? On safety when selling a used vehicle to someone unknown

car

? On safety when selling a used vehicle to someone unknown

Postby car » September 15th, 2016, 12:35 pm

How can I guarantee my safety when meeting someone for the first time when trying to display a vehicle to be sold? The buyer can easily steal my vehicle while test driving especially if he comes with a few people to view the vehicle.
And how do u ensure that cheque he gives to u is valid without giving him the vehicle?
Last edited by car on September 15th, 2016, 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hong kong phooey

Re: ? On safety when selling a used vehicle to someone unknown

Postby hong kong phooey » September 15th, 2016, 1:28 pm

I would suggest meet in a car park where there is cameras . but most times those cameras dont work.
You can go with a group of people ask to see his drivers licence before allowing him to get in your drivers seat.
Some one who is not going in the car on your group should take a picture of it(his DP) and also of the person. if he doesn't have a DP then dont allow him to drive your car.
His group does not need to get in and test drive the car.
The person buying the car and the mechanic is so desired and two persons from your group.
once you see their approaching and looking like gruntas , skate out . Looking to neat, ride out.
Get a certified check.
the guy had to organise this in the bank meet him there verify it one time before handing over the keys.
When I sold my car i got the money in cash but the people gave me half the day before and when i got the other half i went with them to the insurance company to get the cover letter in order to transfer the vehicle.
Walk with a receipt book
Do your sale early in the morning. bank opens at 8 am .
transfer the same time. dont fall into that bobol where person want to transfer another time.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 15th, 2016, 1:38 pm

Police station

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 15th, 2016, 7:33 pm

Walk with yuh gun and a remote control ied stuck to the bottom of the car near the driver side. If dey try anyting, shoot dem. If they gettin away with the car, press a button. Lol

car

Postby car » September 15th, 2016, 7:47 pm

A police officer car was stolen like that in Tobago about 2 days ago. He never got the money for it and the vehicle was seen in Trinidad yesterday.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » September 15th, 2016, 10:49 pm

i would suggest you ask them to send a pic of their DP and National ID first prior to meeting, then arrange to meet at a police station nearest to the agreed meeting location. You should reach to the station at least 45mins before the agreed meeting time, so it will allow you to notify the police as to your concerns..show them the info of the person so the can run a trace on them in the interim, but before they testdrive the vehicle let them produce the permit & ID to the police for verification.....if anyone else is going to be in the car...let them produce their ID & DP to the police..... Or ask that a police officer accompany you when you are going to test drive.

Postby wagonrunner » September 15th, 2016, 11:14 pm

Curtms wrote:Police station

this. and only this.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » September 16th, 2016, 4:53 am

Simple dude, (1) Collect the cast 1st (no cheque unless it's a managers from the bank). (2) put it safe home or if yuh meet at a location give yuh padna who with you to keep in his car and let him move to a safe location. And you go for the test drive with the buyer. Oorrrrrrr

Walk with yuh gun!

car

Postby car » September 16th, 2016, 6:13 am

I don't think ah man will run money first and then test drive the vehicle.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 16th, 2016, 7:11 am

I agree with what they all said ^

However when I'm selling a vehicle I just give the people directions to my home or wherever the vehicle is stored and can be viewed I don't even ask for drivers permit or anything

But the advice on here is good op, listen to what they said.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2016, 9:24 am

Curtms wrote:Police station

this. and only this.

nuff said...

just tell the potential buyer to meet at the nearest police station if he disagrees then fork he...

when you reach at the station just engage an officer and do yuh thing..I have done this before and everything went smoothly..

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 18th, 2016, 12:47 am

Just some advice for everyone: Never sell to family and close friends.

car

Postby car » September 18th, 2016, 6:23 am

TheOwnerPO wrote:Just some advice for everyone: Never sell to family and close friends.

Damn right about that.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » September 18th, 2016, 9:43 am

car wrote:
TheOwnerPO wrote:Just some advice for everyone: Never sell to family and close friends.

Damn right about that.

I does tell my wife the same dame thing....

baigan

Postby baigan » September 18th, 2016, 11:26 am

GixxerMan wrote:
car wrote:

Damn right about that.

I does tell my wife the same dame thing....

Lol pretty much
They feel so entitled

Sold a motorcycle to a family member, well, he's married to my cousin, still family tho and he acted like I was the dealership acted like he had some sort of warranty with me years later when faults came up due to his own abuse and lack of maintenance of the bike.

Postby nervewrecker » September 18th, 2016, 11:45 am

TTPS has been very accommodating in the past when I had to do transactions and meet potential buyers. Just go in, let them know the scene. Never got any fuss or attitude, one wpc even asked for a description of the person im meeting, what kind of vehicle and what I was selling in order to ensure my safety. I think was Debe police station.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » September 18th, 2016, 12:24 pm

common sense

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 18th, 2016, 10:38 pm

There is a company called AirsupportGPS on face book or call @225 - 8725. They have a program on 102.1 FM. Check them out for advice.

Dat510man

Postby Dat510man » September 19th, 2016, 9:36 am

Sold my wife's car recently. I met close to a Police station with a patna, test drive on main roads with your directions and when you get a certified cheque call the bank and give them the numbers (they will validate).

Careful observation before test drive, if you feel unsure, leave.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » September 19th, 2016, 10:56 am

Def. meet at a Police Station.

Postby Mark! » September 20th, 2016, 7:13 pm

behind chagunas market. at night

wear a wife beaters