Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » October 10th, 2016, 10:08 pm

viedcht wrote:Any tickets issued recently? When last alyuh spot any speed traps?

Got picked up in one approaching A Lok Jack heading north on the UBH last week. TTPS Suzuki perched on the center median. As you round the bend it's too late.
Me and a few coworkers returning from lunch. I was a passenger. Got clocked at 82kph.....in a Navara. LoL.

We totally forgot about that possibility.

-$1000
Last edited by Morpheus on October 10th, 2016, 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » October 10th, 2016, 10:10 pm

Oops.....
Last edited by Morpheus on October 10th, 2016, 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » October 10th, 2016, 10:11 pm

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2016, 10:16 pm

there are at least 8 daily, even at odd hours in the morning and night

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2016, 8:48 am

Morpheus wrote:
viedcht wrote:Any tickets issued recently? When last alyuh spot any speed traps?

Got picked up in one approaching A Lok Jack heading north on the UBH last week. TTPS Suzuki perched on the center median. As you round the bend it's too late.
Me and a few coworkers returning from lunch. I was a passenger. Got clocked at 82kph.....in a Navara. LoL.

-$1000

Lok Jack area is a usual spot for police. It tricky too. The roundabout is 50kmh the highway is 80kmh and coming over the ramp is 60kmh.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 11th, 2016, 9:18 am

Do I have to pull an Ali G drag race manoeuvre at the speed limit sign

neexis

Postby neexis » October 11th, 2016, 10:41 am

kamakazi wrote:Do I have to pull an Ali G drag race manoeuvre at the speed limit sign

Flashing middle finger to the police through the door or wa?
Booyakashaaa

Postby Registered User » October 11th, 2016, 11:29 am

Morpheus wrote:

-$1000

Lok Jack area is a usual spot for police. It tricky too. The roundabout is 50kmh the highway is 80kmh and coming over the ramp is 60kmh.

The speed limit for the highway is 60kph for the entire stretch between grand bazaar and the EMR according to the special speed limits order.

Postby pete » October 11th, 2016, 11:35 am

They put up an 80kph sign just after the flyover heading north though.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2016, 11:35 am

Registered User wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

-$1000

The speed limit for the highway is 60kph for the entire stretch between grand bazaar and the EMR according to the special speed limits order.

Well look how I would have gotten a ticket there normel normel.
Thanks for the info.

Postby DVSTT » October 11th, 2016, 12:00 pm

There's a sign right before the round about in front Mt Hope saying 80km/h, on the northbound lane.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 11th, 2016, 1:50 pm

Morpheus wrote:

-$1000

Wow that sucks! I turned off east bound to head north to emr and luckily was behind 2 slow trucks. I saw the police in the median with the speed gun pointing out and instantly put a waze alert. Coming back down an hour later they were still there so waze alert again and flashing till the flyover. Then noticed licensing on the east to south flyover.. at that point I decided to get some new tyres. Rather spend 1000 on a tyre than a ticket yes! :mrgreen:

Hard luck my alert's and flashing did not save more people...

Thanks to everyone who does the same as you've saved me thousands over the past month. :drinking:

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » October 11th, 2016, 6:09 pm

The results based on the more recent posts in this thread is confirmation that enforcement is working

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 11th, 2016, 6:39 pm

neexis wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Do I have to pull an Ali G drag race manoeuvre at the speed limit sign

Booyakashaaa

Wasn't referring to that bit... More the brakes and gearing down as they went form the 30mph zone into the 20mph zone during the drag race... Lol

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » October 11th, 2016, 7:04 pm

Registered User wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

-$1000

Well look how I would have gotten a ticket there normel normel.
Thanks for the info.

Actually there is an 80kph sign just where the west to north merge lane ends. Not sure about further up

neexis

Postby neexis » October 12th, 2016, 3:55 am

kamakazi wrote:
neexis wrote:

Booyakashaaa

Wasn't referring to that bit... More the brakes and gearing down as they went form the 30mph zone into the 20mph zone during the drag race... Lol

Respect

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 5:26 am

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 5:27 am

they cant charge you for your paint blocking d radar.

http://www.stealthveil.com/

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 12th, 2016, 7:42 am

First time back since the introduction of the speed guns. Driving , I felt like this was the twilight zone.
People were actually driving under 80 and most seemed happy about it. My brain was starting to hurt but after a week, left with no ticket.

Postby rollingstock » October 12th, 2016, 10:45 am

screwbash wrote:they cant charge you for your paint blocking d radar.

Yes they can yuh ass

Postby Les Bain » October 12th, 2016, 12:29 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:First time back since the introduction of the speed guns. Driving , I felt like this was the twilight zone.
People were actually driving under 80 and most seemed happy about it. My brain was starting to hurt but after a week, left with no ticket.

Conditioned is a more appropriate word. I can't afford to be ticketed.
Another plus is the gas mileage at 80 with the overdrive enabled.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 12th, 2016, 4:14 pm

Yes they can yuh ass

how?

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2016, 5:28 pm

kamakazi wrote:
neexis wrote:

Booyakashaaa

EPIC WIN !!!! :lol: :lol:

remins me of this one....

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 6:46 pm

Yes they can yuh ass

Is not my words its the words of the vendor. It blocks the radar gun or something,

Postby wagonrunner » October 31st, 2016, 6:16 pm

What's the speed limit for Extra heavy / wide vehicles being escorted by the police?

Twice them on the highway doing (well) over 80km/h.
Is TTPS not enforcing the law?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 31st, 2016, 6:35 pm

^TTPS do wha dey wa apparently.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 31st, 2016, 7:49 pm

screwbash wrote:

Yes they can yuh ass

Is not my words its the words of the vendor. It blocks the radar gun or something,

Smoked headlights legal?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 5th, 2016, 6:29 pm

Speed trap by the Caroni Bridge North bound this AM got away thanks to the grace of the community!

Thanks to the folks who posted on waze and those who blinked their lights for us!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 5th, 2016, 8:12 pm

Allyuh trap dodgers real annoying though....blocking up the highway crawling

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2016, 8:15 pm

once u past the bejucal rd and on the straight best to slow down until the caroni turnoff just to be safe