Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food?

Postby Rovin » October 16th, 2020, 10:12 pm

gyro lebanese guys going up on d chase village flyover outside on d compound of warehouse 2000 hardware , bellyful i believe they names themselves & they eh lie , they doh chinks : is plenty food u getting for ur $, even d $25 burger ...

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 17th, 2020, 11:10 am

Rovin wrote:gyro lebanese guys going up on d chase village flyover outside on d compound of warehouse 2000 hardware , bellyful i believe they names themselves & they eh lie , they doh chinks : is plenty food u getting for ur $, even d $25 burger ...

what day and time they come out?

Postby Rovin » October 17th, 2020, 11:27 am

NR8 wrote:
Rovin wrote:gyro lebanese guys going up on d chase village flyover outside on d compound of warehouse 2000 hardware , bellyful i believe they names themselves & they eh lie , they doh chinks : is plenty food u getting for ur $, even d $25 burger ...

i bought maybe 4-5 times for d yr so far & i always went after work after 5pm during d wk & on saturdays [i guessing they there everyday] , there are 3 permanent booths next to each other all with d same Belly Full name like they related, 1st time i went i jes randomly chose d stall on d far left with d fish tank & stuck with them

honestly d gyro guys right next to d lion house in chaguanas may taste a lil better [cost a lil more too] but sometimes u get tired of same food & is good to try other ppl styles too ...

Postby Dave » October 17th, 2020, 11:35 am

Absolutely agreed with same food and style.
Has anyone ever tried the gyro man in gasparillo who makes a Trini style gyro?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 17th, 2020, 11:58 am

Rovin wrote:
NR8 wrote:

i bought maybe 4-5 times for d yr so far & i always went after work after 5pm during d wk & on saturdays [i guessing they there everyday] , there are 3 permanent booths next to each other all with d same Belly Full name like they related, 1st time i went i jes randomly chose d stall on d far left with d fish tank & stuck with them

honestly d gyro guys right next to d lion house in chaguanas may taste a lil better [cost a lil more too] but sometimes u get tired of same food & is good to try other ppl styles too ...

At the height of Covid, I passed and saw those guys carrying out big conversations while preparing food without masks and gloves. I say not me and that. Even now they don't have on the masks when nobody around but they chopping veggies etc. It's only on when there's a customer.

Proceed with caution.

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Advice to the Hindus: lamb gyro is not lamb... that would be way too expensive, very greasy, and actually taste like sheep. It's 60% beef. They have always been made that way. Local gyro people choose not to advertise this of course, despite knowing it themselves.

https://kronosfoodscorp.com/product/gyro-cones/
https://www.nemahalal.com/products/nema-beef-lamb-gyro
https://www.hormelfoodservice.com/products/fontanini-gyro-cone-raw-4-10-lb/
https://greciandelight.com/foodservice/gyros-specialty-meats/09105-halal-gyro-cone-medium-2-20-lb/

The dish is based on a doner kebab, originated in the Ottoman Empire (Turkey).

lol, kek, should make you question your faith-based brainwashing, etc., etc.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 17th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Really can't believe ppl out buying fast food in these times oui. I must be reall poor

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2020, 12:23 pm

ppl trying to get out of home food

Postby Rovin » October 17th, 2020, 2:23 pm

^^^true , even if u is a bess home chef sometimes u does want something a lil different for a change

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Rovin wrote:
NR8 wrote:

At the height of Covid, I passed and saw those guys carrying out big conversations while preparing food without masks and gloves. I say not me and that. Even now they don't have on the masks when nobody around but they chopping veggies etc. It's only on when there's a customer.

Proceed with caution.

i eh doubt u , even b4 covid nobody perfectly follows all d health & safety rules

buying food outside is always a gamble , observe & hope for d bess kinda ting ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 17th, 2020, 3:07 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^true , even if u is a bess home chef sometimes u does want something a lil different for a change

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Rovin wrote:
NR8 wrote:

Proceed with caution.

i eh doubt u , even b4 covid nobody perfectly follows all d health & safety rules

buying food outside is always a gamble , observe & hope for d bess kinda ting ...

So i leave work and heading home, stopped by a pet shop in chase village where Lowies gyro place is and did some observations.

No gloves, no mask (even on the chin) homeboy handling money, packing wrapping, nose wiping etc...

I know things weren't perfect before but with the current situation, its like it glaringly obvious how much nonsense goes on with these food vendors.

I cringe now with the knowledge i used to buy doubles with the man talking continuously over the box.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 17th, 2020, 10:33 pm

Going debe tmr, hopefully some would be open. Who alluh recommend besides Krishna’s?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 18th, 2020, 9:30 pm

Kfc
agent007 wrote:Going debe tmr, hopefully some would be open. Who alluh recommend besides Krishna’s?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 19th, 2020, 8:27 pm

I see the Eddie Hart grounds has a food fair now... well it's new to me.. plenty trailers.. who do you all rate and buy? Prices taste etc

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2020, 8:28 pm

that food court there long time
very hit and miss imho

Postby Dave » October 19th, 2020, 9:04 pm

I find so also and not Muslim friendly
pugboy wrote:that food court there long time
very hit and miss imho

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2020, 9:35 pm

a hodgepodge of folks trying to make an end
that is the long and short

Dave wrote:I find so also and not Muslim friendly
very hit and miss imho

Postby Rovin » October 23rd, 2020, 10:40 pm

not advertising for anybody & some of d stuff here i dont eat but i jes now see these coming across my fb feed

.... food looking good

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 23rd, 2020, 10:57 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I see the Eddie Hart grounds has a food fair now... well it's new to me.. plenty trailers.. who do you all rate and buy? Prices taste etc

Before it turned into anything serious there was a guy with an old food trailer called "D Sheriff". His food was seriously great - for a while. He fired the 2 cool women he had working for him or they left, I duno. But then he got a Vene for the grill instead of doing it himself and things went downhill from there. Horrible food, hair in food etc. Never bothered going eddie hart after that.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » November 2nd, 2020, 12:32 am

khaleed's bbq in coceyea still around? its been a while since i passed, used to eat good and you does get a good amount for the price.

Postby De Dragon » November 2nd, 2020, 2:42 am

Joud's in Couva for gyros, burgers etc.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 2nd, 2020, 9:32 am

De Dragon wrote:Joud's in Couva for gyros, burgers etc.

which part of couva?
long time I eh eat ah good gyro

matix

Postby matix » November 2nd, 2020, 10:08 am

IMG_3857.JPG

Bought this at one of the food carts @ Chase Village flyover. Tasted really good

Postby K74T » November 2nd, 2020, 10:17 am

Damn that looks good

Postby MaxPower » November 2nd, 2020, 10:34 am

Dave wrote:I find so also and not Muslim friendly
very hit and miss imho

Hello Dave,

What’s Muslim friendly?

The Muslims there are not friendly or they are not friendly to Muslims?

death365

Postby death365 » November 2nd, 2020, 1:13 pm

where is the cheapest chicken roti now a days . i remeber seeing a place last year that was like 15 cant remember where

Postby Chimera » November 2nd, 2020, 1:14 pm

matix wrote:IMG_3857.JPG

Bought this at one of the food carts @ Chase Village flyover. Tasted really good

what exactly is that? and who selling it?

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2020, 1:17 pm

looks like pizza from naafa express
seen their sign but never tried

Phone Surgeon wrote:

Postby Rovin » November 2nd, 2020, 1:29 pm

yep same compound , 1 of d booths next to d gyro place i posted higher up on this page .... i havent tried them yet so that might be next

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 2nd, 2020, 2:29 pm

death365 wrote:where is the cheapest chicken roti now a days . i remeber seeing a place last year that was like 15 cant remember where

For some reason this came up in my recommended videos last night.

matix

Postby matix » November 2nd, 2020, 4:36 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

It’s pizza and I can’t remember the name of the place.