atheism.....your views on it?

Postby desifemlove » March 25th, 2016, 8:57 am

OK. so for those who ent believe in no God, why? My own answers are in red.

Are you "more evil" than theists?

no. since i never thief like Hindu Prime Ministers and she Cabinet alledgely did, nor give house to friend of a Christian PNM minister.... Bad acts are down to personality/character, not some holy book written by people not God..Many gang men iz religious...

Do you believe in an afterlife?

No. No such thing, and iz only a fairytale...

Do you believe in an absolute morality?

Morals are a human invention. like saying "is there an absolute computer, or absolute agriculture, or absolute ocean-going ship?

Do you think religion is a force for good or bad in the world?

tbh both.

Are atheists less happy than theists?

no. since happiness is subjective. what makes me happy is being productive and fulfilling goals.

Do you rape, steal, kill, and commit genocides cos yuh ent got no Bible or Gita to say it wrong?

no. the only thing i've ever stolen is from the biscuit tin, and i never rape, nor killed anybody.

if you iz a theist, what is your honest view of atheists?

Re: atheism.....your views on it?

Postby K74T » March 25th, 2016, 9:41 am

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 25th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Inside.

daas

Postby daas » March 25th, 2016, 2:27 pm

wtf :lol:

IBTL!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 25th, 2016, 2:29 pm

why atheist try to big up theyself?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 25th, 2016, 2:46 pm

I am not an atheist, (or a theist) but i find atheists often have very useful insights into the history and nature of religion. Their attention to science is often very useful and people can learn much from this. For examples their views on human evolution.

My point of different is the arrogance i often observe from atheists who lean strongly on a western science when western science is still working many things, and thus cannot explain or fully explain certain things at the moment. Not all knowledge comes from empirical sources.

daas

Postby daas » March 25th, 2016, 2:48 pm

op yuh wah go beach :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2016, 2:49 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:My point of different is the arrogance i often observe from atheists who lean strongly on a western science when western science is still working many things, and thus cannot explain or fully explain certain things at the moment. Not all knowledge comes from empirical sources.
can anything explain or fully explain certain things at the moment?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 25th, 2016, 2:54 pm

It could be argued that there is no full explanation of anything. Point noted.

But what i am saying is that science cannot explain certain things at this point in time.

Yes, science can explain certain things. For example, gravity or the general process of biological evolution.

Daran

Postby Daran » March 25th, 2016, 2:56 pm

religion explains nothing though

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » March 25th, 2016, 3:01 pm

Tl:dnr

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 25th, 2016, 3:42 pm

Atheism is a valid response to the barbarity, ignorance, abuse and ill-gotten power of mainstream religions (Christianity, Islam, Judaism and Brahminical Hinduism).

Male arrogance, racism, ignorance, and warfare has all been part of the heritage coming from those religious traditions.

So i do think there are a lot of valid critiques of such from within atheism.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 25th, 2016, 3:47 pm

So what about an agnostic theist?

Postby rollingstock » March 25th, 2016, 4:57 pm

I don't believe in atheists.
Last edited by rollingstock on March 25th, 2016, 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 25th, 2016, 6:05 pm

Satanic atheist..

York

Postby York » March 25th, 2016, 9:29 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:It could be argued that there is no full explanation of anything. Point noted.

But what i am saying is that science cannot explain certain things at this point in time.

Yes, science can explain certain things. For example, gravity or the general process of biological evolution.

Gravity yes, evolution no!

York

Postby York » March 25th, 2016, 9:39 pm

desifemlove wrote:OK. so for those who ent believe in no God, why? My own answers are in red.

no. since i never thief like Hindu Prime Ministers and she Cabinet alledgely did, nor give house to friend of a Christian PNM minister.... Bad acts are down to personality/character, not some holy book written by people not God..Many gang men iz religious...

No. No such thing, and iz only a fairytale...ò

Morals are a human invention. like saying "is there an absolute computer, or absolute agriculture, or absolute ocean-going ship?

tbh both.

no. since happiness is subjective. what makes me happy is being productive and fulfilling goals.

Do you rape, steal, kill, and commit genocides cos yuh ent got no Bible or Gita to say it wrong?

no. the only thing i've ever stolen is from the biscuit tin, and i never rape, nor killed anybody.

what is the purpose of your existence?

what gives you the desire to live, earn, succeed, etc?

Are u inclined to good over evil and why?

abducted

Postby abducted » March 25th, 2016, 10:13 pm

York wrote:
TrinbagoMan wrote:It could be argued that there is no full explanation of anything. Point noted.

Gravity yes, evolution no!
ha! Evolution does not agree with what your religion teaches so it wrong :lol:

abducted

Postby abducted » March 25th, 2016, 10:22 pm

York wrote:
desifemlove wrote:OK. so for those who ent believe in no God, why? My own answers are in red.

tbh both.

desire is all chemistry and what that chemistry triggers in our brain. Good and evil are human concepts. Religion and god are also human concepts that we created.

Only weak minds needs god and religion to tell them what is right and what is wrong.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 25th, 2016, 11:00 pm

Those who ABSOLUTELY believe in a god, and Those who ABSOLUTELY believe there is no god, are both equally foolish.

There is no solid evidence for either Theism or Atheism. (bible could have been written by some random fellahs, but there probably could be a god, inno. Who knows?)

Agnostism addi realist until God decides to pop in to say hello, or scientists find the edge of the universe.

Postby teems1 » March 25th, 2016, 11:38 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Those who ABSOLUTELY believe in a god, and Those who ABSOLUTELY believe there is no god, are both equally foolish.

There is no solid evidence for either Theism or Atheism. (bible could have been written by some random fellahs, but there probably could be a god, inno. Who knows?)

Agnostism addi realist until God decides to pop in to say hello, or scientists find the edge of the universe.

The scientific method is

Ask a question --> Research --> Hypothesis --> Experiment --> Analyze --> Conclusion

If the analysis does not provide proof of the question, then go back to research and repeat.

Proving that god exists cannot pass the experiment phase, therefore it is impossible to draw any scientific conclusions.

Postby Spitfir3 » March 26th, 2016, 12:03 am

whether someone wants to follow a particular religion or not is their choice to make, i don't discriminate against either

what i don't like is people who try to jam their religion down your throat or atheist that bash those that choose to believe in something the former i see a lot of

pjfred

Postby pjfred » March 26th, 2016, 12:30 am

No. No such thing, and iz only a fairytale...

tbh both.

You suck it well

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2016, 2:08 am

I don't believe in God and I think that he knows it. ;)

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2016, 2:13 am

I think you're a fool.

Postby desifemlove » March 26th, 2016, 2:37 pm

York wrote:

tbh both.

I don't like to see suffering. Hence I try and do good over evil.

I want to succeed since I like achievement and having a positive contribution to make.

I live to make myself happy. which person doesn't?

York

Postby York » March 26th, 2016, 11:59 pm

What makes suffering evil and happiness good?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2016, 2:44 am

Spitfir3 wrote:whether someone wants to follow a particular religion or not is their choice to make, i don't discriminate against either

what i don't like is people who try to jam their religion down your throat or atheist that bash those that choose to believe in something the former i see a lot of

I miss my rott, he always had them Jehovah Witness running from my gate.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2016, 11:09 am

York wrote:What makes suffering evil and happiness good?
who says suffering is evil?

When people get sick is that evil? Some say it might be a test from God. Surely that can't be evil.

Some people fast, abstaining from food and water for various reasons. Is that suffering evil?

Happiness feels good because that is what happiness means: feeling happy.
A psychopath can feel happy by killing people, a businessman or politician can feel happy by outsmarting people.

So I'm hoping you can answer why you are asking what makes suffering evil and happiness good?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 28th, 2016, 4:51 am

and the koran ******. oh the sun sinks in the mud in the night.