Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby j.o.e » September 30th, 2016, 7:57 am

Speed limit good jusso

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 8:08 am

j.o.e wrote:Speed limit good jusso

For your car and your car alone is what you probably mean ....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 30th, 2016, 9:36 am

drchaos wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Speed limit good jusso

For your car and your car alone is what you probably mean ....

Nah it good just so for the majority I feel.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 30th, 2016, 9:39 am

It's ok for me but at some point in time I does still reach 100km

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 10:10 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:It's ok for me but at some point in time I does still reach 100km

I will admit I have slowed down ... Max speed is now 120 but not all the time.

Postby Les Bain » September 30th, 2016, 10:34 am

Not happy with this wack speed limit, but the gas mileage has improved. Still think it can be raised to 100, but it comforting the past couple months to know I could lock it to 80 and stay on the left without some hog trying to merge into the back of my car.

Postby bushwakka » September 30th, 2016, 1:01 pm

screwbash wrote:the poleese shud target them 4x4 diesel turbo vans like navara,hilux,ranger that does always drive dotish cutting in and out and blocking a man view and half the time the driver cyah even drive the ting good. they cyah even park it. In valpark two days ago one park over two lane. I park so close he cyah even open he door and my old car cud take dent. d fool walking around the mall asking who drive the car. 65kmp /h for all them vans and wait for them on the hiway.

son....give up the jealousy...it's self destructive....don't be a hater

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 30th, 2016, 4:53 pm

Les Bain wrote:. . .Still think it can be raised to 100. . ..

Based on what? The highways may be designed for 100km/h, but they certainly are not maintained to safely use at that speed. Leave the speed limit at 80km/h. Who wants to break it, go right ahead. Just don't complain if you get caught and get a ticket.

Postby DVSTT » September 30th, 2016, 5:09 pm

Still think they can raise it to 120km/h at certain points. Anyhow, massa say otherwise.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2016, 5:38 pm

bushwakka wrote:
screwbash wrote:the poleese shud target them 4x4 diesel turbo vans like navara,hilux,ranger that does always drive dotish cutting in and out and blocking a man view and half the time the driver cyah even drive the ting good. they cyah even park it. In valpark two days ago one park over two lane. I park so close he cyah even open he door and my old car cud take dent. d fool walking around the mall asking who drive the car. 65kmp /h for all them vans and wait for them on the hiway.

son....give up the jealousy...it's self destructive....don't be a hater

Dam bro.....u need some English classes....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 6:19 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Based on what? The highways may be designed for 100km/h, but they certainly are not maintained to safely use at that speed. Leave the speed limit at 80km/h. Who wants to break it, go right ahead. Just don't complain if you get caught and get a ticket.

You statement above is based on what?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 30th, 2016, 6:36 pm

DVSTT wrote:Still think they can raise it to 120km/h at certain points. Anyhow, massa say otherwise.

150 I find.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2016, 9:26 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

This. And if you doing it, don't be wreckless nah. 100kph in a straight line with a safe following distance is way different to 100kph darting across 3 lanes, cutting in and out(without indicating of course), switching to the merge lane to overtake on the left, etc, etc, etc.

I try that 80kph every day. Sometimes its a piece of cake, some other times

But with all that is said, I would really lke to see them enforce other road rules. Overtaking on the left, hogging the right lane, etc. Imagine you enfore no overtaking on the left and a delivery truck chugging along in the right lane at 65kph

ONCE I ever saw a bike officer send a delivery truck I think it was into the left lane. And that was years ago.

I always say people would hate me if I was a traffic cop

Postby Les Bain » September 30th, 2016, 10:45 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Based on anecdotal personal opinion. That was my limit before the limit enforcement came into place. Back then still getting passed by most people on the highway, some of whom reading papers, eating morning cereal, applying mascara, maintaining eye contact conversing with their back seat passengers, and a whole lot more.

Now that I driving at 80 (something you didn't find fit to quote) it's still the same story. Arrive Alive and the Minister spewing a lot of hot air about the danger of speed as if it's the exclusive cause of road accidents when many careless or reckless driving habits are just as responsible. But speed detection is the easiest thing to get results from, isn't it?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 10:56 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Based on anecdotal personal opinion. That was my limit before the limit enforcement came into place. Back then still getting passed by most people on the highway, some of whom reading papers, eating morning cereal, applying mascara, maintaining eye contact conversing with their back seat passengers, and a whole lot more.

Now that I driving at 80 (something you didn't find fit to quote) it's still the same story. Arrive Alive and the Minister spewing a lot of hot air about the danger of speed as if it's the exclusive cause of road accidents when many careless or reckless driving habits are just as responsible. But speed detection is the easiest thing to get results from, isn't it?

Results? Nah its the easiest thing to make money from.

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2016, 11:35 pm

All it is is less body parts due to less carnage because people doing the same crap at a slower speed.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2016, 11:43 pm

65km is too low for vans...it should be regulated for all vehicles at 100

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2016, 5:27 am

speed limit has drastically reduced the damage to the cable barriers on ubh for sure
previously as least 2 or 3 times a week they fixing them barriers and blocking a lane causing real headache

Postby redmanjp » October 1st, 2016, 11:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:how long Hinds say they reviewing stuff for increasing the limit? the only thing I see increasing is the fine...wait till after lunch we go see what is the scene

They hadda make morney from all those 81-99kph drivers. Thats a real cash cow. I wonder how they didnt bring legislation yet for those speed cams- imagine how much revenue 24/7 enforcement would bring?

Postby Morpheus » October 2nd, 2016, 2:11 am

^^That would bring in more revenue than oil......

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 2nd, 2016, 8:04 am

Traffic cameras would be good initially ... Once the locations are learned people will slow down at the speed cameras and then speed up again. It's what happens in the UK.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2016, 8:06 am

drchaos wrote:Traffic cameras would be good initially ... Once the locations are learned people will slow down at the speed cameras and then speed up again. It's what happens in the UK.

We aren't that large. It is feasible to have almost total coverage of speed cams.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 2nd, 2016, 11:07 am

drchaos wrote:Traffic cameras would be good initially ... Once the locations are learned people will slow down at the speed cameras and then speed up again. It's what happens in the UK.

We aren't that large. It is feasible to have almost total coverage of speed cams.

Won't be feasible, fixed camera's are very expensive and total coverage is not an option. The amount of camera's needed would be too large. We can't even cover the entire north to south highway with cable barriers and you think we can put a speed camera every few Kilometers? They can't even get more than 6 Lidar guns on the streets.

The next issue with speed camera's is a up to date/modern, efficient, working licensing authority. There has been a plan in the works since Manning days but no government has been committed to getting this done. The PP wasted alot of time and only put in place the infrastructure. The current administration just shelved the entire project, infrastructure and the new systems proposed by the company hired to design the new system.

The current system is so bad that a friend of mine almost got jailed a few months back for a hit an run involving a car he sold 3 years ago. He transferred the vehicle legally on selling it but still the police and licensing authority kept insisting that the car belonged to him and thus he was responsible. Good thing he kept records and had contacts in south licensing authority.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 10th, 2016, 8:16 pm

Any tickets issued recently? When last alyuh spot any speed traps?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 10th, 2016, 8:21 pm

saw them last week on top of corinth flyover. can't remember if I post this already, but I'm impressed the equipment still functioning after all this time

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 10th, 2016, 8:42 pm

viedcht wrote:Any tickets issued recently? When last alyuh spot any speed traps?

Them does move in silence and violence...ok maybe just silence. Lots of speeds traps real random so you can't say just slow down at this point or that point anymore.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 10th, 2016, 8:44 pm

Hmm Ok

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 10th, 2016, 8:45 pm

Haven't seen them around alot so I was suspicious