Re: Guardian Newspaper: "How not to be killed by Islamists"

Postby Dizzy28 » July 12th, 2016, 7:13 am

pugboy wrote:I used to read baldeosingh every week up to a few years ago,
He is no longer funny for a while now.

Similarly with bc pires,
Both of them went stale and trying too hard
Baldeosingh in this case seems to be copying the hebdo style

I actually find Kevin to be pretty good at the satire of it is somewhat controversial.
The person I find trying really hard to be satirical and controversial is the kid in the Friday Express (can't recall his name right now.

Postby sMASH » July 22nd, 2016, 6:53 pm

i don't know what to call this except a kidnapping.

inshan was protesting outside the guardian building side to the highway. there were two maxi loads of police higher up, and it was rumored that they were preventing other muslims from stopping to join the protest. inshan went with cameras and a crew to investigate the rumors. then yuh hear inshan got arrested, and was moved out in one of the maxis.

later when trying to find out what he was arrested for, one of the other persons with him at the time said that inshan was asked to enter the maxi. then he did, then the maxi pull off....

the other police said that he wasnt arrested... so to me, it sounds like kidnapping.

(yes all that to say i protest with inshan today.)

had between 30 and 50 officers. and threatened to lock everybody up, man, woman, child. they gave us till half four. then we were told to disband. discussed it as a group and chose to stay.

eventually the police packed up and rolled out.... and we stayed till half five.

Postby rspann » July 22nd, 2016, 7:05 pm

Baldeosingh is a tun tun. You don't insult and make mockery of other people's belief. If you don't believe or you have different beliefs that's your right ,but people have rights to believe what they want to. If was France or some other country he was Charlie Hebdoed already.

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2016, 7:20 pm

Isis insults the religion everyday and more than KB every single day....when is the protest against Isis?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2016, 7:34 pm

Smash if you really went and protest I respect yuh.

Postby sMASH » July 22nd, 2016, 7:49 pm

@16cycles u are correct.... but isis people doesnt have conscience enough to stop. the people who would be able to make isis bend, are already doing all they can. at least, here in this nearly civilized country, enough pressure might force the media to be a little more respectful of the citizens they need to buy their publication.

in other words, all that can be done against isis, beside all out fighting them directly, has been done,,, and not only locally, but internationally....

i did more than just protest, i actually spoke to men in the earlies, before they were a making their name, and used what little media stories that was on isis, and reasoned with them that many of their actions were not inline with islam... so they were not the real deal.

them men didn't go... and they are good people, peaceful, but willing to stand up for something worth standing up for. isis wasnt it. and is better to stand against.

Postby sMASH » July 22nd, 2016, 7:55 pm

[img]
IMG-20160722-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20160722-WA0000.jpg
[/img]
1469231696803.jpg
1469231682088.jpg

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 22nd, 2016, 8:44 pm

Idiots don't know the difference between an Islamist and a Muslim.

Wonder if Inshan and crew realize they supporting Islamists?

JF.K

Re: RE: Re: Guardian Newspaper: "How not to be killed by Islamists"

Postby JF.K » July 22nd, 2016, 9:45 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Wonder if Inshan and crew realize they supporting Islamists?

I don't have anything against people standing up for their rights and for respect etc...
But that Inshan... I just think he is like a Kublalsingh.
Always trying to keep his name fresh in the public domain as a man (pretending to) "stand up against" something...
...for something.
Also can be referred to as a hypocrite.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » July 22nd, 2016, 9:46 pm

the local Syrian community(Abouds, Sabgas,etc), what religion are they?

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 22nd, 2016, 9:58 pm

GixxerMan wrote:the local Syrian community(Abouds, Sabgas,etc), what religion are they?

Whatever religion is associated with Freemasonry

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2016, 10:03 pm

The majority are Roman Catholics.

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 22nd, 2016, 10:13 pm

K74T wrote:The majority are Roman Catholics.

What they want you to think...

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Guardian Newspaper: "How not to be killed by Islamists"

Postby Team Loco » July 22nd, 2016, 10:26 pm

JF.K wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Wonder if Inshan and crew realize they supporting Islamists?

I don't have anything against people standing up for their rights and for respect etc...
But that Inshan... I just think he is like a Kublalsingh.
Always trying to keep his name fresh in the public domain as a man (pretending to) "stand up against" something...
...for something.
Also can be referred to as a hypocrite.

Correct

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2016, 11:58 pm

Setta idiots causing traffic on a friday evening and causing the public unnecessary stress

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 23rd, 2016, 12:21 am

AYSN wrote:Setta idiots causing traffic every morning and evening and causing the public unnecessary stress

*fixed

neexis

Postby neexis » July 23rd, 2016, 6:13 am

AYSN wrote:Setta idiots causing traffic on a friday evening and causing the public unnecessary stress

Indeed.

To make things fair, I think KB should put out more articles poking fun at the folly and double standards in all religions now.

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2016, 6:19 am

AYSN wrote:Setta idiots causing traffic on a friday evening and causing the public unnecessary stress

police was there since the assembly to move down. it was only hours after when the police had left, that the traffic moved freely, and that was fro more or less 3/4 of an hour. it was the heavy police presence that caused the traffic.

but i still agree with you... lol.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 24th, 2016, 4:28 pm

I feel satire need to be a school subject yes. :)

Daran

Postby Daran » July 24th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Similarly with bc pires,

I 100% agree.

Their form of 'satire' is simply a mask they use to cover up the fact that they can no longer write intelligent engaging articles that stir up a debate.

He comes across as childish and cynical, the complete definition of a hater.

And this is coming from an opinionated atheist.

Postby rspann » July 24th, 2016, 7:56 pm

Daran wrote:

Similarly with bc pires,

I 100% agree.

Their form of 'satire' is simply a mask they use to cover up the fact that they can no longer write intelligent engaging articles that stir up a debate.

He comes across as childish and cynical, the complete definition of a hater.

And this is coming from an opinionated atheist.

You on point there.

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2016, 7:06 am

the reality is they started out as "social humour commentary" articles, their strong point
switching to real literary satire has shown that they are weak in that area
baldeosingh's articles last few weeks have been at sea

Postby Dizzy28 » May 31st, 2017, 9:46 am

Somebody got their way...

"Fired by phone"
...Baldeosingh responds

Published on May 31, 2017, 8:16 am AST
By The Multimedia Desk
Guardian columnist Kevin Baldeosingh has responded to the decision by Guardian Media Ltd to terminate him.

The following is a statement issued on Tuesday by Baldeosingh:

On Monday May 29 at 10:48 am, I was informed by phone by Head of News Shelley Dass that the Guardian would not be renewing my contract, which had come to an end that month, due to financial constraints at the company and that she would officially notify me of my two weeks' notice by a follow-up letter.

This surprised me somewhat, since I had been discussing over the past two months with Ms Dass a multi-media package that I could offer the company, and she had signalled that they planned to keep me on once we could agree on terms. I later found out that certain leaders from Muslims groups – none considered representative of the majority of Muslims in Trinidad and Tobago – had complained to the Guardian about a column written by me and published in the Sunday paper – i.e. the previous day.

That article argued that Muslim women who wear the hijab do so for cogent and rational reasons, employing an economics paradigm to make the case. Why this should offend these particular Muslim leaders is beyond me, but the owners of the Guardian of course have the untrammelled right to have the paper reflect or reject any views they consider offensive to any section of the public, including those individuals known to hold views which are considered extremist by most citizens and, indeed, most Muslims of the nation.

As a professional writer and author, I apply the criteria of evidence, logic and ethics in all my commentary. My column is the longest-running in this country's daily newspapers and I have always tried to adhere to strict standards of professionalism and integrity.......http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170531 ... d-by-phone

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 31st, 2017, 10:12 am

Wait till Ramadan to write article involving Muslims that guaranteed to provoke anger?

Seems legit for a professional writer.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 31st, 2017, 10:18 am

sigh... everyone is so damn over sensitive these days.... since when did the entire earth start to become complaining women!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2017, 10:24 am

Ben_spanna wrote:sigh... everyone is so damn over sensitive these days.... since when did the entire earth start to become complaining women!

ent!

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 31st, 2017, 10:34 am

men going to jail for online bulling people yes.

if they clamp down here.. all of allyuh going to jail.

Advent

Postby Advent » May 31st, 2017, 11:16 am

is true tho, islam needs to reform or be get rid of

abducted

Postby abducted » May 31st, 2017, 11:39 am

Umar Abdullah and Sat Maharaj are always promoting their bigotry on the newspapers and no one complains,

Postby Dizzy28 » May 31st, 2017, 11:42 am

abducted wrote:Umar Abdullah and Sat Maharaj are always promoting their bigotry on the newspapers and no one complains,

Umar Abdullah has a column in the newspapers?