Clothes dryers electric vs gas

Postby SR » January 2nd, 2016, 7:49 am

In light of the expected increase in ttec rates this year has anyone considered this or running a gas dryer presently?

smalls1222

Re: Clothes dryers electric vs gas

Postby smalls1222 » January 2nd, 2016, 8:08 am

I was thinking the same

neexis

Postby neexis » January 2nd, 2016, 8:40 am

Will these run off standard LPG tanks?

Any safety issues?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2016, 9:16 am

Sold about 5 units this christmas and so far there has not been any complaints from customers.

Actually planning to get rid of my old troublemaker and replace with a gas powered

daron

Postby daron » January 2nd, 2016, 9:22 am

src1983 wrote:Sold about 5 units this christmas and so far there has not been any complaints from customers.

Actually planning to get rid of my old troublemaker and replace with a gas powered

Is is possible to give some details on the gas dryer you supply ,
Cost
Type of gas need
Demo video
Thanks

Eagle

Postby Eagle » January 2nd, 2016, 9:29 am

src1983 wrote:Sold about 5 units this christmas and so far there has not been any complaints from customers.

Postby j.o.e » January 2nd, 2016, 10:17 am

Never even heard of a gas dryer tbh

Postby SR » January 2nd, 2016, 11:04 am

Uses normal lpg either 20lb or 100lb tanks not sure on if the newer models require a pilot like like the older units

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2016, 11:17 am

would like to see what kind of blower unit they use inside of them.

My lpg powered smoker uses a house heating burner which
has a motor blower, produces a very hot and efficient flame.

Has electronic valve, ignition and prepurge delay.

Postby Chimera » January 2nd, 2016, 11:34 am

in for info

Postby Morpheus » January 2nd, 2016, 11:36 am

j.o.e wrote:Never even heard of a gas dryer tbh

antlind

Postby antlind » January 2nd, 2016, 11:57 am

What is the price differential between an electric and gas dryer?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2016, 12:15 pm

The dryer uses normal LPG and a 110 plug, so you can just run a line from the 100lb cylinders you have home.

File_000.jpeg

File_001.jpeg

There isn't any difference on the functionality of the dryer, the only difference is its gas powered.

An electric Whirlpool is $2800.00

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2016, 12:19 pm

SR wrote:Uses normal lpg either 20lb or 100lb tanks not sure on if the newer models require a pilot like like the older units

The ones I have seen does not require a pilot light. Its starts as if it is a normal electric.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2016, 12:19 pm

what is the expected running cost difference between gas and electric in T&T ?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 2nd, 2016, 12:25 pm

i fine that LPG open flame kinda dangerous ... but i will stick to electric for the time ..

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2016, 12:47 pm

what is the expected running cost difference between gas and electric in T&T ?

Not sure, may not be a difference now as power is so cheap. A 100lb tank cost me $130.00 and my power cost is $.4150 per kWh

For the sake of science using this website

http://michaelbluejay.com/electricity/dryers.html

1 load of clothes

Electric

3.3kWh x .4150 = $1.3695

Gas

.21kWh x .4150 = $0.08715
.22ccf x (130/100) = $0.286

Total Gas Cost = $0.37315

Edit: I should note I pay commercial electrical rates

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2016, 12:52 pm

nick639 wrote:
10-01 wrote:i fine that LPG open flame kinda dangerous ... but i will stick to electric for the time ..

having a gas dryer increases your home insurance a couple grand also.

Had to go through an insurance company and there was give or take 15% increase in the insurance value and we were advised to change the dryer and stove to an electric so we did to get away from that extra $.

Did not know this

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 2nd, 2016, 1:11 pm

hmm..i did not realize that gas dryers were a thing.
I have an electric stove though and I know gas is maybe a bit cheaper but I have small kids and the electric stove lil safer....doh mind I grew up with a gas stove lol

Postby SMc » January 2nd, 2016, 1:21 pm

In my previous job I worked with quite a few OPL's (On Premesis Laundry) mostly within the hotel industry. I didn't work with the equipment myself as I was working for a chemical manufacturer at the time but almost every site had a gas dryer as it was more economical, delivered consistent results and would hold way more laundry vs what the electric could handle.

Saying that, there is more maintenance and not cleaning your filter can be extremely dangerous as I know of at least 2 sites that have had serious fire damage as result.

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2016, 1:35 pm

yeah, stuffed lint filters ae often quoted as a fire hazard but in reality more with lpg powered ones
as if it is choked and air cannot circulate the flame may out due to lack of oxygen and if it restarts boom

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 2nd, 2016, 1:52 pm

SMc wrote:In my previous job I worked with quite a few OPL's (On Premesis Laundry) mostly within the hotel industry. I didn't work with the equipment myself as I was working for a chemical manufacturer at the time but almost every site had a gas dryer as it was more economical, delivered consistent results and would hold way more laundry vs what the electric could handle.

Saying that, there is more maintenance and not cleaning your filter can be extremely dangerous as I know of at least 2 sites that have had serious fire damage as result.

See that fire possibility.... That's my issue. At home too many things to deal with and I may forget that lint. A business might have things more streamlined.

Postby bluefete » January 2nd, 2016, 1:56 pm

Whatever happened to hanging clothes on a line to dry in the sun??

We still live in a tropical country, right?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 2nd, 2016, 2:22 pm

bluefete wrote:Whatever happened to hanging clothes on a line to dry in the sun??

We still live in a tropical country, right?

The same thing that happened to ludo, maxi like survival and TTPOst...

Postby bushwakka » January 2nd, 2016, 3:09 pm

I've got one. A whirlpool my parents bought twenty years ago in the states but never used. Just started using it. The ones from the states require a smaller orifice for the burner to work on lpg as they were designed for a natural gas supply.The ones sold locally should have the proper orifice to run on lpg. I run mine on lpg now and it took like 5 months to use up a 20 lb bottle. Works very well.

neoise

Postby neoise » January 2nd, 2016, 4:11 pm

Using one for about 3 yrs now. Brought it down from the states outfitted for propane, however the lpg retrofit was available from the manufacturer which was a simple changing of the jets - did this by myself in about 45mins. Never had a normal dryer before because like someone stated - we live in a tropical country and never saw the need for it - so I cannot compare its electricity usage to a normal one (yes it still uses electricity to turn the barrel and to light/control the flame etc) but what I can say is that the change in my before and after electricity bill was insignificant. I use it with the small gas tanks (20lbs?) and under regular use for a family of 4 (2 children in primary school) I change the tank every 3 months under average usage conditions. My mom has one and recently did a survey for home insurance- the valuator did not red flag it. One of the best purchases I ever made

Postby Chimera » January 2nd, 2016, 4:13 pm

What's the cost for one though? Remembering to clean a lint trap is as simple as putting a reminder on your phone

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2016, 4:14 pm

I sold them for 3695

neoise

Postby neoise » January 2nd, 2016, 4:16 pm

IIRC about $3000 TTD landed with taxes etc - Whirlpool

hindian

Postby hindian » October 1st, 2018, 6:56 pm

bumping an old thread fellas. im looking for one of these dryers and no luck. any suggestions?