent you really yuh could get for it if nobody wants to live that far in d bush

Seriously tho, think about it
If less than 50% of all property owners filed and submitted data after all this time, even after he technically deceived the population about it being mandatory to submit the information they wanted when it wasn't in an effort to panic people into submitting information, that means that more than half of the population doesn't support this proposed property tax. That's means, the majority of the property owning population does not want this. So other than these people being arseholes and money hungry parasites, what is their reasoning for forcing this on the people? Besides the usual "we need to do dis cuz we need d mornee cuz we eh ha no mornee" song?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 13th, 2020, 3:43 am

karma is a beyotch. they retard leader call the hindu schools cow sheds and most doctors and big lawyers came out of there today, even minister of works probably come out of one and he driving 2 mil $ car and have paper. they wanna create ah indian tax let them go ahead and you will see the indian community will prosper more while they own become more criminals and burdens to society.
Last edited by screwbash on October 13th, 2020, 3:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 13th, 2020, 3:57 am

88sins wrote:So, wait, lemme see if I understand this madness correctly.
In this hard af time of economic contraction where people losing their jobs left and right, the ministry of fine ants under the direction of clown inbutt has ordered the valuations division to use property sale prices as listed when you pay stamp duty to form a guesstimate of what they feel your property could rent for according to what you paid for it. And he eh seeing the defect in that. Allyuh feel they kinda want that money in joke. The man want it so bad like he salivating just thinking about it.
One would think that if you are smart enough to qualify to be a minister in government, at the very least you would know the difference between buying and renting, and understand that something might cost a lot to buy but not be able to fetch much rent. Yuh might pay 6 million for a house on 50 acres in in d bush behind Erin, but how much rent you really yuh could get for it if nobody wants to live that far in d bush

Seriously tho, think about it
If less than 50% of all property owners filed and submitted data after all this time, even after he technically deceived the population about it being mandatory to submit the information they wanted when it wasn't in an effort to panic people into submitting information, that means that more than half of the population doesn't support this proposed property tax. That's means, the majority of the property owning population does not want this. So other than these people being arseholes and money hungry parasites, what is their reasoning for forcing this on the people? Besides the usual "we need to do dis cuz we need d mornee cuz we eh ha no mornee" song?

with pnm style of government which is like obama style where the govt creates the agenda and decides what to do to the counrty either bad or good to their advantage.
the unc which is like trump style where the business chambers dictate to the govt how the economy should be run and it is a business model of governance with the govt implementing the social services side of the model.
this is y all business tend to prosper in the UNC type of governance but in the PNM style only a few big business prosper and they all belong to the 1% such as what goin on in movie town central now and in el socorro south where swamp land and the caroni reserve is being backfilled and the 1% given the land to build big business. take a drive behind rotoplastic and see f you not stopped by the big boys. the big chain supermarket getting USD but car dealers sucking the economy. you as a small business owner cant skybox items without getting raped by customs but them 1% distrbutor in el socorro south behind wasa probaby on some garden land the govt seize and them getting usd to bring nonsense in and overcharge people with attitude. eric williams created the black dependency syndrome to get votes after he give away the oil for 100 years an the new public utility minister wanna say unc extend the desalcot water agreement to 2035 and wasa hadda pay that bill, y he aint say wasa hadda pay that bill even tho his govt kill point lisas

Postby maj. tom » October 13th, 2020, 9:42 am

Hosein: Illegal procedures used for property valuations

Government’s Valuation Division is using illegal procedures to assess people’s properties such as use of stamp duty and also having assessors standing outside properties on the curb taking pictures to assess the property’s fixtures and facets, UNC MP Barataria San Juan MP Saddam Hosein said yesterday.

Hosein, an attorney stressed the point during yesterday’s Parliament debate of the 2021 Budget. He slammed the division’s modus operandi of doing property tax valuation. Government has said the tax will be collected this fiscal year.

Hosein noted a September 4 memo from the acting Valuation Division head directing ramping- up of exercises to populate the property rolls. When half of the rolls are populated the tax can be collected.

But Hosein said it was illegal for Valuation to use as a short cut, the stamp duty on people’s deeds to assess the tax.

“You can’t use stamp duty to assess property tax. It’s two different bases. One is determined on market value and the other (tax is assessed on annual rateable value.”

He said Valuation, in using stamp duty assessment was putting values on properties without people completing valuation return forms which is a requirement under the law.

Hosein said another August 20 Valuation document states conditions for Valuation officers to go out and take information on people’s properties.

But this involves officers taking photos of people’s homes from the pavement, doing GPS co-ordinates, assessing how many toilets people have, how many pools, carports, beams, sheds, columns, air conditioning units and the dates of the building’s construction.

“This is illegal, they have to do the proper valuation for people for them to get what is required to pay the tax,” Hosein said, appealing for Government to hold its hand on the tax in the harsh economic environment.

He also criticised Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s general election “griping” about a UNC plan to use Unit Trust Corporation (UTC) funds to run T&T.

He said Rowley didn’t know what was going on in his team since the Recovery Roadmap Phase 2 report recommends using $3 billion from the UTC to fund expenditure for three months.

“And it’s the same UTC…. this is hypocrisy,” he said.

Questioning the cost of the changeover to the $100 polymer notes, Hosein noted that $8 billion in old notes had been in circulation and only $7.5 billion was received to be exchanged for polymer. He said no one was charged for issues with old notes and questioned a PNM election advertisement with a piggybank, involving the use of old $100 notes.

Hosein slammed allocation cuts for the T&T Police Service which he said would affect service at a time when 2019 held the record for the most murders.

“They also cut $20 million from TTPS vehicle repair funding but allocated more to repairing President’s House, the PM’s residence in Tobago and other buildings; they have a TTPS Mobile Command Centre without vehicles but sometimes the comedy writes itself because there’s Coast Guard that can’t sail and Air Guard that can’t fly.”

Hosein also called for Government to say what will occur when the extension of registered Venezuelans is over in December, “We’re recently seen a spike in missing teenagers.

Dismissing the 2021 Budget as tedious, repetitive and boring, Hosein said the Finance Minister had shifted from once saying he “did it his way” to “blaming COVID -19 and Kamla.”

Hosein said Government‘s tax on imported fruit has brought T&T to a situation where “Apple have more than tax than your Apple I Phone.”

UNC MP Barry Padarath who slammed Government’s youth and digitalization plans, said it was presented by a geriatric minister (Fitzgerald Hinds) whose policies were as old as he was. Padarath said Government used the social media TikTok approach to change buzz words and TikTok’s song and dance routine for its façade on other plans.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/hosein- ... 174a498c9c

Postby MG Man » October 13th, 2020, 10:34 am

anybody got old boxing board to sell?
Looking to panel over my house before the property taxists ass with their cameras

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2020, 12:12 pm

MG Man wrote:anybody got old boxing board to sell?
Looking to panel over my house before the property taxists ass with their cameras
Dat doh matter once you look like Kumra Sanu is level tax in your skunt.

Look like kwame in the Beetham and you good to go

death365

Postby death365 » October 13th, 2020, 12:31 pm

what i dont understand is why did they start with residential and not commercial/ industrial.

give the small man ah ease up

Postby RedVEVO » October 13th, 2020, 12:39 pm

death365 wrote:what i dont understand is why did they start with residential and not commercial/ industrial.

Because residents will pay the tax prompt out of fear :roll:

The fear factor has been used to herd peeps like sheep :lol:

Even when a proposal by Gov't effects TT peeps $$$ seriously they are sheep .

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2020, 2:09 pm

death365 wrote:what i dont understand is why did they start with residential and not commercial/ industrial.

Pay up or have your house taken away and given away to red Goverment supporters.

These vultures marking ppls homes especially empty prime lots

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2020, 2:54 pm

how can u get to live in a million dollar house selling pumpkin, bodi, doubles and chicken roti? they eying those since manning days.

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2020, 3:49 pm

sMASH wrote:

how can u get to live in a million dollar house selling pumpkin, bodi, doubles and chicken roti? they eying those since manning days.
These things need to be kept a secret, you cant explain to the red Goverment supporters on how to save money and run a side line bussiness selling bodi.