Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

ADONI

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby ADONI » May 4th, 2016, 3:10 pm

Just took a drive on the highway. 95% of vehicles driving at 80. the other 5% is H vehicles hustling. I nearly fall asleep driving at 80...
Altec55, I feel yuh. When them Tiddas run off, I sure is snow tyres they have on....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 4th, 2016, 3:33 pm

maj. tom wrote:So why they can't implement a graduated licensing system?

Yeah this was in the works by the PP ... sadly they got to busy spending/stealing money and never implemented it.

New drivers had a 2 year provisional permit until they got a full one. Reduced speeds for new drivers and they could only drive at certain hours.

Was progressive had they implemented it.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 4th, 2016, 3:49 pm

Allu tink it bad now?

Wait till they have a computerized registry for the speed camera's. Once that happens the insurance companies will get their hands on it.

Then you get a speeding ticket ... your insurance premiums will go up!

Postby aaron17 » May 4th, 2016, 3:50 pm

bad now??

Postby RBphoto » May 4th, 2016, 3:52 pm

drchaos wrote:
maj. tom wrote:So why they can't implement a graduated licensing system?

Yeah this was in the works by the PP ... sadly they got to busy spending/stealing money and never implemented it.

New drivers had a 2 year provisional permit until they got a full one. Reduced speeds for new drivers and they could only drive at certain hours.

Was progressive had they implemented it.

I believe that driver education should start in primary school. Most of the habits we learn is from or parents who were probably not that good (Read "Safe") anyway. Best way is to start young so even the people who are purporting that 120km/h is safe children could grow up right and not have to die through natural selection on the highways. My son checks my speedometer every time he sees a posted speed limit and asks me what the speed of the car is to ensure we are not breaking the rules. He is 4. Some people on the forum here are over 40 and can't comprehend that.

Postby maj. tom » May 4th, 2016, 3:57 pm

They could start driving ed in high school from form 4. Driving lessons from Form 5. They do this in grade 11 and 12 in USA.

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2016, 4:46 pm

Went grande today, everybody less than 100

TriP

Postby TriP » May 4th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Speed Measurement
2.jpg

Postby gastly369 » May 4th, 2016, 11:00 pm

Egadddd :/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 4th, 2016, 11:10 pm

http://qz.com/666924/bad-drivers-are-a- ... overnment/

Really good article showing that road fatalities and corrupt government may correlate.

" If you’re in a country where everyone drives on the sidewalk and nobody stops at stop signs, you can be pretty sure the government isn’t working right."

Ending corruption may result in less road deaths than fighting down people for driving at 81kph and above.

Postby DVSTT » May 5th, 2016, 3:54 am

160 murders in 4 months but the police busy holding up speed guns.
Won't speed cameras been better? So you don't have the expend man power and you can monitor 24/7.

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2016, 4:21 am

DVSTT wrote:160 murders in 4 months but the police busy holding up speed guns.
Won't speed cameras been better? So you don't have the expend man power and you can monitor 24/7.

A more sensible approach from a Government? Surely you jest........

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 5th, 2016, 4:47 am

Like people afraid to drive at 80 even, men doing 65 and thing, moving real scared.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 5th, 2016, 6:08 am

People still speeding from North to south on a morning...I drive at 80-90 and most people still over taking me

neexis

Postby neexis » May 5th, 2016, 6:45 am

If they could get people to drive slowly, perhaps they could get them to drive slowly in the left lane?

From what I've seen, on Monday everyone was driving at around 80. By Wednesday, half were driving at 80, the other half couldn't be bothered - men driving at 160 easy. People will probably get desensitised to the threat of being ticketed sooner rather than later.

The idea that any police on the highway could be checking speeds has people slamming brakes at the sight of any police car on the road, or parked on the side. They could have just 1 speed gun, and just have dummy police cars parked all over.. who would really know>?

Postby Les Bain » May 5th, 2016, 7:41 am

mark2.0 wrote:Like people afraid to drive at 80 even, men doing 65 and thing, moving real scared.

They could do 65 all they want, but please move it out of the overtaking lane. Since Monday, it has been challenging to get around these highway tortoises as the other lanes oddly enough are more free flowing and Trini driver mentality views a lane change or overtaking attempt as a personal insult, and they do their best to impede your lane change.

On the positive side, my gas mileage has seen an improvement. Usually fill from a quarter tank on Monday and have a third after Thursday morning's commute. Now I have half tank.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 5th, 2016, 8:07 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05- ... -roads-yet

Speed guns not on the road yet!

The one that was seen on the UBH was a test.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 5th, 2016, 8:48 am

Last night they were on the foreshore before peaks

Postby aaron17 » May 5th, 2016, 10:43 am

One of the difficult things to do is manage the speed while going down a hill ...
Knowing where there is a descent should be understood..
Unless you you put it in cruise control ..which should do the trick..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 5th, 2016, 11:24 am

They can't leave the Diego Martin Highway at 50km/h.

Postby SMc » May 5th, 2016, 12:05 pm

^^probably a good thing to keep it low as the amount of people that crash on that stretch is ridiculous

Postby DFC » May 5th, 2016, 12:22 pm

#75km/h crew checking in.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 5th, 2016, 12:30 pm

some of you who are extra comfortable under 80km/h seems to be the ones who cruise on the overtaking lane while overtaking nothing......probably. :? :|

Postby aaron17 » May 5th, 2016, 1:09 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:some of you who are extra comfortable under 80km/h seems to be the ones who cruise on the overtaking lane while overtaking nothing......probably. :? :|

..while there are cars on the left lane at the point in time as well.

Postby j.o.e » May 5th, 2016, 1:35 pm

aaron17 wrote:
mitsu_chick941 wrote:some of you who are extra comfortable under 80km/h seems to be the ones who cruise on the overtaking lane while overtaking nothing......probably. :? :|

..while there are cars on the left lane at the point in time as well.

If you are overtaking nothing you should not be there

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 5th, 2016, 3:03 pm

200 km/h crew checking in.

Postby aaron17 » May 5th, 2016, 3:09 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:200 km/h crew checking in.

TriP

Postby TriP » May 5th, 2016, 5:58 pm

megadoc1 wrote:Last night they were on the foreshore before peaks
0.jpg

neexis

Postby neexis » May 5th, 2016, 6:13 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:200 km/h crew checking in.

Doh lie.. Too much fools driving at 70 in the overtaking lane.

Unless you doing this on the shoulder

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 5th, 2016, 6:22 pm

TriP wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:Last night they were on the foreshore before peaks

They testing the new equipment and not really charging anyone.