All Things US Politics Related: Trump indicted.

Re: All Things US Politics Related in a Trump run White House.

Postby adnj » May 28th, 2020, 10:08 am

Trump order may seek to limit social-media companies’ legal protections

Published: May 28, 2020 at 12:20 a.m. ET

By

John D. McKinnon and

Rebecca Ballhaus

Trump may make it easier for regulators to crack down on companies curbing users’ content

WASHINGTON — A draft of an executive order President Donald Trump is expected to sign on Thursday would seek to limit the broad legal protection that federal law currently provides social-media and other online platforms, according to people familiar with the draft.

The draft order would make it easier for federal regulators to hold companies such as Twitter US:TWTR and Facebook US:FB liable for curbing users’ speech, for example by suspending their accounts or deleting their posts, the people said.

The draft is not yet finalized and is subject to change, the people said. It comes after Twitter on Tuesday moved for the first time to apply a fact-checking notice to tweets by the president on the subject of voter fraud. Mr. Trump on Tuesday accused the company of stifling free speech and vowed to take action.

The executive order would mark the Trump administration’s most aggressive effort to take action against social-media companies, which the president has threatened to do for years. The order would also likely be challenged in court, experts said.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/in-draft-e ... 1590637554

Postby maj. tom » May 28th, 2020, 11:10 am

What a snowflake baby.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » May 28th, 2020, 11:17 am

Kewell35 wrote:
agent007 wrote:Oh no you didnt, you want to mirror your twisted sexuality onto me? It figures as watching that interests section, I really understand why you would mention std 5. And the girls part....lol true rainbow people like yourself usually type sheit like that as a cover.20200523_125544.jpeg

You can have the next one. Cause this usually ends up as a length measuring exercise and frankly, personality disorder and confused lads should get the last say as I believe you can change your ways before it is too late. I dont want you beating up to the extent that it injures you.

Nice to see that your psychology skills are on par with your wit. Congrats, you've just added to your zero tally. Now, the country is opening up, so it shouldn't be too hard for you to find a nice crowded street in which to play in the traffic.

boy why you doh shut up and do something productive for once

every single thread I reading here you arguing with someone. Shut yuh mc for once nah.

Like you spend out your relief grant and taking out your pathetic frustration and pantyman rants here?

Tell mommy go buy you some oily doubles na...and yes i know who you are fat boy. Now go take a jog and cool yuhself na yuh ole tub

LOL. wtf is a relief grant? why you does quarrel so much boy? Like literally every thread dred...like yuh man leave you :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 28th, 2020, 11:30 am

It goes to show how out of touch some of you all are with this latest executive order by Trump.

Its been known that social media has been censoring a lot of content and not just content like what trump puts out or nonsense like the wacko Anti Vaccine people.

I talking about even basic things like people who stream video games for a living, youtube demonetizes their content because it may include women dressed "inappropriately" as feminists claim. Or even videos with Fatality in Mortal Kombat the very thing Fox News used to complain about back in the 90's and make fools of themselves.

Other videos youtube censors and often deletes include "China Uncensored" which is a PROGRESSIVE left wing media outlet that does excellent reporting on what is going on in China. Because youtube wants access to the Chinese market they do as they are told by their Chinese overlords and censor western channels that even thinks about calling out China on their appalling human rights abuse.

Youtube will punish and delete the youtube channels of people who reference the Bible and points out homosexuality is a sin. So what if a religious leader says his religion doesn't promote homosexuality? you don't like what he says? then leave his f*cking channel, unsubscribe and find something better to do with your blasted time than whine and cry over nothing and delete the channel.

Youtube also censors and demonetizes progressive channels that support Bernie Sanders or Tulsi Gabbard it is a well known fact right now Tulsi is suing Google for this very thing but you all with your bullsh!t can't seem to understand any of this because you believe everything the mainstream media says hook, line and sinker.

Trump is going to deal with social media companies that want to limit free speech to who they think are allowed to have free speech, he is doing this because he realizes that once he leaves office Twitter WILL Ban his account. But you all like much of the left are too narrow minded to see the bigger picture and what a welcome change this will be.

Youtube and many of these tech giants who censor free speech and free art form should be held accountable, the only problem is this is an executive order and the next left wing government that comes in power will revert this order and police the internet even more.

I love how you left wingers here just support policing the internet and are against freespeech or right to defend yourselves. Trinidad should adapt these laws so it will be like Denmark where a woman was forced to pay medical bills to a rapist who broke into her house because she hit him in the head with a baseball bat. The response from the left wing judge was she should have talked it through with the rapist while the police arrived. Lets see how allyuh like these laws nah.

Postby adnj » May 28th, 2020, 12:26 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Trump is going to deal with social media companies that want to limit free speech to who they think are allowed to have free speech, he is doing this because he realizes that once he leaves office Twitter WILL Ban his account. But you all like much of the left are too narrow minded to see the bigger picture and what a welcome change this will be.

Youtube and many of these tech giants who censor free speech and free art form should be held accountable, the only problem is this is an executive order and the next left wing government that comes in power will revert this order and police the internet even more.

Neither Google, Microsoft, Facebook, Twitter, et al., is a government agency nor do any utilize publicly held means of transmission for their services.

If you are referencing "free speech" as detailed in the US Constitution Amendment I, you are woefully misinformed.

The First Amendment protects freedom of expression, religion and speech from the interference of the government.

Ironically, if the government were to force Big Tech to support any political or religious perspective it could be in violation of the First Amendment.

Amendment I

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 28th, 2020, 1:44 pm

^ First of all these social media platforms are the NEW town square, a simple algorithm can change the outcome of an election.

The constitution was written at a time when nobody would even dream of how the world would be today therefore it needs updating.

This is a welcome move, I hope Tulsi wins her battle against Google in court for clear discrimination and I hope this new order prevents the silencing of Silicone Valley's political opponents

I believe in Free Speech and free expression including art be it public or private, and I could care less if people think that is a bad thing. Companies that use their power to do evil or support evil should be punished and I don't care who eh like that

Postby adnj » May 28th, 2020, 3:55 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ First of all these social media platforms are the NEW town square, a simple algorithm can change the outcome of an election.

The constitution was written at a time when nobody would even dream of how the world would be today therefore it needs updating.

This is a welcome move, I hope Tulsi wins her battle against Google in court for clear discrimination and I hope this new order prevents the silencing of Silicone Valley's political opponents

I believe in Free Speech and free expression including art be it public or private, and I could care less if people think that is a bad thing. Companies that use their power to do evil or support evil should be punished and I don't care who eh like that
You are speaking more along the lines of EU tech platform regulations, not US.

Wrong thread.

Postby redmanjp » May 28th, 2020, 6:41 pm

Postby shogun » May 29th, 2020, 12:14 am

^Panic.

Deliberately spreading verifiable lies about mail-in voting and getting the tiniest amount of accountability and he cracked.

Trump on easier voting legislation in the bailout bill: "They had things, levels of voting, that if we ever agreed to you'd never have a Republican elected in this country again" - Donald Trump.

On another front....

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 6:23 am

Twitter hides Donald Trump tweet for 'glorifying violence' | Twitter

Donald Trump’s censored tweet. Photograph: Twitter

Fri 29 May 2020 09.39 BST

Twitter has hidden one of Donald Trump’s tweets behind a warning that it “glorifies violence”, further escalating the social media company’s row with the US president.

The US president’s tweet, posted on Thursday night Washington time, warned people in Minneapolis protesting against the killing of a black man, George Floyd, by a white police officer that he would send the military to intervene if there was “any difficulty”.

“When the looting starts, the shooting starts,” Trump wrote, apparently quoting the former Miami police chief Walter Headley, who in December 1967 promised violent reprisals to protests over stop-and-frisk tactics.

Two hours later, Twitter added a notice to the tweet: “This tweet violated the Twitter Rules about glorifying violence. However, Twitter has determined that it may be in the public’s interest for the tweet to remain accessible.”

The warning was accompanied by a link to its policies about public interest exceptions.

For people visiting Trump’s Twitter timeline, or seeing the tweet retweeted on their feed, the warning obscures the content until they tap to view it.

Users who try to reply to the tweet are instead presented with a second notice that reads: “We try to prevent a tweet like this that otherwise breaks the Twitter rules from reaching more people, so we have disabled most of the ways to engage with it.” Existing replies no longer appear below it.

The tweet’s spread will also be limited by Twitter’s algorithms, according to the company’s policy documents. 

The warning suggests Twitter has no intention of backing down in its dispute with Trump, which erupted on Wednesday when the company applied a fact-checking label to the president’s tweets for the first time.

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/ ... g-violence

Postby maj. tom » May 29th, 2020, 8:53 am

I believe that we're watching the first real post 9/11 division and fall of the America empire before our eyes with Trump at the top violating the Constitution and leading people to believe anything he wants. People defending it while their own rights are being violated. Like a snake handling worshiper, they're having faith in the (stupid, retarded clown) leader and thinking it makes you infallible and the snake won't bite you.

Captured top Nazi leader Hermann Göring said in his cell before his suicide, on the rise of Nazism in Germany and how it was done, the entire campaign against the Jews and all other political opponents:
"But after all it is the leaders of a country who determine the policy and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy or fascist dictatorship, or a parliament or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the peace makers for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country.”

We won't understand what's happening until historians examine it 100 years in the future.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 29th, 2020, 9:04 am

Here is brief explanation of the current situation with Trump and Social media and what he is going to do

The original founder of Facebook Tyler Winklevoss has sent out a tweet agreeing with Trump's decision to stop shielding social media platforms for their obvious bias in political support as he describes it.

Congressman Matt Gaetz of Florida has filed a complaint with the Federal Election Comission for Twitter's interference and meddling with elections. It has been known for a long time now these tech giants has been silencing their political opponents and should be held accountable as they have the power to change an election with just an algorithm they need to be regulated.

Senator Elizabeth Warren she also shares a similar view and insists that these tech giants needs to be broken up as they have become far too big and powerful. Senator Elizabeth Warren is one of the few sensible thinking people in the Democratic party.

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 11:00 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote: It has been known for a long time now these tech giants has been silencing their political opponents and should be held accountable as they have the power to change an election with just an algorithm they need to be regulated.

Senator Elizabeth Warren she also shares a similar view and insists that these tech giants needs to be broken up as they have become far too big and powerful. Senator Elizabeth Warren is one of the few sensible thinking people in the Democratic party.

Senator Warren's position is to break up the tech platforms because she believes that they have predatory practices that eliminate competion. It has precious little to do with political influence of the companies themselves.

The more progressive regulations proposed by Senator Warren are very much in line with the same regulations coming out of the EU.

---------

Warren believes weak antitrust enforcement in the U.S. has helped big technology companies cement their dominance and hurt competition and innovation in the sector. According to her, the lack of choices for consumers has allowed these tech giants to neglect privacy and user experience. Here's how she plans to defang the FAANGs and even the playing field.

The Plan

Among Warren's 48 plans, is the "How we can break up Big Tech" plan. According to her, companies acquire smaller rivals and use their proprietary online marketplaces to unfairly limit competition. 

https://www.investopedia.com/how-will-e ... ch-4772263

-------------

[W]e have seen a slow but steady trend towards governments taking meaningful action as politicians call for for greater regulation and oversight of FAANG (Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix, Google) and their ilk.

As the number of regulatory stories can be overwhelming even for those tracking them, here’s a breakdown of what has been happening across Europe.

The EU

Those looking for further regulation of tech companies may look first to the EU, given the ability the trading bloc has to coordinate policy across a number of big economies.

And competition commissioner Margrethe Vestager has certainly shown an appetite for clamping down on companies like Google. She has been behind some of the most punishing fines handed out to the US tech giants, including a $14.8 billion fine for Apple over tax evasion in 2016, and separate fines of $5 billion and $2.7 billion for Google over the past two years for antitrust violations.

https://videoadnews.com/2019/02/25/how- ... o-keep-up/

Twitter Sanctions White House Tweet, Which Repeated Earlier Trump Tweet

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 12:07 pm

TOPLINE The official White House Twitter feed seemingly taunted Twitter on Friday morning, reposting an earlier post from President Trump which it said was “glorifying violence;” Twitter has responded by censoring the White House tweet as well.

CRITICAL QUOTE:
“Imagine if your phone company silenced or edited your conversations. Social-media companies have vastly more power and more reach than any phone company in the United States,” Trump said Thursday, just before signing the executive order.

TANGENT:
Critics have noted that Trump’s comments echo the remarks of former Miami police chief Walter Headley, who threatened a violent crackdown on protests over his stop-and-frisk tactics targeting African Americans in 1967. Headley was chief of police in Miami for 20 years. According to a United Press International article published two days after Christmas in 1967, Headley said that law enforcement was targeting “young hoodlums, from 15 to 21, who have taken advantage of the civil rights campaign. “This is war,” Headley declared, announcing a new effort to put down a recent surge of violent crime in the city, adding, “We don’t mind being accused of police brutality.”

KEY BACKGROUND:
On Tuesday, Twitter applied, for the first time, a fact-checking notice to tweets by the president, which were related to voter fraud. On Thursday, President Trump signed an executive order with the intent of curtailing social media companies’ rights by restricting their liability protections, calling Twitter “an editor with a viewpoint.” The executive order takes aim at a federal regulation known as Section 230, which gives companies like Facebook and Twitter immunity against being sued over the content that appears on their sites from users. Friday’s back-and-forth will assuredly only increase tensions between the president and the popular social media platform.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/tommybeer/ ... ump-tweet/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 29th, 2020, 11:38 pm

Watch a classic example of Fake News by a well established media house

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/ ... l-media-us

This is the UK Guardian, and is a perfect literally perfect example of how a well organized established and trusted media house often reports fake news.

Notice how the article says that Trump threatened violence against protesters, threaten to shoot and kill protesters.

Do you see something wrong with that post by the Guardian? incase you didn't spot it Trump never once suggested violence against protesters.

he said and it can be viewed on his tweet

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/sta ... 0780744704

TRUMP WROTE....These THUGS are dishonoring the memory of George Floyd, and I won’t let that happen. Just spoke to Governor Tim Walz and told him that the Military is with him all the way. Any difficulty and we will assume control but, when the looting starts, the shooting starts. Thank you!

^ classic example of what people does be talking about, the media is largely left leaning and they view anybody else with a different opinion as a political opponent that should be destroyed.

And in doing so they are more than willing to openly lie and report fake news, an innocent reader who believes the Guardian or any big news source will immediately think that Trump was suggesting to shoot protesters. Most tuners here on this thread even believe these things hook, line and sinker. Most will never bother to fact check anything because I mean why bother to fact check something like the BBC and Guardian? surely they must be reporting the truth? if only eh

Postby The_Honourable » June 7th, 2020, 12:00 am

So who ridin' with biden? :lol:

Biden clinches Democratic presidential nomination

According to The Associated Press, Joe Biden has won a majority of pledged delegates to the August national party convention.

https://www.politico.com/news/2020/06/0 ... ion-304338

Postby matr1x » June 7th, 2020, 12:09 am

Well biden allegedly shoved his fingers up a girl's lady parts without her permission, so there's that

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2020, 12:24 am

adnj wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote: It has been known for a long time now these tech giants has been silencing their political opponents and should be held accountable as they have the power to change an election with just an algorithm they need to be regulated.

Senator Warren's position is to break up the tech platforms because she believes that they have predatory practices that eliminate competion. It has precious little to do with political influence of the companies themselves.

The more progressive regulations proposed by Senator Warren are very much in line with the same regulations coming out of the EU.

---------

Warren believes weak antitrust enforcement in the U.S. has helped big technology companies cement their dominance and hurt competition and innovation in the sector. According to her, the lack of choices for consumers has allowed these tech giants to neglect privacy and user experience. Here's how she plans to defang the FAANGs and even the playing field.

The Plan

Among Warren's 48 plans, is the "How we can break up Big Tech" plan. According to her, companies acquire smaller rivals and use their proprietary online marketplaces to unfairly limit competition. 

https://www.investopedia.com/how-will-e ... ch-4772263

-------------

[W]e have seen a slow but steady trend towards governments taking meaningful action as politicians call for for greater regulation and oversight of FAANG (Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix, Google) and their ilk.

As the number of regulatory stories can be overwhelming even for those tracking them, here’s a breakdown of what has been happening across Europe.

The EU

Those looking for further regulation of tech companies may look first to the EU, given the ability the trading bloc has to coordinate policy across a number of big economies.

And competition commissioner Margrethe Vestager has certainly shown an appetite for clamping down on companies like Google. She has been behind some of the most punishing fines handed out to the US tech giants, including a $14.8 billion fine for Apple over tax evasion in 2016, and separate fines of $5 billion and $2.7 billion for Google over the past two years for antitrust violations.

https://videoadnews.com/2019/02/25/how- ... o-keep-up/
warren lying. she riding which ever wave she think could get her higher. talk all kinda talk now, sell u the moon, and when she reach in office, one pack ah excuse for why she not doing them any more.

on another note, it seems that klobuchar had chance to prosecute the knee on neck killer cop a few years back, on some of his past reports of hyper aggression on the job.. i cant remember the term they use for that. but she didnt, just let it pass by, and now u have him continuing to kill a man.
klobuchar is another big talk nothing burger. might as well vote for wall paper

Postby shogun » June 7th, 2020, 12:34 am

^Man, I never got the appeal of Klobuchar. The personality of a styrofoam cooler with zero substance. If Biden chooses her, consider the race even closer.

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2020, 7:54 am

shogun wrote:^Man, I never got the appeal of Klobuchar. The personality of a styrofoam cooler with zero substance. If Biden chooses her, consider the race even closer.

its the same mechanism as PNM. the echelons select a person they can get to forward their agendas when the cameras are off, and able to say things in public that can get a pass in the public like biden or talk champion talk like obama. so what they do more, instead of putting forward good things to wave in ur face, is resort to vilify the opponent. so, orange man bad, we have to vote blue, and if u dont vote blue, ur insane.
u have to vote balisier cause kmala and she people will win. dont mind wasa brand a rotoplastic tank and set it on bescrete block, as their solution to water up in the hills,, that dont mean nutten, we dont want kamla and she kinda people inside.

and dat time the top level pnm is NOT them.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 7th, 2020, 10:12 am

shogun wrote:^Man, I never got the appeal of Klobuchar. The personality of a styrofoam cooler with zero substance. If Biden chooses her, consider the race even closer.

what if he chooses stacey abrams

Postby bluefete » June 7th, 2020, 10:42 am

matr1x wrote:Well biden allegedly shoved his fingers up a girl's lady parts without her permission, so there's that

And Trump allegedly grabbed them by the pu--y. So there is that as well.

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2020, 10:59 am

Colin Powell says he'll be voting for Biden

Former Secretary of State Colin Powell is putting his support behind Joe Biden.

"I'm very close to Joe Biden in a social matter and in a political matter," Powell told CNN's Jake Tapper on “State of the Union” Sunday morning. "I've worked with him for 35, 40 years. And he is now the candidate and I will be voting for him."

But Powell, who served as secretary of State under President George W. Bush, isn't planning on making any campaign trips for the Democratic presidential candidate, just yet.

"Well, I haven't been asked [to campaign for Biden] and I don't think I will be," he added. "Campaigning is not my strong suit. I'll be speaking for him, but I don't plan to make campaign trips.

Powell spent much of the interview ripping President Donald Trump for his actions and for his character, saying hie has lowered America’s standing in the eyes of the world. “We have a Constitution and we have to follow that Constitution and the President has drifted away from it,” Powell said.

https://www.politico.com/news/2020/06/0 ... den-305335

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2020, 11:06 am

Trump's Twitter account appears as the top result when users search the word 'racist.' Twitter says an algorithm is behind that 'recommendation.'

Twitter users on Saturday noted that when they searched for the word "racist" on the platform, Twitter pointed them toward the account of President Donald Trump. 

"The top result for racist on Twitter is the president of the United States," The Verge's Tom Warren tweeted. 

Business Insider was able to replicate this on Saturday afternoon by searching for both the terms "racist" and "racism."

A spokesperson for Twitter on Saturday told Business Insider that the president is listed under these terms as a result of the company's algorithm, which is triggered by user behavior. 

"If an account is mentioned often alongside certain terms, it can become algorithmically surfaced together as a recommendation," the spokesperson said.

As Insider previously noted, it's been a rocky few weeks between the president and Twitter. On May 28, he issued an executive order in an attempt to regulate it and other companies like Instagram, Facebook, and Youtube. The order directly followed the company's decision to fact-check his tweets and was issued the day before it flagged another one of his posts as violent.

https://news.google.com/articles/CAIiEF ... id=US%3Aen

Postby The_Honourable » June 7th, 2020, 12:33 pm

Was thinking Biden will choose Klobuchar as the VP but with all the beatup in the states right now, the dems will ride the wave of black lives matter, police brutality, white supremacy, etc and attempt to advance it into votes so the VP would not just be a woman but also a woman of color. Stacy Abrams? Kamala Harris? Val Demings?

Postby matr1x » June 7th, 2020, 4:55 pm

This is going to be an easy win for trump

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2020, 5:11 pm

matr1x wrote:This is going to be an easy win for trump
Memorialized.

Postby matr1x » June 7th, 2020, 5:13 pm

Who is their contender? A possible rapist and creep?

I bet money the last time and won. I am confident this time around

Postby redmanjp » June 7th, 2020, 8:55 pm

bluefete wrote:
matr1x wrote:Well biden allegedly shoved his fingers up a girl's lady parts without her permission, so there's that

with or without their consent?

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2020, 9:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:

with or without their consent?
trump said he could do that. he alleged it on himself.