PC trouble

simcard

PC trouble

Postby simcard » June 23rd, 2016, 10:12 am

when I boot my PC it came on fine then it randomly went blank. Restarted came on fine again but went blank minutes after. Rebooted again and now nothing no boot screen nothing just blank screen. Any suggestions?

Re: PC trouble

Postby meccalli » June 23rd, 2016, 10:20 am

Make sure your connections are good with your monitor to onboard or video card first, if it persists boot in safe mode and see if it does the same. It's usually a corrupt driver particularly on dells.

Postby maj. tom » June 23rd, 2016, 10:24 am

where you stored the nude selfies? can they be recovered? There's a website you can use as backup storage.

simcard

Postby simcard » June 23rd, 2016, 10:31 am

meccalli wrote:Make sure your connections are good with your monitor to onboard or video card first, if it persists boot in safe mode and see if it does the same. It's usually a corrupt driver particularly on dells.

Monitor and thing connected but when I boor its just blank no bios screen etc only a no signal

HSA

Postby HSA » June 23rd, 2016, 12:44 pm

on board video or video card?? ram good??? cpu fan spinning??? keyboard or mouse lighting?? need more info....

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 23rd, 2016, 1:04 pm

open up the computer and reseat the video card.
while you in there do the same with the ram

if you motherboard have a vga slot try connecting your monitor there and try rebooting the computer again.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 23rd, 2016, 1:45 pm

What operating system?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 23rd, 2016, 1:54 pm

Once had a PC that power on and and kept shutting off. It was the power button doh. When press, it was left stuck and kept shutting down the the PC, as if you held the power butting down to manually turn off. I just switch the power button with the reset button.

Postby skylinechild » June 23rd, 2016, 2:29 pm

simcard wrote:when I boot my PC it came on fine then it randomly went blank. Restarted came on fine again but went blank minutes after. Rebooted again and now nothing no boot screen nothing just blank screen. Any suggestions?

what type of pc desktop / laptop??

brand of pc ?? dell...asus...hp..acer....toshiba???

operating system??....vista....7.....8....8.1.....10.....

what edition...??? home....professional.....(ultimate - in the case of W7)

whats the last thing u did???

any recent updates installed????

simcard

Postby simcard » June 23rd, 2016, 5:47 pm

HSA wrote:on board video or video card?? ram good??? cpu fan spinning??? keyboard or mouse lighting?? need more info....

Fan spinning no mouse light umm I clean the inside took out the ram stick place it back still nothing and I have no video card

simcard

Postby simcard » June 23rd, 2016, 5:51 pm

skylinechild wrote:
simcard wrote:when I boot my PC it came on fine then it randomly went blank. Restarted came on fine again but went blank minutes after. Rebooted again and now nothing no boot screen nothing just blank screen. Any suggestions?

Idk what brand its a modified/built PC. Is is win7 ultimate. Didn't do any updates its a bootleg copy lol and last thing I did was you tube on chrome. Its a desktop.

simcard

Postby simcard » June 23rd, 2016, 5:52 pm

Curtms wrote:What operating system?

7 ultimate

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2016, 6:29 pm

Make a little video when u power on, of the screen and internals.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 23rd, 2016, 10:23 pm

sounds like the onboard graphics acting up but im just assuming that

1.disconnect the harddrive then power on the system if you get absolutely nothing on the screen then that pretty much rules out any OS related issues

2.remove the CMOS battery wait a couple minutes then put it back in that should reset the bios

if that doesn't work and reseating the ram doesn't help then chances are its either the motherboard or ram

how long did you have the system for?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 24th, 2016, 5:05 am

take it to a PC place and have a diagnostic done.....it costs about $100

HSA

Postby HSA » June 24th, 2016, 6:55 am

pm mih..i will help yuh for free

Postby meccalli » June 24th, 2016, 7:26 am

Try the cmos reset spitfire recommended, that'll reset the bios if you can't get through with safemode.

Postby skylinechild » June 24th, 2016, 7:38 am

simcard wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Idk what brand its a modified/built PC. Is is win7 ultimate. Didn't do any updates its a bootleg copy lol and last thing I did was you tube on chrome. Its a desktop.

ok cool...well you seem to be getting alot of help from other tuners....

i can assist you to hav the issue fixed..for free...tellin you upfront if any parts you need you'll have to buy.

where u located...pm if youre interested...

simcard

Postby simcard » June 24th, 2016, 10:49 am

Spitfir3 wrote:sounds like the onboard graphics acting up but im just assuming that

1.disconnect the harddrive then power on the system if you get absolutely nothing on the screen then that pretty much rules out any OS related issues

2.remove the CMOS battery wait a couple minutes then put it back in that should reset the bios

if that doesn't work and reseating the ram doesn't help then chances are its either the motherboard or ram

how long did you have the system for?

I did 1. Idk what you mean for 2. not your tech wiz as for the ram I reseated it but no avail. Well its about 4years old.

simcard

Postby simcard » June 24th, 2016, 10:53 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:take it to a PC place and have a diagnostic done.....it costs about $100

Yeah I might take to wizz in sando hope they don't buss my eye.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 24th, 2016, 10:58 am

the cmos battery is the little watch battery on the mother board
unplug your computer remove the battery . press the power button a couple times
replace the battery and then the power cord.

looking like you have an issue with the mother board (since u said you dont have an external graphic card .
are any of the capacitors on the mother board looking swollen or have white stuff coming out of them .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 24th, 2016, 10:59 am

simcard wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:take it to a PC place and have a diagnostic done.....it costs about $100

Yeah I might take to wizz in sando hope they don't buss my eye.

Ask them the price up front to diagnose it

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » June 24th, 2016, 11:02 am

this sounds like faulty ram, reseating works sometimes not all.
Firstly the cmos battery is a silver battery on the board that looks like a big watch battery, remove power cord, remove battery and reseat after 10-15mins.
This doesnt sound like your problem. When you turn the pc on is there any sound/beep?
Pc usually passes a POST(power on self test) before every start, the beeps indicate the problem with the pc that wont start.
If you have no sound more than likely there is no internal speaker.
Do you see any writing flashing on the screen?( This happens fast and is usually the manufacturer logo and the entry into the bios)

If pc is turned on, you get power to cpu fan and power supply fan but no post or video then RAM sticks are faulty, this is your first thing to replace before proceeding to other periphals attached to the MB.

simcard

Postby simcard » June 27th, 2016, 12:51 pm

nissan4life wrote:this sounds like faulty ram, reseating works sometimes not all.
Firstly the cmos battery is a silver battery on the board that looks like a big watch battery, remove power cord, remove battery and reseat after 10-15mins.
This doesnt sound like your problem. When you turn the pc on is there any sound/beep?
Pc usually passes a POST(power on self test) before every start, the beeps indicate the problem with the pc that wont start.
If you have no sound more than likely there is no internal speaker.
Do you see any writing flashing on the screen?( This happens fast and is usually the manufacturer logo and the entry into the bios)

If pc is turned on, you get power to cpu fan and power supply fan but no post or video then RAM sticks are faulty, this is your first thing to replace before proceeding to other periphals attached to the MB.

No beeps only a month signal on the screen and everything is getting power. I did the CMOS thing and well no luck so I took it to wizz this morning. Thanks for the help.

simcard

Postby simcard » June 27th, 2016, 12:52 pm

Thanks for the help fellow tuners :D

Postby RBphoto » June 27th, 2016, 2:52 pm

If you need data recovery that Wizz can't handle, give me a PM.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 27th, 2016, 8:29 pm

simcard wrote:Thanks for the help fellow tuners :D

When you get it back let us know what the issue was

Postby Les Bain » June 28th, 2016, 9:28 am

Was having a similar problem with a Dell XPS Windows 7 64-bit not too long ago after a routine dust blowout.

Had to reseat the video card, and place the memory stick in proper order (1 pair of 1GB, 1 pair of 4). After rebooting it in safe mode, it works like a charm ever since (knocks wood). Before that, i used to get frequent blue screens before ending up in a similar position like you, OP.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » June 29th, 2016, 5:49 am

First... Check to see if your power cord or anything else is shorting... Then go behind your case where the power supply is and see if its set to 115v/220v (it suppose to be switched to 115v)

^Like this...

Now that you checked and everything seems to be ok do the following...

Open your case and get your hands on a can of this... (Pricesmart has)...

Disconnect your RAM, hard drive, video card, graphics card etc... Spray away as much dust as possible from inside the CPU and all the parts you disconnected as well... (especially the graphics card and the fans)...

After spraying clean re connect everything in place and close up your case...

After you do that boot your pc in safe mode (turn on pc and before the boot screen logo keep pressing F8 multiple times till you see safe mode and hit enter)...

Do a virus scan and a disk cleanup (Start>All Programs> Accessories>System Tools>Disk Cleanup)...

Reboot in normal mode and install Tech PowerUp GPU-Z 0.8.9 and make sure everything is coming up (it will tell you everything)...

You should be ok now... If the problem continues it might be hardware failure or possibly corrupted windows files... What you can do from there is install a fresh copy of windows...