The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Re: Small business ideas, opportunities and suggestions in TT

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2018, 4:44 pm

learn a basic trade....plumbing is pretty easy and doesn't require a huge investment in tools....start small and do family work etc and get your people to refer you....if you good, ppl with rental apartments will keep you for jobs....my plumber is a one man show...just a guy with an old AD Wagon, and does work for big retail chains....he looks like hell because he's on call 24/7, but he's never without work

QuietGiant

Re: The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Postby QuietGiant » September 30th, 2018, 10:26 pm

Anyone know what kinds of stuff you can buy-and-sell back (buy low/sell high for profit) that i can do with a $50 000 budget in T'dad? I see them American sites have all kinda creative stuff that they buy but most trinis don't really cater for that kinda thing.
I does also do my own tshirts (i design my own art from scratch based on events and i do custom art based on what customers want) but hadn't got much luck with it.

Willing to try anything because i seriously hate working for people. I'd rather work 10x harder for myself.

Re: Small business ideas, opportunities and suggestions in TT

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2018, 10:34 pm

MG Man wrote:learn a basic trade....plumbing is pretty easy and doesn't require a huge investment in tools....start small and do family work etc and get your people to refer you....if you good, ppl with rental apartments will keep you for jobs....my plumber is a one man show...just a guy with an old AD Wagon, and does work for big retail chains....he looks like hell because he's on call 24/7, but he's never without work
You have a link up for these people with apartment buildings?

Postby MG Man » September 30th, 2018, 11:21 pm

defuq....is everything easy yuh want?

Postby nervewrecker » October 1st, 2018, 5:41 am

Well I hadda say someone send me or they will think I am de scrap iron guy.

Postby gastly369 » October 1st, 2018, 6:09 am

Buyinscrapironolebatterybuyinggggg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 1st, 2018, 6:27 am

QuietGiant wrote:Anyone know what kinds of stuff you can buy-and-sell back (buy low/sell high for profit) that i can do with a $50 000 budget in T'dad? I see them American sites have all kinda creative stuff that they buy but most trinis don't really cater for that kinda thing.
I does also do my own tshirts (i design my own art from scratch based on events and i do custom art based on what customers want) but hadn't got much luck with it.

Willing to try anything because i seriously hate working for people. I'd rather work 10x harder for myself.

Weed

Postby goalpost » January 5th, 2019, 10:12 pm

Anyone had any experience with Shopify as an online store platform for dropshipping or otherwise for international cust omers?

abducted

Postby abducted » August 31st, 2019, 11:11 pm

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 1st, 2019, 7:29 pm

goalpost wrote:Anyone had any experience with Shopify as an online store platform for dropshipping or otherwise for international cust omers?

Knew someone however he has since stopped pursuing this as an avenue.

Banking was an issue, too many workarounds had to be employed to get the money into Trinidad, very difficult to clear the transactions. You are effectively limited if you are working with a TT bank account you can only settle in TT, if you can obtain a US account well maybe things might be different still though it won't be easy.

Also the amount and type of products you select plays a big part in the success of the online store front. A big attraction is also the website you use, if you have little to no knowledge of web development then you may have to pay someone to set up the site both front and back end. This may be costly and may require someone outside of Trinidad and Tobago. The stock templates are hideous and less than suitable, for even a blog, time and effort has to spent to improve the website, knowledge of web development would be an asset at least front end. The easiest workaround to this is to sign up for a subscription to wix or squarespace but this again is costly.

The process of search engine optimization and labeling of your products for search is tedious and again very time consuming and if you don't get it right well no sales.

Richard23

Postby Richard23 » October 27th, 2019, 12:07 am

Good day tuners . I recently got a idea to open up a food cart business but need more information

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 27th, 2019, 6:22 am

Richard23 wrote:Good day tuners . I recently got a idea to open up a food cart business but need more information

go kfc or work for an established food place first. get an idea of the runnings. it have places east west north south so uh cyah miss. the bbq place in cepiero road is a good place, gyro men doh hire nobody buy serians, it have the stretch opposite skinner park or the strech in the queens park savannah in pos. if you are muslim try baraka grounds. eddie hart grounds arouca. get a wuk with someone there from now till after the christmas, get ah idea of the pace. by carnival 2020 if you have the cash u can open your own cart.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 27th, 2019, 6:23 am

Richard23 wrote:Good day tuners . I recently got a idea to open up a food cart business but need more information

go kfc or work for an established food place first. get an idea of the runnings. it have places east west north south so uh cyah miss. the bbq place in cepiero road is a good place, gyro men doh hire nobody buy serians, it have the stretch opposite skinner park or the strech in the queens park savannah in pos. if you are muslim try baraka grounds. eddie hart grounds arouca. get a wuk with someone there from now till after the christmas, get ah idea of the pace. by carnival 2020 if you have the cash u can open your own cart.

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2019, 6:49 am

i studying to open up a steam cleaning/upholstery cleaning business

already have main road property with a biggish yard where my present business is
so not like hadda pay any extra rent
have a 100k ppl on my different social media pages that i could advertise to

i see hadden have some commercial cleaners for a 10k
labour is a 150-250 a day if i hire someone (well i hadda hire someone, i lazy on my own)

wha allyuh feel?

Postby rspann » October 27th, 2019, 7:20 am

Go mobile too. Do furniture and carpets. Big money in that.

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2019, 7:44 am

A lil ad van would work ent? Dont really need a pickup do I?

Postby gastly369 » October 27th, 2019, 8:29 am

Inter chem for products
Phone Surgeon wrote:A lil ad van would work ent? Dont really need a pickup do I?

Postby rspann » October 27th, 2019, 8:59 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:A lil ad van would work ent? Dont really need a pickup do I?

Kazim has a thriving business doing this and uses a Vitara ,and has workers going out with an AD and a Civic wagon.

He does house calls, offices, boats and vehicles.

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2019, 9:04 am

It’s a good business to get into and word of mouth spread when ppl get back a car smelling clean and no need for air freshener

Esp amongst women who doh take of cars esp interior and use plenty perfume so all the fabric have stale perfume scent.

Use social media to show how dirty even clean looking fabric can be.

Postby rspann » October 27th, 2019, 9:06 am

Fifty brand new vehicles recently had to be cleaned after the last flood. Look how I woulda link you up. Plus after every heavy rain flood vehicles need to be cleaned.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2019, 9:48 am

Interior and fabric cleaning is good business. Around this time of year ppl also need their carpets and furniture steam cleaned.

Go for it!

Richard23

Postby Richard23 » November 1st, 2019, 12:21 am

What are you opinions on farming ?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 17th, 2021, 9:34 pm

Richard23 wrote:What are you opinions on farming ?

Good idea...wonder if anyone got into this.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 17th, 2021, 9:57 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Alot of people are into this right now. Dont know how profitable it is.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 17th, 2021, 10:13 pm

wtf wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

If there's so many, wondering if a business that sells to farmers (like chemicals etc) would be profitable then.....but I see a lot springing up recently.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 17th, 2021, 10:33 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
wtf wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

If there's so many, wondering if a business that sells to farmers (like chemicals etc) would be profitable then.....but I see a lot springing up recently.
They are called Agro Shops

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 17th, 2021, 10:35 pm

wtf wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
wtf wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

They are called Agro Shops

I know.

Postby timelapse » April 18th, 2021, 3:26 pm

You looking for an idea?Lemme throw you a possible bone.Seedlings are quick money,especially seasoning.The key is large quantities and a fast turnover

Postby aaron17 » April 19th, 2021, 8:44 am

Car washing still a good job? Or part time on the side?

Postby Dave » April 19th, 2021, 8:51 am

Car washing is like rum shops of late, you can stand by one and see another. That being said I have never seen an empty watering hole before the pandemic.