Duane, the Enterprise flyover, when the radiator failed

Which Enterprise Flyover was that?
NCC 1701-E?
New Chaguanas Contract

fireworks

Re: New Star Trek DISCOVERY - Now on Season 3

Postby fireworks » December 30th, 2020, 4:54 pm

The Expanse series on Amazon going good so far.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 30th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:next episode trailer

This was Ep 7

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 31st, 2020, 1:06 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:next episode trailer

This was Ep 7

Looks like the video was removed by youtube and replaced with that clip.
Here it is again
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rc5EPckUBoc

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2020, 8:27 am

MG Man wrote:two best eps were The Inner Light and Darmok

Darmok and Jalad at Tanagra.
Temba, his arms wide.
Shaka, when the walls fell.

Duane, the Enterprise flyover, when the radiator failed

Which Enterprise Flyover was that?
NCC 1701-E?
New Chaguanas Contract

Endeavour didn't fit as well as Enterprise :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

brickman

Postby brickman » January 1st, 2021, 2:30 pm

Die hard in space, John McClane sure looks different.....

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2021, 8:01 am

brickman

Postby brickman » January 7th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Is it over?Is it gone for good?Can we stop worshipping space jesus yet?

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2021, 8:31 am

brickman wrote:Is it over?Is it gone for good?Can we stop worshipping space jesus yet?

brace for at least one more season :lol:
Side note: I thought 'baby Yoda' was Space Jesus

brickman

Postby brickman » January 8th, 2021, 9:28 am

Baby yoda doesn't single handedly save the universe on a daily basis then be praised by everyone like Mikey Spock.God out here taking notes saying "like then she did what!!??Hell nah,all of that!!??"

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2021, 9:51 am

brickman wrote:Baby yoda doesn't single handedly save the universe on a daily basis then be praised by everyone like Mikey Spock.God out here taking notes saying "like then she did what!!??Hell nah,all of that!!??"

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 8th, 2021, 11:41 am

MG Man wrote:so I'ma say it now
THAT shht is what caused the burn?
Seriously?
Somewhere out there is a group of pathetic writers who think they're brilliant when they thought up that heap o'kaka
Ultimate bait and switch: make me think S3 is redemption for the shitpile of S1 and S2, but nah.....I hope Book dies in the finale before they totally ruin his character
Just caught up.
Have to admit, I was a bit disappointed with this.
I thought it would have been something way more cataclysmic.

The action and vfx was great at least.

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2021, 12:01 pm

Arcmanov wrote:
MG Man wrote:so I'ma say it now
THAT shht is what caused the burn?
Seriously?
Somewhere out there is a group of pathetic writers who think they're brilliant when they thought up that heap o'kaka
Ultimate bait and switch: make me think S3 is redemption for the shitpile of S1 and S2, but nah.....I hope Book dies in the finale before they totally ruin his character
Just caught up.
Have to admit, I was a bit disappointed with this.
I thought it would have been something way more cataclysmic.

The action and vfx was great at least.

I'll trade that for hand-painted backdrops and a ship dangling from strings in exchange for a compelling narrative

Postby MG Man » January 11th, 2021, 2:56 pm

so basically this whole (mostly) dotish season was a weak setup to move Saru aside so Burnham could be captain :|
And noooooobody is seeing the sentience of the bots as a YUGE fuckingdeal -__-

brickman

Postby brickman » January 11th, 2021, 7:44 pm

That ending felt rushed,tried to wrap it up fast incase they didn't get the go ahead for season 4 I guess?Wonder if they will turn Burnham into captain marvel this season so she can punch a star that is going supernova & save the universe this time?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2021, 8:11 pm

brickman wrote:That ending felt rushed,tried to wrap it up fast incase they didn't get the go ahead for season 4 I guess?Wonder if they will turn Burnham into captain marvel this season so she can punch a star that is going supernova & save the universe this time?

LOL - space jesus
I enjoyed it and It was written very much like there will be a season 4

What I didn't get is why make it look like that was the end of the Emerald Chain.
A mercantile exchange touted as a crime syndicate so large would obviously have people to take the place of dead leaders like Osyraa
I guess more of that in season 4

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 11th, 2021, 9:43 pm

Season 4 filming right now and season 5 awaiting confirmation.

Is mostly rubbish but I still watch because Star Trek.
Fast forward most of the tiresome Su Kal nonsense.

Postby pete » January 12th, 2021, 1:59 pm

Is Stamets not required going forward? Or will they now be building a spore drive into a new ship that he will be on?

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 12th, 2021, 3:09 pm

pete wrote:Is Stamets not required going forward? Or will they now be building a spore drive into a new ship that he will be on?

Not if the "empaths" can control it. Unless that was just a plot device to keep Book with Capt BurnHam.

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » January 12th, 2021, 3:58 pm

Sorry about the rant, but I got feelings....

I grew up with TNG (still some of the best TV you can find), so I love Star Trek, really got into TOS, loved DS9 (although the last season fell off for me), can deal with Voyager. I really did not like ENT when it aired, but after revisiting it over the last few years, I came to really like, it. ENT really helps from bing watching. That thought me to be open with new ideas.

I can deal with a new look and so what if the tech don't match, I can even look over some continuity errors. Just give me enough good stories and characters.

I really want to like Disco and to me the 2nd season was the best. It always feels like they have good ideas but never fully dig into them. I really don't like the idea of having a "star" actor, in a show named after a ship. It does not help that most of the other characters are more interesting than the star.

If you going episodic, do that, good stories that can be wrapped up in 1 ep. If you want to go full season stories, plane it out. I always feel they don't know where they going. Look at Mando, episodic, but the larger story is very well thought out and you feel they know where they going. If Burham will end up as Captain, why have Tilly act as Captain? seemed like a unnecessary detour. remove burham as first officer, appoint tilly, then last Ep, bam in the End Burham is Captain.

They also keep rewarding bad behavior and decisions. I always agreed with Ad. Vance, his character was the best new addition. Burham acts like a brat that does not get her way.

And please, stop the crying with every ep. The emotion is not earned, it took Picard the entire run of TNG to sit and play cards with the crew. and for a Military operation, they say they love each other to much.

End rant. It is just a show at the end of the day.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 12th, 2021, 7:11 pm

^^Ditto.

I'll watch anything Star Trek but lets face it, Kurtzman trek does not cater for the legacy trek audience in the same manner Favreau did with Mandalorian for Star Wars.

I've always said The Orville felt more Star Trek than Star Trek, but then that's why it is not well received with a modern audience.

Postby MG Man » January 13th, 2021, 10:40 am

said it before, and I'll say it again
STD is a generic sci fi series and could have easily been titled Firefly - The Next Generation and it would fit
I'm not denying there were some cringe-worthy eps of TOS and TNG, and I hate EVERYTHING about Neelix, but STD had a chance to do something brilliant, and totally guffed it up
I did live Picard though...I know not everyone liked it but to me they did well to maintain JLP's character and values

brickman

Postby brickman » January 14th, 2021, 2:07 pm

I mean...... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2021, 4:03 pm

pretty much sums it up

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2021, 10:31 am

Saw an article this morning that Netflix has lost the rights to Discovery. Paramount+ is its new home.
Checking NF now and seeing S1-3 are gone.

FEV98a4VgAE8f2A.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2024, 11:04 pm

2 years late but still looking good

brickman

Postby brickman » January 24th, 2024, 11:41 am

Well damn,space Jesus is now space Tom Cruise.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 26th, 2024, 1:18 am

I really enjoyed watching strange new worlds

Re: New Star Trek DISCOVERY - Season 5 in 2024

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2024, 6:31 pm

The fifth and final season will find Captain Michael Burnham (Sonequa Martin-Green) and the crew of the U.S.S. Discovery uncovering a mystery that will send them on an epic adventure across the galaxy to find an ancient power whose very existence has been deliberately hidden for centuries. But there are others on the hunt as well… dangerous foes who are desperate to claim the prize for themselves and will stop at nothing to get it.

Stream the final season of Star Trek: Discovery April 4, exclusively on Paramount+.